J Brown vs N Riewoldt

• J Brown

Votes: 1 100.0%
  • N Riewoldt

Votes: 0 0.0%

I reckon Brown gets credit for playing in those flags, even though at the time he wasn't a major player in that team, his best is every bit if not better than reiwoldts best, if I could have either as an 18 yr old I'd pick Roo , hasn't Been as injury prone and has been more consistent IMO and the Saints wouldn't have been anywhere near as good without him pre 2011.

Brown. Wayne Carey himself said that if Brown did not get injured he would have been better than him.

Interesting and probably on the mark I'd say. At his best Brown was up there with Carey as one of the greatest ever CHFs. AAs pfft. Lendl won more grand slams then McEnroe and we all know McEnroe shits all over Lendl.

If I had to pick one to play for my life, I'd take Brown nearly every time. Is probably marginally behind Riewoldt in his ability to gut run and push hard for marks, but is, I think, a fair way ahead when having to take one on one marks inside the forward 50. Brown a much better kick for goal, and more of a 'clutch' player for mine.

Not sure you can use AA selection as a criteria to rate players. Brown seems to have missed more football than Riewoldt over his career, which may have impacted his chances to be AA. When you look at AA selection, then by rights, Riewoldt (5 times) is a better CHF than Tredrea (4 times AA), with both trailing Pavlich (6 times AA). It's a subjective thing. If AA selection is a pre-requisite for comparing players, then Leon Davis is a better midfielder than Sam Mitchell apparently!!!

This.

Riewoldt has a better tank but goes missing too many times when things get tight. Boofhead is a better leader and stands up when the game is in the balance. I know who I'd prefer to take the kick after the siren to win a game.

Riewoldt has definitely got more out of himself and been more consistent. Ultimately J Brown's best was a lot more dominant. So for longevity Riewoldt, but best peak performance Brown by far.

Serious :confused: Riewoldts best was better as well. He won an MVP, lol.

But but... Brown is tough ;)

Hehe :p

Fwiw Riewoldt + Tredrea > Pavlich >>>>> Brown.

Riewoldt, Tredrea & Pavlich are all champions of the game in my opinion. Brown is a rung or two below that. Brown is no doubt, the most overrated player to ever play the game.

Hehe :p

Fwiw Riewoldt + Tredrea > Pavlich >>>>> Brown.

Riewoldt, Tredrea & Pavlich are all champions of the game in my opinion. Brown is a rung or two below that. Brown is no doubt, the most overrated player to ever play the game.

I have no problem in saying that Tredrea and Pav beat Brown, But Riewoldt does not IMO.

Seriously. Why do people continually play down Nick Riewoldts achievements? The guy is a 5xB&F, 4xAA, MVP winning champion. You can't fluke that.

They are completely different types of players that essentially have played the same position. In the scheme of things there isn't much between them and anyone suggesting it is one or the other 'easily' is just taking the piss (or is a moron).

In the end I simply prefer to watch Brown's style of play. It's better football as I like football to be played. However, they are both bloody good players and I would have been rapt to have had either at the Hawks over the years.

My preference for Brown is more stylistic based than output based, although I agree with the assertion that Brown is the better 'big moment' player, if lacking Reiwoldt's durability and consistency.

Brown is a poor man's Carey.
Reiwoldt is a (very) rich man's Nick Holland.

I still lean to the poor man's Carey.....but it's still only just.

I've seen you carry on about Brown being overrated a number of times on here. Amazes me that people call Brown overrated. AA is a terrible way of rating a player and you know it. It is a joke the players that get left out of that team every year and the positions they are named in. How is Riewoldt underrated? Anyone who watches AFL regularly knows Reiwoldt is an amazing player.

Brown has kicked close to 500 goals and there aren't many CHF's that can do that. He is an outstanding player and I am glad I got to watch his career from his first year till now and see him drag our team over the line in close games and at times destroy teams. He is rated highly by current and former players who are far more qualified to say so than people coming on a website and stating he is one of the most overrated players in the AFL. He has similar traits to Carey but didn't have it in him to play the position as long as Carey did. Where is the next forward with as much courage as Brown has?

Simple for me. I would rather have Brown captain/take a set shot after the siren to win a game over Riewoldt.

Not much between them in the courage stakes - Roo's mark against the Swans is as courageous as it gets and the equal to any of Brown's marks.

Saying that I would still take Brown - there is only 9 games the difference in games played and I think Brown was more dominant. Brown had a chance to get close to Carey but did not manage to get there.

Seriously. Why do people continually play down Nick Riewoldts achievements? The guy is a 5xB&F, 4xAA, MVP winning champion. You can't fluke that.

Question HAD, where does Scott West rate in your assessment of midfielders???

The guy is a 7XB&F winner, 5xAA, and finished top 4 in the brownlow 4 times, yet wouldn't be in most peoples top 10 midfielders to ever play the game.

Awards don't always tell the full story. Durability would have played a large part in Riewoldt having more AA's and B&F's than Brown as opposed to playing ability

Question HAD, where does Scott West rate in your assessment of midfielders???

The guy is a 7XB&F winner, 5xAA, and finished top 4 in the brownlow 4 times, yet wouldn't be in most peoples top 10 midfielders to ever play the game.

Awards don't always tell the full story. Durability would have played a large part in Riewoldt having more AA's and B&F's than Brown as opposed to playing ability
That'd be true if one had missed seasons (ie a Michael Long) or been incapacitated (ie a Nick Holland).

There's a whole 9 games difference.

That'd be true if one had missed seasons (ie a Michael Long) or been incapacitated (ie a Nick Holland).

brown ...... champion
riewolt ....... over rated. cracks under pressure and blames his team mates just like his cousin or in bred brother jack. wouldnt have either of them in my team. lets see how good riewolt is as the saints slide quickly down the ladder, soon back to the days when they were a disgrace. ps good luck to freo for taking thomas. he has the worst game plan going around

brown ...... champion
riewolt ....... over rated. cracks under pressure and blames his team mates just like his cousin or in bred brother jack. wouldnt have either of them in my team. lets see how good riewolt is as the saints slide quickly down the ladder, soon back to the days when they were a disgrace. ps good luck to freo for taking thomas. he has the worst game plan going around
and the results of the poll back up this statement
brown 84
riewolt 31

brown ...... champion

Huh :confused:

Brown's best has been when brisbane have struggled the most, he is intimidating, game breaking, big moment type of player, and easily the most courageous player I have seen.

Riewoldt does not have the presence of Brown, pretty simple, Brown's team mates lift when he inspires them.

Brown's best has been when brisbane have struggled the most, he is intimidating, game breaking, big moment type of player, and easily the most courageous player I have seen.

Riewoldt does not have the presence of Brown, pretty simple, Brown's team mates lift when he inspires them.

So Brown has been at his best while Brisbane have struggled. Brown's team mates lift when he inspires then, yet they have still struggled. :confused:

You makes zero sense as per usual.

Riewoldt has inspired and lifted his team into finals for years. Just as big of a presence to his team as Brown is to Brisbane.

Earlier in the thread someone mentioned that Carey thought but for injuries Brown could've been better than him. Just remember the substance abuse problems that Carey had after his playing days.

Brown is the most over-rated player I have seen by far. He was a bit part player in 3 flags but people will have you believe he won them off his own boot. His finals performances were quite average bar a couple & his GF efforts were no better than Riewoldts, probably worse. People just look on them in a better light because Brisbane won 3. Overall Riewoldt has been by far the better finals player.

People seem to make out as though Riewoldt has been untouched by injury yet he's always had to manage a crook knee for his entire career, had a couple of major shoulder injuries & of course the hamstring off the bone in 2010. How he got back that season i'll never know. He hasn't been the same player since but he was chasing a flag so the risk was worth taking, a bit of luck would've seen them win a GF last year.

As for courage they are on a par, its just that you don't hear commentaters wet their pants when Reiwoldt runs back with the flight of the ball. They bang on about with Brown when going into a vacant goalsquare, its just way over the top. Browns second injury this year was his own fault & he shouldn't have tried to be a hero as it was only going to end badly. Of course the media just went overboard & made him out to be the only bloke who plays footy with any level of courage.

The main reason most would think that Brown is the better player is because of the 'boy from the country' image that he has, untouched by fame. How Brisbane can pay him 900K plus a year with his output throughout his career is ridiculous. Simon Black, a true champion & probably Brisbane greatest ever player (including Voss) has a near B&F season yet is forced to take a paycut to play on next year. Black should tell them to stick it & go elsewhere, he should've been made captain ahead of Brown as well.

For such a great leader his time as captain has been terrible for the club yet he's considered a great leader & Riewoldt, with consistent finals appearences & GF years is considered by many to be soft. It just doesn't add up. I'd hate to see how bad Brisane would've been without his amazing leadership.

True, however Brown debuted in 2000, Riewoldt in 2001. Brown has only had 4 seasons where he has played more than 20 games, Riewoldt has 9 (granted Brown had two where he played 19).

I'd say that, to me, indicates he has been more durable over the journey.

Brown for mine, no disrespect intended to Reiwoldt but he gets the love of the umpires. Unless you put Browny in a headlock you won't give away a free kick. Fantastic player who just attacks the ball every time it goes in the air. To the blokes calling him "the most over rated player of the 00's".. probably a bit sour he has kicked 10 on your mob :)

He was a young player in our premiership sides and showed so much courage as a CHF. Provided a contest and kicked goals, without kicking massive bags. He hit his peak when our side was no where near it's peak of 2001 - 2004 and kept us up the ladder with his skill, courage and leadership. Played injured in the 2004 final FWIW. Fantastic player and probably the last of his kind due to the rule changes. Apparently players who look only for the ball need to have their faces smashed in to get a free kick.

Reiwoldt on the other hand... Gets a pretty good run from the umps IMO.