Crows Vs West Coast

• Thread starter Thread starter Allefgib

the problem is our forward line is mainly a leading type forward line (as are most teams) but that requires nice delivery and as their midfield is better than ours it makes it hard to give pinpoint delivery which we require.

Well from what Im hearing on the radio Welsh is getting spanked by Hunter, so to me he is being delivered the ball:confused:

Lets not make excuses here, if we cannot beat West Coast today with the amount of injuries they have we are not going anywhere fast.

Mate, you missed my point. I'm saying our forward line is rubbish, has been for years. But yet again some will find a way to blame our midfield and the delivery.

As for West Coast, it's not as though we are underachieving against them. We are playing against a better side, end of story. Their rucks and midfield are better and their forward line ( who I don't really rate ) is still ahead of ours.

I just hope Douglas and Maric get rewarded for their good SANFL form. Not much point pesisting with the same cattle only to fall short everytime.

We'll see maccas, we'll see.

He sounds like he's been applying decent forwardline pressure today.... just seems he's struggling to get free again.. last quarter is his specialty though...

His job is to kick goals - he's been flattered against poor teams, and generally gone missing against good teams.

Add to that the fact that neither Bock or McGregor seem to be able to kick straight from a set shot, and it's a bit of a worry.

We really missed Goody today - Radar started well, but is obviously lacking match fitness.

Once Bass went down, we were in trouble.

Next week I'd bring in Maric and Douglas, move Griff down forward.

Did Jericho play today?

No Goodwin no crows. No Bassett no defence poor old Mattner no idea. Losing Bassett meant you were playing one short it was never going to work. And Goodwin is obviously the X factor in the midfield he's almost a bigger out for the Crows than Judd.

His job is to kick goals - he's been flattered against poor teams, and generally gone missing against good teams.

Add to that the fact that neither Bock or McGregor seem to be able to kick straight from a set shot, and it's a bit of a worry.

As inconcistent as Welsh has been, he's actually had a better year than Bock. Shows you where Bocks footy career is at.

I tend to agree, IMO, Bock should either be down back, or out of the side.

And yep, Goody is probably our most important player at the moment.

Bad luck guys, I was on the edge of my seat even at the end! Good, tough game, a lesser team would have been flogged.

Apparently we have another rule change. You're not allowed to kick in straight after a point anymore. Poor/inconcistent umpiring is killing this game.

Just want to point out here what happened. You can kick the ball in 'as soon as the umpire has received the all clear and signalled the score'. WCE have been caught out many times like that this year, running the ball across the line and then trying to play on straight away. Must await the all clear and signal (not flag wave, just hand signal)

Good luck for the rest of the season!

Just not good enough again against the Eagles. What is it about them we find so hard to match up on?

Sounds like alot of guys all over the ground were down today. I'm still trying to process if its a good thing that we weren't at our best and got beaten rather than gave our best and still got done.

Really need to lift against the Hawks next week or the season is starting to look in danger of slipping through our fingers.

Definitely keen to see Bock tried down back again.

Just not good enough again against the Eagles. What is it about them we find so hard to match up on?

Sounds like alot of guys all over the ground were down today. I'm still trying to process if its a good thing that we weren't at our best and got beaten rather than gave our best and still got done.

Really need to lift against the Hawks next week or the season is starting to look in danger of slipping through our fingers.

Definitely keen to see Bock tried down back again.

Nothing, it's just they're better side. We're a good team but not the best team. With that in mind, is it time to start thinking about building our next premiership side? No prizes for 2nd or 3rd.

Agree but it won’t happen

It's not Welsh's fault, IT'S THE POOR DELIVERY - Yawn, what a load of rubbish. Our forward line has been garbage for years. But apparently that's been our midfields fault - :rolleyes:Amazingly that same midfield has been heralded as one of the best combinations of the past 20 years, apparently their only flaw is/has been they can't kick to forwards.
You obviously weren't at the game yesterday, otherwise you wouldn't have stuck up for our delivery!

I got a question for you, if you are a midfielder, carrying the ball into attack and looking to deliver it to a forward. Your forwards are about 40 meters from goal and no other team mates in the area between the goal and the 40 meters mark, but they are 3 WC defenders some 15-20 meters in front of their goal.

Do you

a) bomb it in deep into the hotspot 20 meters out in front of goal
b) Wait a little bit so that your forward can drop back and provide an option
c) try to hit your forward 40 meters out

See the HUGE problem I had with our midfielders yesterday was because they went with option a) EVERY ****ing time. ESPECIALLY in the first quarter. We had it all over WC in the first quarter and should have gone into the break with a 3-4 goal lead but because of our low IQ and lack of common sense we ended up going in with a minimal lead and WC very much still in the game.

Time and time again, we pants them in the midfield in that 1st quarter, we go forward and bomb it long without a single crow in the drop zone and 3 wesct coast defenders taking an easy defensive marks.

It just got worse after that. This team is mentally weak when it comes to WC. If we were EVER going to beat WC it was yesterday, yet we couldn't even give a yelp! I don't care who we had in teh forward line yesterday. We could have had Lockett, Carey, Ablett all in their prime, they would have done JACK SHIT with that sort of deplorable effort of trying to give a forward at least a chance to score. Yesterday a LOT of our delivery didn't even give the forward a chance because it went straight to the opposition.

Our skill level in general was deplorable. Easy handballs or kicks under minimal to no pressure didn't hit the intended target and ended up with WC. Turnovers and shitty delivery KILL you!

What the hell happened to that very skilled side that was running around for the last 2 seasons?! I would like to see that side back, what I saw yesterday is what I saw in 2004 when easy kicks and handballs were stuffed up. So many times yesterday we passed the ball to a player who was in no position to receive it.