Draft pick no.7

hotpie said:
Not only is that a racist comment, its also ignorant. Egan has a totally different body shape and game to Davis. He is much taller and leaner, and looks more versatile. If you want to compare him with an aboriginal, try Wells or Kerr.

He's no lardarse and we have to be thankful for that. Egan will be a player. Erratic, but a player.

So you can't compare two players, if they both happen to be aboriginal, without being racist? Moron.

FIGJAM said:
We were heavily linked to Jordan Russell and Danny Meyer, primarily due to Neil Balme spending so much time in South Australia.

I'd have no doubt that these two were interviewed. We did of course have a high second round pick. And we did of course use said pick on a South Australian on "smokey" Sean Rusling!

Russell is a weird one. He wasn't really rated as a high pick until right before the draft, mainly because of his excellent draft camp results.

I'm sure not sure if Wiz released a full draft summary on Russell and the only comment on him featured "flawed kicking".

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=156559&highlight=jordan+russell+colin+wisbey

Both Russell and Meyer ended up being expected to get a top ten spot, whereas Egan was generally rated lower due to his inconsistencies. It makes sense that Egan would be almost a definite to slip through to 10.

Like hotpie said, we'll never know, but I suspect we got exactly who we wanted.

Thanks for the info Figgy

I also reckon Egan's being compared to the wrong Sydney player. He's a mini version of Goodes IMO.

Similar high shoulders, slightly hunched but lanky frame, and both are capable of leaps beyond the normal range of blokes their size. Both quick, athletic and good skills.

Lonie_from_50 said:
Stan will never learn that his respect for Collingwood is well below average for an actual supporter. :rolleyes:

I still have never agreed with anything he says.

Well we agree on one thing and that is i DON'T respect the club.

I like it, not love it these days.

I was more concerned about picking up another talented but inconsistent player compared to a strong, solid week in week out player which i reckon lewis will become.

Jordan Lewis is a lot worse than Chad Morrison is right now.

Jordan Lewis will be worse for our lineup than Chris Egan in the future, considering guys like Brayden and Heath Shaw are similar to Lewis.

Therefore, we've done ourselves good for now and for the future in the deal.

I'm happy.

Yeah the past seems bad as coach and recruiters seemed to build us a tough inside midfield outfit (that was also therefore slow) - but with addition of tough experienced players we got to 2 GFs.

But let's celebrate the positive. Whether it was MM or recruiters who changed tack, this year we have 4 newbies who most are singing the praises of: Egan, Rusling, Travis and Yakka. Wouldn't be surprised if any one of them jumped into the seniors half way through the year, as happened with Rowe last year. And while these and last year's intake develop, we have covered bases with Chad and Cara (not the toughs of early 2000 policy but experienced players none the less with lots of flexibility, flair and a bit of lair).

Congrats to the new policy. And to last week's second half new game plan (or reversion to the "real game" plan if you believe the spindoctors' version of events). Let's keep recruiting for that game plan - attacking, direct footy as eg Geelong and St KIlda did in their down years.

Draft pick no.7