Autopsy Geelong defeated by Port by 16 points.

However...
Cats finished top 2 in 13, 16, 17, 19 and our finals record in those years is 4-7.
If you finish top 2 then you should be winning more finals than you’re losing. You say we lost to the 1st placed team, but last year we were the 1st placed team and lost.
I get your point in isolation yes we were beaten by the better team, but if you look at it over a period of time.
Then it’s just unacceptable. It’s quite clear.

Depends if you are in the camp of... we over achieved or under achieved i guess.
I can accept results in sport because that is what it is, a game. I can't accept effort or lack of in sports.
If you give 100% effort then the result is acceptable.
If any of you have kids or have been involved in sports with kids you will understand.
Thanks CC.

Mate, Esava in his current form wouldn't be getting a game for any team in finals and he'd be lucky to be getting a game in any team full stop.

I think even he has the awareness to realise he's not quite good enough yet.

Your right.
Rohan's recent form over the last month of 1.8 marks and 0.7 goals per game is clearly above anything Ratugolea can offer us.

Mate, Esava in his current form wouldn't be getting a game for any team in finals and he'd be lucky to be getting a game in any team full stop.

Keep dropping the kid and playing him in the ruck...what do you expect?! Seriously!

After some time to cool down, the loss can be attributed to less than 10 possession/moments, half of whom were missed set shots, 3 defensive half turnovers, a goal keeper getting drawn toward the ball and a spoil that got over top.

It hurts that so little can determine so much. But our next game is on neutral territory and any game after it and we still have to win the same three games. We've got to see this plan through to the end.

Frustrating night. But by no means a disaster. Looking at the positives, that’s now 3 finals in a row where we’ve started well. We didn’t get blown out of the water, and if not for some wasted chances, we could of had a handy lead at the main break.

Looking ahead, I think it’s highly likely we will play the Eagles as most of us would now expect. I think we can account for them.

If we can get through a Semi, I think the Tigers await in a prelim. The last two prelims the Tigers have been very rusty and slow out of the gates after the week off. We saw what the Pies did to them in 2018, and if not for some errant kicking on that first half last year, we also had them on toast.

The Tigers are vulnerable in a prelim, and with all the pressure on them in that game, no one will give us a chance in hell of winning. I like that, and I think they could be gettable. We will IMO play with a freedom and more relaxed attitude knowing we have nothing to lose.

We aren’t done yet. Footy is a strange game and upsets occur regularly in finals. You never know what can happen on the day

It's not over just yet.
Everyone here knows the Cats can play Premiership football.
We have the ability to beat any team on the day,
The immediate problem is regaining that form again.
Unfortunately there is no guarantee when it will return after a spell.
Sadly we don't have the luxury of waiting for it to happen eventually.
The key to this is not physical...a mental trigger is needed, NOW!
Chris Scott needs to find this motivation, be it :- pride, revenge, determination etc.
The sting of this loss and cutthroat game will help focus motivation.
Dropping some non performers will be a big kick in the pants
An injection of fresh young players is critical to help provide enthusiasm
Players need to feel free if they are to take on personal responsibility.
Team building and soul searching is required here
Scott must lift his overly complex game plans and strategies.
Players must be unleashed to fully commit and trusted to just go for it on instinct
Getting the mindset right is why a coach is paid big money.
All I need is faith in the coach.

Lol! ...That forwardline was so disfunctional
the ruckman and a few mids had to try and kick all the goals.
I really reckon change is necessary, CHANGE! you know, different!

Scott doesn't have the players, it is a very different prospect to how Port are playing for Kenny, or Richmond for Hardwick.

Any coach who delivers his messages via the line coaches or Sel/Danger is not going to have the entire list working for him like the other clubs do.

Hallalujah!!! Common sense. Good on ya Ratcat

A dysfunctional forward line that had more scoring shots than their opponent? Hrmmm....not sure I buy it. Hawkins doesn't kick 0.5 or zero goals anything very often. There were issues, but not sure the forward line was entirely it.

Your right.
Rohan's recent form over the last month of 1.8 marks and 0.7 goals per game is clearly above anything Ratugolea can offer us.

Even if Ratugolea was pushing those numbers, he offers almost nothing defensively, which is Rohan's primary role (apart from creating space for Hawkins, which Ratugolea also doesn't do).

It's not over just yet.
Everyone here knows the Cats can play Premiership football.
We have the ability to beat any team on the day,
The immediate problem is regaining that form again.
Unfortunately there is no guarantee when it will return after a spell.
Sadly we don't have the luxury of waiting for it to happen eventually.
The key to this is not physical...a mental trigger is needed, NOW!
Chris Scott needs to find this motivation, be it :- pride, revenge, determination etc.
The sting of this loss and cutthroat game will help focus motivation.
Dropping some non performers will be a big kick in the pants
An injection of fresh young players is critical to help provide enthusiasm
Players need to feel free if they are to take on personal responsibility.
Team building and soul searching is required here
Scott must lift his overly complex game plans and strategies.
Players must be unleashed to fully commit and trusted to just go for it on instinct
Getting the mindset right is why a coach is paid big money.
All I need is faith in the coach.
I like your optimism...I tend to agree. We do have the cattle!!!

The best thing Scott can do right now is simply GET OUT OF THE WAY...and let the boys PLAY the way they want to. You know, like in 2011 when he was just along for the ride!

Scott should hand over the next three weeks to the players and not even coach them...they've heard his voice for 10 years already.

"Go ahead boys and play footy the Geelong way...your way! Kamikaze, One-on-One, Blitzkrieg Football. Just go for it!"

Even if Ratugolea was pushing those numbers, he offers almost nothing defensively, which is Rohan's primary role (apart from creating space for Hawkins, which Ratugolea also doesn't do).
Why are you assuming it's Rohan or Esava? Play them BOTH!!!! Rohan is NOT A TALL for crying out loud.

Keep dropping the kid and playing him in the ruck...what do you expect?! Seriously!

I expect him to learn how the gameplan and the game in the VFL as all young, inexperienced players do. Just because there's no VFL this year doesn't mean we should put him up to the AFL. There hasn't been a dire need for him unless it's as a backup ruck (Stanley/Fort injured).

He'll get his chance, it's just not this finals series.

A dysfunctional forward line that had more scoring shots than their opponent? Hrmmm....not sure I buy it. Hawkins doesn't kick 0.5 or zero goals anything very often. There were issues, but not sure the forward line was entirely it.
Even we kick 3 of those sitters it’s only 8 goals. We are recidivists.

Why are you assuming it's Rohan or Esava? Play them BOTH!!!! Rohan is NOT A TALL for crying out loud.

No, I'm not assuming that, I was simply responding to a comment about Rohan's numbers. Rohan is a medium sized tall with a fantastic leap.

How does your forward line setup look including Esava?

Even we kick 3 of those sitters it’s only 8 goals. We are recidivists.

8 goals has certainly won plenty of games of football before. I don't know that the pressure of finals, these days, allows you to kick huge scores. It would be nice to blow teams away as we can do in the H&A, but a point is as good as 10 goals if you're ahead at the final siren

Could have been just that the Power were up an about but they also really looked to play for each other and getting to team mates for the smallest things and just getting the ball froward at any cost (which seems to be currently the crux of modern footy). Hell, even Stevie Motlop knocked/tapped on a ball for a goal.

Think that also has a lot to do with the Tigers success, no Geelong 2008 but every player knows his role and what the TEAM needs.

I could be wrong but sometimes I feel we don’t play as a cohesive unit, more like silo’s, like misfits or Wolfpack or whatever the mids call themselves.

I geniunly want to know your opinion on how we go about turning these results around?. Instead of saying it's not the coach it's the players what do you suggest the club needs to do to take the next step beyond a prelim?

If you look at last year and last nights game as any indicator you would be mad to throw out and do a clean out. We were 19 points off Richmond last year. That’s hardly a concern.

just continue to push and push hard while we are a quality side, which means any avenue for improvement we can. Whether it’s draft trading or free agents we need to continue to push hard to bridge the small gap between us and the best, which based off last year was 19 points.

in terms of strategy we just need to figure out a way to be a bit sharper and fluent around stoppages during games. I’d say everything else is very rock solid. It’s no major issues but advancements and tweaks.

I get it if some supporters can’t stomach being almost good enough but just not good enough for many years, I get it. Just need to take emotion out of it and look objectively at it. We do way way more right than we do wrong and all up it’s a fantastic system. Just need to incrementally improve.

specifically I would probably go after viney crouch who would add a lot of depth to our midfield and are the right age. Take our picks to the draft and continue developing.

work hard over the summer on trying to improve ball movement at stoppages and contests. The one area I feel other teams are a bit better than we are. It’s not just solely a midfield thing but an entire 18 on the field getting involved to move it more effectively.

95% we are doing right, and I’d only say marginal things to improve on that will take us from 3-5th range to 1-2 range and hopefully a flag.

that’s the serious answer if you actually wanted one, or you just wanted to obsess over our coach more not sure. But that’s my two cents regardless

Autopsy Geelong defeated by Port by 16 points.