No Oppo Supporters NMFC 2019 Membership Thread

ANYONE can do moral indignation, it still doesn't mean you have a valid point.

How about being more realistic about men and women?
With the greatest respect to you, I'm sorry, I thought that I expressed my standpoint articulately and without insult properly. I expressed positives and concerns.I left it at that.

I had concerns and still have concerns with the Club over extending its reach with AFLW and the VFL plus the redevelopment of Arden Street at the same time. I suppose that its a concern about biting off more than you can chew, but I still believe that the AFLW dynamic is right. That's perhaps where we must part the ways and leave the discussion thread there without being drawn into insults. I've read many of your posts and agree fundamentally with much of your ideas, I only ask that you respect mine.

Shite! That's been Saint Kilda and Melbourne's currency since they both won their last flags back in the mid 60s. 😁😁😁

Those two alledged teams have been the great over-promisers and under- deliverers since 1966 and 1964 respectively. They promise the world with their pre- season recruiting, drafting, trading and even pre-season form but tragically misfire for those poor, deluded and suffering people who continue to buy memberships and believe that they can actually have any chance of winning a flag. Yet, this year the media will continue to flog and focus upon North Melbourne and "when are they moving Hobart".

Truth is, many look at their clubs with emotion and not with cool heads. North Melbourne have taken a cool and calculated decision to broaden our club's appeal through adoption of the AFLW program and VFL. None if you have even mentioned the VFL, you're all focussed on the AFLW!

North are making a big gamble here on broadening the club's appeal toward women, and take it from a woman ... DON'T UNDERESTIMATE THE DAMAGE THAT WAYNE CAREY DID TO THE APPEAL OF NORTH MELBOURNE as a brand to women. Many women still look at him with revile. The club and its male supporters may have forgiven, but women have long memories. For any of you buggers in relationships or who are married, you know exactly what I mean.

I think that the club adopting an AFLW program is a huge positive step forward. The VFL is a risk because it comes with costs, but it is also linked to redeveloping Arden Street as a first class venue. We do need to focus upon the positives and trust that our Board are indeed making strategic and calculated decisions that will continue to broaden our appeal and consolidate us in the heartland of North Melbourne.

I always wondered how the other half took the antics during that time, it seemed to me more people were devastated that he was being sent off than they were that he misbehaved, but I had a relatively small sample size of female North supporters.

As much as I deplore what he did, it doesn't sit well with me that Carey seems to have been the scapegoat, it takes two to tango and I find a friendship or team mate to be dramatically lower in terms of scale of importance to vows of marriage. Not sure how Stevens managed to forgive her or how he could have even trusted her. It wasn't a huge surprise when they eventually went their own way. I feel for Stevo, was a brutal thing to happen to him and can't even imagine what his kids went through.

I am not suggesting we give a free pass to that kind of conduct and say boys will be boys, but you take a kid and thrust them into the limelight to the extent Carey was and you have platoons of women throwing themselves at you, it is going to mess up even someone who was raised well and Carey had far from an ideal childhood. We see famous people go down in flames all the time. It is easy for us average Joes to pass judgement, has anyone here been tempted at that level?

In fairness it wasn't just the playing around with Anthony Stevens' other half, I am a realist and know that it takes "two to tango". She was just as guilty and compliant. 18 years ago? Big deal. Julian Knight committed his crimes 34 years ago and have people forgotten or willing to forgive and forget? People put AFL players wrongly on pedistals and forget that in the main these players are mostly just plain old dumb arses who can play footy better than the average punter. I accept that Wayne is/was flawed. Others viewed him differently and still do. He was a Club great and perhaps our greatest player ever, who was and will always be associated with the NMFC.

In an historical narrative, it was Wayne's follow up behaviours more recently since the Anthony Stevens saga in relation to Wayne's coccaine usage, the violence toward his partners and his conduct on Facebook and Twitter in how he slandered and abused former innocent girl friends that tarnished him and his brand. Unfortunately, North Melbourne unwittingly caught some of that. North Melbourne have more recently declared him a "Great" and a "Legend" and while I agree that he was a great player, many women still disagree. The Club have to accept the damage that he left to the club's brand. I can't put it any other way.

It’s great to get new members signed up but the real money is retaining people.

I’d love to see some stats around that.

The number of new memberships one year & the conversion rate of them re-signing for a second.

I feel we should offer more for new members. Be that a half price guernsey, benefits like a free pie on game day or just a stronger magnet in their membership pack.

Whatever it is, going back to back is much harder than getting that first year. We need to retain the new members. Make it so good they will be bragging about what a sweet deal it is to their friends.

Then offer some sort of re-signing bonus or something.

I know none of the above is incentive to members who’ve signed up the past 10, 20 & 30 years straight, but we’re always going to sign on aren’t we?!

It’s that second year that’s key I reckon.

That’s just how I feel anyway.
I think the auto renewal with the monthly payments helps.

It is a very good point and I hope the club does have analysis data of its new members and retention rates.
Algorithmic data isn't difficult to obtain and it's pretty critical in understanding your customer base in particular those that don't renew and why. And finding ways to entice them commit.
The other question is those that attend games and why they don't.
It would be interesting as you say to see what the club does know about its members.

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

With the greatest respect I say this. You probably are a man and to read what I said about WOMEN'S attitudes toward Wayne. You say that's 18 years ago. You clearly are a man because you didn't take the time to read what I said and qualified. In a woman's mind nothing is ever forgiven. It matters not what you ever did wrong, your woman will never let you forget. Men forgive over time but women NEVER forget! I accept that Wayne is a club legend and a great player, but the club's brand was smashed (and I can't begin to emphasise that enough) in many women's eyes.

You, as a man clearly don't get it. If you are a straight guy then I bet that you wonder every day WTF makes women tick. I assure you that, that question perplexes us in reverse ... [emoji848][emoji848][emoji848]

I forgave Wayne a long time ago, but many other women can't. The club is taking a good and measured approach through the adoption of the AFL sponsored AFLW program. It's costing the club virtually nothing. It's a low risk investment from the Club's point of view to broaden our clubs demographic appeal. I personally think that the greater financial risk lays with the VFL program. That's all that I am saying. I'm not picking a fight or an argument, I am just asking forumers to consider why the Club has made these decisions.
Let me ask you this , the person that was wronged the most in the whole saga was Stevo don't you agree?
If you'd like to know the blokes view, and that is don't scew your mates misses.
As there are no allegations of sexual assault, I can only assume Kelly Stevens willing pulled her knickers down to her ankles.

Please you need to mature a bit,
We had one of the greatest footballers in history grace our club and dominate Friday nights for almost a decade.
Those old enough to have been there live in the 90s will know how amazing it was watching the Rooboys and Carey destroy teams . It's a once in a lifetime experience.

Countless clubs have bad boy after bad boy , taint what was an impeccable career.
Let me ask about the outrage of Geelong supporters have of Gary Ablet senior.
He was taking drugs with a 14 year old girl who overdosed.

Is the Ablet era tarnished and a reason for alleged slow uptake of female members of that football club .

It’s great to get new members signed up but the real money is retaining people.

I’d love to see some stats around that.

The number of new memberships one year & the conversion rate of them re-signing for a second.

I feel we should offer more for new members. Be that a half price guernsey, benefits like a free pie on game day or just a stronger magnet in their membership pack.

Whatever it is, going back to back is much harder than getting that first year. We need to retain the new members. Make it so good they will be bragging about what a sweet deal it is to their friends.

Then offer some sort of re-signing bonus or something.

I know none of the above is incentive to members who’ve signed up the past 10, 20 & 30 years straight, but we’re always going to sign on aren’t we?!

It’s that second year that’s key I reckon.

That’s just how I feel anyway.

You make some excellent points

How about a free upgrade for re-signing on your second year, that should work

Not sure you covered all the bases, but a good effort. 7/10
I had to google half of them. That's how much of an honest poster I am...you can't use tactics if you don't even know what they are :drunk:
Haha that's twice now, once from you and once from Snake, that I've incorrectly been assumed as female.

Do I give off particularly effeminate vibes or something? Or maybe that it's just that I'm such a triggered, lefty snowflake that our resident alt-righters ;) just assume that I look like that woman from the triggered feminist meme.
I think it was because of Snake. I always thought you were a man. Shit, stuff you, you're both. I can't even make a tottenham joke out of fear of attack from someone. :drunk:

Let me ask you this , the person that was wronged the most in the whole saga was Stevo don't you agree?

Considering that Roogal seems to be suggesting that the perception surrounding Wayne Carey involves more than just the affair, but also his post-footy antics, then I say the person who was 'wronged the most' was probably the woman that Carey glassed in the head...

Was that allegedly or was he convicted of the crime.
Was that during his career or post .
Perhaps he is a shit bloke that made regretful mistakes.
I'm pretty sure they'd be a lot more mud on Carey if we had social media and camera phones back then.

Poor character yes, no argument there . So is Dusty Martin and numerous other stars.

We got to witness one of the greatest footballers that brought us two flags.

It's not tainted in my view, just as Gary Ablett isnt tainted in Geelong's view of his footballing legacy.

The only person getting "stiffed" will be some halfwit in the membership department.
I also haven’t got mine, if that helps. They are reserved seats which I think yours are too?
Haven't got mine yet either. I did sign up quite recently - about 3 weeks ago - and changed my membership level though.

Received our two membership packs today. Have to agree with most other posters. What an embarrassing pile of crap. Membership department should hang their heads in shame.
  1. The lanyard is poorly printed and unevenly cut
  2. I can cope with the hole in membership card rather than the pocket, but looks tacky- what's the odds the card will crack at the hole
  3. The fixture is the perforated centre of the kit holder and you get a self stick magnet- what garbage. Probably the one thing I like stuck to my filing cabinet. My cardboard tearout is already crumpled from the post.
  4. Stickers are ok - just less, but ok.
  5. A couple of slips of paper promoting member offers
I suppose I don't care too much because I don't use most of it anyway, but if this reflects the image of the club in our 150th year someone is taking the pi55. membership folk take note - this pack is an embarassment.

Wandered out to the letterbox today and had a pleasant surprise.

One True North magazine has arrived........................for 3 members.

Dunno how the new members I signed up this year are going to react when I tell them the club thinks I'm more special than them.

STILL HAVEN'T RECIEVED MY ****ING MEMBERSHIPS!!!!!!!!!!!

IF THEY HAVEN'T ARRIVED BY THE END OF THE WEEK I AM GOING TO GO DOWN THERE AND BLOW SHIT OUT OF SOMEONE!!!
I hadn't received mine as of today, however I did get my True North Magazine, so I rang the club to find out where it was and they told me I had signed up for the digital membership and that is why I had not got a physical card, I remember seeing this option of a digital membership and decided against it, obviously the membership dept thought they knew better than me.

Wandered out to the letterbox today and had a pleasant surprise.

One True North magazine has arrived........................for 3 members.

Dunno how the new members I signed up this year are going to react when I tell them the club thinks I'm more special than them.
They usually do 1 per household. Did you sign the new members ip under your address?

Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk

They usually do 1 per household.

Gee, that's good of them. Do they discount memberships per household too?

Has it really got to the point where the 10 bucks worth of shit they send us needs to get the razor taken to it?

This club is at an all time low point.

Gee, that's good of them. Do they discount memberships per household too?

Has it really got to the point where the 10 bucks worth of shit they send us needs to get the razor taken to it?

This club is at an all time low point.
Oh **** me... this hyperbole stuff belongs on the Twitter trash heap.

No Oppo Supporters NMFC 2019 Membership Thread