Review Geelong defeats Saints by 8 points

Absolutely. You don't have to be a tactical genius to defeat that strategy.
Even under pressure and with the saints surging to the lead at times the players didn’t panic even the kids kept thier composure…that’s a good thing to see in round 1

Assuming Stengle’s ankle is fine it’s going to be tight. Bowes is available and Bews played well in the VFL.

But I would like to see Mannagh for a full game. You get the feeling he will create some chaos.

I agree spots are tight.
Moc would normally be the one to move out but he played well.
Maybe tuohy to sub?

I agree i just think mannagh is such a good mover and smart that he will create havoc up in our forward line. We have a massive squeeze for forward spots so may require tough calls.

I agree spots are tight.
Moc would normally be the one to move out but he played well.
Maybe tuohy to sub?

I agree i just think mannagh is such a good mover and smart that he will create havoc up in our forward line. We have a massive squeeze for forward spots so may require tough calls.
Nothing in Tuohy’s game last night persuaded me he’s any more on the outer than he has been. I think BigFooty will continue to get that wrong.

Clark would be a chance for sub. They are clearly going to be managing his minutes.

Did I miss something? Is Bowes injured?

Calf tightness

Sound hopeful he'll be available for the Adelaide clash

In terms of entry, what time were you trying to get in?

I walked up to the Selwood end (no idea if there's a gate name) just before 6:30, walked straight up to the bag check area with no one in front of me. The only frustration & I actually walked in front off people is that they were using all the available ticket scanners - there was at least 2 open scanners not being used that I walked up to rather than waiting

It definitely helps if people make use of all available gates and don't just blindly line up behind the person in front

And it's not just at Geelong, but I find with all sporting matches - there tends to be a mass influx of numbers the closer you get to the starting time - that itself puts added pressure on resources, and you could have 100 gates but it wouldn't be enough

I was waiting for my mate from 6.05 to 7.15 so know both Gate 8 and the Moorabool St gate nearby were overloaded during that time, as was Bob Davis entrance where the main disability access is. Problem is, to ease the pressure, they allow able bodied people to use it. When Gate 8 staff realised the queue reached back to the members entrance, they ditched the bag check. They did open a side gates late, with one scanner, which quickly developed queues. Didn't help waiting patrons it was hot I suppose.
Ideally yes, get there early, but hopefully not all together, with 40k entry times are best staggered?
I still suspect it's a budgetary issue- access needs to be easier and safer, open more gates, hire more staff.
Or at least direct patrons to other gates, like yours, as they do at the MCG.

Nothing in Tuohy’s game last night persuaded me he’s any more on the outer than he has been. I think BigFooty will continue to get that wrong.

Clark would be a chance for sub. They are clearly going to be managing his minutes.

Maybe but clark is a one position player and im not convinced of the merits of those sort of guys being sub. Your tuohy moc bowes mannagh types are better as subs as they can play multiple roles depending on how you want to change it up.

This won't make people happy, but I think Clark is a big chance to be outright dropped for the Adelaide game. Tight selection squeeze is on and Bowes needs to come in for someone. Clark had only 13 disposals as a midfielder and they would surely prefer a more senior body against Laird, Crouch, Dawson and co who can play significant minutes. Clark was given only 59% TOG last night.

It was brilliant and Touhy loved it. They should do it after every goal he kicks.

River dance you reckon? I need to find the exact song. Classic moment.
It's The Rattlin' Bog and they have played it after every goal he has kicked since breaking the Irish games record

It's only round 1, so I'm not getting carried away with it yet. The Saints have speed, but the narrowness of our ground also meant that zones could stop them some with their slingshot style. On a wider ground, we would have had some problems. Some young Cats showed they had something to offer, which was great. The new stand is awesome and makes this ground one of the best in Australia—better than the SCG and the Gabba, IMO. With our draw, the Cats have a chance of having a great start to the season, with 5/0 or 4/1 a real possibility. But it's still too early in the season to decide what each player's performance means (in this game) going forward.

All players can't play well every game.

Stengle was disappointing for me last year even factoring in the injury but you can hardly pot him for last night. A stay at home crumbing small forward has absolute none against Ross Lyon tactics.

Clark's execution has been on my radar since day one. It was A for endeavour in his game last year but was very sloppy with the ball so I wasn't as excited by the debut as others. I thought the same after the first pre season game. The second pre season game and last night I didn't think was that bad. I recall one terrible F50 entry but that is about it.

To me it will be interesting to see how Bruhn and Clark develop.

Bruhn is the guy that does good things when he has the ball but doesn't get enough of it. Clark hunts the footy much better but coughs it up a bit. With scoring from turnovers being the main attacking avenue these days you probably prefer the Bruhn profile overall but boy do we need someone to hunt the footy in our current midfield. We need Clark from 3 years time, today. Just what it is. Will be a long year if you get triggered by the turnovers.
Be aware that Bruhn missed a lot of the first quarter with the head knock and still racked up 20.

This won't make people happy, but I think Clark is a big chance to be outright dropped for the Adelaide game. Tight selection squeeze is on and Bowes needs to come in for someone. Clark had only 13 disposals as a midfielder and they would surely prefer a more senior body against Laird, Crouch, Dawson and co who can play significant minutes. Clark was given only 59% TOG last night.
No shame being sub when you've played 5 quarters in your life

The Rattlin' Bog
It's an Irish folk song and they first played it the game Reg broke Stynes record. Gets a run any time he and I think MOC have kicked a goal since.

Thanks for that. The Irish in me decided to look up the lyrics, for footy relevance.
Man, it goes forever and ends like this:

In that egg there was a bird,
A rare bird and a rattlin' bird,
And the bird on the egg,
And the egg on the bird,
And the bird in the nest,
And the nest on the limb,
And the limb on the branch,
And the branch on the tree,
And the tree in the bog,
And the hole in the bog,
And the bog down in the valley-o.

Unfortunately ..the game was much as I feared. Lyon coaches and selects to create messy game. He selects guys who can run and they are trained to be excellent at nullification and our ground probably helps him more than many other visiting coaches.

Agree with this. Freo also had a very good record at KP under Lyon, including the 2013 QF win, at least one other H&A win, and the Mundy after the siren miss.

Clark has the same problem bruhn had last year he just needs to build his tank and get more afl games to get him up to speed quicker. His contest work adds what we need and dont have. Id manage his minutes where needed but i wouldnt drop him. He will be very good in 12 months (like bruhn is now) if we get the games into him.

Thanks for that. The Irish in me decided to look up the lyrics, for footy relevance.
Man, it goes forever and ends like this:

In that egg there was a bird,
A rare bird and a rattlin' bird,
And the bird on the egg,
And the egg on the bird,
And the bird in the nest,
And the nest on the limb,
And the limb on the branch,
And the branch on the tree,
And the tree in the bog,
And the hole in the bog,
And the bog down in the valley-o.