Preview Prematch discussion/changes vs Adelaide

You've bradburied your way to the top. Because lets face it, you're only there because we've dropped the ball in the last quarter in games. Typically we start the season 9-0. This year we haven't and someone had to take over.

Marley will keep betts goalless. It will be that confidence sapping that betts will probably develop the yips. Laird is thanking his lucky stars simpkin isn't playing, but guess what?! Garner's playing and if laird doesn't have eyes on the back of his head he might end up 6-feet under like fyfe did.

A murder of crows,ironic isn't it? That's what Saturday will look like.

See you in September. Your ground or ours, we don't care!

Anything can happen tomorrow and our inexperience will be a large factor, however there is some truth in your post.

Adelaide (1st) and Port (5th) aren't one and two for scoring for no reason. Their forwards have a significant advantage playing on that bowling alley in Adelaide and it somewhat skews their true standing.

Are Adelaide a significantly better team this season compared to last year? Absolutely not.

Have other sides in the competition who were competitive with Adelaide in 2016 weakened since last season? Absolutely.

Are the sides that have filled those spots since last season as strong as the sides they have replaced? Absolutely not.

Our best side from the first half of last season would roll Adelaide in Hobart tomorrow.

There will be 3 or 4 very ordinary sides that make the eight this year.

Excellent changes again. Scott is coaching and selecting very well this year. I really like where the club is heading. I've got that tinge in my stomach of excitement again.

Well if Hansen made a difference in our forward line last week, then Waite is no surprise.

Still playing kids whilst not getting thrashed is what I expect this year. Clarke deserves a game or 6.

You've bradburied your way to the top. Because lets face it, you're only there because we've dropped the ball in the last quarter in games. Typically we start the season 9-0. This year we haven't and someone had to take over.

Marley will keep betts goalless. It will be that confidence sapping that betts will probably develop the yips. Laird is thanking his lucky stars simpkin isn't playing, but guess what?! Garner's playing and if laird doesn't have eyes on the back of his head he might end up 6-feet under like fyfe did.

A murder of crows,ironic isn't it? That's what Saturday will look like.

See you in September. Your ground or ours, we don't care!

POTY

Did think Waite migh've need a VFL run to prove fitness, but happy enough he is in.

Clarke deserves a chance and gets it.

On paper we are more than good enough to give the Crows a shake. They are good yes but been talked about a bit too much.

At the moment Goldy is struggling to beat anyone...

I just want a hard, physical game from the boys and at the moment the biggest bloke in the team cant bring it. Goldy's drop off has been spectacular imo

Maybe a late change Pruess in?

The logical inclusion for wet weather football would be A. Swallow.

Now that it is 100% chance of rain (and pretty windy), and heavier than previously forecast, I'm coming around to agreeing with his.

Drop a tall and bring him in, his tough work in the clinches may be very valuable unlike bruise free Etihad footy.

Hi guys. Just a Crows eye view on our improvement this year. Seems to be some confusion........

This time last year the Crows were 4 and 2 with a new coach and a midfield without Dangerfield. It's strength was the forward line supplied by a good midfield and an average defence. The bulk of the scoring was from the front 6. Eddie being the main contributor.

Forward to this year and there is a definite shift in the scoring pattern. The forward line has had its share of injuries to date but Walker has been outstanding. In the last 2 weeks we have averaged 12 goal scorers. Against Richmond Eddie kicked 1 goal out of 21.

The big difference besides team defence and tackling (both lacking in 2016) is the scoring ability of the mids (Sloane, Atkins, Cameron, Hampton) and defenders (Douglas, Smith, Brown). Contested ball has improved as has versatility, these 2 areas were particularly focussed on during the pre season.
The biggest bonus has been the turn around of Jacobs. His form in ruck is much improved on 2016 but more than this is his value around the ground and his ability to play like an extra mid/forward.

The first part of the season was considered to be the toughest of our draw. Considering this the 6 wins have set us up well. But it's a long season. As you guys are well aware. Good luck for the year.

Lukey to go to Tom Lynch. He's played really well on him in the past. Shutting down Lynch would go a long way to winning this game.

I think I'd stick with LMac. Tough enough to go head to head (as Sloane is a hard nut also) and can keep up as Sloane isn't that quick.

Try and burn the other way wherever possible.

What's with the massive influx of opposition posters?

I have not seen so many opposition posters since Arthur Cloke trolled the entire Richmond board.

I want to see Adelaide beat a good side in Melbourne on a cold winters day/night before I start locking them in for a GF.

It would be great to play in Melbourne more often (we only have 4 games in Melbourne + 1 in Geelong this year) but clubs like yours and and the Dees sell your games to Tassie and Darwin

Adelaide Crows ready to reign in the rain in AFL game against North Melbourne in Hobart

Jesper Fjeldstad, The Advertiser
42 minutes ago
Subscriber only

ADELAIDE will keep a close eye on the weather and is prepared to simplify its style of play should it rain during its match against North Melbourne in Hobart on Saturday.

Assistant coach Matthew Clarke said the club’s six-day turnaround from its win against Richmond at Adelaide Oval would also mean selection could change at the last minute, with a number of players needing to get through a final training session to be declared fit.

Among them are sore star forward Eddie Betts.

Riley Knight is the travelling emergency.

“You do modify your game in wet conditions,” Clarke said as the team jetted out on Friday morning.

“We haven’t really come up against real wet and slippery this year but obviously you play a bit more direct and probably a bit less handball.

“And it’s a six-day week and any time you’ve got a six-day week the recovery process takes until the last session of the week.

“Eddie Betts will be fine, I reckon, but he’s probably one of the guys we’ll make sure he’s 100 per cent (before he is selected).”

Mate, if we need two ruckman just to beat one ruckman then we may as well stay home and forfeit the match. No waaaaaay could we cover the crows starting from -1.

I wouldn't be surprised if Preuss plays and Waite misses.

More to do with having a physical presence around stoppages, which Goldy cant provide and keeping BB upright... If we cant nullify Sauce, the Crouch boys are going to town on us. Whilst Waite is obviously a better forward, coming off 5 weeks with no footy isnt ideal

Adelaide Crows ready to reign in the rain in AFL game against North Melbourne in Hobart

Jesper Fjeldstad, The Advertiser
42 minutes ago
Subscriber only

ADELAIDE will keep a close eye on the weather and is prepared to simplify its style of play should it rain during its match against North Melbourne in Hobart on Saturday.

Assistant coach Matthew Clarke said the club’s six-day turnaround from its win against Richmond at Adelaide Oval would also mean selection could change at the last minute, with a number of players needing to get through a final training session to be declared fit.

Among them are sore star forward Eddie Betts.

Riley Knight is the travelling emergency.

“You do modify your game in wet conditions,” Clarke said as the team jetted out on Friday morning.

“We haven’t really come up against real wet and slippery this year but obviously you play a bit more direct and probably a bit less handball.

“And it’s a six-day week and any time you’ve got a six-day week the recovery process takes until the last session of the week.

“Eddie Betts will be fine, I reckon, but he’s probably one of the guys we’ll make sure he’s 100 per cent (before he is selected).”
Sounds like Eddie shitting himself at the proposition of playing on Marley lol

What's with the massive influx of opposition posters?

I have not seen so many opposition posters since Arthur Cloke trolled the entire Richmond board.
Franchise supporters trying to get an idea of what it is like to post on a real team's board.

Rumour has it that each time you post on adelaide's board a crow squawking noise comes through your speakers.

Righto, it's wet.

Drop Waite and get Spitta on the plane.

Also bring in Preuss for Goldy. We need some cannonball action in the packs. I want crow feathers flying everywhere.

Latest update...... Oh Dear, im going to get wet. Knowing us Taswegians as I do this will probably be the worst crowd we have ever had to a match due to the weather.

Saturday 6 May

Summary
rain.png

Min 10
Max 18
Rain.
Possible rainfall: 4 to 10 mm
Chance of any rain: 100%
rain_100.gif

Hobart area
Cloudy. Very high (near 100%) chance of rain from the late morning. Winds north to northwesterly 15 to 20 km/h shifting westerly 15 to 25 km/h in the evening.

Righto, it's wet.

Drop Waite and get Spitta on the plane.

Also bring in Preuss for Goldy. We need some cannonball action in the packs. I want crow feathers flying everywhere.

Swallow isn't in the emergencies so thats probably not going to happen.

From what I've been told Pruess and Mountford are the travelling emergencies.