- Banned
Yes, Yes you can.
Race, Religion and Sexuality have always been no go zones.
Nope

BigFooty AFLW Notice Img
AFLW 2025 - AFLW Trade and Draft - All the player moves
Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Yes, Yes you can.
Race, Religion and Sexuality have always been no go zones.
Nope
It's common for the Aboriginal person who is having it said to them.Perhaps if not many people are being called it then it's not common.
if you can't understand that Race, Religion and Sexuality related slurs is a no go zone than you aren't going to learn why on Big Footy.
good luck to you.
It's not about whether it hurts the receiver at all. It's about whether it's ok to say it or not. I doubt the recipient was personally hurt at being called a c*** s*****, but that's not the point.Really if not directed as a personal insult does it really hurt.
Let the grown ups in the real world discuss I’d suggest. Without the hysteria.
It depends on what kind of job we're talking, to be fair. If he were on a construction site, the mines or in a logistics yard, he probably would. If he were in my office job, then honestly he'd be out that door before midday.in the real-world Finlayson wouldn't have a job.
i dont think you live in the real world
It depends on what kind of job we're talking, to be fair. If he were on a construction site, the mines or in a logistics yard, he probably would. If he were in my office job, then honestly he'd be out that door before midday.
Every Aboriginal I know was being called it so yes it was common. Someone has given you first hand experience of it being used yet you still refuse to acknowledge. It was commonly used to degrade Aboriginals. .
Well given I've said way way back and I was talking about family born as far back as 1900 you just confirmed it became prominent in much more recent times.
Thanks.
It's common for the Aboriginal person who is having it said to them.
Seriously - if your (presumably white) ancestors say they didn't commonly hear it, and an Aboriginal person says they were called it all the time, what's the Occam's Razor explanation here? It's not that we just split the difference and say well, it must be halfway common - it's that we can pretty easily suggest that Aboriginals were targeted with that word and therefore far more likely to hear it regularly than white people.
Nobody is suggesting that your ancestors lied or anything of the sort. It's just that their place in society was such that they weren't exposed to some of the nastier racism that Australia has to offer.
Let me put it this way - I don't get cat called walking through a pubs-and-bars district at night. When she's with me, my wife doesn't get cat called walking through that district, nor did any of my exes or female friends if they were walking with me. However, if they're alone or just with other women, they get cat-called regularly.
Doesn't mean that we just split the difference and say, well, cat calling mustn't be that common because I don't hear it.
No you said it began in the 1980s. You are wrong. I am actually beginning to see why your family didn’t hear it, seems they were not willing to listen.
That hasn’t been confirmed because they don’t want to out or fuel rumours about a player’s sexuality.Was it directed at any person for a reason?
We are.Let the grown ups in the real world discuss I’d suggest. Without the hysteria.
It’s an off the cuff remark for some but to others it can have a devastating impact. I will use race as an example. If someone calls a person a white c and they have never been called that before it may not have the same impact as calling someone a black c who was been belittled all their life with such commen
That is just not truei work in construction
if a tradie said that in ear shot of management they would be walked off site before smoko.
if two blokes are building a dog kennel in their backyard, ok maybe they might get away with it.
What about calling someone a 'bald c@#t'? Is that type of slur ok?We are.
If you called someone a c*** s***** in the workplace, at a family gathering, in a club, on the train, wherever, then you'd be pretty immediately removed, ostracised and shunned.
This isn't hysteria, it's just real world, with real world consequences.
As a bald man myself, honestly I just find it pretty ridiculous and laugh it off. It's so, so, so much less historically charged than anything to do with LGBT sexuality or blackness that it's not the same league, it's barely even the same sport.What about calling someone a 'bald c@#t'? Is that type of slur ok?
That is just not true
It’s still a workplace and it’s not acceptable in any waySticks and stones no longer applies in 2024 obviously but surely words said on field have to be pretty to warrant an investigation. Cup of concrete needed