Autopsy NMFC vs WBD

Piss off you boring, tired, ****posting pessimists. It was a sensational game between the reigning premiers and a team not expected to win 10 games. We took it up to them and showed that we are capable of truly awesome footy. Yeah our skill level was shocking, but seeing Ziebell and Higgins flying through massive packs at the footy, I don't think I've seen us play with more heart than we did this afternoon. If certain posters plan on only taking the negatives out of every single game we play through this reset and posting incessantly about the same old ***, I for one will simply stop contributing and reading this board. Get a ****ing grip.
Thanks RF. Great post.

I do hope we can somehow get Kelly and a top notch mid from free agency, it would make a significant different to the team imo.

We're not that far off really... Kelly in makes a massive difference and makes a lot of space for everyone else. Ahern we don't really know what to expect but if he delivers on his early promise that shakes things a lot. Waite will be gone soon though and he is miles ahead as our most dangerous tall forward. Need Wood to keep on the park and we need to play Daw either way. No team will win a premiership with Goldy / Preuss combo resting forward IMO. (I type that in the full knowledge that now we'll somehow go on an unbeaten run for the rest of the year and Goldy / Preuss will kick 9 between them on GF day...) I'll try to cope with getting it so horribly wrong.

That deliberate decision.....
WTF
Absolute bullshit.
Thompson was trying to put in on the defensive side of the contest and Gibson happened to be there.
Absolutely pathetic ****ing call. That umpire should be dropped. ****ing flogs.

The worst thing is that a lot of the crap posting is coming from guys who know a bit about footy and ought to know better. Already, a few good posters have started to drop off the board.

My ignore list has tripled tonight, which is a shame. I'm likely to miss a few good posts here and there as a result but I'm SO sick of the mindless vitriol.

No, you need backbone. Something you are very quick to say we don't have.

Point to a post where I've said that.

Ours skills are average, and get worse under pressure.

That was one of the biggest efforts I've seen from the team.

And you know what, it wasn't good enough.

**** bob murphy the ******* campaigner "part of the master plan" you ******* campaigner show some ******* respect
hear hear
**** his dad too
Skills, just keep getting better. Least skilled side in the history of the comp.

Could of buried that game a handful of times. Skills by foot are absolutely horrendous, something has to be done it's sickening.
I honestly dont know what we do over preseason. I really dont. Its got me beat how we can just show absolutely no poise and calmness under NO ****ING PRESSURE.
I dont get it.
I just dont.

Piss off you boring, tired, ****posting pessimists. It was a sensational game between the reigning premiers and a team not expected to win 10 games. We took it up to them and showed that we are capable of truly awesome footy. Yeah our skill level was shocking, but seeing Ziebell and Higgins flying through massive packs at the footy, I don't think I've seen us play with more heart than we did this afternoon. If certain posters plan on only taking the negatives out of every single game we play through this reset and posting incessantly about the same old ***, I for one will simply stop contributing and reading this board. Get a ****ing grip.

What he said!

Why was Ben 10 out of the Centre in that last 10.minits?

He was winning it out...Goes off..
They get centre Clearances.

Injured? Resting?

He's a gun
Felt like he was getting his breath back when they came at us in the 3rd. Saving him for the last quarter push.
Was BOG by far.
He really is our barometer.

Point to a post where I've said that.

Ours skills are average, and get worse under pressure.

That was one of the biggest efforts I've seen from the team.

And you know what, it wasn't good enough.

Mate everyone's skills get worse under pressure - including the dogs who we had on toast and couldn't finish despite the chances. I get as annoyed as anyone at the handballs to players feet but we're not that bad.

Y'all know I'm not a North lover, far from it, but credit where it's due. You guys delivered on the Good Friday game and despite not having the onfield result you would have wanted, take heart that your club and supporters walked the walk after years of talking the talk, and by rights you've locked yourselves away a genuine blockbuster for years to come, and that's worth a lot more than a mere win in reality (although I know it would have been nice!).

Good Friday is now North Melbourne (and the Bulldogs). You can take some solace in that.

Oh, and Jy Simpkin. ****en hnnghh. See ya's later in the year

Thanks and you are 100% correct, our plan is to move the game to the G in a couple of years. This was a lot bigger than four points. There is a young fellow who's been training with us and is by all reports an out and out gun, will be drafted between 1-5. Us finishing ninth or even scraping into the eight does us no favours with the bigger picture view.

I'll take a lot more narrow defeats for season 2017.

Mate everyone's skills get worse under pressure - including the dogs who we had on toast and couldn't finish despite the chances. I get as annoyed as anyone at the handballs to players feet but we're not that bad.

Sure.

But as a starting point, they ain't that high to begin with.

A few positives besides some of the old guard (Cunners) that go without saying:

Garner - Despite his atrocious disposal at times he did a lot well. Ran hard, hit contests (also missed a few because players literally got out of his way). Took some very strong grabs. I'm really excited to see him get a couple of games without injury and appears to have not lost the confidence in his legs and body which is a positive. If we can get 16+ games out of him this year and have him hit pre season fit that will be huge.
What I liked about Garner was in the last qtr when he was going full belt in the centre to try and chase a player, cant remember who it was. He put the wheels on and I saw an effort from Gibson in the 2nd or so and he just let his player run and he is the fittest at the club. He (Garner) spudded up so many times but he is better than that so it was just one of those games, or just hasnt played much or enough yet. He still did kick a goal in an important moment though.

I honestly dont know what we do over preseason. I really dont. Its got me beat how we can just show absolutely no poise and calmness under NO ******* PRESSURE.
I dont get it.
I just dont.

It needs to be addressed immediately.

Just got home from the game. Absolutely shattered. **** I hate the Dogs. Some observations before watching the replay:
-skills lost us this game, not effort
-Cunnington is our best footballer
-Cunnington should start in the centre. Every. Single. Time. His absence in there was crucial in the end.
-Garner showed great signs, butchered it today but will be a gun. Love his strong hands.
-Turner, Garner and Simpkin are our small forwards going forward.
-LT has had a mare start to the season. God I wanted that shot to sail through at the end.
-Really liked Hansen's game.
-Higgo turned his back on goal in the last cost us. Had Turner on his own in the square.
-Simpkin was not out of play in the pocket. Had a perfect
view.
-BBB was good
-Preuss and Goldy worked better.
-Mullet and Williams have cemented their spots in the backline.
-Tarrant continually blocked from marking contests. This cost us a crucial goal on the wing in the last.
-JZ had a shocker by foot but splitting Cloke up the middle was awesome.
-Swallow was good when played in the middle, not so much elsewhere.
-Too many Dogs supporters in the level 2 reserved area. WTF?
-Wood comes back next week makes us better.
-Kelly plays we win by 3 goals.
-Coughing up 5 goal leads is unexceptable.

Hrovat is not much better than Jed.

At least Jed can hit hard.
I like hrovat to be honest. He can do what a LOT of our other players can't in terms of working his way through traffic. Needs to get a pair of kicking boots though. I seem to recall reading he used to be a good short kick. Hopefully we start seeing that soon.

That said, he would, I imagine, be one of a few on the shortlist for a visit to the 2's.

What I liked about Garner was in the last qtr when he was going full belt in the centre to try and chase a player, cant remember who it was. He put the wheels on and I saw an effort from Gibson in the 2nd or so and he just let his player run and he is the fittest at the club. He (Garner) spudded up so many times but he is better than that so it was just one of those games, or just hasnt played much or enough yet. He still did kick a goal in an important moment though.

100% agree and that was one of my fav moments. Exactly what I was thinking of when I rated his game as a positive. He was going absolutely full tilt - has a head of steam really.

There's something in our team, I can't put my finger on it but whatever it is we have it. We're not there yet.

We're gonna kick the shit outta some sides this year.

We have bottom four skills and the balance of the side looks wrong, but have plenty of ticker. We're up for the fight and approach the game the right way. Despite our short comings we think we can take it up to anyone. There's not much polish, but a good amount of grunt. Hopefully some wins come before this gets knocked out of us. Once we win one, I think we'll win a few. Shattered by this loss tonight, but respecting the ride so far

Tarrant should be the one going up everyday of the week

Spilt a relatively easy mark that let someone (Dahlhaus?) kick a goal to put us them in front. Spoiled Brown late in the last quarter. Still played a very good game tho. I don't think anyone has ever played a mistake free game of footy. Unless they didn't touch the ball more than 5 times. And according to the AFGL website Tarrant had a DE of 100%. Still cost us a goal in a game we lost by 4 points.

Gutted but extremely proud.

Just want the boys to get reward for their effort. Can't wait to see Jy, Marley, Rat and Preussy singing the song for the first time.

Hope we see it next week.

Was stoked to meet Boomer and Stevo at the Royal Mail after the game.