Nick Riewoldt

• Thread starter Thread starter GeeUUess

Still havnt seen anything from this bloke to warrant him being called a champion tbh.

being a media darling = absolute champion these days.

no goals in the grand final last year when it mattered, what a champ

Doesn't take a rocket scientist to see he's carrying a knee injury. Had better numbers than all key forwards at the G today. How many games did he play in tandem with Kosi this year that hurts him. Mind you he gets nothing from the umps and has to deal with ridiculous treatment.

Champion player that has been affected by injury for the majority of the year. Looking forward to watching him play next year after a solid pre-season and proving some of his nay-sayers wrong.

Who exactly is a champion? Is Scott Wynd? Chris Grant? He has had an amazing career with years where he has dominated the competition and willed us over the line in finals.
Yeah he cried, his kicking for goal leaves a lot to be desired, but he is a champion.

Jonathan Brown, Robert Harvey, Michael Voss, James Hird are a few who spring to mind.

Riewoldt ain't in that category, mate.

Wynd ain't either.

Grant is debateable. 350 class games and a "stolen" brownlow almost get him there but maybe not.

I suspect the whole KD thing is still effecting him in some way.

Then that's worrying and says a lot about him. You cross the white line, you don't think about some chick releasing a photo of your ****. You think about football.

By all means, cry yourself to sleep over it, but as a captain you go out and try and dominate, not think about something that happened 6 months ago.

I don't want to write the bloke off because he's a great player when fit, and he's obviously been dominating the comp. It's not his fault that some people decided to compare him to Carey and as a champ of our game. HOpefully he gets fit and can play some good footy again.

Cripps, Siposs,walsh, ledger,crocker.. hopefully stanley..there our future.. iv never seen a player with less awareness or buckle under pressure like Raph. no room 4 him.. Gram just wont commit 2 contested ball.. if he does.. just smashes onto his boot and watches it sail in2 an opponents arms...

I would have thought after the Eagles season that people wouldn't be so quick to write off older champion players who've had a down year likely caused by injury...

There was a champion out there for one of the teams tonight, but he wasn't playing for St Kilda.

You are correct Goodes is a champion. I wonder where everyone was when he put us on his back against the bulldogs last year? Or the year before. Or Collingwood the year before? Or his performance during the during the Geelong qualifier?
His GF performances werent great, but he has stood up time and time again.

Nothing from the umps??? How many other forwards have a 3:1 ratio Frees For: Frees against?

Plays in front never see him throwing blokes around like Buddy and co. When coaches announce we go out and knock him off his run yet don't get penalized you know he's not looked after.

Jonathan Brown, Robert Harvey, Michael Voss, James Hird are a few who spring to mind.

Riewoldt ain't in that category, mate.

Wynd ain't either.

Grant is debateable. 350 class games and a "stolen" brownlow almost get him there but maybe not.

You are a harsher critic than me then. I think Grant is a certainty. The brownlow is irrelevant, bullshit award.

Cheap shots from ****ing flogs in this thread.

****ing quality
Absolutely true,pre season from hell and been on 1 leg for some time now anybody would have struggled with what he has to deal with,he should be cut a little slack.They have done well to even play finals football coming from where they were halfway through the season.

Interesting all the St Kilda posters want to talk about the past when I talked about the present. Or when talking about the present they want to talk about his injury.
Well; if he is injured why is he out there playing?
I can't nail it down to say who said this; although I think quite a few key figures in the game have said it. "Once you cross the white line; you are 100% ready to play. No injury, no excuses" Obviously not those words but words to that effect.
Your other talls all had very good games tonight. I am sure someone could have filled the void and done a better job for the team then what Riewoldt has done when I have watched you guys this year.

He had a shot from 25m late in the 3rd to get the Saints within a point during their charge. He drilled it 10m to the left and the Saints wilted

He stuffed up 3 goals tonight

Doesn't take a rocket scientist to see he's carrying a knee injury. Had better numbers than all key forwards at the G today. How many games did he play in tandem with Kosi this year that hurts him. Mind you he gets nothing from the umps and has to deal with ridiculous treatment.
Lynch had the same amount of disposals and kicked 3 goals plus a goal assist.

Agreed. He will probably be remembered for being the bloke whose easy goal was smothered in a GF. And for crying

A big shame, but them's the breaks

Just like Richo will only ever be remembered for his onfield tantrums and abusing team mates? :rolleyes:

Turn it up, dude. The only people that will remember Riewoldt for this is some Bigfooty nuffie trolls.

no way. He gets a free ride with the umpires compared to other forwards like Franklin, hall etc.

He is a Damn good player, but just because he can run all day and take marks doesn't make him a champ. Better goal kicking and dominate finals then yes he would be

The end seems to come very quickly for centre half forwards. Brown, Tredrea, Brereton, Carey and now Reiwoldt. Toughest position to play. Just takes a huge toll on your body.

That's no excuse for Reiwoldt's mentally weak approach to goal-kicking however. He is a serious liability in front of goals and for that reason he should relinquish the captaincy to Goddard. BJ steps up to the big stage and kicks the clutch goal when it's needed. Reiwoldt doesn't and your leader needs to lead by kicking the clutch goals.

It looks like the only team Reiwoldt will be beating up on in the foreseeable future is the Roos. :o

I think he is mentally and physically shot. Watching him take a set shot these days is like watching a train wreck in slow motion. Apart from his kicking, he actually played reasonably well tonight, presented up the ground a fair bit. He takes an amazing amount of big hits at very high speed, hits like that Mattner one tonight seem to happen to him every week, it's just the courageous way he plays. It will be hard for him to ever get back to where he was because of the punishment inflicted on his body from the large number of kilometers he runs combined with these high velocity collisions. I hope he rests his body up over the pre season and comes back like champions do next year, but I just can't see it.