Port's bigger than Alberton

Re: Re: Re: Re: Port's bigger than Alberton

Originally posted by Macca19

Brad Nicholson - key defender from Footscray that was in and out of the league side in 1997. Didnt make much of an impact. 12 games.

Damon Shaw - midfielder from St Kilda who was in and out of the league side, but who played pretty well on quite a few occasions. 12 games, 6 goals in 1997.

Really can't remember these two guys at all. Must have been to caught up in the Power's first season and didn't get to many SANFL games. Did Nicholson get injured mid-season?

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Port's bigger than Alberton

Originally posted by Eago77
Really can't remember these two guys at all. Must have been to caught up in the Power's first season and didn't get to many SANFL games. Did Nicholson get injured mid-season?

He also played 6 reserves games as well so he never got seriously injured.

Originally posted by portly
Mmm, nah. Better than that, and seemed to have a few good games. Lacked stamina? weight?
Lacked heart and skill. About all I remember him having was weight and height.

Mark Dawson left Adelaide with Bomber Clifford's wife if the story is correct, remember Dawson is what we got for Russell Ebert, shock horror.

The worst recruit I have seen, and Trevor Sorrell said this to me also, was Jon Evans, we got him at the same time as Timmy, he was supposed to be a CHF, ha, yeah right, couldn't mark, kick or chase.

BTW, remember Tim Evans was recruited as a defender

Originally posted by Asgardian

The worst recruit I have seen, and Trevor Sorrell said this to me

And Casper was originally a half-forward (and a pretty ordinary one) but developed into a great defender.

I still remember Sorrell for that moment of comedic genius in the 1981 Second Semi v the bays when he gave Ralphy Sewer a little biff in the back of the head and said "Ralphy you've gone from one bum club to another" (or words to that effect) and Zip Zap lost the plot, jumped up swinging like a barn gate in a gale. Ivan Eckermann hopped into it too ... Ralphy copped three matches, and poor Trevor got one (the GF mind u) ... but somehow it just immortalised Trevor Sorrell for me anyway ...

.... and of course we belted the Bays senseless in the GF ... ;)

Originally posted by Ford Fairlane
[B
.... and of course we belted the Bays senseless in the GF ... ;) [/B]

Makes me all warm inside just thinking about it. Just magnificent stuff.

Was looking through some old mid 70's Budgets last night and came across a guy called Joe Kozlowski, who I had never heard of. Can you Port diehards enlighten me as to who he was?

Originally posted by McAlmanac
Was looking through some old mid 70's Budgets last night and came across a guy called Joe Kozlowski, who I had never heard of. Can you Port diehards enlighten me as to who he was?

Joe was a big square jawed lad from Royal Park. Stood about 6'3" (191cm) and 14.7 st (arnd 92kg). Started off footy life as a full forward. Did kick quite a few goal at 2s level but not consistently. Had a couple of tries at league level but never really clicked - and he played around the time of Randall Gerlach and the emerging full forward play of Tim Evans. Had the size, great hands, good kick, I guess a bit slow. He was turned into a full back and showed quite a deal of promise again at reserves level in that position, but again couldn't quite crack the league side consistently (Max James was full back then). The last I really remember of Joe was playing reserves at full back, probably around 1977, and getting bathed by an average Sturt reserves full forward named Ian Pfeiffer, who was a short stocky guy who always seemed to be able to get in behind Joe, nudge him under the ball and outmark him. He kicked a couple of bags of 8 on Joe and Joe quietly disappeared ... :(

Next you'll be asking about Colin Northcott, the full forward who couldn't kick more than 2 goals in a game (but could kick any number of points!!!). ;)

I do remember him. Topped the Seconds goalkicking in the early 70's. :)

From memory, Koslowski went on to play with Alberton United. Northcott might have gone to WA. The other goal kicking gun in the early games, permanent understudy to Eric Freeman, was Dave Cheetham. Turned into a pumpkin at 2:10, but on his morning, was a wiz.

Great thread guys. Obviously I aint a Port fan, but I'm enjoying every post.
BTW Ricahrd Foster and Paul Rizonico, along with Patrick Brosnan (who brought younger brother Steve along for the ride) were instrumental in Loxton's last premeirship win in 1996. Everyone remembers them reasonably fondly here at Tigerland, although Patty Brosnan's penchant for choking the snake prior to the game was a shock for some.

Agree with dogwatcher, good memories on some of you.
Bought a video called Roosters 83, John Spry was playing his first game with North & had a blinder. So relying on your memories, without the smartarse comments, why did he go to the Pies, & how did he fair ?
If anyone is interested, the Blockbusters Video outlet on Prospect Rd has at least 20 old SANFL videos for hire, lots of stuff from the 70`s & 80`s, PA1870 would have a field day in there. Would have near all the premiership matches from that time.
On the line of duds in this posting, hows Simon Peukers name being ommitted, better throw in Chris Robertson while I`m at it. Five different managers & never been in an AFL senior squad.

Originally posted by Hollypig
Agree with dogwatcher, good memories on some of you.
Bought a video called Roosters 83, John Spry was playing his first game with North & had a blinder. So relying on your memories, without the smartarse comments, why did he go to the Pies, & how did he fair ?
If anyone is interested, the Blockbusters Video outlet on Prospect Rd has at least 20 old SANFL videos for hire, lots of stuff from the 70`s & 80`s, PA1870 would have a field day in there. Would have near all the premiership matches from that time.
On the line of duds in this posting, hows Simon Peukers name being ommitted, better throw in Chris Robertson while I`m at it. Five different managers & never been in an AFL senior squad.

I'll try, but it'll involve a bit of guesswork ;) ... After the debacle of the 1976 GF where Rick Davies especially made a mess of Port's rucks (what a horror day for poor Natty, altho he did improve over time and played Premiership footy in 1980 and 81 ... sadly Paul Marrett never did) I'd say Port decided to target a genuine big ruckman to combat the top flight ruckmen (Davies, Button, Carey - altho he didn't ruck as much then as he did later in his career) who made our lives difficult. Spry was playing in WA at Claremont at the time and fit the bill - he would've been 200cm and 100+ kg, had played finals footy with North (I always thought he played in at least one of the Premierships rucking with Gary Sporn, but if his first game was in 1973 - I guess you meant Roosters 73 not 83 - then he would've only played in the losing 1973 GF, classic game that it was). How they came to Spry I don't know - he was a bit of a football nomad, maybe he just wanted to come back to SA for a while ... others here might know :confused:

The memories of 1977 are getting vague but I thought Spry had a pretty good year, would have led Port's rucks all year pretty much as a lone hand, I remember in the GF Randall Gerlach did some 2nd ruck work in his swan song year, so certainly no one established themself as indispensible back up. His most memorable moment was his attempt to choke the life out of Graham Cornes at half time of the 1977 GF .. he failed, but he gave it a good shot (just as well or we wouldn't have Chad and Kane now ;) ). I still remember the commentator (Ian Day?) saying how Spry wanted to see the colour of Cornes's tongue. That day Spry had 7 kicks, 5 handballs, 2 marks and 14 hit outs, not bad ... I don't remember him ever being a big marking ruckman. He played in Darwin in the off season and came back with crook knees at the start of the 1978 season. I don't remember him playing much in 1978, certainly nothing outstanding, and by 1979 he was gone.

As for Peucker and Robertson, I thought I'd wait til they finished up b4 adding them to the list (besides the 70s and 80s r more my speciality ;) ) I don't mind Robertson, I reckon he can play a bit, just always getting injured.

Remember another former North player in Trevor Grenfell who came to Port in I think 1985? He could play a bit, but was a wild man. You had a few of those in that side in the 80s IIRC :D

McAlmanac mentioned Geoff Phelps somewhere too ... Phelpsy played in 2 premierships (1988, 1990) and managed to jump out of the crowd and join in the 1989 lap of honour too IIRC. The redcoats tried to escort him off the ground but the Port players chased them away. Phelpsy loved the spotlight! :D

Damn.....I thought it was otherwise - how did he manage to get into those sides as we had a very good team back then.......

BTW Spry played 20 games in 1977 and kicked 2 goals. That's all the info you got out of old Footy Budgets ...

Originally posted by Eddie Woloschek
From memory, Koslowski went on to play with Alberton United.

This could be wrong - I am probably thinking of that other PAD lumbering legend Fiji Skorwceski. (apols for spelling)

F. Skorzewski played 2 games in 1970, ttttttthats all fffffolks

Jack Spry is a favourite of mine, yep, coz he tried to murder Cornes, anyway, he played 2 seasons for us, 1977 - 78, a total of 39 games

Who remembers the smallest full back I have ever seen, Trevor McLeod, 36 games in 1974 - 75

One who looked great, but wasn't quite "right", Johnny Baruzzi, played 1 game in 1969, won a Reserves Magarey in 1970

Robert "Sticks" Dolan was recruited from Norwood in 1979, and played just the one great game for us, the 1979 Grand Final against South

Another who remembers is Alec Hryhorec who played 3 games, I think on the half back flank, in 1974, or Eddie Woloszek who played 5 games in 1972?

Yes, Eddie, the Roger "Get used to it" Voudouris lookalike who came from City South got homesick for Tassie and disappeared after 5 games.

From memory, Hryhorec had one of the best mullets of the century. Looked more like Mary Tyler Moore.

F. Skorzewski played 2 games in 1970, ttttttthats all fffffolks

Jack Spry is a favourite of mine, yep, coz he tried to murder Cornes, anyway, he played 2 seasons for us, 1977 - 78, a total of 39 games

Who remembers the smallest full back I have ever seen, Trevor McLeod, 36 games in 1974 - 75

One who looked great, but wasn't quite "right", Johnny Baruzzi, played 1 game in 1969, won a Reserves Magarey in 1970

Robert "Sticks" Dolan was recruited from Norwood in 1979, and played just the one great game for us, the 1979 Grand Final against South

I can only remember Hryhorec (a wannabe Porplycia lookalike IIRC) from reserves telecasts called by Dean Davis!

Baruzzi wound up being a serviceable player for North Adelaide.

I remember McLeod - he was one of Port's revolving door full backs b4 Max James settled back there for a few years. He replaced Rod Burton at full back cos every time we played Sturt Ken Whelan would kick 10 on Burton. Somehow McLeod managed to put a lid on that - probably had the pace to go with Ken. But then Fred Phillis would kick bags of goals on McLeod. We just couldn't win consistently in that position. I remember Max Parker kicking 8 on McLeod to half time in a game v Woodville, but big Max couldn't keep it going and finished with "only" 9. Speaking of full backs I remember being at Unley Oval in 1983 when Rick Davies kicked 8 to half time on Anthony Dutch. He was replaced by Ben Harris at half time, kept Davies relatively quiet (I think he kicked another 3), and Dutch sunk without a trace. Did we also have a Paul Dutch at full back in the 2s in the 1970s ... I remember a stocky guy with a full beard, but he never quite cut it.

Another more recent recruit I thought was on Macca's list (but wasn't) is Damien Ryan, a 200cm ruckman from (then) Footscray Port picked up in the late 80s/early 90s. I only remember him playing 1 good reserves game (his first) played league on and off for a while and wound up at Sturt with Wade, Warton and Burton.

Had a couple of very nice glasses of Sticks chardonnay last night, made by the great man himself. He is now a quite respected winemaker in the Yarra Valley.

I can only remember Hryhorec (a wannabe Porplycia lookalike IIRC) from reserves telecasts called by Dean Davis!
Dean Davis calling football??? :confused: :confused: The mind boggles.