Review GBU v Protected Tigers - Rd 17, 2018

• Thread starter Thread starter mattymac

Outran, outmuscled, outplayed.

About 16 guys should be super disappointed with that last quarter. The rest wasn't awful, but the last quarter was gross.

I've just witnessed Hampton play the worst game in Crows colors in history

Curtley Hampton 84% TOG and had 2 disposals and 10 supercoach points.

That would be close to the worst game of any player of all time for a non-rookie, non-injured, non-KPP I reckon.

The big problem we had is that we just have so many spectators, and not enough players who are prepared to work hard for the ball.
  • Hampton played the worst game I can recall ever seeing by an Adelaide player. 83% TOG for 2 handballs, 1 of which was a throw which went directly to the opposition. It's possible that another Crows player has had a worse game sometime in the last 28 years, but I can't think of any.
  • Lynch was awful in the first half, as he has been all year. Still kicking the after effects of Glandular Fever. Slightly better in the second half, but nowhere near the player we know he's capable of being.
  • Hartigan has a way of turning gold into sh!t, with every single touch. Dear God, do not let him kick the ball.
  • Poholke tries hard, but I've seen glaciers change their minds faster than his decision making process. This results in him turning the ball over time after time, after time, after time.
  • Kelly's decision making is only marginally better than Poholke's, and his kicking leaves a lot to be desired too.
  • Fogarty was barely seen for most of the game. He did give us a couple of glimpses, but that's all we're getting from him right now - glimpses of his massive potential. He's just not fit enough to be running around in the big league (but injuries leave us no other choice).
  • Walker had an almost night. I couldn't fault his work rate, but geez it would be nice if he could actually win a contest every now and then.
  • Gallucci didn't stuff up the way the previous players did, but 9 disposals just isn't a big enough contribution.
  • Milera had 20 disposals, but he's lost the edge and intent he showed earlier in the season. The longer he plays, the stronger the case for Mackay's return becomes.
  • Gibbs got a lot of the ball, but rarely gave it to a teammate - mostly he just gave it back to the opposition. Had a shocking turnover in the last quarter, when Adelaide won the clearance and Gibbs had a teammate on the lead with a break on his opponent - only for Gibbs to kick the ball straight over his teammates head, landing in the hands of the Richmond player who had given up the chase. Soul destroying, and yet it defines Gibbs' entire game (and much of his season to date).

Aside from the injured Butler, Daniel Rioli had the least disposals of all the Richmond players. He had 12 disposals. 7 Adelaide players had less fewer disposals than Rioli - Walker, Jenkins, Jacobs, Gallucci, Fogarty, Poholke & Hampton.

On the other side of the ledger, how good was Doedee? Sloane, Greenwood and Mrouch all worked hard. Talia and Laird were solid in defence.

While I agree Poholke is bad and won't make it, Milera was still worse.

Put an ink line through Milera, he's done. You can't coach intensity and desire, and he has less of it than Ricky Henderson ever did. Will not make it.
Yeah as you have a good track record calling these things

Hampton was worst on, but Milera and Hartigan had a stirring battle to see which one of them was second worst, and I think Milera pipped him in the end.

Milera was nowhere near 2nd worst. He's not even in the list of the 10 worst players playing that game.

Had some fumbles, but was solid defensively, and had some good moments on the ball.

Good:
Talia - should be captain next year
Walker- **** all the haters. Had a poor game, was boo’d relentlessly. Never dropped his head. Kicked a big time goal. Was let down by delivery and forward structures. Not his fault.
Doedee - class

Bad:
Laird, Sloane, Gibbs. When these players get 30 odd and do nothing with it, that’s the problem
Tackling, spread, running, composure - look it up kids

Ugly:
Hampton. Gone.
Poholke - SANFL form has never screamed pick me. Back you go.

The main reason(s) we were pathetic again today was the same (two) reasons we shithoused it in the grand final.

1.) Taylor Walker
2.) Josh Jenkins

Such a complete and utter level of apathy applied to making any serious attempt to even contest, let alone hold a ******* mark under pressure, I cannot believe I just witnessed given the history of this clash.

A stunning obvious and completely embarrassing, 100% total absence of any meaningful second effort, replaced instead by hands on hips while they sat back and watched the ball zing back over the heads of our midfield and defense, who inevitably ran out of gas and were once again demolished.

Staggeringly appalling game from two people whom we just can't afford to carry in the same forward line any longer. Playing Hampton up there as a defensive forward only for him to go missing, only highlighted how poor an effort those two provided when he couldn't do the job he was given and just cover up for their total lack of anything that could be classified as 'trying'.

I begin to seriously doubt whether they even are embarrassed by it anymore. Hopefully the Richmond theme brainwashing from earlier in the year triggers some kind of deep-seated Clockwork Orange style mental switch in their heads and they start to care again.
Jenkins ?? Seriously...... was good tonight, would have had a huge night if he got a couple of holding frees

Put an ink line through Milera, he's done. You can't coach intensity and desire, and he has less of it than Ricky Henderson ever did. Will not make it.

Sadly I agree regarding Milera.

He lost me tonight.

He's supposed to be our point of difference player, with pace, agility and an elite leg. Instead all we got was Mackay-like panicking and fumbling. Seeing him in the clear but choosing to handball it to an under pressure Talia made my heart sink. He'll only ever be another Mackay.

The main reason(s) we were pathetic again today was the same (two) reasons we shithoused it in the grand final.

1.) Taylor Walker
2.) Josh Jenkins

Such a complete and utter level of apathy applied to making any serious attempt to even contest, let alone hold a ******* mark under pressure, I cannot believe I just witnessed given the history of this clash.

A stunning obvious and completely embarrassing, 100% total absence of any meaningful second effort, replaced instead by hands on hips while they sat back and watched the ball zing back over the heads of our midfield and defense, who inevitably ran out of gas and were once again demolished.

Staggeringly appalling game from two people whom we just can't afford to carry in the same forward line any longer. Playing Hampton up there as a defensive forward only for him to go missing, only highlighted how poor an effort those two provided when he couldn't do the job he was given and just cover up for their total lack of anything that could be classified as 'trying'.

I begin to seriously doubt whether they even are embarrassed by it anymore. Hopefully the Richmond theme brainwashing from earlier in the year triggers some kind of deep-seated Clockwork Orange style mental switch in their heads and they start to care again.
We know they're both players who ideally need a lead or a 1-1 contest to take a mark. But all we do is bomb it on their heads, it's the stupidest way we could possibly deliver the ball to them.

That would be close to the worst game of any player of all time for a non-rookie, non-injured, non-KPP I reckon.
No no, that was THE worst game by ANYONE I have ever seen

This is the second season in a row people have been saying that, and it's gone beyond legitimate defence and into excuse making.

Daniel Rioli was taken 4 picks behind Milera in the same draft - compare and contrast the desire, intensity, and work rate of each player, and how much impact they each have on games for their respective teams.

What do you want mate? You proved my point he’s in his third season ffs, yeah Daniel Rioli shows good desire but he’s not a superstar yet by any means. Players develop at different rates, compare and contrast when they are 26 entering there prime and i’ll Take you seriously. Btw how good was crouch what are your thoughts on him as a player?

Essentially, it was the difference between the best team in the comp at the top of their game, versus a team ravaged by injury and a stupid mind training program.

Doedee is an absolute beauty.

Cheney settling in nicely IMO, quickly pushing ahead of Kelly. Just as tough and versatile, but a much nicer kick of the footy and cleaner under pressure.

Milera coming into his own, how Mackay was getting half back game time ahead of him earlier in the year, was a disgrace.

Lol what you are the worst judge in the history of football. Milera did some fantastic things and his intensity is good. Sit down old man.

Crippled team who plays woeful at the g gets a few underdone players back (Sloane and Lynch) and gets comfortably beaten by a red hot flag favourite who haven't lost there in 16 matches. Well I'll be. I don't really know what people expected. We already lack spread even at full fitness. Can't believe people blowing steam over this.

Hampton get out.
Hartigan has always been Hartigan. He's all we've got atm though.
Poholke has zero tools to work with.
Fog has the talent minus the fitness atm
Gibbs has been underwhelming.
Kelly really tries but lacks the class needed against a team like Richmond.

Milera needs to back himself more. The coaches and players need to get into him more and tell him to just go and use your leg. We know he has it but he's hesitant.

Tex struggled but was defended against well I thought. Richmond defence played a lot better than round 2. Cops a lot. Is always one down game away from being a spud.

The good:

Crouch. Back to his best. Was easily our best mid across 4 quarters. Gun.

Doedee. 1 bad error in amongst a dozen amazing efforts. He's gonna be a star defender. Shows up others with his efforts.

Laird pretty good.

Greenwood okay. Still needs a lot more fitness. Hard to judge him until then.

Seed okay.

Cheney solid. He stays imo. Calm with the footy, which you definitely cannot say about Hartigan and Kelly.

Gooch has his moments. Was never going to do well tonight against what was an extremely well structured Richmond defence.

Essentially, it was the difference between the best team in the comp at the top of their game, versus a team ravaged by injury and a stupid mind training program.

Doedee is an absolute beauty.

Cheney settling in nicely IMO, quickly pushing ahead of Kelly. Just as tough and versatile, but a much nicer kick of the footy and cleaner under pressure.

Milera coming into his own, how Mackay was getting half back game time ahead of him earlier in the year, was a disgrace.
Cheney is a footballer, Kelly is a tough runner, that's the difference.

Give him another year and look to trade Kelly.

Mate, if you are going to say it is close to the worse...you need to provide examples of worse