Preview NAB AFL Draft

Re: National Draft / Rookie Draft Strategy (No Trade Talk)

Im not to keen on Darling. Yes he could be anything upto buddy franklin/Brown but he could also be a player who never makes it. I personally think its too much of a risky pick for pick 8 and we should be minimising the risk as much as possible.

Polec>Atley>Caddy>Gorringe>Prestia

is my order for pick 8
But u could say that any player wouldn't make it. IMO darling could very well be that elite utility that our aide is missing.

Since hird left he have been missing that player that can swing forward or back and go into the middle where ever the team needs him. McPhee came close but wasn't elite and left.

So IMO while we do really need a pure mid we do have some young players coming through in that area but no one to play that swingman someone who can really turn a game on it's head.

Gold Coast will take Atley at 7. Then we will take Prestia at 8.

That is what I think will happen. Gold Coast will take Atley at 7 because they know that we will snap him up at 8 and they won't be able to pick him up with 9, 10 and 11. Hope not though, I have ereally jumped on Atleys bandwagon.

Gold Coast will take Atley at 7. Then we will take Prestia at 8.

That is what I think will happen. Gold Coast will take Atley at 7 because they know that we will snap him up at 8 and they won't be able to pick him up with 9, 10 and 11. Hope not though, I have ereally jumped on Atleys bandwagon.

It depends how much they want Gorringe or Lynch. If they take Atley we may take one of them.

OK; so after having a look around a bit, I have decided to update my selections for who I would love to have at Essendon in the upcoming draft.

With selections 8, 31, 48, 64, 80, 95, 106 (Ben Howlett) in the national draft and Essendon having an infatuation with picking players in the Pre Season Draft, we may only use picks 8, 31, 48, 64 and use pick 80 to upgrade Ben Howlett leaving us with two picks in the Pre Season Draft where we should pick the best available overlooked draftees, be it mature aged or young kids.

Any ways, here is what I would love to see Essendon do on draft day.

Pick 8:

Shaun Atley 189cm, 83kg, Midfielder, Murray Bushrangers (Vic)

Midfielder in the Judd mould would be awesome for Essendon as we have a glaring weakness in the midfield. His ability to break away from a contest gives us a second option for clearing the ball from congestion (after Watson being in and under of course). I think I have settled on Atley for our first pick here and would love to see him at Essendon.

Billie Smedts, 187cm, 77kg, Utility, Geelong Falcons (Vic)

May surprise a few here, and I have keeping this hand close to my chest ow for a while but I feel Smedts could really flourish into an elite player. A nice height with room to build on his slight frame. Clean below the knees, very nice skills and iis very good overhead, his versatility to play down back or push forward in times of need are an added bonus whilst he could potentially play in the midfield over time as maybe a stopping role.

Josh Caddy, 186cm, 75kg, Midfielder, Northern Knights (Vic)

Love the sound of the kid, the way he goes about it. May not be the most complete midfielder in the draft but what he does, he does it well. A real bull in the clinches. Caddy loves to barge his way through congestion and will bustle his way through a pack to clear the ball for his team mates. Caddy is a very good over head mark for his size and also has the ability to push forward and kick a goal also.

Dion Prestia, 175cm, 82kg, Midfielder, Calder Cannons (Vic)

For mine, if he was 5 cm taller he would be a certain top 5 pick, he does most things well, can play inside or outside, run and carry and is a very damaging and creative player. He can dispose of the ball off either foot or via either hand and is just a very good all round player. Would not be disappointed if we landed Prestia at all here.

Pick 31:

Jed Lamb, 181cm, 79kg, Forward, Gippsland Power (Vic)

Am a little biit hopeful, but there are always players to slip in the draft. Lamb is a very creative small forward who is also able to puch forward and up into the midfield. He won the kicking test at the recent combine, has speed to burn and is a true goal kicking small forward.

Luke Parker, 183cm, 81kg, Midfielder, Dandenong Stingrays (Vic)

Parker would be a fantastic aquisition here after a bit of a down year for the Stingrays (after winning their B&F as an underage last year). His good overhead, wins his own ball and is another player who can go forward and kick a goal. A pretty well rounded player IMO without being outstanding at anything really, the potential is there.

Mitch Hallahan, 184cm, 81kg, Midfielder, Dandenong Stingrays (Vic)

Some say he is one of the toughest midfielders in this years draft group. IS it hard to argue after watching him play live? (I actually have seen him along with the other Stingray kids live - only a couple of times though :cool:)
Tough as nails and is someone you would love in the trenches in the midst of a premiership warzone. A true leader, work horse and someone who will give all on the footy field, he is a good tackles and a good long left foot kick that will hold him in good stead for the future. A player that I have loved seeing play live.

Cameron Gutherie, 186cm, 79kg, Utility, Midfielder, Calder Cannons (Vic)

Gutherie is another all round type who could play a variety of roles, is very adept at playing either inside or outside and takes a good contested mark for his size. Skills are really good whilst he also has the ability to play a team game and shut down players. Wouldn't be at all disappointed if we selected Gutherie here.

Pick 48:

Alex Fasolo, 182cm, 78kg, Midfielder/Forward, East Fremantlle (W.A)

Another inside/outside type who is very good in close, has good vision and awareness in close and is also very, very handy playing outside with his wonderful left (i think?) foot kicks, forwards would be loving his delivery.

Sam Crocker, 180cm, 71kg, Forward, Oakleigh Chargers (Vic)

A beautiful left footed half forward type who may push into the midfield over time. Crocker has wonderful poise and balance in a not to dissimilar nature to that of our very own David Zaharakis. Crocker may end up playing mostly across half forward, but would not look out of place in a midfield with his decision making. A personal favorite of mine and may be a bit of a stretch at pick 48, but his wonderful ball use is in the top bracket of this years draftees.

Kieran Butcher, 180cm, 78kg, Midfielder/Defender, Peel Thunder (W.A)

Kieran was captain of the WA State team this year and averaged over 20 disposals. He is a well rounded midfielder who would do well in an AFL enviroment, a quick player who could break the lines with his pace, Butcher is also more than adequate at the bottom of a pack shoveling a handball out to his team mates. Another left footer who is very good over middle distances but can be found wanting over the long 55 metre distances.

Brad Harvey, 187cm, 83kg, Midfielder, Eastern Ranges (Vic)

Another of the inside/outside types, Harvey blitzed the National Draft Combine and will surely not last this long, if he does I would pounce. Has plenty of attributes that could transform him from being a top junior sprinter into a top line AFL player. He is quick, and can run and carry, though some people suspect he has not shown enough of this as yet, when he does.. watch out. Could develop into a handy defender if he does not find the pace of the AFL midfield which could still turn out fairly handy as he does read the play well.

Pick 64:

Darcy Barden, 192cm, 91kg, Forward, Northern Knights (Vic)

Tall forward who finished second on the TAC cup goal kicking table with 47 majors. Barden represents good value around here, with his strong hands and sure marking, he is more suited to Full Forward rather than a lot of this years tall forwards being more centre half forward types (which I feel Essendon have covered?).

Jimmi Savage, 193cm, 75kg, Forward, Norwood, (S.A)

Another tall forward who may present exceptional value this late in the draft. Savage is a really exciting player who can jump, run and carry, kick long and could end up as a mobile ruckmen if his slight frame (73kg) allows him to fill out to a reasonable build.

Jordan Schroder, 182cm, 85kg, Midfielder, Calder Cannons (Vic)

A very talented midfielder who has been unrecognized behind more fancied team mates Mitch Wallis, Tom Liberatore and Dion Prestia. He is a very compact mid who loves the in and under stuff, is very impressive going forward also having kicked 30 goals for the season including a bag of 5 against GWS and a 4 against Eastern Ranges. A very, very under rated player who I would love to see at Essendon, another of my favorites.

Leif Cope, 205cm, 98kg, Ruckmen, Eastern Ranges (Vic)

Tallest player to have attended the draft combine this year at 204.6cm, he presents as a project player with so much development left in him. His ability to put on second efforts is second to none and even had 10 hard ball gets in a game against Gippsland late in the year which suggests he is not afraid of getting into a scrap with the smalls. A decent tap ruckmen who could play senior footy in 2 - 3 years as he is physically more ready than a few of the others about.

Pick 80:

Aaron Mullet, 183cm, 74kg, Midfielder/Wingman, Eastern Ranges (Vic)

Best available around here, some suggest he could potentially sneak inside the top 50 such is his well rounded game. A wonderful user of the ball with his silky left foot, he also has the ability to push forward and kick a goal. Good overhead, good agility (finished fourth in the agility testing), good runner and can carry the ball, overall, good value here.

Zephi Skinner, 189cm, 78kg, Utility, NT Thunder (Northern Territory)

A massive project player, with massive upside, some have suggested he goes missing, others have suggested he may not work at all, but the upside to the kid is huge given his outstanding athleticism that saw him ruck against more seasoned and more pure ruckmen in the AFLQ competition. Skinner will most likely end up on a wing or a half forward flank but could be a very useful utility that will win you games of footy.

Jake Bachelor, 187cm, 82kg, Defender, Dandenong Stingrays (Vic)

Probably scraping the bottom of the barrel here, as I think he presents fantastic value at pick 80. Somehow feel he is massively under rated and could come into calculations somewhere in the mid 60's. A reboudning defender who takes a heap of marks from the opposition, rebounds strongly and uses the ball really well, transformed into the midfield in the latter stages of the season as injuries began to curtail the Stingrays season and did reasonably well there, seen this kid play live a couple of times for his old stomping ground Frankston Bombers, and boy the kid can play... even against men.

Callum Currie, 183cm, 83kg, midfielder, North Ballarat Rebels (Vic)

Physically developed kid who had an outstanding year for the Rebels and finished second in the Rebels best and fairest. An Essendon supporter, Currie is a good tackler and someone who is able to stand up in these with the ball in hand. Another one of my favorites who I think may actually still be around in the rookie draft, but am thinking he may be nabbed in the main draft late.

Pre Season Draft Pick 4(?):

Jackson Sketcher, 182cm, 82kg, Midfielder, Sandringham Dragons (Vic)

A really unassuming midfielder who shared the TAC Cup B&F, the Morrish Medal with highly rated Dyson Heppel. Such was his standing he was invited to the 'Young Guns Game' in September and was named as one of the best in that game. Sketcher is an old fashioned type footballer who will most likely get given a go (I would like to hope so) and given his drive will take the chance to succeed.

Ed Curnow, 180cm, 82kg, Midfielder, Box Hill Hawks (Vic)

The leg injury sustained late in the year may put people off Curnow, but he was the best midfielder in the VFL by a fair length. A ball magnet who just gets in the right spots, uses it well and loves the hard stuff. A reallly well rounded inside midfielder who despite being a 'mature' aged player, is still only 21.

Jacob Gilbee, 184cm, 76kg, Forward, Lauderdale (Tas)

Small forward who did well for Tasmania at this years champs, averaged 15 disposals a game, 4 tackles a game and kicked 7 goals over the 5 games. A good mark for a player of his size, could he be worth a punt?

Thomas Schneider, 177cm, 75kg, Midfielder, Oakleigh Chargers (Vic)

As Kevin Sheehan has put it "a very good drop of the ball player with neat skills" sums up Schneider well, averaged 22 disposals a game during the championships and despite his small stature was in amongst everything. Is also able to push forward.

Rookie Selections:

James Webster, 184cm, 78kg, Midfielder, North Shore (NSW)

Our NSW Scholarship has recently been advised that he will be placed directly onto our rookie list which will put him one step closer to playing senior football. Physically well developed for an 18 year old, Webster captained the NSW/ACT Rams side and was a class above his team mates, his ball use and decision making was also a feature of his game. A very good selection here by Essendon to select him a couple of years ago.

Michael Stockdale, 175cm, 75kg, Defender, Casey Scorpions (Vic)

A really classy small defender who has been one of my favorites for a while now, despite his knee injury mid year, he still manged to finish in the top 5 of the Liston Trophy. A polished ball user in the back half, Stockdale is able to shut down an opponent whilst he is also more than adept at running the ball out of defence and pin point passes to his team mates. At 20, he is great value and still some development left in him you would imagine.

Adam Marcon, 181cm, 79kg, Midfielder, Northern Knights (Vic)

Marcon is one player who does not have any outstanding traits but is a good solid pick up that looks increasingly likely that he will fall through to the rookie draft. Was named in the TAC Cup team of the year and was also given the TAC Cup Coaches award which shows how highly rated the kid must be. A player that would play senior footy sooner rather than later.

Tim Milera, 171cm, 74kg, Forward, Port Adelaide Magpies (S.A)

Small forward who could present as excellent value if he falls through to the rookie draft. A natural crumber, Milera has started to attract some more attention from posters around the traps and may not even make it to the rookie draft.

Andrew Phillips, 200cm, 91kg, Ruckmen, Lauderdale (Tas)

Ruckmen who is very very raw. Will take time but could be anything as he has showed some glimpses of his potential at both the national championships and also at senior level back in Tasmania.

Kelvin Lawrence, 177cm, 72kg, Peel Thunder (WA)

A true small forward who has modeled his game on Essendon great Michael Long. Foj1 rates him fairly highly and he has watched a fair bit of Lawrence.

Caleb Shadbolt, 181cm, 78kg, Midfielder, West Perth (WA)

21 year old Shadbolt has really blossomed this year and is being seriously considered. A real standout player in the WAFL, Shadbolt is a very classy balll user off either foot and is a good ball carrier who has clean hands. Would he look out of place on an AFL list? no.

Matthew Outridge, 180cm, 74kg, Midfielder, Swan Districts (WA)

Smooth moving in and under midfielder who played the majority of the season in the colts team at WAFL club Swan Districts, then was able to play a handful of league games late in the season. Outridge is a good decision maker and has good clean hands in close.

Brad Helbig, 185cm, 78kg, Midfielder, West Adelaide (SA)

Another in an under type who excells at winning his own ball, uses it well when he does have the ball and is very courageous. Is also very handy going forward, kicking 19 goals in his 12 appearances in the U/18's for Wests.

James Orr, 198cm, 86kg, Ruckmen, Box Hill Hawks (Vic)

Orr was an elite basketball player before switching to football this year, showed some very promising signs in the reserves this year, whilst his atheltic talents were on show at the state screening.

Aaron Elari, 179cm, 73kg, Midfielder, Perth (WA)

Elari is a small midfielder who puts his body on the line like there is no tomorrow. Wins his own ball and uses it reasonably well, he finished in the top 10 of the sandover medal as one of the most promising young mids to come out of the WAFL for years. I would certainly not hesitate to have a good hard look at him.

Michael Sodomaco, 174cm, 70kg, Midfielder, Geelong Falcons (Vic)

Sodomaco won the Falcons B&F beating likely names like Luke Dalhaus, Thomas Ruggles and Daniel Semmens. After starting out in the Falcons program as a run with player, Sodomaco added an attacking side to his game which he has given credit to, to former Falcons mentor and coach Gary Hocking. As a 19 year old, could be a potential ittle gem for us?

Russel Gabriel, 200cm, 108kg, Ruckmen, Frankston Dolphins (Vic)

A player I have watched with interest in the past two years to see where he would end up. After having a year off last year (went back to playing shit local footy and dominated as he should have) he came back to frankston and did a super job. Finshed second behind another prospective draftee Michael Hibberd in the Dolphins B&F count. Gabriel is not your usual ruck type, he is more a bash and crash type, similar to Shane Mumford, he is one of the best contested marks I have seen for a big guy, I would like to see him use this more often up forward though, I think someone will certainly pull shot gun on him in the rookie draft if the rumors that he is 200cm + are true.

Just a couple of notes:

- I would think that Essendon may pick up a utility type player around that 189 - 192cm mark and potentialy push Nathan Lovet - Murray our of the side, just not sure who would be a good pick up, or where.
- We are in desperate need of midfielders, so I have focused on more rounded inside/outside midfielders.
- Mixed things up with some left footers with classy disposal in there.
- We do need a key forward, but just not sure who we should get as I think Atley is far to good for us to pass on for Lynch/Gorringe/Darling.
- Tried to look for a couple of ruckmen, really rate Cope, so hope we get him, although, if Lycett is available at 31, grab him.
- A couple of speculative picks in there (Skinner, Savage) are always risky, but we could do no worse at the moment.

There we are people there are some names for people to ponder over. Took me a while but we got there in the end, pity cricket got rained out, but meh, got this done in the end..

Any ways, enjoy and discuss

Great post HFF

This Stockdale kid has me interested. Desperately need a shut down back pocket player. If we can get him in the PSD and he's as highly rated as many think so then great.

Watch this space, but; if Essendon were to overlook Atley/Caddy/Prestia, I would love it to be for Billie Smedts.

A defender who could play as a utility role after being moved around from the back line to the forward line at times this year with success and I feel he may still have a couple of cm's to grow, which would put him up into the true 'utility' group.

As for Stockdale, I love the way he goes about it, really does. Every time I have watched him, he just oozes class, just think that his height will be a worry for AFL clubs despite most AFL clubs having 'small' forward around this 175 - 180 cm mark (which would be perfect for him).

Quick, reliable and a very nice ball user, why wouldn't we want to have him on our list.

Better option than this Peter Puopuolo people are talking up (word has it Dogs are going to nab him in the ND any ways - at 23, don't think we need any more 21 + players on our list).

Anyone get the Herald Sun today? Heard they were doing an article on what they reckon each club needs and is gonna take or something?

Just curious on who they reckon we need?

Cheers, dont get the HS here.. the West Australian today just has a back page article telling eagles to consider Polec instead of Gaff/Heppell, yawn..

Wor for word, it said:

Essendon:

Picks: 8, 31, 48, 64, 80, 95, 106 (PR)

What it it needs: We're happy with the way the Bombers "spine" is developing but there are massive holes in the midfield. Surely they will go for line breaking midfielders with their early picks. Matthew Knights wanted to land a big midfield fish and loved the run of Bulldog Ryan Griffen. Somehow at no. 8 they need to land the next "Griff". Get another one at 31 would be handy too.

What it might get: The Bombers have everything crossed that Shaun Atley slips to pick no. 8 - and we think he will. Not unlike Chris Judd in playing style the way he can play inside and outside midfield roles. Breaks lines with his speed and has great vision. Small knock on his kick, bit that will improve.

Recycling Opportunities: Cam Bruce, we hear Hirdy loves him.

Late Mail: Want to fill a void in it's ruck department. Josh Jenkins and James Orr are mature age options. Have speed and spring.

Interesting notes there, but everything we already know, right?

god they are annoying.

Some more interesting points about other clubs but state the obvious about us.

OK; so after having a look around a bit, I have decided to update my selections for who I would love to have at Essendon in the upcoming draft.

With selections 8, 31, 48, 64, 80, 95, 106 (Ben Howlett) in the national draft and Essendon having an infatuation with picking players in the Pre Season Draft, we may only use picks 8, 31, 48, 64 and use pick 80 to upgrade Ben Howlett leaving us with two picks in the Pre Season Draft where we should pick the best available overlooked draftees, be it mature aged or young kids.

Any ways, here is what I would love to see Essendon do on draft day.

Pick 8:

Shaun Atley 189cm, 83kg, Midfielder, Murray Bushrangers (Vic)

Midfielder in the Judd mould would be awesome for Essendon as we have a glaring weakness in the midfield. His ability to break away from a contest gives us a second option for clearing the ball from congestion (after Watson being in and under of course). I think I have settled on Atley for our first pick here and would love to see him at Essendon.

Billie Smedts, 187cm, 77kg, Utility, Geelong Falcons (Vic)

May surprise a few here, and I have keeping this hand close to my chest ow for a while but I feel Smedts could really flourish into an elite player. A nice height with room to build on his slight frame. Clean below the knees, very nice skills and iis very good overhead, his versatility to play down back or push forward in times of need are an added bonus whilst he could potentially play in the midfield over time as maybe a stopping role.

Josh Caddy, 186cm, 75kg, Midfielder, Northern Knights (Vic)

Love the sound of the kid, the way he goes about it. May not be the most complete midfielder in the draft but what he does, he does it well. A real bull in the clinches. Caddy loves to barge his way through congestion and will bustle his way through a pack to clear the ball for his team mates. Caddy is a very good over head mark for his size and also has the ability to push forward and kick a goal also.

Dion Prestia, 175cm, 82kg, Midfielder, Calder Cannons (Vic)

For mine, if he was 5 cm taller he would be a certain top 5 pick, he does most things well, can play inside or outside, run and carry and is a very damaging and creative player. He can dispose of the ball off either foot or via either hand and is just a very good all round player. Would not be disappointed if we landed Prestia at all here.

Great Post mate but 2 things from personal opinion;

Atley looks great but I am really concerned with his foot skills, almost every highlight I have seen of him on the AFL website has his missing the target, sometimes by a long way. The only time he didnt was that snap goal from 20 metres out. I think we have enough of these players and ideally i want someone that can kick the pill to our forwards. (if this can be approved and I have my doubts then his upside is enormous).

I would be absolutely devastated if we pick Prestia with our first pick, he looks great against the kids but with his size and bulk it was like a man child playing against kids, he wouldn't have much upside so i see him sliding. I think he will go between 20 and 30.

For what its worth I want Caddy, he is exactly what we need. His inside work reminds me of JJ (of course a better kick and marK) or hannebery, he's a little podgy but thats to be expected and with a good pre-season or two under his belt he could be a real goer for us. Of course I have no idea of his mental state, maybe he's a tool that rely's solely on natural talent...

I still think gorringe is a sneaky chance only because of Dodoro's history, plus he has made a recent statement that midfielders are our target. What our clubs says and does are 2 different things lately....

Great Post mate but 2 things from personal opinion;

Atley looks great but I am really concerned with his foot skills, almost every highlight I have seen of him on the AFL website has his missing the target, sometimes by a long way. The only time he didnt was that snap goal from 20 metres out. I think we have enough of these players and ideally i want someone that can kick the pill to our forwards. (if this can be approved and I have my doubts then his upside is enormous).

I would be absolutely devastated if we pick Prestia with our first pick, he looks great against the kids but with his size and bulk it was like a man child playing against kids, he wouldn't have much upside so i see him sliding. I think he will go between 20 and 30.

For what its worth I want Caddy, he is exactly what we need. His inside work reminds me of JJ (of course a better kick and marK) or hannebery, he's a little podgy but thats to be expected and with a good pre-season or two under his belt he could be a real goer for us. Of course I have no idea of his mental state, maybe he's a tool that rely's solely on natural talent...

I still think gorringe is a sneaky chance only because of Dodoro's history, plus he has made a recent statement that midfielders are our target. What our clubs says and does are 2 different things lately....

Just not sure, I feel that Atley is the most rounded player out of all of them and perhaps the one with the biggest upside.

I would love an Atley/Prestia combo with picks 8 and 31, but get the feeling that Prestia will be taken somewhere in the teens, oh well, a very good midfielder will still be available at pick 31.

I am not sold on Caddy however, to one dimensional, and question makrs lately have been put on his head as to wheter his bash and crash style of football will work at AFL level.

Just not sure, I feel that Atley is the most rounded player out of all of them and perhaps the one with the biggest upside.

I would love an Atley/Prestia combo with picks 8 and 31, but get the feeling that Prestia will be taken somewhere in the teens, oh well, a very good midfielder will still be available at pick 31.

I am not sold on Caddy however, to one dimensional, and question makrs lately have been put on his head as to wheter his bash and crash style of football will work at AFL level.

Hmm fair enough!! who knows by the end of the year I might have atleys name on my back, I mean until he went to carlton judd was my favourite player and his kicking isn't elite. But i do think we need a selwood type in our midfield. We need some bash and crash. It wasn't until the johnson boys had a impact on our midfield that we came into our own during that 99-2001 period.

But u could say that any player wouldn't make it. IMO darling could very well be that elite utility that our aide is missing.

Since hird left he have been missing that player that can swing forward or back and go into the middle where ever the team needs him. McPhee came close but wasn't elite and left.

So IMO while we do really need a pure mid we do have some young players coming through in that area but no one to play that swingman someone who can really turn a game on it's head.

Those utilities are very hard to find, the ones that can play any position on the field. Goddard, Hodge, Goodes type players. Darling isnt that player. I just think Darling comes with alot more risk than other midfielders around him.

Our swingman is Hurley. He wont be playing midfield but he will be the player that can fill the hole whether we need it down back or up forward.

there are a few swing mans in the draft, a few at the lower end are Cam O'shea and Max Otten, both can play forward and back, play on talls and smalls and make an impact through the middle.

I hope they take Gorringe, don't want to piss away a first round pick on a ruckman. We did on Laycock...
I've seen you reference Laycock as a bad first round pick as evidence against picking a first round ruck a few times.
I think you need a bit more perspective on this call. Laycock was shit, I always thought as much, but it was not a bad pick simply because there was sweet fa talent in that draft. Would not have mattered if we went for a mid, would've been no good. In fact Winderlich, who doesn't live up to the hope most have for him, is about as good as it gets from that early stage of the draft.

What are the odds Jed Lamb is at 31? Some poise and polish in the forward line would be nice, and a Bomber fan to boot.

Yeah well these are the reasons essendon should have tried to upgrade its second round pick to something between 18 and 25. Jed lamb would be a perfect second round pick for us but unfortunately we're going to miss out...

And how would we have upgraded our 2nd round pick. . . . ?

Is this the part where i tell you how? then a million people tell me I have no idea what i'm talking about and how so and so is a valuable player to our side, blah blah blah..

Yeah no thanks, but the guys in the know should have used our second pick plus a player for a higher second round draft pick.

It doesn't matter we might get a slider, there's always a slider :D