Planning for 2018

Hi all!

First time ever playing AFL Fantasy - friends have asked me to join this season so I have. No idea how the game works though. Do I have a chance with this team? Pretty much combined a lot of people's line up here.

Thanks
Yea mate looks like a great team, especially for a first time player. Really nothing too much to fault and it should give you a good chance to be competitive as long as you keep nailing the trades as the season goes on.

Just make sure to keep an eye on it when teams get released (Wednesday night for the Blues/Tigers game and Thursday night for everyone else) to make sure everyone is playing, especially the rookies. Try and make sure every single player in your team is named round 1 with the only exception being the ruck bench as they tend to a bit of a pain.

Yea mate looks like a great team, especially for a first time player. Really nothing too much to fault and it should give you a good chance to be competitive as long as you keep nailing the trades as the season goes on.

Just make sure to keep an eye on it when teams get released (Wednesday night for the Blues/Tigers game and Thursday night for everyone else) to make sure everyone is playing, especially the rookies. Try and make sure every single player in your team is named round 1 with the only exception being the ruck bench as they tend to a bit of a pain.[/QUOT

Great! Thanks heaps! & for the advice too!

I'm into other fantasy sports including soccer & basketball so hopefully I shouldn't have too much trouble with AFL version. Fingers cross! Cheers once again!

Hi all!

First time ever playing AFL Fantasy - friends have asked me to join this season so I have. No idea how the game works though. Do I at least have a chance with this team? Want to at suprise everyone in my league that I have a team that can compete with theirs. Pretty much combined a lot of people's line up here.

Thanks
Looking like a seasoned veteran with that side mate, you've done very well with your researching!

It's a nice and safe team with a great selection of premos in every positions, players like Titch, Zerrett, Dusty, Neale, Laird, Lloyd, Jacobs, Heeney & Billings will all be in the top 6/8 players in their respective positions. Ultimately that's what you want to build your side to be, you want to have the best scorers in every position.

You've got a couple of midpricers with potential in Sicily, O'Meara, D. Smith and Petracca. All have potential to score well and make money. Worst case and they don't do well, because of how well they're priced you won't lose any money with these guys.

Topping it all off you've selected the best rookies on paper, you've spent a little bit more on some of those early draft picks but with that extra cash brings a good job security making it worth it.

As BJK#5 said, Keep a close eye on the teams once they're announced to ensure all of your rookies are playing. Other than your ruck rookies you want/need to have everyone playing. I'm sure you'll be able to really surprise your mates this year, good luck!

View attachment 472345

I know I know Lycett is a bad move (if I kept him Id be hoping NN plays), honestly he's been Jacobs or Stef all week..... But just look at how much better my forward line looks with Christensen > ANB and only the one rookie needed to play each week o_O.

Nothing locked in yet but the deciding factor may end up being my complete confidence in being able to pick the wrong promo ruck anyway and be looking at 70s and 80s either way.
Love the ANB pick!

Looks pretty solid mate, structure is pretty standard and you have a few pods to keep it unique.

I have seen a few people running with Nank recently, what do people starting him think he is going to average? I like that he is a solo ruck but he was last year as well, do you think he can go 95+? Could be a good point of difference but you run the risk of needing to burn an extra trade throughout the year if he is not in the top few Rucks this season.

Overall very good team bud.

Thanks. Yeah on Nank, I like his age and the fact he's solo. Think he'll improve to 90 to 95 which is not massive but makes him good value.

I would otherwise go Sauce, but Nank means I can have a premium at F3. I'm more reluctant about Smith or Petracca being consistent than I am Nank. See how we go hey.

Hi all!

First time ever playing AFL Fantasy - friends have asked me to join this season so I have. No idea how the game works though. Do I at least have a chance with this team? Want to at suprise everyone in my league that I have a team that can compete with theirs. Pretty much combined a lot of people's line up here.

Thanks
I said to myself "how can you afford that" once I finished skimming your side. You've done well.
As mentioned, swap rookies if you need.

After reading the 2 threads here, I might have to ditch Caddy from my forward line.. Damn it. I really wanted to give him a chance this year as he isn't in a lot of sides.

Christenson + $194,000
or Caddy..
Now it seems like I should take the first option (which also brings cash cow money IF Christenson can stay fit and score, I just don't trust him, and of all the blokes you're all choosing, he's one I don't want)

You're right boys, I've spent the arvo trying to talk myself into having McLean over Billings. Other than a bit of a rookie swap I could bring him in without any significant changes. I've got real concerns over my forward and really want another top six forward to lock in. I think Billings has to be my man.
Not to mention Billings kicked 23 goals 36 behinds last year. Change it to 36 goals and 23 behinds and see the difference it makes to his average. And it's not unreasonable to expect a good kick could easily turn that around. I think he's a great selection.

That said, I can't fit him into my structure, which is very different to the generic teams I'm seeing on here.

Not to mention Billings kicked 23 goals 36 behinds last year. Change it to 36 goals and 23 behinds and see the difference it makes to his average. And it's not unreasonable to expect a good kick could easily turn that around. I think he's a great selection.

That said, I can't fit him into my structure, which is very different to the generic teams I'm seeing on here.
Tell me more

Have decided to bail on JOM.
He's very handball happy and i just can't see him averaging more than 90.
Add to that his rd12 bye means you'd want to hang onto him to at least rd13 and I'd hope I wouldn't have a sub 100 player in my midfield by then.
Means I have to go 2 premo's plus Sicily in defence (rather than 3 premo's) to replace JOM with Parker but that means I have 5 mid premo's that I think will be in the top 10 mids by years end.

Hi all!

Thanks
Looks pretty solid! Well done

What’s your guys thoughts out of Petracca and Smith as F3
At the moment neither for me!!
Have gone Walters as i think he'll be top 6 fwd, I think Smith will just avg 90 and Petracca 85 and at their price unless I'm sure they can stay in my team all year they aren't in it to start with.
That said I have Sicily in my back line who is similar to Smith and Petracca but usually more points on offer down back

Have decided to bail on JOM.
He's very handball happy and i just can't see him averaging more than 90.
Add to that his rd12 bye means you'd want to hang onto him to at least rd13 and I'd hope I wouldn't have a sub 100 player in my midfield by then.
Means I have to go 2 premo's plus Sicily in defence (rather than 3 premo's) to replace JOM with Parker but that means I have 5 mid premo's that I think will be in the top 10 mids by years end.
Think about that logic though...If you have a player who you think can average 90 but he's priced at 60, doesn't that then mean he'll make you around 200K or so? Paying 438K for someone who can average 80 or 90 but but then paying 693K for someone who might go 100-110. That extra 250K could take you from someone like a Stevenson, Rayner or Fogarty to a Petracca or Sicily type if you had enough to spare. The potential points difference between O'Meara and Parker is most likely gonna be less than the points difference between a Stevenson, Rayner type and a Petracca, Sicily type

View attachment 472572
final team pending team sheets

Notice how Nic Nat has been 'rubbed out' according to the Fantasy Classic site? I nearly had an aneurism when I saw he wasn't there. Bad omen perhaps haha? Have checked a few sources and he looks like he's all good to go, so not sure what the guys at Fantasy HQ are on

Final team barring line ups...now let's see if I can hold out 'til lockout: (If Lobb isn't named, Neale to Fyfe, Heeney to Greene and then Lobb to Petracca)

Screen Shot 2018-03-21 at 2.18.32 pm.png

Notice how Nic Nat has been 'rubbed out' according to the Fantasy Classic site? I nearly had an aneurism when I saw he wasn't there. Bad omen perhaps haha? Have checked a few sources and he looks like he's all good to go, so not sure what the guys at Fantasy HQ are on
Yep he has declared himself a starter, gets through training thursday and NN is Back!

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-03-21/saints-to-unleash-top10-pick-hunter-against-lions

PRIZED St Kilda draftee Hunter Clark will make his debut against Brisbane on Saturday at Etihad Stadium

The Saints have not announced if pick No.8 Nicholas Coffield, who has also impressed this pre-season and played both JLT games, will be selected.

A potential spanner in the works right there...
Surely they would have announced both if he was playing?

I DO NOT NEED THIS STRESS IN MY LIFE RIGHT NOW!

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-03-21/saints-to-unleash-top10-pick-hunter-against-lions

PRIZED St Kilda draftee Hunter Clark will make his debut against Brisbane on Saturday at Etihad Stadium

The Saints have not announced if pick No.8 Nicholas Coffield, who has also impressed this pre-season and played both JLT games, will be selected.

A potential spanner in the works right there...
That would be a spanner , another version coming up now where he isnt in the lineup. actually i might have one somewhere.

i GUESS Naughton is the obvious replacement.