Club History Port 150 documentary

How about Nathan Buckley? If I could relive any one year again it would be 1992.

Putting on that guernsey was like putting on a suit of armour.

I didnt realise what I had here until I left.

Oh man ...

Imagine if he made his way back here at the end of ‘96 with Wanganeen...

It must have been a near thing. He copped so much flack from Collingwood fans before any sort of announcement and the fact that it would have been his third club swayed him the wrong way.

Would have been nice to get Andy McLeod back over the fence too ;)

Ah well coulda shoulda woulda...

It does beggar belief that such a focus of it is the expectation of the players and coaches to front up to the community and accept criticism as personal as 'you pulled out of a contest, you were soft' when it couldn't be more different currently with our coach and captain openly dismissing member concerns like NOT WINNING A ****ING FINAL FOR FIVE YEARS.

Is there any self awareness left at Alberton?

The day after, both an inspiring and saddening show. Inspiring because brought back sweet memories of the club I grew up with. Saddening because that club has been eroded by uninspiring leaders in recent years.

No disrespect but seriously, why would he be?
Was pretty good when he first got here, a Captain of our club and with potential to be here another 5-7 years, COULD be a big part of our next Premiership. They even had Wingard snippets...

The day after, both an inspiring and saddening show. Inspiring because brought back sweet memories of the club I grew up with. Saddening because that club has been eroded by uninspiring leaders in recent years.

How much of it is feasible in the 21st century though? I mean I want it as much as anyone, but letting the masses loose on the team following a loss like we have, I reckon the AFLPA would step in pretty quick to that.

Yes, times have changed an players are less likely to be able to accept that kind of direct feedback, but I don't mean just that part of it. More the weak-willed shite that comes from the likes of Koch and Hinkley

It must have been a near thing. He copped so much flack from Collingwood fans before any sort of announcement and the fact that it would have been his third club swayed him the wrong way.

Would have been nice to get Andy McLeod back over the fence too ;)

Ah well coulda shoulda woulda...

I would take Nathan Buckley back tommorow.

You listen to the types of characters our coaches were.

Then you hear about Hinkley getting his Sotos every day and stuffing his face infront of the players.

Meanwhile, Fos at age 1 million is out literally bashing and crashing into players to demand and show the standard and sacrifice he expects.

****ing infuriating as it is insulting that unworthy campaigner is in the Hallowed position of PAFC coach when so many greats had come before him.

So glad I got to shake Greg Boulton’s hand in the Magarey Room at the first Adelaide Oval Showdown.

+1 for the Bruce Weber statue.
I worked with the other Ian McLachlan for a decade, with Greg working out of our offices. As soon as they knew I was Port, I was family. Was great to learn from, and contribute to, their businesses during this time.

Got me into the after match club function in 2004. While trying to be inconspicuous at the back of the room, Roger Delaney saw I was sans beverage and he instructed George Fiacchi to fetch drinks from the bar for me.

When I see Greg around town he never hesitates to stop for a chat. He organised for us all to have our chance (and clients, family and friends) for photos with the Premiership Cup.

Just ****ing wonderful

i Mean, it’s no national anthem at soul with Duncan Armstrong on the podium. But, you know.. it’s all right.

I worked with the other Ian McLachlan for a decade, with Greg working out of our offices. As soon as they knew I was Port, I was family. Was great to learn from, and contribute to, their businesses during this time.

Got me into the after match club function in 2004. While trying to be inconspicuous at the back of the room, Roger Delaney saw I was sans beverage and he instructed George Fiacchi to fetch drinks from the bar for me.

When I see Greg around town he never hesitates to stop for a chat. He organised for us all to have our chance (and clients, family and friends) for photos with the Premiership Cup.

Just ******* wonderful
I worked for Ian for 3 years, well on a lot of his clients at Price Waterhouse, he was backing off as he was moving into property development, so I worked closely with a couple of his senior manager's. Couple of his other senior managers who ended up becoming his partners when he finally left PW, ended up doing stuff with Port. Grahame Hodge was on the board of the Port Club for years and John Hood was on the board for 3 years or so and was part of the blood spilling in June 2011 when the SANFL tried to take us over. Ian was on our board 1995-2005. Only talked footy once with him when I was at PW, but talked to him a few times at Port game functions a decade after I had moved to Sydney. Was a bloody good operator.

My mate who I go to the footy with is Ian's son. He's always had an irrational hated of Justin Westhoff. Will not give him the time of day. Only last year I understood why. The last bit of footy Ian saw on his death bed was when Westhoff missed the goal to lose against Gold Coast. A proud Port man his entire life and that was his parting Port experience. My mate has never forgiven Justin.

I did like how a lot of people drew attention to how we were also very skillful sides with skillful players, as well as tough.

Many would have Australia believe that Ports success was built nothing but sheer thuggery and the ferals the stands.

Sent from my Nokia 7.2 using Tapatalk

OK, rub it in again ;)
One of the biggest regrets I have is not being able to find you at Punt Rd that night.

One of the best photos I have had with my daughter :thumbsu:

I did like how a lot of people drew attention to how we were also very skillful sides with skillful players, as well as tough.

Many would have Australia believe that Ports success was built nothing but sheer thuggery and the ferals the stands.

Sent from my Nokia 7.2 using Tapatalk

Hey, the ferals were on the fence too. At one game, probably against the Bays, I was in the second row off the fence being a bit mouthy. Unbeknownst to me there was a cop sitting inside the fence not visible above the fence line. Some time during the second quarter he stands up and looks at me, says 'I've been sitting here since the start of the game listening to you. If you don't pipe down I'll throw you out' This sweet little old lady sitting in front of me looks straight at the cop and says 'More fool you. Why don't you go and sit somewhere else if you don't want to listen to him, you effing idiot?'. Then she smiles sweetly at him. He moved.

Back in post #134, Saturday night I said I got out of the doco that we threw everything at getting into the AFL, then everything into winning the flag, and then everything into getting out of the clutches of SANFL and Footy Park and move AFL to AO and at every stage there were casualties and they all took their toll on people.

We lost a lot of good people in all those battles and they seem to all take 6 or 7 years each ( ok flag took 8).

Mentioned we have thrown a bloody lot at China and that is looking good, there are no real casualties and it hasn't taken the same sort of toll. But it has taken 6 years or so of hard work to achieve Lockhart Road's initial goal of going to China was to find a $1m+ a year joint major sponsor.

This was basically the same sort of feeling I had after the 150th Gala dinner. Similar themes were discussed as the doco.

I wrote on Saturday night we now need to have the club run by, and directed by, people who can take advantage of all this hard work. They won't be casualties like the others, if they are good enough, because now all the big shackles have been released.

I don't like it, but I can see why we have gone the stability route the last 4 or 5 years when you juxtapose those 4 years to the previous 25.

Covid19 disruption will cause big casualties and take its toll if it lasts 6 months like the feds are warning us.

But it provides an opportunity to get rid of the dead wood and bring in new people with fresh new ideas and are hungry for more than just stability. Hungry to go from surviving to thriving.

I reckon the people responsible for putting together the 150th and then the doco are well aware of this and know we need to change from stability, to throwing everything at achieving the big goal of plenty of success.

And if Covid19 knocks us down for 6 months we will need to throw absolutely everything we have got at recovery, just like we did at those 3 big goals above, and I mean all of the Port Adelaide Community and what I call the Port Adelaide Network, not just the board and administrators.

Back in post #134, Saturday night I said I got out of the doco that we threw everything at getting into the AFL, then everything into winning the flag, and then everything into getting out of the clutches of SANFL and Footy Park and move AFL to AO and at every stage there were casualties and they all took their toll on people.

We lost a lot of good people in all those battles and they seem to all take 6 or 7 years each ( ok flag took 8).

Mentioned we have thrown a bloody lot at China and that is looking good, there are no real casualties and it hasn't taken the same sort of toll. But it has taken 6 years or so of hard work to achieve Lockhart Road's initial goal of going to China was to find a $1m+ a year joint major sponsor.

This was basically the same sort of feeling I had after the 150th Gala dinner. Similar themes were discussed as the doco.

I wrote on Saturday night we now need to have the club run by, and directed by, people who can take advantage of all this hard work. They won't be casualties like the others, if they are good enough, because now all the big shackles have been released.

I don't like it, but I can see why we have gone the stability route the last 4 or 5 years when you juxtapose those 4 years to the previous 25.

Covid19 disruption will cause big casualties and take its toll if it lasts 6 months like the feds are warning us.

But it provides an opportunity to get rid of the dead wood and bring in new people with fresh new ideas and are hungry for more than just stability. Hungry to go from surviving to thriving.

I reckon the people responsible for putting together the 150th and then the doco are well aware of this and know we need to change from stability, to throwing everything at achieving the big goal of plenty of success.

And if Covid19 knocks us down for 6 months we will need to throw absolutely everything we have got at recovery, just like we did at those 3 big goals above, and I mean all of the Port Adelaide Community and what I call the Port Adelaide Network, not just the board and administrators.

The Port Way