Mod. Notice Competitions: READ BEFORE POSTING A COMPETITION

NAFL Reserves Trophy

A competition that is more of a pre-season competition for NAFL Reserves. Some good experience for the new guys before the main competition.
It allow all reserves designers to obtain feedback on their team (logos, colour scheme, basic design skills, etc) before submitting their main designs.
The new guys would go into one group, while the current Reserve designers go into another group. This way you go up against the those with the same amount of experience as yourself.
It would be two single group polls with the winner of the each group playing off in a final poll to determine a winner.
As for the actual design brief, those that are interested in participating would only have to design a one-off kit for their NAFL, to NAFL Reserves standard (meaning all manufacturers logos and sponsors need to be present on the kit). And this design should not completely reflect the idea you have for the NAFL Reserves main competition.
This competition would not be compulsory for all Reserves designers, but highly encourage all the new guys and those wanting to really be part of the main competition next year to join and get ideas.

NAFL Reserves Trophy

A competition that is more of a pre-season competition for NAFL Reserves. Some good experience for the new guys before the main competition.
It allow all reserves designers to obtain feedback on their team (logos, colour scheme, basic design skills, etc) before submitting their main designs.
The new guys would go into one group, while the current Reserve designers go into another group. This way you go up against the those with the same amount of experience as yourself.
It would be two single group polls with the winner of the each group playing off in a final poll to determine a winner.
As for the actual design brief, those that are interested in participating would only have to design a one-off kit for their NAFL, to NAFL Reserves standard (meaning all manufacturers logos and sponsors need to be present on the kit). And this design should not completely reflect the idea you have for the NAFL Reserves main competition.
This competition would not be compulsory for all Reserves designers, but highly encourage all the new guys and those wanting to really be part of the main competition next year to join and get ideas.

I like this, it is a bit like the NAFL NZ competition, but rather than just being an extension of the competition made just for fun, it is a good way to help those in the lower division not only get some extra design practice (especially for the newbies) but also the fact that feedback can be obtained about templates, design ideas, ways to clean up designs, etc. Basically what many of us when just starting out could have really used. It also allows for those who have been around for a little longer to possibly experiment and test things that may help them gain promotion to the top division as well as bring the level of design skill on this board even closer together.

Also it will mean that those involved can see how their designs compare to the rest of the competition so that they can make adjustments before the full competition begins to hopefully make the reserves even closer than it may be.

The Name i was thinking is: WORLD CRICKET PREMIER T20 LEAGUE. Other name ideas are welcome.
*Im hoping to have 2 pools of approx. 8 teams.
*Designers can have 'franchise' or 'club' teams from cities or regions of countries in the world.
*POOL 1:
*8 TEAMS
*POOL 2:
*8 TEAMS

*There CAN NOT be more than half of the teams from ONE country.
*Designers will need to design a T20 kit home and away for their team. They will also need to design a promotional kit too.
*Top 4 teams of each pool go through to the finals.
*The finals will be a knockout competition (exception for Semi Final losers that will proceed to a 3rd/4th Playoff)
*Final 1: Pool 1 1st v Pool 2 4th
*Final 2: Pool 2 1st v Pool 1 4th
*Final 3: Pool 1 2nd v Pool 2 3rd
*Final 4: Pool 2 2nd v Pool 1 3rd
*Semi Final 1: Winner Final 1 v Winner Final 3
*Semi Final 2: Winner Final 2 v Winner Final 4
*Grand Final: Winner Semi Final 1 v Winner Semi Final 2
*3rd/4th Playoff: Loser Semi Final 1 v Loser Semi Final 2
If i can't gain trust from the Footy Jumpers and Graphic Design board would someone be able to run this competition as there is no cricket graphic designing comp on bigfooty.

NAFL Reserves Trophy

E92_ St Mark Thoughts?

I like the idea, assuming akkaps runs it, not me ;)

I reckon every year there are reserves entrants who know that they can't be competitive after round 1, but know exactly what they can do to improve. So a chance to gauge the opposition, see where you stand, would be good for the newbies. These long league competitions aren't always the best for development because you only get one chance at entry.

I prefer this to a mid season 'trade period' that's been raised in the past.

I like the idea, assuming akkaps runs it, not me ;)

I reckon every year there are reserves entrants who know that they can't be competitive after round 1, but know exactly what they can do to improve. So a chance to gauge the opposition, see where you stand, would be good for the newbies. These long league competitions aren't always the best for development because you only get one chance at entry.

I prefer this to a mid season 'trade period' that's been raised in the past.
My plan was to run it, using different hub thread. You wouldn't have to do a thing.

Seeing as there is just over 2 weeks until the Premier League starts again, I'll give the Aussie Rules Premier League one last stab, with some clearer rules.

The ARPL (Aussie Rules Premier League):

Entrants select a club in the Premier League as of the 2016/17 season, and create (create being the key word - not copy) 3 kits for your chosen club (home, away & alternate). The idea is to be creative and challenge yourself - not by transferring a current (or past, for that matter) design onto a footy template, but to design 3 new kits while keeping the club's identity.
To keep it fairly short, there would be 2 divisions (a top tier and a second tier), and each team plays everyone in their division twice (home & away). The bottom 2 or 3 teams in the 1st division get relegated to the 2nd division, and the top 2 or 3 from the 2nd div get promoted to the 1st (just like how the Premier League runs).
Creativity - not copying.

EDIT:
Thanks to Mero, club fonts could also be used on designs.
https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/soccer-fonts.1139759/

What about milestone jumpers? We've seen North make a habit of it, Riewoldt's well done one, and now Pav's. Of course clubs are going to be latching onto whatever financially-helpful trend possible, so we could be seeing more of this in the AFL. Maybe we could have a list of players about to break certain records in the next month or so, and have comps based on that.

It could also be interesting in 'dry' months if we could scour the state leagues and see any potential milestones, for players or club. For example, North Hobart playing their 100th match against a certain team or something tenuous could be flimsy, but more interesting for us – rather than doing a lot of the same (AFL) clubs.

The good thing about this is it isn't restrictive, is realistic, and can be really quite open ended. You could make a whole new strip, a throwback, whatever.

Ideas for my FIRA team have been coming around to me and I was wondering if anyone would express interest in running the thing next year (Feb-)? Nothing set in stone or anything, it's just that I won't have the time and I believe El_Scorcho won't either from the last time we spoke about it.

A new competition to redesign the Adelaide logo? Based purely on using the AFC monogram?
Do a workshop. If you were to do a competition, I'd have one a week for each club. Just one club though, would be better as a workshop

Ideas for my FIRA team have been coming around to me and I was wondering if anyone would express interest in running the thing next year (Feb-)? Nothing set in stone or anything, it's just that I won't have the time and I believe El_Scorcho won't either from the last time we spoke about it.

I don't think i'm any chance of being able to commit to a full season of running FIRA, but I will commit to entering the Bears into any new competition where a club from Birmingham would qualify.

If someone wants to take FIRA and run with it they absolutely can. If someone wants to replace FIRA with a Europe based comp entirely of their own creation they have my full blessing as well.

I don't think i'm any chance of being able to commit to a full season of running FIRA, but I will commit to entering the Bears into any new competition where a club from Birmingham would qualify.

If someone wants to take FIRA and run with it they absolutely can. If someone wants to replace FIRA with a Europe based comp entirely of their own creation they have my full blessing as well.
Caught the end of this season's comp and really liked it, hopefully someone can run it or something similar.

FIRA should revert back to its original form in my opinion. No restrictor on location would be a good thing, as all the other domestic competitions apart from the Can Am and NAFL have fallen through. I like the idea of the league and the cup competitions though, I think that's great.

I could probably run it. Though I'm saying that far out from the comp actually getting into gear.

I'd really like it to run. Maybe I'll just make all the match threads at once in a Word doc then post them later to make it easier.

Also surely it'd be the same name so we can keep the epic koala logo.

I could probably run it. Though I'm saying that far out from the comp actually getting into gear.

I'd really like it to run. Maybe I'll just make all the match threads at once in a Word doc then post them later to make it easier.

Also surely it'd be the same name so we can keep the epic koala logo.
I know that I'm still relatively new around here, but I'd be more than happy to take some role in running the comp if you think that you might not have the time.
I've been pretty active on here over the last 6 months participating in the weekly comps in addition to the NAFL ressies, as well as posting daily in my pre-season jumper portfolio. So I would like to think that I am committed enough to the board not to vanish without a trace or something. The truth is though that I haven't run a comp on here, and this is kind of a big one, but I'm sure that with guidance I'd do fairly well.

Spanna_ Another season of the rugby comp would be cool next year
I'd like to get it back up sometime next year, maybe at the end of the NAFL seasons.

Hopefully we would be able get a few more teams for this iteration, as looking back on it now it was probably scheduled on at the wrong time,with exams on and other important thingos on around the time period. But yeah, would love to give it a revival, especially at a different time of year that will hopefully draw in more entrants.

I know that I'm still relatively new around here, but I'd be more than happy to take some role in running the comp if you think that you might not have the time.
I've been pretty active on here over the last 6 months participating in the weekly comps in addition to the NAFL ressies, as well as posting daily in my pre-season jumper portfolio. So I would like to think that I am committed enough to the board not to vanish without a trace or something. The truth is though that I haven't run a comp on here, and this is kind of a big one, but I'm sure that with guidance I'd do fairly well.
We could even split it. It's good to get people involved in running competitions.

Posting the threads is the easiest thing it's just a pain in the butt to keep updating the ladder. We could do it on a shared Google doc though no worries. I'd actually like to try that because if it works it might be a gateway to having multiple people run/post long league competitions. The biggest thing that bogs them down is the "show runner" if you will forgetting about it, getting busy, etc.