EDFL moves

brian speaking said:
All you ned to do to stop Greenham is stomp on his feet. He has had bad foot problems, he is also soft so put someone on him who can rough him up...he deserved it.

u ****s ova at the ammos obviously didnt do a very good job in roughing up greenham. premiership player, 2nd in comp medal. oh wait, i 4got, u r not allowed 2 touch them in ammos r u! bunch of ************s

Footytripper said:
Summary.
Lot of pre season hype surrounding the quality of Strathmore recruiting, but based on the first game, only real quality appears to be Quinn, Hoath and Harvey. Lindsay needs to show more. The rest, no more than average, or, on yesterdays form, below average a grade players. Have excluded Williams. He should be quality. O’Brien did not play.

Agree with a number of your comments. I did not see the second half but Hoath did move well in the first half and obviously went better on ball. I was standing in front of the Strathmore coaches and Lindsay seemed to get a lot of posessions in that area but seemed to just kick high bombs up forward. It isn't a great viewing ground.

Harvey will be ahard match up for most sides.

I thought Quinns ruckwork and in particular his tap work to onballers was outstanding. He made it easy for the onballers. If you have a ruckman who puts it on a teamates chest every time you should dominate clearances. I did not realise the Keilor ruckman went off but they do have a lack of talls at Keilor.

I think Walker was number 32 and he was off the ground very early with what appeared to be a hip injury and I am not sure if he got back on.

I did not really take that much notice of Keilor but was impressed with their attack on the ball and run.

Housing extensions may be 5% more expensive in the next few months!!!!!!!!!!!

We would like to welcome all E.D.F.L Fans to a new Forum.
If you could kindly put the time to quickly register as a member and post
threads, that would be fantastic.

No bagging. Just football opinions, match reviews, fans outlook on matches and some appreciated assistance in trying to creat an E.D.F.L Fan Forum.
Log onto www.edflfooty.com.

Muchly appreciated. Apologies to Oak PArk, Craigieburn, Sydenham and P.Vale for tipping against them. Well done.

EDFL MAN said:
Tony, l dont need to come on here and big note myself unlike your good self chump. Lets just say l prepare the oranges at 3/4 quater time for the boys at footy......:thumbsu:

ey you stole my job EDFL MAN lol. Tony i think EDFL MAN has done a fair bit as far as local footy is considered if he is who i think he is ;) and that is a very good footballer, just hope he has a quite season this yr for my mobs sake:D

Saw the Westmeadows V Moonee Valley match on the weekend allthough I wish i didnt, was the worst match of senior football I have ever seen. Moonee Valley are terrible and Westmeadows just played with them. Moonee Valley are going to really battle, the only recognisable players from there A grade team last year were Mario Tenace & Troy Whilllance who both must be pushing 40, its going to be a long season. As much as you can say a side that won by 150 points were not that impressive, They havent picked up anything much and have lost Ingram & Turner, they are still quick through the midfield and off half back but dont see them challenging West Coburg, Airport West or Marby will prob fight it out with Glenroy, Pacco & Tulla for the last 2 spots.

Also to the blokes who were bagging Rhyce Bloomfield and saying that he couldnt make it at VFL level, just letting you know he kicked 2 and was in the best for Port in seniors on the weekend...

unfortunetely jacana went down... glenroy are good.. but i think will struggle with the apw's and west coburgs.. but have the players to make finals.

jacana were beaten all over and after a poor first half.. they did come out and have a better dip in the 2nd half.

jacana had 12 players aged between 18-20 that started on the field and had 14 players that were 18-20 years old participate.. and there are going to be some good times ahead if the boys stick together.. these boys deserve a mention so well done to bennett the mall brothers johnston writer stone byrnsey knight faraj whelan.

good luck next week boys. a bright future ahead. go jacas!!

saw bit of the tulla game... good sized team (good amount of talls) and good runners. will cause upsets... have gone under the radar.

JC1981 said:
Also to the blokes who were bagging Rhyce Bloomfield and saying that he couldnt make it at VFL level, just letting you know he kicked 2 and was in the best for Port in seniors on the weekend...

no one cares nice to see hes got some one to root after his performance aswell. the forum is called edfl moves not i love bloomfield/vfl moves, w anker

glad to see the season has started.few of my thoughts before round 1 werent to be right. taylors put up a solid fight against west coburg considering they have lost heaps, moonee valley not putting up a fight at all(thought they would atleast put a bit beter performance in but wasnt to be and sydenham winning by 50 odd points.i think there will be a few differences to the ladder this year good to see sydenham start there year of with a win i think they will be a quiet improver behind glenroy.does anyone think that west coburg will be as good as wat everyone expects them to be think they will rely on the recruits from A
grade abit to much but will still be up there

JC1981 said:

i saw it JC and i hope it was noted by tige19. I was bagged constantly for putting him at number one in the edfl last year. Dont worry JC the strathmore kids are just a lil bit touchey atm.

localfooty said:
u ****s ova at the ammos obviously didnt do a very good job in roughing up greenham. premiership player, 2nd in comp medal. oh wait, i 4got, u r not allowed 2 touch them in ammos r u! bunch of ************s

Local footy, Greenham deserves what he gets at feral park, an absolute spanner with no heart who will dog his team mates when they need him. Soft as melted butter.

Dusters said:
Fair post there Deefer, you sound like you did the stats for the game.

Any other stats worth sharing for the game? High possession getters?
No I did not do the stats for the game. Keilor have stats people that have an impressive set up, lap top, printer, snuck a peek at one point late in the game,and asked they guy doing them. Rattled of a few numbers, did my best to remember as many as I could. Seems the usual culprits at Keilor got the ball, Fraser, Marcy, Gluschenko and Long to a degree. They only do half a dozen or so of the opponents.

Other questions posed on Winter. He had a mixed day. Patches of really good stuff, then would fade out. Agree with another post that Oggy played a terrific game, worked hard and gave Strathmore a lot of grunt. Thought that nbr 13 for Strathmore also went well in the second half.

Aussie_dude said:
i saw it JC and i hope it was noted by tige19. I was bagged constantly for putting him at number one in the edfl last year. Dont worry JC the strathmore kids are just a lil bit touchey atm.

no need to panic...J train has not arrived yet my friend

kingfooty said:
Dusters said:
Fair post there Deefer, you sound like you did the stats for the game.

deefer does that mean when these recruits start firing that no team will get close to them? to win by a couple of goals and only have a few players playing well i would hate to think what they will do when these players fire.
Did I say at any point only a few players went well? No. The post concentrated mainly on the recruits. Most of us that follow the EDFL know the current group of players and their capability, so I left them out of the summary.
But you obviously did not read my post well either. I made the point that on Saturday's form only four could be considered "quality" recruits. It is possible that the others played to the best of their ability and have nothing more to show. Too early to call, but they may not have much more to give.
You love making assumptions without data to back the premise. Let me give you some facts.
Fact 1. Strathmore do have some great recruits, but also some that will be good players, not great as pre-season thoughts would suggest.
Fact 2. At least four of them had above average games.
Fact 3. Cannot quantify the loss of Williams early in the game and the impact he may have had.
Fact 4. Cannot quatify the impact of Keilor losing their number 1 ruckman in the second quarter and the flow on effect.
Fact 5. Strathmore beat a team that was missing a few senior players on end of season cricket trip, and included three kids playing their first senior games, one of whom is still U18.
So before you go off in your usual ill-informed conclusions, and start inflating Strathmores tyres, ask yourself a simple question, can Strathmore improve? Yes, and they will. Can Keilor improve? Yes and they will as well.

d-mac3276 said:
gee i can see there is alot of constructive footy talk goin on here lately NOT, seems too many ppl on this forum think they know more than others and verbally abuse each other which is pretty big sitting behind a keyboard instead of talking what the post is spose to b about which last time i looked was football, yes we all have our opinions and theres nothing wrong with that but when we drag it on forever nothing gets accomplished except reading utter bull******** on this post instead of ********en football jesus christ ppl FOOTY IS WHAT THIS SITES FOR not ur bickering like little bitches nuff said
Well said d-mac. l thought when the real stuff began that the ******** talking will stop but some people cant help themselves. Well done on the weekend mate. The team showed some real good signs and with a few still to come back, we will only get stronger. Granted the opposition wasnt the best, we moved the ball so much better than last year and what a difference having 5-6 forward options up forward that can get the job done. We will definetly give a few teams trouble this season.
Good efforts by taylors to only go down by 5 goals against west after loosing so many players, also to roxi who l think will sneak into the finals with an easy draw. dont know too much about the valleys but it looks like a tuff year ahead for them jacana, and hadfield. Forget about west coburg and marby guys, airport west are the the team to beat by far.
Well boys its great to be back in it and it looks like its gunna be a great year in b grade. To those guys on this site who continue to talk s h i t and bag peoples opinion, thats ok boys its not your fault you have s h i t for brains

Deefer4 said:
kingfooty said:
Did I say at any point only a few players went well? No. The post concentrated mainly on the recruits. Most of us that follow the EDFL know the current group of players and their capability, so I left them out of the summary.
But you obviously did not read my post well either. I made the point that on Saturday's form only four could be considered "quality" recruits. It is possible that the others played to the best of their ability and have nothing more to show. Too early to call, but they may not have much more to give.
You love making assumptions without data to back the premise. Let me give you some facts.
Fact 1. Strathmore do have some great recruits, but also some that will be good players, not great as pre-season thoughts would suggest.
Fact 3. Cannot quantify the loss of Williams early in the game and the impact he may have had.
Fact 4. Cannot quatify the impact of Keilor losing their number 1 ruckman in the second quarter and the flow on effect.
Fact 5. Strathmore beat a team that was missing a few senior players on end of season cricket trip, and included three kids playing their first senior games, one of whom is still U18.
So before you go off in your usual ill-informed conclusions, and start inflating Strathmores tyres, ask yourself a simple question, can Strathmore improve? Yes, and they will. Can Keilor improve? Yes and they will as well.

Deefer Very impressive Posts your review of the game is first rate...

I can assume you have a leaning to Keilor.....

How did you rate the impact of the two recruits from Adelaide ? I thought Alloca was great and Gum servicable....

Also bit of a concern that "senior players" are on Cricket Trips rather than playing important round 1 games of footy ??

Deefer4 said:
kingfooty said:

I think people seem to forget that Keilor will be a top 4 side this year. Who do you reckon these Strathmore players are? The last time I looked they were all just blokes playing footy. Some may be better than others but time will tell. I'm sure Strathmore would take a first up win over Keilor anytime.

Allears said:
J.Dennis is a huge lost for abers this year, he was the engine room.

saw sundays game and as a follower of oak park i believe they are going to be up there as always. speaking to a few of the recently retired players and they were saying they had 2 players pull out on saturday and have 5 more to come into the side. saying that there centre line has no talent is a joke, o'neil had a qiet day and still got plenty of the football, micklewhaite didnt play, gleeson was one of the best on ground, was the drive out of the middle and kicked two goals, a new face in there was 37 i think he is called johnny he was quiet but still kicked two goals, the last two guys i mentioned (gleeson + johnny) i think will go under other teams radars and surprise a few. 43 the ruckman is ray zendecky palyed in the ones a couple of years back and has been hiding in the twos the last few seasons. ziros seemed to look really comfortable up foward. all in all oak park are a well drilled unit and will not be as bad as what most people thought, well done to the coaches

Greenvale and Doutta's played out a lucklustre draw. Greenvale kicked the first 4 goals into the wind and it looked like an absolute trashing was on the cards. But Doutta's managed to cut that lead and scrap it out all day kicking the last 2 goals into the wind to tie it up.

Doutta's were very impressive IMO. They have onballers everywhere and are a super quick side. Carey looked imposing up forward but was beaten by Budge overall who was outstanding. However in very blustery conditions it was not a day for fowards and I think Carey will be a premier foward in this comp. Eslum (I think) did a super job on Paxman and the G'vale's onballers where well beaten on the day by sheer weight of numbers.

Doutta's commitment to the contest was amazing. Will be interesting if they can keep that up for the year. If they do they will be right up there

The gamed was marred by some terrible terrible umpiring that had the crowd irate and one passive coach fuming after being on the end of a 36-15 free kick count. But hey that's footy

litening said:
Terriffic start by APW - be safe to say, they will be a lot better on a bigger ground as well. Good start by Glenroy and Westmeadows, looks like being a pretty competitve comp in B grade this year.:thumbsu:

litening, geez those umpires are a bit harsh arn't they;)
mayb better luck next time your mate was doing alright at the other end sitting on 6"8 ruckmans heads
good luck with the season ahead champ
agree for glenroy and westmeadows did alright to win by so much, rate glenroy this year dont let them get under your guard

Jett said:
Greenvale and Doutta's played out a lucklustre draw. Greenvale kicked the first 4 goals into the wind and it looked like an absolute trashing was on the cards. But Doutta's managed to cut that lead and scrap it out all day kicking the last 2 goals into the wind to tie it up.

Doutta's were very impressive IMO. They have onballers everywhere and are a super quick side. Carey looked imposing up forward but was beaten by Budge overall who was outstanding. However in very blustery conditions it was not a day for fowards and I think Carey will be a premier foward in this comp. Eslum (I think) did a super job on Paxman and the G'vale's onballers where well beaten on the day by sheer weight of numbers.

Doutta's commitment to the contest was amazing. Will be interesting if they can keep that up for the year. If they do they will be right up there

The gamed was marred by some terrible terrible umpiring that had the crowd irate and one passive coach fuming after being on the end of a 36-15 free kick count. But hey that's footy

Sounds like a bit of sour grapes there Jett.....?
Was there abit of a dust i heard during the senior game???

ex player said:
glad to see the season has started.few of my thoughts before round 1 werent to be right. taylors put up a solid fight against west coburg considering they have lost heaps, moonee valley not putting up a fight at all(thought they would atleast put a bit beter performance in but wasnt to be and sydenham winning by 50 odd points.i think there will be a few differences to the ladder this year good to see sydenham start there year of with a win i think they will be a quiet improver behind glenroy.does anyone think that west coburg will be as good as wat everyone expects them to be think they will rely on the recruits from A
grade abit to much but will still be up there

And Crowe to come back for Taylors will make them even stronger.