Mega Thread >>COVID-19 DISCUSSION THREAD<<

• Thread starter Thread starter Ralphyboy

this is probably the most agreeable thread our board has ever had

It's because for once there is something that is not the fault of John Longmire or Sam Reid or Tom Harley or Tom Mitchell or Luke Parker or Ollie Florent or Eddie McGuire or Buddy Franklin or Kinnear Beatson or Hawthorn.

Actually Kirkswan it’s not too dissimilar to what happens. Commercial realities. I had a client who was technically bankrupt and owed $370k debt. You want to know how much he paid to settle all that debt? $10k total. I simply said you take that or spend more money to get nothing in bankruptcy. your choice.
Yes, I know, I've seen it too... but the AFL isn't going bankrupt, and there are plenty of people who don't understand that going bankrupt IS a commercial reality and is in fact, a tool that is there to help them. I was referring to the supposed conversation between the AFL and Rupert... that is not going to happen.

Saw some interesting stats today saying that the true death rate is a little over 1%. There are something like 14% that are asymptomatic or mild symptoms not factored into the numbers. They were saying that under 64 unless you have bad health then your probability of death is very low.

I’m inclined to think that healthy people under 50 shouldn’t be in hospital. The beds need to be kept for those over 64 imo.
Just curious... how old are you? ;)

It's because for once there is something that is not the fault of John Longmire or Sam Reid or Tom Harley or Tom Mitchell or Luke Parker or Ollie Florent or Eddie McGuire or Buddy Franklin or Kinnear Beatson or Hawthorn.

i thought this virus was linked to horses contract extension

lot of bad shits happened since

i thought this virus was linked to horses contract extension

lot of bad shits happened since
I thought about Horse on Saturday evening in Paris. My wife and I were dining in a Michelin starred Japanese-French restaurant and the horse in question was incredibly tender, served rare and delicioius. That night the French government closed all restaurants and cafés so my wife and I drove back to the UK a day earlier than planned. We'd originally planned to take Eurostar but decided to avoid contact with the hoi polloi by taking the Eurotunnel (car train) and using my eScooter to get around two-up on the quiet streets. We felt quite safe using reasonable hygiene precautions. Paris had relatively few cases of Covid-19 with most French cases concentrated in a few border regions. Those cases in Paris were mostly brought in to specialist hospitals. It was incredibly quiet, no queues for sights (even for the Louvre which had briefly reopened) and few diners in restaurants that would normally be booked months in advance. There were very few tourists at all. Ask anyone who's been to Paris, it's always packed with tourists. For us it's only 4.5hrs drive + 35 mins channel crossing so we didn't need to get out of the car or stop for fuel. Our main worry was the UK closing the border while we were out.

Being so far away from the footy I'm used to only watching it on TV but I can fully appreciate that the health of players and their families has to come first. We have only two cases as yet in East Sussex but people are still on edge. There are some vulnerable old people we'll be keeping an eye on and helping out where we can. People have to think of the most vulnerable in their society or the whole community falls apart.

Stay well BF. Look after yourselves and your loved ones.

thats on the west coast
My family are also in Tassie. I'm hoping they can keep my mum and dad isolated. Going into winter will exacerbate things. I'd love to get my folks over here are we're heading into summer and have lots of space living out in the countryside, but it's too late for my folks to travel safely and European borders have closed.

Stay safe. Don't underestimate how fast things can go from bad to worse.

Well i inferred from you saying you HAD to travel on the east coast that was not your home coast... and was a trip of some inconvenience...

But i inferred wrong.

You were traveling in a north-south direction ...

ahh sorry mate

just call going to st helens etc going to east coast

im in launceston

ahh sorry mate

just call going to st helens etc going to east coast

im in launceston
Love driving the East Coast of Tassie. Do you go via Scottsdale or Fingal Valley & St Marys ? I wonder how these small communities will cope ?

today i went via fingal , st marys

st marys, st helens and scamander were quite busy, maybe they haven't heard yet

we only have 7 cases here

today i went via fingal , st marys

st marys, st helens and scamander were quite busy, maybe they haven't heard yet

we only have 7 cases here
We have a similar population in East Sussex to that of Tasmania but we only 2 confirmed cases. The difference is ours will likely grow because of proximity to London but Tasmania's 7 cases could be managed by closing the border to people or enforcing a quarantine period of 14 days.

Tourism is a huge industry in Tassie but that's on ice anyway. Most of the economic damage is already done and any further damage would be limited as freight can remain open. There will be huge job losses in Tassie regardless but the agriculture industry need not be affected. At least a quarantine could save lives, certainly in the shorter term.

In the longer term, even if Tasmanians were to be spared they would face a similar conundrum to Taiwan where, due to an extremely effective management of the virus, Taiwan has very few cases but will eventually have to re-emerge, devoid of immunity, into a world where the virus has become endemic. Short of a vaccine being developed any unexposed population could be devastated, as indigenous Australians were by the onslaught of endemic diseases that Europeans brought with them.

This thing has a long way to play out before 'normal' returns but human societies are marvellous at adapting and a new normal may well emerge, one that hopefully still has scope for footy.

That's not how medical triage works in pandemic situations. When it comes to the point where you can not give a bed to everyone who needs it, you prioritise giving beds to those who are most likely to be able to make a recovery. Age is one factor of many when that consideration is made.

If you are an under 50 year old in a hospital ICU because you have corona virus you are no longer a "healthy under 50 year old" who can be assumed to just be able to rest it off at home. You are a very sick under 50 year old who would quite possibly die without intensive medical care. Your probability of death is definitely lower if you are younger and healthier, but that doesn't mean that younger people are not dying because of this virus. They are.

I partly imagine that this is the reason the death toll is so high in Italy compared to others. Already the 4th oldest population in the world and they're prioritising the young people over the old people so the ones most at risk of dying are just dying immediately rather than having a chance in hospital.

I'm watching Italy closely as I'm an Italian citizen and I'm living not so far away in Germany. Italy has been the canary in the coal mine for the rest of Europe, and it doesn't look good. Right now in Italy 50% of the corona patients that are deemed serious enough for ICU are dying, and there is already some triaging happening which means people deemed unable to be helped aren't even getting in to the ICU. 7% of corona cases in Italy are ending in death, which is a lot more than in neighbouring countries (Germany is only 0.3% so far, France is 2%, Spain is 3%...). Something is going on, the older population is definitely a big issue in Italy, but that and any triaging probably aren't enough by themselves to explain why it has been so much more deadly there than in other countries by itself.

This article makes for pretty serious reading, and I think it would be foolish to think that it isn't a story that could be being written about Australia in a matter of days or weeks: https://www.reuters.com/article/us-...age-and-lies-for-virus-patients-idUSKBN2133KG