How do you fix Melbourne?

That is pretty damning reading.

The main issue for Melbourne at this point though has to be there is no one really out there who could fix them who is available, maybe see if Matthews fancies a challenge and whole shed load of money?
Matthews as a Barassi-esque is what I'm thinking.
Bring in the best assistants so he can hand off to another a la Barassi to Rocket too.

Matthews as a Barassi-esque is what I'm thinking.
Bring in the best assistants so he can hand off to another a la Barassi to Rocket too.

Yea like I said even if it's just for the remainder of the year or a few months while the AFL comprehensively rebuilds the club top down.

'How do you fix Melbourne?'

the-it-crowd-roy_412x232.jpg

Have you tried turning it off then turning it back on again?

Yea like I said even if it's just for the remainder of the year or a few months while the AFL comprehensively rebuilds the club top down.
I think it'd be a two-year deal starting next year if anything. Hand it over to Neil Craig or Todd Viney for the rest of the season, just go stuff it. Gives the AFL the year to strip out the entire admin.
From there, AFL appoints at the end of the season Matthews as HC, and then a combination of poached assistants and champion players. Brisbane people, I know you'll get mad, but a GWS-style deal for Simon Black would probably be ideal for Melbourne.

Say Matthews HC, Richardson, Black, Scott Burns. Hand off to Richardson or Burns after 2 years. Leave Misson in place, possibly leave Jason Taylor (new Head of Recruiting, was 2IC to Hine at Collingwood) in place but bring in another person to assist.

Also clear out and AFL-appoint the board and CEO. Do that in-season rather than at the end of the year. Not sure though, the board may need an EGM to remove.

Worst thing for me tonight was Frawley clapping Melksham when Melksham gave away a free kick. They were 141 points down. Not something you want to be seeing from a supposed 'leader' of your club.

Grimes is definitely a leader for the future, but don't think he should be captain just yet. Certainly puts in a lot of effort when he goes out there. If anything it should be he and Jones as the two skippers.

Carlton 2002 to Round 2 2008:
28 wins 104 losses 2 draws 74.03% - Match/win% 21.64 - losses by 60 points or more: 30
Melbourne 2007 to Round 2 2013:
32 wins 100 losses 2 draws 75.32% - Match/win% 24.63 - losses by 60 points or more: 24

What did Carlton do?
Poached one of the best midfielders to play the game off another club, then tried to build a team around him with that host of early pick players.

They now also have on of the best coaches of the modern era, to further develop this squad.

It also helps that they have a lot of pokies money and formerly a rich benefactor.

Still they have only achieved a middling degree of success, or more accurately, gone from abysmal to mediocre.

Not sure though, the board may need an EGM to remove.

Seriously the best thing you and any other member of the Demons can do right now is start getting signatures and a petition going for a spill of the current board and all positions. Is your only hope.

Bring back Rodan for his leadership and experience. He will only get about 14 touches, but will probably make a snazzy move at some point during the game and Gerard Healy will praise him. :oops:

Seriously the best thing you and any other member of the Demons can do right now is start getting signatures and a petition going for a spill of the current board and all positions. Is your only hope.

The problem is worse than that though. Pre-Stynes, the club was in seriously dire straits due to McNamee and the previous board. There hasn't been a decent board of any extent since Gutnick, and the club genuinely really hasn't been well-run since the 1950s, when it was entirely under the auspices of the MCC. Bringing in Melbourne people and bringing in quality sports administrators seems to be an entirely mutually exclusive situation.

I'd almost try to put a board bid together myself, but I entirely know that I'm totally not qualified or capable of running a football club, let alone having the networking and contacts to try and get sponsors and the like. Yet I hate feeling like I'm sitting here on my hands.

Bring back Rodan for his leadership and experience. He will only get about 14 touches, but will probably make a snazzy move at some point during the game and Gerard Healy will praise him. :oops:

It was the same on Teams on Fox Footy this weekend, they can never seem to comprehend how he doesn't get picked because he isn't that great and can't run out a whole half let alone a game.

I think the next great captain of Melbourne will be Jack Viney.

It's not meant to be a criticism of Grimes & Trengove, but I think they've been Damien Martyn-ed by the club.

Cotchin had future captain written all over him. He was appointed after 4 full seasons when he was playing at a very high level.
Joel Selwood had future captain written all over him. He was appointed after 5 full seasons when he was playing at a very high level.
Swallow, Boak, Jack - there's a common theme. Even Pendlebury is still a VC.

IMO Melbourne need a Richie Vandenberg. They need an experienced head who will bleed for the club.

Come on down Nathan Jones. He will never captain the club to a premiership, but he will give Viney a chance to.

Melbourne's biggest issue is that they don't have the right people. They need to throw away the bad eggs and bring in people (mainly among the footy department) who are accountable, hardworking, dedicated, and have character. It isn't a quick-fix, but it will create the framework for improvement in their culture and attitude.

A major review/cleanout of all personnel and processes at the Dees is necessary. Something like this could cause some initial problems, but ultimately it will be a case of short term pain for long term gain.

Melbourne's biggest issue is that they don't have the right people. They need to throw away the bad eggs and bring in people (mainly among the footy department) who are accountable, hardworking, dedicated, and have character. It isn't a quick-fix, but it will create the framework for improvement in their culture and attitude.

A major review/cleanout of all personnel and processes at the Dees is necessary. Something like this could cause some initial problems, but ultimately it will be a case of short term pain for long term gain.
We did it. It was called the Andrews report. It was shoved into a drawer to gather dust.

I'm becoming more and more of the opinion that the AFL need to step in. There's way too much shit in the administration that will try to save their own skin.

I don't want to go all 'Luke Darcy - shave the beard' here, but if I was Neeld I'd seriously making the players give up Instagram at least until they win a game. It's a joke how much time they spend on there uploading photos compared to players at other clubs.

*checks scores after being out for the night*

Holy mother of f*** goddamit I feel so sorry for the Melbourne fans having to watch that kind of insipid, putrid, gutless rubbish.

You guys should go up to Melbourne FC and ask for a refund for your memberships because if tonight's any indication, you're not getting what you're paying for.

I think Striker is entirely correct when he suggests a group of 22 Melbourne supporters would put up more of an effort than the supposed professional football players that they are paying good money to watch.

Worth a shot, I reckon, to go for a clear out that will cause short-term pain that promises hope for improvement rather than sticking to a status quo that is not only painful but can potentially kill their club. It's like surgery to cut out an operable cancer, painful and traumatising, but potentially curative - or at least will give the chemo a chance to work.

Melbourne needed a coach that would come in and drive defensive and contested football principals and build a team around the ability to shut teams down with pressure, tackling and just rebounding from turnovers. It wouldn't be the prettiest transformation but you would learn from the word go who was going to step up and who wasn't and you would just boot out anyone who wasn't prepared to work hard enough.

With defensive football, even when you lose you usually don't get demoralised. Dees shouldn't be planning for a shot at the flag, they need to plan to re-establish a winning culture. Once you have resotred that, then you can plan for a shot at success.

Melbourne needed a coach that would come in and drive defensive and contested football principals and build a team around the ability to shut teams down with pressure, tackling and just rebounding from turnovers. It wouldn't be the prettiest transformation but you would learn from the word go who was going to step up and who wasn't and you would just boot out anyone who wasn't prepared to work hard enough.

With defensive football, even when you lose you usually don't get demoralised. Dees shouldn't be planning for a shot at the flag, they need to plan to re-establish a winning culture. Once you have resotred that, then you can plan for a shot at success.

Sounds like what McCartney is doing with the dogs is the way to go then

Dogs didn't have an issue with the culture, but they weren't what you would call a defensive oriented team.

Melbourne supporters and all the melbourne players need to know people are having a red hot crack and it is hard to tell with airy fairy football. If all the players were throwing themselves at the contest and having a red hot crack every week then even if they lost every week by under 5 goals then people would still say they are having a crack and there are positive steps forward.

There are just too many unaccountable players to try and rebuild the side with a plan to win a premiership, you can't build those foundations on sandy ground. Dees don't have that concrete base to build anything of note on. They should just focus on executing the basics of football and not worry too much about zones, presses, etc.