Crows Chat That 'Doesnt Deserve Its Own Thread' Thread part 2

I’d argue we need to be going much more horses for courses with Tex and not playing him as often. I think we would have been much better off playing a small against both Brisbane and Collingwood.
Agree.

Think we are also better off going smaller next week in Tasmania too.

If North have to sell home games to two separate states to remain viable then really what is the point of them staying in Melbourne?
Fold them and make their players the base for Tassie team - contracts are wiped and they start renegotiating

With Ranks call last year against Collingwood (I think).
Just watching the Nth/West match and wondering what the umpires consider running too far with bouncing the ball. Curtis ran at least 30 meters into the goal square without bouncing. The commentator said nothing.

Not an expert on Hobart at all and only been a couple times but when I was there last I ended up in the area where the stadium is planned to be built and the one thing that sticks out is accessibility and parking - it really looks like it'll be a massive shit fight getting 20k+ down there every second weekend
Ummm - Which other oval has good parking?

Accessibility will be fine once they build the road extension and public transport hub at the ground.

Will be a great precinct once it’s developed - the city needs a focal point beyond Salamanca.

BTW - My Local discussions here since Friday’s political storm with a few in the know are that there is still a distinct possibility we avoid another election. There are plenty of Liberals who just hang onto their seats that don’t want that margin tested under the current climate. Might be business as usual with a new leader come Tuesday.

If we avoid a new election then it’s all good - the legislation should pass and the stadium will go ahead.

An election would be a delay and might cause some problems depending on the end results - balance of power etc…

Also, for the record, yeah this is a Tasmanian team but seriously talking it is of course a Hobart based team. About 250k of the 575k population live here. Putting the team in Launceston (3 hours away) would be madness as you’d cut out nearly half the potential market. I’m doing that trip on Friday to watch the Crows and it’s not a simple trip for a night game - leave with early and travel up in the arvo then stay overnight and come back the next day … not something I’d do more than a couple of times a year. The likes of JL and other non-Hobart based mouths screaming about the location is laughable imo.

If North have to sell home games to two separate states to remain viable then really what is the point of them staying in Melbourne?
"But they've got great finances" is what all North fans say

I'm sure if you removed their sold home games and the extra AFL dollars they get, they'd be bankrupt

"But they've got great finances" is what all North fans say

I'm sure if you removed their sold home games and the extra AFL dollars they get, they'd be bankrupt

I think by selling home games, you’re basically admitting that your own market is not big enough and you’ve had to look elsewhere. Clubs like Melbourne, the Bulldogs, North and the Saints previously having to sell home games is a statement that Melbourne is simply not big enough for nine teams in a properly national, professional league.

North may be financially sound, but they can’t afford to provide their football department with elite facilities, and they can’t afford to play their home games at home. They are not fully committed to winning games.

How is it different to tanking? Just one is for draft picks and one is for $$$. But the effect on the league is the same.

How many games? How many night games? Do they have their own team they need to sustain?

Brendan Gale said new stadium is a must otherwise it’s not viable. Corporates, members etc
Canberra has the Raiders. And GWS plays several games there a year. All I’m saying is they don’t NEED a roof.

Ummm - Which other oval has good parking?

Accessibility will be fine once they build the road extension and public transport hub at the ground.

Will be a great precinct once it’s developed - the city needs a focal point beyond Salamanca.

BTW - My Local discussions here since Friday’s political storm with a few in the know are that there is still a distinct possibility we avoid another election. There are plenty of Liberals who just hang onto their seats that don’t want that margin tested under the current climate. Might be business as usual with a new leader come Tuesday.

If we avoid a new election then it’s all good - the legislation should pass and the stadium will go ahead.

An election would be a delay and might cause some problems depending on the end results - balance of power etc…

Also, for the record, yeah this is a Tasmanian team but seriously talking it is of course a Hobart based team. About 250k of the 575k population live here. Putting the team in Launceston (3 hours away) would be madness as you’d cut out nearly half the potential market. I’m doing that trip on Friday to watch the Crows and it’s not a simple trip for a night game - leave with early and travel up in the arvo then stay overnight and come back the next day … not something I’d do more than a couple of times a year. The likes of JL and other non-Hobart based mouths screaming about the location is laughable imo.
Gabba has NO parking. It does ok.

Are there any stats on the most goal assists between two players. I reckon Keays and Rachele must be getting quite a few racked up now.

Canberra has the Raiders. And GWS plays several games there a year. All I’m saying is they don’t NEED a roof.
Canberra isn’t bringing in tourists to watch the Raiders play and support a stadium. Nor are they needing corporates to get behind a new team.

Tassie will need to bring in opposition supporters, they’ll need night games to get exposure for their corporates.

Crows are playing this Friday night, let’s see how that goes. No any Crows supporters going over for the game?

Are there any stats on the most goal assists between two players. I reckon Keays and Rachele must be getting quite a few racked up now.

Overall Keays is equal 110th to 140th league wide. Rach is 3rd, but there’s 0.8 between them. Not exactly high volume area. Doesn’t sound like it would be too high, but you’d think only the really expensive stats would record specific linkages.

Canberra isn’t bringing in tourists to watch the Raiders play and support a stadium. Nor are they needing corporates to get behind a new team.

Tassie will need to bring in opposition supporters, they’ll need night games to get exposure for their corporates.

Crows are playing this Friday night, let’s see how that goes. No any Crows supporters going over for the game?
A few on the cheersquad. Crows are notoriously good travellers.

Yes, to the Gold Coast, tourist destination, no not cold.
I dunno, I was there for lunch… Sun shining but bitterly cold wind! Lol. I was born in Canberra and lived in Canada. I still feel it. Hobart is a fabulous tourist destination and isn’t “that” cold in winter (I was there in July every year for the Festival of Voices for about 6 years). 1749451703549.png

This is what we're being asked to believe;

1. Tippett’s agent struck was so uncompromising that everyone involved deliberately broke the rules by not including the trading deal in the playing contract and instead had it written up separately.
2. After pushing us to break the rules in the first place, when Trigg asked during a phone call to cancel the written side deal, Tippett's agent just said 'no worries, consider it done'.
3. And that the material change to the initial agreement was agreed to without any further form of financial compensation to be exchanged between the AFC and Tippett. A key part of the deal was just gifted back because Triggy asked for it.

It's absolutely laughable that anyone could swallow this garbage, let alone continue to put it out there as some form of support for a bloke that was clearly out of his depth at the level.
The circumstantial case isn't needed, the facts came out via board memos and emails that everyone knew about it and we were honouring the deal. I was more commenting that Jenny yet again has her yearly relapse pretending she hasn't seen the evidence and that we weren't honouring the deal and that trigg was innocent, he wasn't.

Crows Chat That 'Doesnt Deserve Its Own Thread' Thread part 2

Write your reply...