B&W Army

R. Shaw and a sweetener for..

Jabso: From now on any suggested trade posts should be here and all topics will be merged here.
Threads about a certain player being on the market are ok (as long as it's one thread per player). However if you have a "is this a good deal" or "i reckon we should do" post. Post it here otherwise will we be flooded with useless crap during the silly season and in particular trade wekk.

Andrew Lovett? Does that should stupid or is that a realistic trade?

Re: R. Shaw and a sweetener for..

Andrew Lovett? Does that should stupid or is that a realistic trade?

"I think I just threw up in my mouth little." Lovett is one of those players who get over rated because when he acutally decides to do something it looks fantastic.

His soft, selfish, has a questionable attitude. Makes Lonie look like a tough guy. No thank you.

since it looks like Shaw will be gone, we will lose some speed so I was thinking it would be a like for like trade.

R Shaw and a packet of equal for Lovett?

Awesome trade so we can turn around and trade him to Sydney for something of value AND we got rid of that useless pathetic excuse for a footballer (R Shaw)

R Shaw and a packet of equal for Lovett?

Awesome trade so we can turn around and trade him to Sydney for something of value AND we got rid of that useless pathetic excuse for a footballer (R Shaw)

there's always that lol

While I wouldn't be opposed to Lovett I don't think it's viable.

Already Didak and Cousins will be a journalists wet dream. You put Lovett in there and we seem like a half way house for people with personal problems.

I think we can get some worth out of R Shaw and would be happy with a 3rd rounder, or swap for a young player with a bit of potential.

Think Essendon are looking for a bit more than Rhyce for Lovett. They want a second rounder.

While I wouldn't be opposed to Lovett I don't think it's viable.

Already Didak and Cousins will be a journalists wet dream. You put Lovett in there and we seem like a half way house for people with personal problems.

I think we can get some worth out of R Shaw and would be happy with a 3rd rounder, or swap for a young player with a bit of potential.

Think Essendon are looking for a bit more than Rhyce for Lovett. They want a second rounder.

good point.. :o

Why is everyone so certain Shaw will be gone? Before his injury/suspension i thought he was playing pretty well, it seems people can only remember his last few games. Unless we could get a pick around the 25 mark i think it would be better for us to hold onto him.

Earlier in the year - He shanked 2 shots in a row on the run 30m out with no pressure (about 45 degree angle) and one was on the full and the other went to 40m OPPOSITE pocket

Now - Wakelin absolutely blasts his attitude to the game and that is a pet peeve of MM (bad attitude)

Ability - ...

Speed - Why not just get Usain Bolte?

Towards the start of the year his skill wasn't too bad. He was doing a passable job as a tagger on occasions and getting plenty of the ball himself. Maybe he got too settled and didn't work as hard but as i said before unless we can get something pretty good for him it's a waste to get rid of him.

Look I agree he had a lot better games this year then previously (believe me I was surprised) But we can't afford to have footballers the turn the ball over every other game...

Its better to have 17 players on the field than 17 + 1 that turns the ball over

Was it the Elimination Final this year where R Shaw gave away multiple "high" tackle free kicks...It's been so long since that game but I'm sure its the one where he kept pulling Adelaide in the game

Politics.

Never underestimate them at a footy club, no matter what level.

Im sure Collingwood has some reservations about Cousins because of his past, but may well pass them by because he is a champion player.

Lovett, at best, is a player that can be ranked 15th-20th on an ordinairy list, and plus the behavioral problems he has had. Dont think MM and the team will even be considering this one.

the fact he has requested a trade probably opens it up for debate

Well this speaks volumes when was this announced?
it was the other week. Cant remember where i saw it but i remember it said he had asked. Ben Johnson also supposedly has requested a trade if one comes up.
I think its great to be honest. I think both players have been at the club long enough and havent done enough to suggest they deserve another season at Collingwood.
Both players should be used during trade talks next week.

Well if this is true ten i would love to see if we could use shaw or BJ to increase our 29 pick to one around the 22 mark. Means we may be able to draft Swift and Robinson. I'd quite like that.

WTF since when did they announce that they wanted to be traded? Absolutely gobsmacked...did not expect that at all

Edit: Happy about Shaw...I think Johnno could be of some value if he regains confidence and fitness

Johnson + Pick 29 for Pick 21(Freo) could be on the cards. Freo have lost/are losing about 8 players and Johnson could be a good fit for them. Tarrant is also mates with Johnno I believe.

Personally, I don't believe that there has been any report stating that the two boys have requested a trade, because more than one person would have heard about it. I would rather play R Shaw rather than someone like Cook or even Cox. At least he has some pace. But I can still see why people are so keen to see him gone. He may have some appeal to another team. I had hoped he might appeal to Port Adelaide and feature in a swap for Adam Thompson.

If being a mate of Chris Tarrant helped Johnson find his way to Freo, I'd be most surprised. I reckon Collingwood would happily wave him goodbye if someone requested his services. He would be a good fit at Carlton with Fev, though can't see where he'd fit into the team.

Sorry - the thread is about R Shaw. Sydney has been suggested as a team that might be able to put him to good use. Perhaps he might become a sweetener in a deal for O'Keefe.

it was the other week. Cant remember where i saw it but i remember it said he had asked. Ben Johnson also supposedly has requested a trade if one comes up.
I think its great to be honest. I think both players have been at the club long enough and havent done enough to suggest they deserve another season at Collingwood.
Both players should be used during trade talks next week.

WRONG WRONG WRONG WRONG WRONG!!!!

Check your facts next time or stop just making things up.....

Meanwhile, Collingwood's Ben Johnson has indicated that he wants to remain with the Magpies next season after meeting with the club yesterday.
http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/ne...ng-cool-on-kerr/2008/09/23/1221935640782.html

Earlier in the year - He shanked 2 shots in a row on the run 30m out with no pressure (about 45 degree angle) and one was on the full and the other went to 40m OPPOSITE pocket

Now - Wakelin absolutely blasts his attitude to the game and that is a pet peeve of MM (bad attitude)

Ability - ...

Speed - Why not just get Usain Bolte?[/quote]

It would be worth getting him just so it would end the constant bickering about ''who is the fastest player in the league''... even then i suppose people would argue that over the first 30 so and so would kill Bolt!