Please Keep Schneider and Buchs!!!

Undisputed_King

I'm really upset at hearing that Schneids and Buchs may be up for trading.

I realise that we need to trade to keep our list strong but Schneids and Buchs will be hard to replace.

They are quality players.

Many have also said that we only need one of them since they are similar players. But IMO the only thing similiar about them is their looks and thats it.

Schneider can be a freak in front of the goals and is one of the best ball uses in our side.

While Buchs does it all. He can do the in and under stuff like Kirky. He can run through the lines like Goodsey.

Plz Roosy take them off the trading tables.

I'm trying really hard to keep the sentiment out of things but I concur with your plea.

What confuses me is that Roos has (correctly) identified that we need more run and good ball use through the middle. Schneider and Buchanan are not superstars by any means (though I still reckon Schneider is capable of becoming a far more consistent and damaging player if he decides he really wants to), but they come closest to ticking those particular boxes within our established players.

I have nothing against Jude, Nog, Mathews, McVeigh, Fosdike. They have all served our club well and none will forget what they've contributed to. And I think all can individually continue to contribute strongly to the Swans over the next few years. The problem is with the combination of all of them together (especially since they work alongside Kirk, whose contribution and place in the team no-one in their right minds would question but who doesn't himself provide much in the way of flair). Replacing just one with someone with more pace or skill could markedly improve the team - or if not that, unleash either McVeigh or Ablett from their defensive mindsets.

But the idea of losing one of the two who do create a bit in the middle just seems daft, irrespective of the fact they are favourites of many of us.

I'm letting sentiment get in the way too. I would HATE to see either go. I still reckon they have far far more value to us then what we may get in a trade. The draft is supposedly weak and i reckon with Both Amon and Schneids still on the right side of the 20s have a shitload of time to reach their full potential with us.

completely agree with you liz, if we trade either Buchs or Sneids, we are effectively giving away assets that we have endeared and enjoyed for so long.

We really haven't even looked like trading for a few years, I personally find it refreshing to see a more dispassionate approach by the coaching staff. That said, I'm a little suspicious that it is mostly aimed at getting the most out of them next year rather than a serious attempt to offload them.

One thing I will say, however, is that our team looked to have the wrong mix all year as the new interpretations began to bite. And I think Roos and the boys are very keen to redress some of the issues that have been woresening in the last 2 years.

I was about to post a similar thread about Paul Roo's...look i love him hes an awesome coach and without him we'd be dead but i have got to say this and this only...HAS HE LOST THE PLOT how the hell can you even think about wanting to give away such valuable players!

Now im not saying this because i love Schneider hes not just good looks u know...sure hes had some downs...but when playing such a demanding sport you cant be perfect 24/7! When Snides gets that footy and gets that quick pace run and sticks his tongue out and goes for it you know he means business! Do i have to say it again...REMEMBER THE GOALS HE KICKED AGAISNT ST KILDA IN 05...they sure as hell put us into the granny! Hes a tough little fella and i really think there will be no one who can do the job like he does!

Buchanan though much like Snides hes got a strong build and has been know to run down and take on players...he can get that footy and run just as hard and fast as any of the other boys hes always takes shots and goals and we normally see 6 points of the score board rather than 1!

Look i could go on and list many reasons why it would be crazy to let them go!

But all i have to say your gonna lose more than a few games if u get rid of THE TWINS!

Ill be very upset and hurt if either of them go
and tell me this how could i ever take No:13 of my Gurnsey im proud to wear Snides number!

I share your sentiment BUT

I find it refreshing that the message is that they have to perform and improve and NO ONE ought be comfortable. Both dropped off intensity and need to realise the message that if it NOT a trade then Moore Brabazon Schmidt D OKeefe will be pressing for "THEIR" spot and no one is indispensible!

i also share most of the sentiments here, and it's a bit of a shock to know buchanan, schneider and jude have been offered up, but it's most unlikely all three will go, and in fact it's probly likely only one of the three will be tradeed, and i suspect jude is the one in the gun now, unless a club such as, say, brisbane, steps up with a big offer of someone like jarred brennan or justin sherman, for one of our three hardnuts
there seems to be a strong rumour linking jude to melbourne in a straight swap, anyone know anything more?

Both dropped off intensity and need to realise the message that if it NOT a trade then Moore Brabazon Schmidt D OKeefe will be pressing for "THEIR" spot and no one is indispensible!

A good point, a point few "star-crossed" fans have forgotten or at least refuse to admit. So what, that Amon kicked the winning goal for us in the 05 GF, what has he done since? So what, Adam kicked 3 goals in the 05 PF against St Kilda, what has he done since?

If they have done so much for the club then they WOULDN'T BE UP FOR TRADE, but the fact they are sends the message loud and clear that they haven't and people have to stop living in the past and start living for today and the future of this club.

Buchanan and Schneider can be replaced by Moore (remember only one would get traded as I have said time and time again). Jude can be replaced by Schmidt on a fulltime basis. We (and by that I mean us the fans) want to improve as a club and get younger at the same time. I don't know how we can do that by holding onto players who have "trade value" and blocking the path of rookies who can do the same job.

As for Mathews/McVeigh/Bevan/Crouch etc why bring those names up as trade bait when you know that they aren't worth as much on the trade market and therefore aren't getting shopped about like Buchanan/Bolton/Schneider. You want value you have to give up value and basically none of you are willing to give up that value because your blinded by the past or are "star-crossed"

Thats just baloney. Buchanon and Schneider have done plenty for the club and can give plenty more. They are talented players and I do not believe for a nano second that they can be easily replaced.

If we could replace Paul Kelly, Wayne Schwass and Andrew Dunkley easily (ie make the finals the first year without them in the side and keep on improving from their to win a flag and make another GF) then we can replace Bolton, Buchanan and Schneider WITHOUT ANY PROBLEM.

There are far more important players at the club who I would blow a lid over if they were up for a trade, but none of this lot are among them and most likely NEVER will.

Hey come on this is a thread for people who want Snides and Amon to stay around not a "Lets point out every reason why they shouldnt be apart of the Sydney Swans"

They are bloods...i dont understand why people dont care if they go

So what, that Amon kicked the winning goal for us in the 05 GF, what has he done since? "

Buchanan finished 7th in last year's B&F - suggesting he's done more than a little. He's the absolute best within the team at working in congestion just outside the forward 50 and at finding a team mate in the clear with a short pass.

More to the point, he seems to be the closest we have to what Roos seems to be looking for. Roos says he wants outside runners and ball carriers and in Mattner I think he's found a decent proponent of that at a decent price. (And Mattner can tackle, to boot). With Mattner on board, I don't think we need any more of that type given we already have Laidlaw, Barlow, Dempster all apparently ideally suited to such a role. I also think that Ablett or McVeigh could be that player if Roos wanted them to be.

What we (and ever other club) would love is an "inside-out" midfielder - ie someone with pace who can win their own ball and work through traffic. That mixture of ability is what makes Kerr, Judd, Cousins, Ablett, Bartel, the Burgoynes so valuable.

Monty is nowhere near the class of those seven but he's still by far the closest thing we have. I don't think any of the youngsters we currently have will ever fulfill such a role even if they make it at senior level. Moore is far closer to Schmidt in "type" than he is to Monty IMO - he doesn't have Buchanan's pace (which is far from elite but still good enough to scoot away from a pack with the ball tucked under his arm).

I hear the rumours that Monty found himself in the bad books this year for off-field stuff. I have no idea whether any of that is true so can't judge him on it. But I am not prepared to place more weighting on his disappointing 2007 season than his excellent 2005 and 2006 seasons - he injured his knee in round 4 and my guess is that he never regained full fitness after that.

I'd much rather keep him for another year in the expectation he can regain the form of 2005-6, even at the risk of being proved wrong and finding he has much less trade value at the end of another 2007 style season.

Agree with Liz re: Schneider but not necessarily Buchanan.

Yes, it will hurt to see one of them go if it happens, but the footy department has been very gentle with both us fans and the playing list itself. No player has been traded who didn't ask to be in my memory as a Swans fan. The fact is that sometimes to improve the list, we have to swallow a bitter pill.

Now, our midfield is slow. Really, we have no lightning-quick on-ballers. Schneider, Buchanan, Malceski, Goodes, Fosdike, McVeigh and Dempster aren't snails, but Kirk, Bolton, Mathews and Ablett are and Crouch has lost a lot of pace. If we are serious about being competitive next year, this has to change. Mattner is a step in the right direction, but only a step.

Further, our midfield has ordinary skills. Again, Malceski, Goodes, Schneider and Fosdike are excused. It's because Schneider is both quick and skillful that I don't believe he will be traded - I think Roos is sending him a message. Dempster has a beautiful kick when he bothers to use it. Ablett is good and makes up for his lack of pace. McVeigh's kicking is inconsistent but there's enough there to hope that he will improve. Mathews is poor, but seeing as how he never gets a contested possession he's rarely under pressure. Kirk isn't much better but he makes up for it with the number of times he gets first use of the ball, not to mention unparalleled leadership.

Bolton used be much like Kirk, but his work in the packs is no longer enough to compensate for his lack of speed and inability to use the ball. Buchanan's kicking is woeful as well. That's why these two are considered expendable - Bolton moreso than Buchanan.

Now, I love Jude as much as the next Swans fan, but I can recognise when it's better for the club that he moves on. As long as there's a good value deal on the table, I'd expect the club to take it.

Couple of things in your post I disagree with Charlie.

Firstly, I don't think Monty's disposal is deplorable. His kicking for goal is - no arguments there, but I don't think there is much wrong at all with his field kicking. As I posted above, I think he's the absolute best at finding a target from short range inside a congested forward 50. Better than the likes of Davis even.

I also don't agree Ablett is a snail. He has far more pace than most give him credit for and about once a fortnight you see him actually use it. I am not suggesting he's in Judd's class. Or even Kennelly's. But he can close ground on an opponent with ease when he chooses to.

For me it is one of the most frustrating things about the way he is used. I don't think he has the quickest football brain in the world - and I think most of what we see out on the ground stems from brain speed not footspeed. (That goes for every player. It's not an Ablett specific comment.) By being played in defensive roles, he's being asked to be reactive, not proactive, and because he doesn't seem to anticipate the play in this role, he often gets made to look slow by an opponent who is creating it.

I would love to see him freed up from his defensive role. I reckon what he's capable of would surprise most Swans fans. I suspect it might also surprise Ablett himself.

Hey come on this is a thread for people who want Snides and Amon to stay around not a "Lets point out every reason why they shouldnt be apart of the Sydney Swans"
Then I wont comment on the players efficencies or inabilities.
Remember we are all Swans supporters so it hurts us all to comment truthfully, without our one eye. But footy is a business and some decisions need to be made whether us armchair critics like it or not. Put faith in the club as a whole. Thats what got them up the top quarter of the ladder in the first place :)

GO SWANNIES

A good point, a point few "star-crossed" fans have forgotten or at least refuse to admit. So what, that Amon kicked the winning goal for us in the 05 GF, what has he done since? So what, Adam kicked 3 goals in the 05 PF against St Kilda, what has he done since?

If they have done so much for the club then they WOULDN'T BE UP FOR TRADE, but the fact they are sends the message loud and clear that they haven't and people have to stop living in the past and start living for today and the future of this club.

Buchanan and Schneider can be replaced by Moore (remember only one would get traded as I have said time and time again). Jude can be replaced by Schmidt on a fulltime basis. We (and by that I mean us the fans) want to improve as a club and get younger at the same time. I don't know how we can do that by holding onto players who have "trade value" and blocking the path of rookies who can do the same job.

As for Mathews/McVeigh/Bevan/Crouch etc why bring those names up as trade bait when you know that they aren't worth as much on the trade market and therefore aren't getting shopped about like Buchanan/Bolton/Schneider. You want value you have to give up value and basically none of you are willing to give up that value because your blinded by the past or are "star-crossed"

I don't know where you get the idea Moore can replace Schn & Buch, Moore can hardly get a kick, let alone break into the senior team. How is Schmidt going to replace Jude? He is nothing like like Jude. He doesn't have the heart to go all in at whatever cost and not many players do. Our trio had an average season, that will happen, they have been hunted for the past two seasons by the competition as the games benchmark. Maybe you expect too much.

I have to agree. If I had one critisism of Roos it was that he was a little too soft with the playing group but this week has shown that I was wrong. We definately shouldn't trade both of them but I can't see why we can't let go of one (preferably Schneider) for the right deal.

amon probably traded
jude probably traded
schneider likely traded.

that means we have schmidt to step up, he isn't an inside midfielder but he is a tempo player, holds the ball up and sets it up, we have missed that a lot this season.
Too many players playing too defensively.

I can understand why he will opt to stay with McFag for the next season, because if he can get into that attacking role he could be useful. But then again I guess he was just taking over crouch's position as the no1. tagger.

The gameplan will change, mark my words. Pace and skill will be injected, and it will become an attacking team, try to open up the forward line again. This will give Davis the opportunity to show he isn't a lazy passenger (or hope to **** if he is he doesn't get linched by the mob, because i really wanna linch that ****er), and other youngens who are coming through to show what they are capable of.
Might even move Malceski onto a forward flank or a wing, and move Goodes into the centre permanently and rotate through FF.

Now, our midfield is slow. Really, we have no lightning-quick on-ballers. Schneider, Buchanan, Malceski, Goodes, Fosdike, McVeigh and Dempster aren't snails, but Kirk, Bolton, Mathews and Ablett are and Crouch has lost a lot of pace. If we are serious about being competitive next year, this has to change. Mattner is a step in the right direction, but only a step.

Further, our midfield has ordinary skills. Again, Malceski, Goodes, Schneider and Fosdike are excused.

Bolton used be much like Kirk, but his work in the packs is no longer enough to compensate for his lack of speed and inability to use the ball. Buchanan's kicking is woeful as well. That's why these two are considered expendable - Bolton moreso than Buchanan.

Now, I love Jude as much as the next Swans fan, but I can recognise when it's better for the club that he moves on. As long as there's a good value deal on the table, I'd expect the club to take it.

Spot on with Bolton, but not Buchanan. Buchanan in both 2005 and 2006 have actually been our most consistent player in hitting targets inside fifty. And I don't think he was too bad with his field kicking this year, it's just that our two underperforming key forwards made it look worse - Hall was dropping chest-marks, Magic was inconsistent (apart from goal-kicking) and struggling with new rules I presume - he gets a lot of his possessions much further up the ground than he had for the past few years.

And I'm not convinced that Buchanan had fully shrugged off his injury he got early in the season either - our players plays while injured a lot and I don't think it's a good thing at all. And despite a poor year from him, his delivery is still much better than Fosdike's and Bolton's inside 50 attempts. Fosdike is a runner and a ball-magnet type player who is very good off the ball, but is shocking in terms of delivery - especially his around-the-body kick that he favoured in the latter parts of the season which was loopy, slow and utterly useless.

I'm not convinced really that we would be able to get suitable replacement for what we'll get for Buchanan in return.