Crows Chat That 'Doesnt Deserve Its Own Thread' Thread part 2

Yes. I said earlier, but got laughed at, that I would like to see the engineering reports. I reckon this particular roof would collapse in the first big storm.
Sounds as stupid as people using timber for retaining walls.

Yes. I said earlier, but got laughed at, that I would like to see the engineering reports. I reckon this particular roof would collapse in the first big storm.
Modern timber products (e.g. glulam) are very capable. There's a 25-story 90-metre tall building in the USA made with timber frames. Atlassian's new HQ will have a large timber component.

An open span timber structure wouldn't be that difficult to do.

Modern timber products (e.g. glulam) are very capable. There's a 25-story 90-metre tall building in the USA made with timber frames. Atlassian's new HQ will have a large timber component.

An open span timber structure wouldn't be that difficult to do.
But surely cost is higher in timber, when budget is very much a deciding factor in this case.

Given its engineered timber, and its being engineered in Germany.... you can safely say its rather costly.
& unnecessary.

Build a stadium not fully enclosed, but most seats under cover at a far cheaper cost to the Tasmanian taxpayer.

Timber? wtf?
This guy likes the sound of that...

terry-the-termite-gif.2339848

& unnecessary.

Build a stadium not fully enclosed, but most seats under cover at a far cheaper cost to the Tasmanian taxpayer.
Sorry - but we need it to be fully enclosed - it’s not just for footy.

It’s not the addition of a roof that makes it expensive - it’s being built from scratch. It’s a brand new best of breed stadium.

Remember that the Feds are putting up $240 million towards the project AND the AFL is giving Tassie $360 million in funding as part of the stadium deal.

The cost to the “Tassie Tax Payer” - the only argument there is that it won’t succeed and will end up costing us billions to maintain while not creating any economic benefits … which seems very unlikely imo.

It’s not the addition of a roof that makes it expensive - it’s being built from scratch. It’s a brand new best of breed stadium.

Remember that the Feds are putting up $240 million towards the project AND the AFL is giving Tassie $360 million in funding as part of the stadium deal.

The cost to the “Tassie Tax Payer” - the only argument there is that it won’t succeed and will end up costing us billions to maintain while not creating any economic benefits … which seems very unlikely imo.
Its the addition of a TIMBER roof thats making it expensive.

Canberra isn’t bringing in tourists to watch the Raiders play and support a stadium. Nor are they needing corporates to get behind a new team.

Tassie will need to bring in opposition supporters, they’ll need night games to get exposure for their corporates.

Crows are playing this Friday night, let’s see how that goes. No any Crows supporters going over for the game?

Yes, one of my mates and his wife have just travelled over by car via boat to start their fortnight holiday in the Apple Isle and going to the footy.

Ahh, you could have posted this a week ago and saved me the back and forth 😁

So a fully enclosed roof as opposed to a normal stadium roof is not a significant cost difference?

Suggest you take a closer look at the costings! That German wood doesn't come cheap...

Was worried about termites but a quick check shows that Tassie has no destructive species of white ants - lucky buggers

Crows Chat That 'Doesnt Deserve Its Own Thread' Thread part 2