QAFL 2021

• Thread starter Thread starter GC2015

agree let’s go about recruits or something.

Heard Fraser Neate relocated to GC. Interesting where he lobs assuming he moves from Mt G

Grange seem to consistently kick own goals. As soon as they take a few steps forward they then undo it all in their recruiting.

Yes hearing lots of rumours of what Eagles may be on but generally heavily exaggerated on forums like these.As mentioned earlier it’s a good pick up for Grange who really need experience to go with such a young list.Good numbers on the pre season track at Noosa with plenty of running being done.From all reports the Senior players more than happy with new strength and conditioning coach from Aspley!

Yeah heard the same.

How does the salary cap work for playing coaches? Is there a portion of salary that goes towards the coaching aspect?

You forgot to say "Apparently"

nothing 'apparent' about it. One of the best players in TSL relocating to Brisbane to play footy doesn't do it for $250 a game...

Yes hearing lots of rumours of what Eagles may be on but generally heavily exaggerated on forums like these.As mentioned earlier it’s a good pick up for Grange who really need experience to go with such a young list.

big frontload sign-on, any rumours would come straight from Eagles. Big sign on, then disappear.

50% included in cap.

apparently AFLQ cracking down on this. Have to show evidence they are coaching etc, using it just for a discount on an expensive player won't cut the nustard anymore

nothing 'apparent' about it. One of the best players in TSL relocating to Brisbane to play footy doesn't do it for $250 a game...

big frontload sign-on, any rumours would come straight from Eagles. Big sign on, then disappear.

So you don't know and are just guessing. Got it.

maybe Eagles is returning to his home state because he wants to live in QLD and didn’t enjoy Tassie?

im no fan of Grange but to suggest that Eagles is relocating from TSL because of the money that grange are offering is ridiculous.

what is most likely is that Eagles decided to move back up and then fielded offers from a couple of clubs which is his right. Grange probably did out bid rivals but that’s what you have to do when you have a young side towards the bottom.

the vast majority of Granges list are young fellas most likely on $50 a game so even if they went hard for Eagles it’s unlikely they are close to exceeding the salary cap particularly with the 50% assistant coach thing.

and to suggest Eagles will take a big sign on and then disappear is pretty rough, why would that happen? I’m sure most of the $$$ will be paid during next season

Not talking about Eagles or Grange for most of the above post.... (Eagles isn't from Tassie and never went there)

But in relation to him, ask Aspley what they think!

nah, my buddy Judge will be upset - better it comes from someone else

Go for your life mate.

However, for those playing at home, I assume that your references to a TSL player on "huge dollars" and an "elastic salary cap" involve Daniel Joseph and Aspley?

You and I don't agree very often, but like you I'm curious about how Aspley is going to pay for all of their announced signings under the QAFL cap, not to mention the points cap dilemna.

Very rarely comment on this thread but living close to grange I get to see a few games. Getting a big body and experience down back is a great move. Will help the young lads gain more confidence. If grange want to pay for this and it fits into thier planning then go for it.
Seems grange get a profile player and some carnt wait to bag the decision. Hoping 2022 will be the year that gets them on the way up.

Aspley will do everything they can to win the flag always have and it shouldn't come as any surprise that they will put together a quality list.
On just about any thread the talk is about how can clubs afford it or fit under the cap.
Plenty of chat but no real proof.

On the Salary Cap and player points for QAFL, I believe there was a limit $65K for player payments in 2021. plus other opportunities such as coaching to extend Player payments and a total of 50 player points per team on a Saturday. What are teams working on for a salary cap for 2022?
From what I have herd a couple of teams must be stretching the player points with new recruits returning to QAFL from the NEAFL/VFL league?
how does the points system work for those players?

Aspley and RVP come to mind.

Go for your life mate.

However, for those playing at home, I assume that your references to a TSL player on "huge dollars" and an "elastic salary cap" involve Daniel Joseph and Aspley?

You and I don't agree very often, but like you I'm curious about how Aspley is going to pay for all of their announced signings under the QAFL cap, not to mention the points cap dilemna.
There will be plenty of curiousity how that all plays out.

On the Salary Cap and player points for QAFL, I believe there was a limit $65K for player payments in 2021. plus other opportunities such as coaching to extend Player payments and a total of 50 player points per team on a Saturday. What are teams working on for a salary cap for 2022?
From what I have herd a couple of teams must be stretching the player points with new recruits returning to QAFL from the NEAFL/VFL league?
how does the points system work for those players?

Aspley and RVP come to mind.
The players who would be 5 points if they went to any other QAFL club due to their NEAFL/VFL games can remain as 1 point for time served in NEAFL/VFL.

Go for your life mate.

Lots of assistant coaches .... :)

How does the salary cap work for playing coaches? Is there a portion of salary that goes towards the coaching aspect?

Well i did hear that he was in negotiations with Gladstone as a player/coach as the other "suitor" so probably be appointed under this guise at Grange with the 50% deduction. Still a very very good assistant coaching fee! There must be a limit to this as well and not just a flat 50%? Means you could pay a bloke $30k and they are being paid $15k to be an assistant coach??