Mal Michael Appreciation Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Philhawk

Like Mal Michael?

And that's checkmate bitches.

350px-Checkmate.jpg

He knew it was an end of an era and time to go because he was stale. Do you think Voss, Lepitch, the Scotts would have retired if there was a chance of a flag in 2007, I don't think so. He just wanted to get out and wanted to keep playing football.

Brisbane were completely at blame here. He didnt want to retire. Brisbane pushed him by not compromising and allowing him to get some rest and a life outside of footy. Essendon gave him that opportunity and he took it. WHo wouldnt. He still wants to play footy he just doesnt want to run 20km a day and so he shouldnt after the many years of service he gave Brisbane. Time for Brisbane to show a bit more respect to the older players who took them to the 3peat.

Do you think Voss, Lepitch, the Scotts would have retired if there was a chance of a flag in 2007, I don't think so.

Voss and Leppitsch retired because of injury.

He knew it was an end of an era and time to go because he was stale. Do you think Voss, Lepitch, the Scotts would have retired if there was a chance of a flag in 2007, I don't think so. He just wanted to get out and wanted to keep playing football.
If you knew Vossy, Leppa or the Scotts, you would realise that is a stupid statement. They didn't retire because there wasn't any hope of a flag. Maybe do some research before making silly statements.

Rohan Smith retired last year, yet it looks like the Bulldogs will improve and challenge. Why didn't he continue?

Brisbane were completely at blame here. He didnt want to retire. Brisbane pushed him by not compromising and allowing him to get some rest and a life outside of footy. Essendon gave him that opportunity and he took it. WHo wouldnt. He still wants to play footy he just doesnt want to run 20km a day and so he shouldnt after the many years of service he gave Brisbane. Time for Brisbane to show a bit more respect to the older players who took them to the 3peat.

Proof!

proof that Brisbane were in the right...

Yes injuries and if Brisbane were on the verge of a premiership they would have all retired. Yeah right. Time to move on Matthews just doesn't realise that.
No, i'm sort of regretting we have him now, when you don't have a coaching appointment.

Maybe you should have a chat to Vossy and Leppa to see if they wanted to continue this year.

Did John Barker retire because Hawthorn wasn't going to win the premiership this year?

Yes injuries and if Brisbane were on the verge of a premiership they would have all retired. Yeah right. Time to move on Matthews just doesn't realise that.

What doesn't Matthews realise?

Yeah, because I'm sure Mal can sense a flag at Essendon.

If this is true, why didn't he ask to be traded? Brisbane would have done if he wanted it that badly. Suggest your have a look through some of the old threads on this topic. If you'll believe Brisbane's statement (which some choose not to) than he never mentioned a modified training schedule to them and they did everything they could to keep him, and even offered to trade him, and even if you don't believe the club Mal hasn't ever said that he even asked for one.

Do you think he was genuine then in his desire to retire?

Not a chance.

If there's one thing you'll notice with liars, is they don't like repeating their lie, so they'll deflect. Usually they'll take one of two tacks.

1: I couldn't possibly have done 'x' because of 'these circumstances (i.e. I wasn't there, didn't know etc,..') or;
2: The circumstances were such that what I did wasn't that bad (i.e. I was drunk, all the guys do it, etc).

What was Mal's line? : "I don't know what Brisbane is so angry about. I gave them 6 years of bloody good service and only missed 4 games in that time....".

Not 'I didn't do anything bad' but rather 'This is why I'm allowed to be bad'.

Character flaw.

What was Mal's line? : "I don't know what Brisbane is so angry about. I gave them 6 years of bloody good service and only missed 4 games in that time....".

and this is how you supporters say your thanks, when Wanganeen left Essendon i was shattered but I still respect the bloke. Also when Caracella was stolen from Essendon as Essendon didn't have the extra cap to be able to afford him did i get angry with him no.

get over yourselves Mal Michael helped gain you a 3peat, A FARRKING 3PEAT, and now he's not on your list you all hate him.

pathetic:thumbsd:

and this is how you supporters say your thanks, when Wanganeen left Essendon i was shattered but I still respect the bloke.

Respect comes with the way you handle yourself. It's earned over years but can be destroyed in minutes.

If you can sit down in an office, look a bloke in the eye and say "Look mate. I've got plans. I'd like to play on, but not here." you'll get a firm handshake, a slap on the back and plane ticket.

That's the massive difference between Wanga and Michael. Integrity.

Also when Caracella was stolen from Essendon as Essendon didn't have the extra cap to be able to afford him did i get angry with him no.

Christ, you'd be mental to get angry with Caracella. He desperately wanted to stay and was shown the door. Ridiculous comparsion.

What a ridiculous comment.All 3 would have retired regardless of Brisbanes situation as their bodies were shot and they had nothing left to give

Brisbane wanted him to commit full time and Michael couldnt and theres nothing wrong in what Brisbane asked of him and for that you cant really blame Brisbane for wanting a player to have a professional committed approach.The part time footballer no longer exists in this game anymore and thats what Michael wanted.Good luck to Essendon for picking him and i wish him well but i reckon if Michael is going to have a part time approach to his football he will not be doing himself or Essendon any good

Not a chance.

If there's one thing you'll notice with liars, is they don't like repeating their lie, so they'll deflect. Usually they'll take one of two tacks.

1: I couldn't possibly have done 'x' because of 'these circumstances (i.e. I wasn't there, didn't know etc,..') or;
2: The circumstances were such that what I did wasn't that bad (i.e. I was drunk, all the guys do it, etc).

Not 'I didn't do anything bad' but rather 'This is why I'm allowed to be bad'.

Character flaw.

So you believe that all of last year he was simply planning to crap on the club? For what reason? Surely you should all want to know why? I can fully understand Brissy supporters being angry that he has left the club but I'm yet to hear any real reasons of why it all happened other than Mal's version of his desire to retire & then later change of heart. I'm interested to hear what Brissy supporters think actually happened if they don't believe Mal's story & also why they believe it.

I would recommend you take no notice of somebody who's a self-admitted expert on lying. A lot of Brisbane supporters are prepared to villify players who've left the club, because they haven't managed to grow up. The good thing to come out of the Michael saga is that these people have exposed themselves to the light of day. It's also a good thing that this issue, and the Aker saga, are eating away at their intestines like a festering sore. If it weren't so pathetic, it would be laughable.

There is NO evidence that Mal Michael has done anything dishonest. There is certainly no evidence of any underhand actions by Essendon.This won't stop posters like xplo having a hissy fit about it. Just ignore him or her.

On the other hand, there is a mountain of evidence that the administration of the Brisbane Lions is incompetent. Rather than attacking Mal, maybe some of this bile should be directed towards those who are really responsible for the club lurching from crisis to catastrophe, Bowers and his circus clowns.