Do Collingwood need to enter a rebuild phase?

Dangerfield's not done much outside the Hawks prelim.

I would say Dempsey's more than proven and Neale came on in leaps and bounds, now that Hawkins is gone.

Recruiting's been decent but the drafting failures are unsustainable. That's the issue here.

How is Collingwood copying Geelong exactly? Geelong haven't traded out of the pointy end of multiple future drafts for a HBF(Houston) and a pressure forward(Schulz).

They did trade a late-first rounder for a bloke who finished third in the Brownlow and who will probably be around for another decade(off field behaviour notwithstanding).

Also how are you following Richmond's path, when they realised they could no longer compete, jettisoned 3 players for high picks and raided the draft? That's the exact opposite of what Collingwood are doing.

I mean, we finished one spot below in 2019 to what Collingwood did in 2025 and that was because WCE shit the bed against a lowly Hawthorn.

Conversely, Collingwood made top 4 by grace of GC shitting the bed against Port in Ken's last hurrah.

Luck can go a long way towards making you look great, or terrible, by very small margins.

West Coast also ran into covid, which was a cluster**** for all teams, as well as the worst injury list for 2 years any club's ever seen.

Collingwood got 'lucky' on the other side of the ledger by getting Naicos as a father son and not getting injuries to their senior brigade, because they rarely travel.

Swings and roundabouts.
This is ridiculous. West Coast also had a blatant free not paid against them which lead to Sheed kicking the goal that won you a flag (i dont blame this for pies losing btw). Every side has good and bad luck during a game, its a 2 hour game FFS.
We too had a massive injury list last year, and we went from 9th to 3rd this year

From that list who is likely to be more than a C grader ( who could be pulled from the VFL like Sullivan)? West is tracking in line with expectation for a young tall. Other than that I don't see future A-B graders on that list.
how do you know? You have not watched these players play. Josh Daicos was terrible his first 2 years but developed. Mihocek didnt even play until he was 25 and was a defender. Some will be shit and some might be good, this is no different to high draft picks either.

Most of them.
The delusion is strong amongst the Pie fan.

Other than Allan I’d be doubtful any will have any real impact and even Allan is a long way off.

Nup, Jiath will be the difference maker, he alone is worth two wins. I can't see a world where Collingwood don't play Wild Card Weekend. Imagine how massive a Col v StK (99800) Wildcard Weekend will be. Imagine.
Col v Carl (99,000)
Col v NMFC (92,000)
Col v Ess (99,250)

50,000 x $100 = $5000000
X2 = $10,000,000

Let's say Andrew Dildo has a clause in his employment agreement dictating he receives 10% of growth in rev 2026 thru end of 2030.

Easiest way to earn $1m bonus in my eyes.

I'll go put my tinfoil away

how do you know? You have not watched these players play. Josh Daicos was terrible his first 2 years but developed. Mihocek didnt even play until he was 25 and was a defender. Some will be shit and some might be good, this is no different to high draft picks either.
I have seen most of them play. While I don't know for sure, but that's why I said who is likely. High draft picks are statistically more likely to be A and B graders. Players at the back of the draft are more likely to be just making up the numbers. 16 out of 22 AA's were first rounders.

A realist would admit that is the least impressive group of young players in the league.

lets win 6 games in a season before you get carried away with dumb predictions
Let's just assume the past is clear example of the future and Collingwood are not falling off a cliff and a Premiership threat. Let's. Will that do for you, for now, or do you need a blanky too?

Should we go through some other shit you don't know/ are unaware, I have a spare few hours, happy to help.

Let's call it the "Ask Chippy Hour" about life, relations and Superliga Argentina...

This is ridiculous. West Coast also had a blatant free not paid against them which lead to Sheed kicking the goal that won you a flag (i dont blame this for pies losing btw). Every side has good and bad luck during a game, its a 2 hour game FFS.
We too had a massive injury list last year, and we went from 9th to 3rd this year
Maynard was blocking Rioli, he wasn't even looking at the ball like Willie was, nor were either of those 2 near it.

Don't believe what what a drunken, screaming Cameron Ling said during the broadcast.

Does that change my judgement? Please explain why?

Freo went six seasons without a finals win, Pies went 5. Big deal, we’re now on the opposite end of the contenders spectrum so if we check back in 5-10 years I can probably say the same thing.
Look forward to meeting your mob in a final sometime soon then. Coxy always plays well in big games so you've got a real show now.

Let's just assume the past is clear example of the future and Collingwood are not falling off a cliff and a Premiership threat. Let's. Will that do for you, for now, or do you need a blanky too?

Should we go through some other shit you don't know/ are unaware, I have a spare few hours, happy to help.

Let's call it the "Ask Chippy Hour" about life, relations and Superliga Argentina...
How about we look at teams that have got all the draft picks and cant get out of the bottom 6 forever, like Carlton and Melbourne in 2000s and early 2010s and Gold Coast, Norf has had 3 seasons at the bottom and have shown zero improvement despite all the draft picks. GWS has also had heaps of draft picks but swapped a lot of them for decent players. Still havent won a flag though.

Its cool you think we are falling off a cliff despite going from 9th to 3rd this year. We will be fine and i can bet that we will be finishing above Norf for many years to come, because despite all your draft picks you still need to fill all the other holes you have in your side.

After a decade of drafting in nothing of note that wasn't a FS/academy pick, I'd have looked for a competent list manager, for starters.

Then, I wouldn't have followed the WCE method of burning multiple first rounders on trades in to try and cash in on and old squad attempting to squeeze out one more flag, when it's obvious there's up and coming teams who have simply adapted to the modern game plan, already have a far superior squad and will only get better whilst my oldies all begin retiring, knowing I have nothing to replace them with.

How are Collingwood going to compete in future with Brisbane/Gold Coast, for instance? Sure, I disagree with the means they've been able to acquire their young talent but my opinion on that is irrelevant because they do have it and are only going to get better. They already have the core there to replace their aging stars with no issues whatsoever.
Collingwood doesn't have that(neither did WCE or Richmond), not do they have their recruitment advantages/luck(other than Daicos) so where does their list improvement and rejuvenation actually come from?

So....you're saying that WCE and Richmond will compete with Brissy and The Suns cos you'be both redrafted lately?

Tiges might in 5-8 years. WCE's....yeah nah.

Is waiting that long while you continually improve your list via the draft worth the wait? Oh but you'll have the draft picks to coax oppo clubs to give you their stars to actually get some real improvement....with Tassie's involvement going to make the Sun's academy bonuses look like nothing.....

We can keep going round and round in circles about this, but there's more than one way to crack an egg. Happy to let you have your opinion that you're rebuild is the way to go, but also happy to follow my club off you're imaginary cliff.

One final thought though, just look back at the last decade of flag winners......where are all the young, developing, successfully rebuilt through the draft sides? Were the Bulldogs that? Maybe the Dee's (Covid)? None of the others were.

They’ve been extremely lucky with the father sons and academy pick ups that have kept them going. Their drafting hasn’t been great otherwise.
We've only had the current drafting team for a year....our old crew are going to be involved with the Tassie mob though so the AFL must reckon they can pick talent somehow?

So....you're saying that WCE and Richmond will compete with Brissy and The Suns cos you'be both redrafted lately?

No, we're on different timelines.

Tiges might in 5-8 years. WCE's....yeah nah.

Sure bud.

Is waiting that long while you continually improve your list via the draft worth the wait? Oh but you'll have the draft picks to coax oppo clubs to give you their stars to actually get some real improvement....with Tassie's involvement going to make the Sun's academy bonuses look like nothing.....

Great thing we got in before Tassie then.

We can keep going round and round in circles about this, but there's more than one way to crack an egg. Happy to let you have your opinion that you're rebuild is the way to go, but also happy to follow my club off you're imaginary cliff.

Again, what plan does Collingwood actually have? Because the only plan is McRae wants players, not picks, and the list management since he arrived has matched that.

The Pies have done well to pick up some serviceable free agents and discards but none of them will be the core of the team for the next decade.

One final thought though, just look back at the last decade of flag winners......where are all the young, developing, successfully rebuilt through the draft sides? Were the Bulldogs that? Maybe the Dee's (Covid)? None of the others were.

Richmond, Bulldogs, Melbourne, Hawthorn, West Coast.

If you're trying to claim only through the draft then well, I never suggested that. The core group for all those teams all came via the draft though, with some savvy trading to finish the lists off.

Collingwood are doing the exact opposite of that.

And that reigning premier just significantly improved their team during this offseason.

Collingwood did not.

And just like the Suns (and GWS and the Swans before them) Brissy will continue to be given every chance by the AFL to be successful due to their demographics. Clubs from historically strong football states will not...and that's all clubs not only Collingwood and WCE's.....lol.

Sure, that's something we can certainly both agree on.

How about we look at teams that have got all the draft picks and cant get out of the bottom 6 forever, like Carlton and Melbourne in 2000s and early 2010s and Gold Coast, Norf has had 3 seasons at the bottom and have shown zero improvement despite all the draft picks. GWS has also had heaps of draft picks but swapped a lot of them for decent players. Still havent won a flag though.

Its cool you think we are falling off a cliff despite going from 9th to 3rd this year. We will be fine and i can bet that we will be finishing above Norf for many years to come, because despite all your draft picks you still need to fill all the other holes you have in your side.
The thread is about Collingwood, there's hundreds of Carlton threads around if you want to enter one.

I hope he makes it too but realistically, he'd never have got the chance if we didn't get 4 rookie spots to boost our WAFL team for development purposes.

In regards to limited opportunities for kids, that's what the teams with the best development do, they make opportunities.

McRae is incapable of that because he only wants to win right now, which means only giving those kids bit parts when there's no other choice. Not good for the future.

Crikey Fly's a selfish coach....fancy wanting to win right now (and then being able to make it happen through immaculate planning and game day coaching)

Wish we had a coach who thought about the future more than just winning:rolleyes:

Your age profile says the cliff is near.

"You're not Geelong" obviously, we are copying them and are trying to replicate the Richmond Hawthorn system, Honestly i don't think you listen.

Currently we are exporting our mid season draft picks. We are drafting whomever we can, you seem to have written many boys off who are on the list, so we haven't written them off. Good luck to you, I think we play finals and North and eagles don't.

As for the cliff, one day we will collapse and you can gloat then, but do not hold your breath. Lot of Blue critics around here in recent years.

Maynard was blocking Rioli, he wasn't even looking at the ball like Willie was, nor were either of those 2 near it.

Don't believe what what a drunken, screaming Cameron Ling said during the broadcast.
Lol I was there, the Eagles around me were laughing about it, they felt it was revenge for the Pies run of decisions in the first half (aside from Grundy being mauled, they weren't wrong).

We were lucky to be within 5 goals of you, and you were lucky most of the Richmond boys had diarrhea the week before.

Crikey Fly's a selfish coach....fancy wanting to win right now (and then being able to make it happen through immaculate planning and game day coaching)

Wish we had a coach who thought about the future more than just winning:rolleyes:
It's possible to do both

In fact, he should be doing both.

Clearly reading isn't a strong point of yours as those players were neither drafted, nor cost first round picks.
But it all goes to your philosophy.

Why would a club focussing on the draft, and looking 3 to 5 years down the track, bring in a player like Mitchell? Or McStay?

I get it... Mr. Hindsight Hero here would have had the best of both worlds- picked the eyes out of the draft, traded astutely, and likely won more than just the one flag over the past 4 years....

"You're not Geelong" obviously, we are copying them and are trying to replicate the Richmond Hawthorn system, Honestly i don't think you listen.

How?

Pies supporters keep saying this but not one person has said how they're doing this.

Currently we are exporting our mid season draft picks. We are drafting whomever we can, you seem to have written many boys off who are on the list, so we haven't written them off. Good luck to you, I think we play finals and North and eagles don't.

Sure, I think Collingwood will also play finals next year but the goal is to contend for a flag, which I don't think Collingwood are capable of anymore.

As for the cliff, one day we will collapse and you can gloat then, but do not hold your breath. Lot of Blue critics around here in recent years.

Your most import players outside of the Daicos bros are the wrong side of 35. Look how much importance was placed on Howe this finals, for example.

Lol I was there, the Eagles around me were laughing about it, they felt it was revenge for the Pies run of decisions in the first half (aside from Grundy being mauled, they weren't wrong).

Good for them but on the replay, both are about 5 metres away from the ball and Maynard is watching Willie.

If he was watching the ball instead, he could've actually tried to stop Sheed. He had no idea where the ball was, so he couldn't.

We were lucky to be within 5 goals of you, and you were lucky most of the Richmond boys had diarrhea the week before.

We dunked Richmond earlier in that year. Not much concern there.

But it all goes to your philosophy.

Why would a club focussing on the draft, and looking 3 to 5 years down the track, bring in a player like Mitchell? Or McStay?

I get it... Mr. Hindsight Hero here would have had the best of both worlds- picked the eyes out of the draft, traded astutely, and likely won more than just the one flag over the past 4 years....
I presumed you were stupid but you still had to double down.

None of them have been stars for years. They still play good games generally. They have already been replaced in a lot of ways by players like Steene, Alan, Frampton, McInnes, Long and Sullivan.
Why don't people look at our midfield stats. We have turned over our midfield.

In 2022 our midfielders who attended 50% or more CBAs was Grundy, Pendles, T.Adams, Crisp and DeGoey

In 2023 our midfielders who attended 50% or more CBAs was Cameron, Pendles, T.Mitchell and DeGoey

In 2025 our midfielders who attended 50% or more CBAs was Cameron, N.Daicos, N.Long and Pendles. Perryman had some isolated games above 50% when Pendles or Long wasn't playing.

Pies 2026 core midfield and ages
Cameron 30
N.Daicos 23
N.Long 23
J.Daicos 27
Lipinski 27
Perryman 27
DeGoey 30
McReery 25

That ain't an old engine room at all, so if we have another couple of kids pop up we can then pick and choose when to play the veterans in Pendles, Sidey and Crisp (or not at all if form falls away).

Yep your clearly right. We have turned over half the team in 4 years and we still suck.

Checks finishes over the years that McCrae has been coach
2022 4th
2023 1st
2024 9th
2025 4th

Serious though if you check drafting usually only about 1 in 3 players usually make it as an AFL player and it's a bit early to dismiss the players you have mentioned because it has been very hard to get a spot in our team. They will get more of an opportunity this year.

Yes you finished 4th, but you lost 6 of the last 8 games in 2025, and I remember years ago North fell off a cliff in a similar way near the end of a season and it was the first big sign a rebuild was needed for them.

A Pies first 18 based on players born 1995 or earlier, 30 or younger currently.

Quaynor, Frampton, McInnes
Houston, Moore, Maynard
Lipinski, Perryman, J.Daicos
Cameron, N.Daicos, N.Long
McReery, McStay, B.Hill
Schulz, DeGoey, H.Harrison

It is the KPD/F spots where we need some of the raw kids to blossom at VFL level in the next couple of years - West, Buller, Cochran, Steene, McCarthy - or else we go hunting for mature players.

Do Collingwood need to enter a rebuild phase?