Vic How would you rate Daniel Andrews' performance as Victorian Premier? - Part 7

6.5 years away and the article suggested it’s about hitting targets for 2030. Shouldn’t we have an idea of where we are heading?

What realistically makes you think we'll scale back flights or make them drastically more expensive?

People aren't simply going to stop wanting to travel, airlines won't stop running services they can fill.

What realistically makes you think we'll scale back flights or make them drastically more expensive?

People aren't simply going to stop wanting to travel, airlines won't stop running services they can fill.

Does the government have the power to reduce/scrap flights to reduce emissions?

For a moment, let's give the Premier the benefit of the doubt on the Suburban Rail Loop, another projects where the modelled economic benefits don't look that good right now. It's a classic "build it and they will come" project. It's not a catch up project, it's a visionary one. We've essentially had one transport infrastructure project like this in Victorian history: The Eastern Freeway, a road which took decades to fill capacity.

At worst, as far as cost/benefit and need is concerned, it commits all the same sins as the East-West Link. It's not needed now, and may not be for some time.

But the Premier ain't selling it like that. He says we need it now, and the priority of the loop is Cheltenham to Box Hill, which is ridiculous. The priority should be in the West if anything, but that ain't where the swinging voters are.

Does the West Gate Bridge & Freeway pre date the eastern Freeway (academic question fwiw).

Why would they want to? They donated $2b to Qantas, pollies love their overseas junkets, and pissing off every voter wealthy enough to travel overseas isn't a vote winner.

I think it’s a pretty valid question. It looks as if it’s something being considered to reduce emissions ( hence I posted the news report). Shouldn’t we wait until we know for sure before building the airport rail link?

I think it’s a pretty valid question. It looks as if it’s something being considered to reduce emissions. Shouldn’t we wait until we know for sure before building the airport rail link?

I don't think it's a realistic factor, the airline industry has already been moving towards planes with more efficient engines (they're more profitable) and there's no reason to believe people will suddenly demand to travel less. Not building it for another 10 years is just as silly as it was not building it 10 years ago, or 10 years before that.

Does the West Gate Bridge & Freeway pre date the eastern Freeway (academic question fwiw).

The Eastern was built in stages, opening in 1977 (to Bulleen Rd), 1982 (to Doncaster Rd), and 1997 (to Springvale Rd).

The West Gate Bridge was opened in 1978 with the extension to Kingsway opening in 1987 and 1988 (they opened the two different directions at different times). I think the West Gate was needed before it opened.

?

So.

Good, it'll be released which is a win for public disclosure, but it'll have zero impact with the electorate, no matter how the Murdoch set try to make bizarre and tenuous connections to Dan.
Bizarre/tenuous ??

'An intercepted 2019 phone call, according to a draft copy of IBAC’s Operation Sandon report, between lobbyist Philip Staindl and Mr Woodman recorded the pair discussing a failed bid to rezone a chunk of industrial land.

Mr Staindl tells Mr Woodman that during an earlier discussion he had with Mr Andrews, the Premier had, according to the draft report, “praised Mr Woodman’s contribution to the Labor Party and lamented the fact Mr Woodman was being pursued with allegations of corruption by a journalist”.'

'The anti-corruption agency’s five-year investigation into allegedly corrupt land deals focused on Mr Woodman and several councillors in the city of Casey, but Mr Andrews was dragged into the scandal through his decades-old association with the property developer.

Mr Andrews, as revealed by The Australian in May 2022, was grilled by IBAC in secret during Operation Sandon over his dealings with Mr Woodman. The draft report states that in the intercepted phone call on March 4, 2019, Mr Staindl recalled the conversation he had with Mr Andrews at a function earlier that month.'

Are the ABC journo's across any of this OR are the activists running the news desk still ? They'd be on a first name basis with Mr Staindl as a reliable sauce (sic).

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-11-10/labor-lobbyist-ibac-property-developer-buying-influence/12867860
By state political reporter Bridget Rollason
Posted Tue 10 Nov 2020 at 3:28pmTuesday 10 Nov 2020 at 3:28pm, updated Tue 10 Nov 2020 at 5:29pm

Not running a candidate in the Warrandyte byelection. Surprising

Not sure what the internal analysis that led to this decision is.

Of course, one suggestion (I think it is highly unlikely) is Daniel Andrews is quitting before then. Personally I think he will have to be defeated at an election to relinquish the job. But otherwise the risk of running doesn't appear apparent to me.

Already plenty of bus and train routes that service those areas though

What the?????

To get a train you have to go to the city and then out again. And the bus network is laughably inefficient.

Just because you personally won't use something, it does not mean it is not worthwhile and that others won't benefit from it. This sort of infrastructure investment is necessary and will become more necessary in the future. Build it now, not later.

As to the need for a C grade sporting event that glorifies imperialism...well Andrews was out of his mind to commit to it in the first place.

What the?????

To get a train you have to go to the city and then out again. And the bus network is laughably inefficient.

Just because you personally won't use something, it does not mean it is not worthwhile and that others won't benefit from it. This sort of infrastructure investment is necessary and will become more necessary in the future. Build it now, not later.

As to the need for a C grade sporting event that glorifies imperialism...well Andrews was out of his mind to commit to it in the first place.
The SRL will be good to have but don't you think now is not the time to start a $125B project of line-ball economic value that will take a decade to complete? If it was half completed it would be a no-brainer, but it is in its infancy. The money promised by the Feds ($2.2B) is negligible when compared with the initial total Stage 1 estimate of $33B (which will undoubtedly be a lot more once tender submissions are received).

I simply cannot see how the government can pay for it unless it raises new taxes. The "Value Capture" tax on properties in the corridor is supposed to raise $11B, but experts have said unless family properties are included the government won't net anything close to $11B

Good point. I’m not sure what the patronage would be.

Do you think now is the time to build this? Dan doesn’t think an Airport rail link is important at this point of time. Of the 50 busiest airports in the world, of which Melbourne is one, we are one of 2 or 3 without a rail link. Have you tried catching a taxi at the airport lately? The taxi ranks have been shifted out of sight with Uber given precedence. It’s a dog’s breakfast IMO.
We can do both.

It's funny we once had part of an orbital railway. The Outer Circle. Fairfield to Oakleigh. Camberwell to Alemain is all that remains.

The SRL will be good to have but don't you think now is not the time to start a $125B project of line-ball economic value that will take a decade to complete? If it was half completed it would be a no-brainer, but it is in its infancy. The money promised by the Feds ($2.2B) is negligible when compared with the initial total Stage 1 estimate of $33B (which will undoubtedly be a lot more once tender submissions are received).

I simply cannot see how the government can pay for it unless it raises new taxes. The "Value Capture" tax on properties in the corridor is supposed to raise $11B, but experts have said unless family properties are included the government won't net anything close to $11B

Maybe mate, I am just not as obsessed with what I would call good debt as others are. If we are running up a bill in the name of infrastructure then in most cases the longer term benefits outweigh the costs.

The longer you wait to get these big projects started, the more people get disrupted as you go.

Economies expand when governments spend in the right areas and usually that means building stuff.

Maybe mate, I am just not as obsessed with what I would call good debt as others are. If we are running up a bill in the name of infrastructure then in most cases the longer term benefits outweigh the costs.

The longer you wait to get these big projects started, the more people get disrupted as you go.

Economies expand when governments spend in the right areas and usually that means building stuff.
Fair enough. I just reckon the Airport Rail Link should be given precedence over a suburban rail link. FMD, Brisbane has had an airport rail link for over a decade. Governments on both sides have dicked around on the Melbourne rail link for decades. Dan has now canned it twice in 9 years. I guess no votes in it.

Not running a candidate in the Warrandyte byelection. Surprising

Save money in a Liberal held seat, add another religious rightwinger to the party room and not risk a spill against Pesutto.

I don't know if I agree with the political calculus, but I understand it.

Of course, one suggestion (I think it is highly unlikely) is Daniel Andrews is quitting before then. Personally I think he will have to be defeated at an election to relinquish the job. But otherwise the risk of running doesn't appear apparent to me.
lmao, stop wishcasting.

I would expect Andrews to leave sometime after the Metro Tunnel is opened.