List Mgmt. Contracts, trades, draft - 2022 superstar edition

Link to contract status of all players -

I reckon Tsatas, rightly or wrongly, just seems like a West Coast pick. Particularly given the latest focus on speed and skill. I suspect we think inside types can be found later in drafts, and I find it hard to picture us calling out someone like George Wardlaw. Just my hunch rather than my opinion.

Jed Busslinger really sounds like someone our recruiters would go for.
He certainly sounds like a talent but if our first picked is an intercept defender, I'll ******* lose my shit completely.

M0PI.gif

You say this
Don't get attached to Culley gaiz. Just don't. Don't do it. Don't.

But then say this

If Ro selects Culley in the mid season draft, i'll delete my account :shrug:

How are we supposed not to get attached to Culley now FFS

Watched the Colgate Young guns game and a few mentions below.

Vic Metro - were missing the guns in Ashcroft, Wardlaw and Tsatas and a few more.

Hudson O'Keefe - Ruckman at 202cm. Was really impressed with this kid, moves well for this size but his ruck craft is on point. Thought he dominated Ramsden who everyone has been raving about, he has nice skills too. Top 40 type pick, and if we miss out on Broadbent I'd love to get this kid.

Sheezel - played on a guy whose been playing VFL for Essendon and they had a great battle, but Sheezel only needs half a sniff and he's putting it through the big sticks. Kicked 5 from limited opportunities, kids all class.

Ben Hempel - Half back/winger type with good speed and disposal and at 187cm is a nice prospect, thought he and Sheezel were the best two. Has good disposal and provides really good run.

Kai Windsor - Had a great first half, and I was thinking very draftable but he literally disappeared in the second half. Good winger and reminded me of Jake Soligo. His brother Caleb (next years draft) was really good too.

Mitchell Rowe - similar to Hempel, but half back/winger type with good speed and disposal.

Paul Pascu - inside midfielder, but disposal lets him down, but impacts the play. Late to undrafted for mine.

Only other overager I think that's really draftable is Hall-Kahan, more your forward - winger with really good speed as a lead up forward or break lines on the wing. Feel he'll get drafted midseason. Good disposal too.

I reckon Tsatas, rightly or wrongly, just seems like a West Coast pick. Particularly given the latest focus on speed and skill. I suspect we think inside types can be found later in drafts, and I find it hard to picture us calling out someone like George Wardlaw. Just my hunch rather than my opinion.

Whilst I don’t enjoy reading what you have written in this post, sadly I think you spot on with your assessment, both in him being a typical WC pick ( or more realistically a ROB pick ) and then also that our recruiters think they can get inside mids later in the draft.

I think your “hunch” is very well founded.

What’s that saying:

“Nothing fuels disappointment, like expectation “

Watched the Colgate Young guns game and a few mentions below.

Vic Metro - were missing the guns in Ashcroft, Wardlaw and Tsatas and a few more.

Hudson O'Keefe - Ruckman at 202cm. Was really impressed with this kid, moves well for this size but his ruck craft is on point. Thought he dominated Ramsden who everyone has been raving about, he has nice skills too. Top 40 type pick, and if we miss out on Broadbent I'd love to get this kid.

Sheezel - played on a guy whose been playing VFL for Essendon and they had a great battle, but Sheezel only needs half a sniff and he's putting it through the big sticks. Kicked 5 from limited opportunities, kids all class.

Ben Hempel - Half back/winger type with good speed and disposal and at 187cm is a nice prospect, thought he and Sheezel were the best two. Has good disposal and provides really good run.

Kai Windsor - Had a great first half, and I was thinking very draftable but he literally disappeared in the second half. Good winger and reminded me of Jake Soligo. His brother Caleb (next years draft) was really good too.

Mitchell Rowe - similar to Hempel, but half back/winger type with good speed and disposal.

Paul Pascu - inside midfielder, but disposal lets him down, but impacts the play. Late to undrafted for mine.

Only other overager I think that's really draftable is Hall-Kahan, more your forward - winger with really good speed as a lead up forward or break lines on the wing. Feel he'll get drafted midseason. Good disposal too.
Some misc notes from what I could recall.

Sheezel was pure efficiency, that said had he not have caused so much damage, I would have considered his opponent D'Ambrossio as one of the best on ground. Hard to balance but undeniable that Sheezel has the goods.

Gallagher was on, everything seemed to go to him and offered wonderful options forward all day.

Love Hall-Kahan's zeal and size. Some great attacks breaching the back half and making the Young Guns look dangerous going forward.

Culley obviously a stand-out in terms of high impact with the four goals in a half from the midfield. Moves imposingly for a player his size, but I will say I wasn't absoluuuuutely taken aback at his contested work or application at the coal-face. Maybe that's fair enough when you know the troubles you can cause on the spread, but yeah given the stats thought his general game might have been absolutely absurd but I would just rate it as very good (probably being harsh).

Could see the athletic merit in Ramsden, and there were times he could have been utilised more and he's clearly adept around the ground, but generally not that convinced by how he went.

McCormick was busy and got to good spots which is important as a high-HF / wing.

Ben Hempel was excellent with his use and want to receive. Nice intercepting game too.

Reckon you're spot on here beets.

However, Shuey, Gaff AND O'Neil were all mids picked up from Georgie's club the Oakleigh Chargers.

Clearly Ro has a mate down the Chargers footy factory.

EDIT: IT also happens to be Tsatas's club as well

Oh, Okay! | Family Guy | Know Your Meme

110% correct.

He shouldn't be, as we took Chesser last year and they're very similar.
Your point RE contested mids later in the draft, agree again. Maybe though as they did take Chesser last year, they might look at Lemmey!

But if we did take Culley mid season, taking Lemmey in the national draft would be make sense!

I'm getting the impression some people think Tsatas is a really skinny and strictly outside mid in the mould of Cale Morton or JON.

Yep that’s where I am with him at the moment, although he isn’t as spewworthy as Morton was or as spudly as JON.

He's already a good size and will be a great size once developed. He also averages 6 clearances a game, really outside players probably don't do that.

I am yet to see anything of him, to suggest to me that he is a balanced mid.
Outside player is definitely how I have him pegged at this stag of the season, until I see him play otherwise.

Would like for him to prove me wrong.
Until then I ain’t interested in “US” drafting him with our first rounder.

Credit where it is due:
Good footballer and his ability to read the play is elite, plus the kid does have a serious set of wheels on him.👍

Don't think i'd Reeeeeeee too much if we took Tsatas to be honest.

Seems a very decent and damaging footballer, hardly vanilla, despite not being the contested beast we all want.

Would definitely add a bit to this pedestrian midfield immediately, and ideally wouldn't get injured when he hits 8kph.

Just need to pickup a Bull/Broadbent with our next pick :shrug:

Yep that’s where I am with him at the moment, although he isn’t as spewworthy as Morton was or as spudly as JON.

I am yet to see anything of him, to suggest to me that he is a balanced mid.
Outside player is definitely how I have him pegged at this stag of the season, until I see him play otherwise.

Would like for him to prove me wrong.
Until then I ain’t interested in “US” drafting him with our first rounder.

Credit where it is due:
Good footballer and his ability to read the play is elite, plus the kid does have a serious set of wheels on him.👍
Hmmmm, interesting.

Can I ask who your top three, from a WC perspective, are at this (admittedly ridiculously) early stage?

With his speed and elite footkicking he would make a mighty fine hbf sort of like Jetta

While I do agree we need to improve our contested ball winning ability, is there a risk of drafting to match what the best teams are doing now, rather than drafting for what could beat them (whatever that is) and ending up with a team stuck with a list that works now rather than what will work in a few years time when we might be in a position to compete again?

hey briztoon
If West Coast hold pick 1, I am sure there can be a suitable price negotiated for the sale of the Lion's round 1 pick that includes a discount for agreeing not to call out Ashcroft at pick 1. There is nearly a 400 points differential between being called out at 1 (20% discount in 2,400) v 2 (20% discount in 2,014).

Assuming Lions make minimum Preliminary Final, you will have pick 15 (points equivalent of 1,112)

Our current picks are 1, 19, 26 and 37. Pick 26 is worth 729 points and 37 is worth 483 for a total of 1,212. Add in the saving of not bidding at Pick 1 or 386, we could do a suitable deal. We or you could happily get a points premium with pick 26 and to a lesser extent with 37. I am sure the Suns, Pies or Cats sitting with loads of picks in the 40's and 50's would be willing buyers of an upgrade to 26.

Fair and legal? I think so. Is it what the AFL intended. I don't care. You know from how we went with Sydney and hid their pick, we can be trusted at the draft table.

Come on you thief, how about crediting the genius who first suggested the idea:

Does the threat of bidding on Ashcroft at #1 move the needle?

After the points discount, the difference between being bid on at #1 and #3 is 575 points. So our offer of 250 points comes with the bonus saving of 575 points if we don't bid on him.

:think:

Hmmmm, interesting.

Can I ask who your top three, from a WC perspective, are at this (admittedly ridiculously) early stage?

I am not convinced that there is a stand out just yet although the two names below are of real interest to me to monitor.

Not trying to be either difficult or a smart arse but I only have two at this early stage and one is a name that we have, diddly squat chance of landing.

Ashcroft - see note below.
Lemmey

Then I have at the next line ( in no particular order) - a cluster of:

Wardlaw
Sheezle
Hewett
Scully
Tstas
Clark
Ryan
Gunsslinger

From a pure WC perspective I am really keen to see how Hewett develops and progresses, as I rate him highly.
From outside WA I have a strong interest in tracking Wardlaw’s progress.

Ashcroft- I am 99.9 % confident that Ashcroft will nominated for the Brisbane F&S if we look like finishing last.

Fly in the ointment may be if North sit in pole position for the wooden spoon….as there is a chance , al be it slim, that he could decide to remain in Melbourne, it’s not yet guaranteed that leaves his home state.
So either way, IMO, we have no show of landing him.

As you suggest it’s ridiculously early to be wanting dibs on a player just yet.

So I am really undecided as to who I want at this point in time.

Plenty of time to play out and I am like a kid on Christmas Eve waiting for the Championships.
Depending how they are set up - The when and the where I may travel to watch.

While I do agree we need to improve our contested ball winning ability, is there a risk of drafting to match what the best teams are doing now, rather than drafting for what could beat them (whatever that is) and ending up with a team stuck with a list that works now rather than what will work in a few years time when we might be in a position to compete again?
Some merit in what you say about chasing a copy cat set up but I would say that our best 22 line up is void of anyone that is both under 25 and a contested midfield beast. Yeo and Shuey are our two and they aging.

I am not the owner of a crystal ball but I would bet London to a brick that core to the next 30 years Premiership teams will be at least 2 contested beast midfielders as primary movers.

2021 - Oliver, Pretracca, Viney
2020/19/17 - Cotchin Martin, Edwards, Bolton
2018 - Shuey, Yeo
2016 - Bontempelli, Liberatore
2015/14/13 - Hodge, Mitchell, Lewis
2012 - Kennedy, Jack, Bolton, O'Keefe

I don't think hard nuts are ever going to be a passing fad. They are just something the Pieman does not go for until the 3rd or 4th round.

Good and really valid post .👍

I am not convinced that there is a stand out just yet although the two names below are of real interest to me to monitor.

Not trying to be either difficult or a smart arse but I only have two at this early stage and one is a name that we have, diddly squat chance of landing.

Ashcroft - see note below.
Lemmey

Then I have at the next line ( in no particular order) - a cluster of:

Wardlaw
Sheezle
Hewett
Scully
Tstas
Clark
Ryan
Gunsslinger

From a pure WC perspective I am really keen to see how Hewett develops and progresses, as I rate him highly.
From outside WA I have a strong interest in tracking Wardlaw’s progress.

Ashcroft- I am 99.9 % confident that Ashcroft will nominated for the Brisbane F&S if we look like finishing last.

Fly in the ointment may be if North sit in pole position for the wooden spoon….as there is a chance , al be it slim, that he could decide to remain in Melbourne, it’s not yet guaranteed that leaves his home state.

As you suggest it’s ridiculously early to be wanting dibs on a player just yet.

So I am really undecided as to who I want at this point in time.

Plenty of time to play out and I am like a kid on Christmas Eve waiting for the Championships.
Depending how they are set up - The when and the where I may travel to watch.

I like this summary - but all these new names....

Any chance you can do a best comparison with current players?
I want to know who to melt about us picking & not picking.

I see either Norf or us as having pick 1. He is reported to be liking Melbourne but I suggest the threat of going interstate other than Brisbane would not be desirable and even worse would be to be banished to Arden Street.

With younger brother coming a long, I get the desire to play together. Norf look like they were amassing a collection of wooden spoons and now we are about to disrupt that.

Picks as they sit now: -

1. West Coast
2. Norf
3. Essendon (would be tempting if he wanted to stay in Melbourne)
4. GWS
5. Adelaide
6. Suns

Nah - I am pretty damn sure he will take up the F/S option.