Draft Thread

Phil Smart has been researching these guys for a long time now. I think I'll trust his judgement. Obviously, he has been watching Ibbotson, which means he would have been watching Swallow too. Obviously they rate this guy highly. It's not often that we take a local guy... for us to do that, it must mean hes good :thumbsu:

Here is a few comparisons i have heard about the boys we have picked in this draft.

Drum - Scarlett: Shifter just said he is very similar to Scarlett and he likens him to Matty a lot.
Ibbotson - Mckenna: Plays in a similar fashion to McKenna according to East Colts coach Andrew Lockyer.
Warnock: Not a player as such but here is a quote for you to think about. "I have rarely seen a players as good as he is a ground level - better than Spider Everitt in my opinion." Gary Colling - Vic Metro coach.

Apparently Drum is the best defender in the draft hands down.

When i first woke up i was quite upset with our picks. But after a closer look how the draft panned out i'm quite happy with our selections.

Drum was the best available. Swallow obviously can't kick. And for that reason we didn't pick him. We have enough players who can't kick.

Warnock was a pick for the future. We need another true ruckman.

So all in all we filled a gap that needed filling with a 3rd round selection. And got 2 capable players with our 1st and 2nd rounders. One of which is capable of playing in the midfield.

Here is Weavers opinion on Ibottson

"Has been hurt a little by being a spare-part player. With other midfield options in the WA team he was drafted in a fullback and then a flanker. The powerful East Freo junior side pushed him out on the flanks a lot. In other teams he would have played 100 minutes a week in the centre and probably jumped up the draft order. A big-body, strong at the ball, good overhead and reads the game well. Just lacks that little extra something to lift him above the others, but is very bottom age so has improvement left in him."

If Drum grows 4-5cm in height (which isn't unheard of at his age, bone scans and body measurements could predict this) he could easily be our fullback of the future. The club may have invested some money into finding out whether he will grow further and picked him because he will be our fullback of the future.

Ibbotson for the midfield and Warnoch for the future ruck duties.

A very professional draft, thinking about the future and not trying to plug gaps (AKA Collingwood). The more i think about our picks the more i like it.

rgauci said:
If Drum grows 4-5cm in height (which isn't unheard of at his age, bone scans and body measurements could predict this) he could easily be our fullback of the future.

If he grows another 4-5 he'll be ideal height and with commensurate increase in weight, just what we'll be looking for.

How much more height has a kid this size got left in him ?

Unfortunately, Drums a bit top age so I cant see him growing much more. I suppose we can all dream. I think it was his attitude that made him so appealing, besides the obvious talents. Everyone always talks about how the real stars, how their attitude on the training track is a class above... no stone left unturned so to speak. Those are the sort of things that make our captain so great. If Drums attitude is anything like that, we will definately have made the correct choice with our selection. He sounds like the consumate professional.

Just on a side note, arn't most of the great backs playing at present a similar height? Guys like Scarlet (192cm), Mal Michael(190cm), Clement(190cm), Leppitsch(191cm) are all basically the same height. There is no disadvantage being at that in between height if you have skills and a professional attitude.

yeah, but I doubt he will grow 4-5cm... If anything, I hope he will be like Mundy and grow a few cm. Mundy is now listed as 191cm on the official site. Tall enough for a key position wouldn't you say?

Watched a lot of juniors from Bullcreek Leeming over the years and Ibbotson is a good as most that I have seen. And there have been some good ones over the years.

He is deceptively quick, well balanced, has some footy "smarts", makes it look so easy and never seems to be in a hurry.

Being bottom age, there is still a hell of a lot of improvement to come. So IMO it was a great pick-up and has the potential to be another Mundy in a couple of years time.

The draft is a bit of a lottery but happy with this group. IMO better than last years picks.

marcy8811 said:
yeah, but I doubt he will grow 4-5cm... If anything, I hope he will be like Mundy and grow a few cm. Mundy is now listed as 191cm on the official site. Tall enough for a key position wouldn't you say?

They got that at the start of 2005. I reckon he has grown more since. If you pull out the tape of the Pies game at the MCG , at the finish where they are walking off , He is next to Pav and IMO is taller than Pav.

More like 193-194 at a guess.

AFL talent guru Kevin Sheehan also compared Drum to Matt Scarlett, which is a big wrap. If Warnock becomes a quality player we will have a killer one two punch in the ruck. With ruckmen measuring 211cm and 205cm the opposition ruckman would be in for a very busy day.

IP- The club has said several times that McPharlap has grown a few cm since arriving at the club, but I've got a record from 2001 when he was a hawk and he's listed at 193cm. I guess either Fremantle or Hawthorn need a new ruler.

jarman said:
IMO better than last years picks.

Considering we had selections 59, 67 and 69 last year, and the fact that Stribling has already been delisted, they better be a hell of a lot better than last years selections.

pinkus maximus said:
Yes because he is in our own backyard. Same thing happened with WC and Simon Black,not that I think Swallow will be as good
QUOTE]

WC wasn't the only Club that didn't take Black and it was for different reasons.

The specialists all put McPharlins soft injury concerns early in his career down to him continuing to grow. I'd hate to see this happen to Drum, because it's frustrating to watch someone with so much ability sitting on the side lines every week.

ImperialPurple said:
McPharlap came to us as a 190cm 20 year old - he's now 193cm, so Noddy may still have a few cms in him, even at age 18.
I think you'll find he's now 196 cm. He's huge. Only slightly shorter than JLo.

I can't believe you guys are all arguing about an inch or so. There's an obvious worry for you fellas. Who cares about a missing inch? There's your vertical leap, your pace, your footy smarts, your courage and everything else that makes up a footballer.

Same with weight. I remember 2004 Adelaide game where Belly -- who tops the scale at about 77kg -- take Wayne Carey front on and drive him into the deck. James Walker weighs heaps more and dreams of making tackles stick like that.

Dr Ralph Dagg said:
I can't believe you guys are all arguing about an inch or so. There's an obvious worry for you fellas. Who cares about a missing inch? There's your vertical leap, your pace, your footy smarts, your courage and everything else that makes up a footballer.

Same with weight. I remember 2004 Adelaide game where Belly -- who tops the scale at about 77kg -- take Wayne Carey front on and drive him into the deck. James Walker weighs heaps more and dreams of making tackles stick like that.

I think it's because we often struggle with the really big forwards like Richo and Jonathon Brown.