EDFL moves

Re: Mr Controversy In Scotland

Is that you punching bag? Tell everyone what happened up at St. Albans this year. How many games did you play for them again?

I rate Douttas, cracking list of footballers, injuries probably screwed them a bit. If they can keep the current list and add a few bigger bodies they could easily jump back up and compete with Greenvale and Strathmore, I would put this year down to more of a bad luck thing than a talent/not good enough type scenario....

18 A GRADE FLAGS AND 1 B GRADE.NOT TO BAD I THINK. YOU DONT COME CLOSE TO THAT CASHMORE.:eek:[/quote

To be a successful club you would have to take in all grades (under 10 to seniors).I think that strathmore would more than hold their own against you if not more in premierships......
Money has nothing to do with their premierships in under 10 to 18`s over the years......
I admit that they bought last years and maybe this years premierships but overall as a club they are to be commended.................

Certainly I agree with your coment that a successful club should be judged on their senior results but to say that unless your juniors win premierships you are not successful is way off the mark.
The strength of a clubs juniors shouild be based on how all sides perform no matter how many teams they have. Just have a look at Keilor, Aberfeldie v Strathmore.

I rate Douttas, cracking list of footballers, injuries probably screwed them a bit. If they can keep the current list and add a few bigger bodies they could easily jump back up and compete with Greenvale and Strathmore, I would put this year down to more of a bad luck thing than a talent/not good enough type scenario....
Well said mate ..you are spot on.:thumbsu:

Correct computersaysno, it is an never ending arguement, but one that Abers will continue to win.

The fact still remains that the Mores have several 'home growns' that are currently playing or have played in the senior team this year. The Mores have a chance of a three peat, while Douttas recruited and paid the big bucks to the wrong blokes

Correct computersaysno, it is an never ending arguement, but one that Abers will continue to win.

The fact still remains that the Mores have several 'home growns' that are currently playing or have played in the senior team this year. The Mores have a chance of a three peat, while Douttas recruited and paid the big bucks to the wrong blokes

That may be true....but Aber is a deadshiit!!
remember things happen in cycles, and the tide will turn!!

This perplexes me when clubs talk about home grown players and who has the most playing in their senior side. Of all these home grown players, how many have been enticed back to the club purely because of the financial reward. I bet they weren't doing it out of the kindness of their heart.

If a player is new to the club or a past junior player returning, and they are getting good $$$, then i don't personally think it makes a difference.

They are there for the same reason and when the money dries up, they will leave for the same reason.:(

Re: Mr Controversy In Scotland

That day was a disgrace for strathmore in front of 5 people at keilor park...

however the pathetic display from you's in the GF last year was viewed by over 2000... it honestly felt like i was playing school girls

5 people or 5000, refusing to finish a game because of the weather....gee, says alot about the character of an individual....sorry, I should say Club....you mention the words disgrace, pathetic....Im sure there's a few more words people including your own supporters have bandied about...not quite as subtle as the above...

I think you'll find that you recruited and paid as many players as most other clubs, just that yours weren't as good.

You know what we can all speculate about what players earn but i would say most of us would have no flipping idea.It would be interesting to see every clubs payment list,i reckon there would be a few surprises.

There are certain players on big coin and are worth every cent in my opinion but then there are players at my own club and others that command money and its laughable.If you want big $$$ then i would expect output like that of a Carey,Holman,Peaks,Quinn otherwise go and get ****ED :D

And im not liking the way footy is going at the moment,players on big $$$ just turning up and not hanging around after the games,the high turnover of players,players going to the highest bidder,certain clubs younger players forced to play 2's or elsewhere.What i mean by that is im sure we all have a player(recruit) that gets a couple of hundred where you think there's 2 or 3 guys could fill that spot.

I know times have changed and stop living in the past Waxy and we all love sticking up for our club but im sure even supporters at the very successful clubs dont like some of the things that are happening.And no there isnt any sour grapes from the season we have had ;)

Can you notice that WAXY has had a few reds and is talking shit now :thumbsu:

WAXY

The Mores have all season and will continue this week to play many more home grown players than DS did all year. We heard that "injuries" accounted for DS dramatic decline in 07 so where were all those quality juniors that just can't wait to play for the mighty Stars? I think you'll find that you recruited and paid as many players as most other clubs, just that yours weren't as good.

Your probably right Abers. Alot of the people here only look at the surface. There is a formula that requires a Club to have well run Juniors, recruitment of the right senior players to fill weaknesses and fit into a club at the same time, loyal and many quality sponsors of all degrees, successfully social functions and more importantly a warm and welcoming atmosphere in your club rooms. All these attributes will bring success long term to any Club. All this competitive bickering going on is a waste time.

You know what we can all speculate about what players earn but i would say most of us would have no flipping idea.It would be interesting to see every clubs payment list,i reckon there would be a few surprises.

There are certain players on big coin and are worth every cent in my opinion but then there are players at my own club and others that command money and its laughable.If you want big $$$ then i would expect output like that of a Carey,Holman,Peaks,Quinn otherwise go and get ****ED :D

And im not liking the way footy is going at the moment,players on big $$$ just turning up and not hanging around after the games,the high turnover of players,players going to the highest bidder,certain clubs younger players forced to play 2's or elsewhere.What i mean by that is im sure we all have a player(recruit) that gets a couple of hundred where you think there's 2 or 3 guys could fill that spot.

I know times have changed and stop living in the past Waxy and we all love sticking up for our club but im sure even supporters at the very successful clubs dont like some of the things that are happening.And no there isnt any sour grapes from the season we have had ;)

Can you notice that WAXY has had a few reds and is talking shit now :thumbsu:

WAXY

Waxy - maybe you should get on the red more often

All makes sense and doubt anyone would disagree with those comments

Your probably right Abers. Alot of the people here only look at the surface. There is a formula that requires a Club to have well run Juniors, recruitment of the right senior players to fill weaknesses and fit into a club at the same time, loyal and many quality sponsors of all degrees, successfully social functions and more importantly a warm and welcoming atmosphere in your club rooms. All these attributes will bring success long term to any Club. All this competitive bickering going on is a waste time.

A voice of reason!!!!!!! Fact is over the last 10-20 years most of the premiership clubs in the EDFL would've spent somewhere near the most to acheive so. Before you all go mad I'm sure there are exceptions.....:eek: SM is simply the latest club to lift the bar in that regard and now clubs are starting to work at catching up. In the long term this means growth for the leagues overall strength, as long as it doesn't get out of hand as others have mentioned on here. The cycle of footy will ensure that SM aren't successful forever nor GV or any other club. 'Local' players will become increasingly unimportant - as long as you have a way through for the top 2-3 U18's to have a crack in the seniors, the others will drop away from natural attrition anyway.

How about we talk some current footy - Thoughts on the SM v GV and KL v AH???? I say GV to roll on into the big one and Keilor to bounce back on AH, though not confident.......:confused:

A voice of reason!!!!!!! Fact is over the last 10-20 years most of the premiership clubs in the EDFL would've spent somewhere near the most to acheive so. Before you all go mad I'm sure there are exceptions.....:eek: SM is simply the latest club to lift the bar in that regard and now clubs are starting to work at catching up. In the long term this means growth for the leagues overall strength, as long as it doesn't get out of hand as others have mentioned on here. The cycle of footy will ensure that SM aren't successful forever nor GV or any other club. 'Local' players will become increasingly unimportant - as long as you have a way through for the top 2-3 U18's to have a crack in the seniors, the others will drop away from natural attrition anyway.

How about we talk some current footy - Thoughts on the SM v GV and KL v AH???? I say GV to roll on into the big one and Keilor to bounce back on AH, though not confident.......:confused:

I would love to agree with your tips Bomber but believe Strathmore will get the week off and go straight through, but do agree Keilor will bounce back and thrash AH.

Interested to know your reasoning behind SM turning around 2 losses to GV, plus a loss to Keilor and going straight through??? What have you seen to think they turn it around?:confused:

Could come down to a few critical ins and outs for both sides but surprisingly to most I'II tip the Mores by 1 point. Keilor are vulnerable but seem to lift for finals and I reckon they'll get home. Margin 9 points.

Interested to know your reasoning behind SM turning around 2 losses to GV, plus a loss to Keilor and going straight through??? What have you seen to think they turn it around?:confused:

Greenvale in a real close one - 2 wins v Strathmore have been 9 points and 9 points - cant see the margin being much greater either way!
In terms of Strathmore turning it around, there is nothing in it but Greenvale will hang on in a close one!

Keilor to win by 10 points - with Avondale being unable to hold onto a half time and three quarter time lead!

Greenvale in a real close one - 2 wins v Strathmore have been 9 points and 9 points - cant see the margin being much greater either way!
In terms of Strathmore turning it around, there is nothing in it but Greenvale will hang on in a close one!

Keilor to win by 10 points - with Avondale being unable to hold onto a half time and three quarter time lead!

Marby V Tulla - Marby by 25 points
Westmeadows Vs Pascoe vale - Pascoe vale by 12 points

Were are the games played this week? A&B grade

Have no real theory just a gut feeling, but Douttas bet Strathmore last year and didn't come close in either final. You would have to say Greenvale are a better side than what Douttas were, but 18 points in two games isn't very much at all.
Would be surprised if Strathmore had there very best team on the park yet this year.
Maybe Abers could confirm or deny this. And Abers don't give us this one point margin rubbish I am sure you are feeling a little more confident than that.