North Adelaidewhere is Aaron Young playing in 2021?

BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Round 13
The Golden Ticket - Corporate tickets, functions, Open Air Boxes at the Adelaide Oval, ENGIE, Gabba, MCG, Marvel, Optus & People First Stadiums. Corporate Suites at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
North Adelaidewhere is Aaron Young playing in 2021?
Good luck finding a 22 year old still playing footy from the lions academySurely it’s not hard to find 10 or so ex Lions academy kids who are 20 to 22?

With the cuts at AFL clubs especially around development, these comps become important as clubs will start to look for straight away types that they don’t need to spend 3-4 years developing in the reserves.
The same kids who think they are all getting drafted and most get used as witches hats for the odd couple that will get drafted, then they think they are superstars but most struggle to get a kick at QAFL level then they seem to be the ones not playing by the age of 23.
Just because you wear a lions academy training singlet and shorts doesn’t make you a good footy player

Yeah think there are quite a few but possibly those who weren't as "high profile" as others. I know the names mentioned in an earlier post who are Southport players all went through the Suns academyGood luck finding a 22 year old still playing footy from the lions academy![]()
No they should be honest and upfront with them.... say hey I reckon about 30+ in Vic are in front of you atm. If you do this, this and this to give yourself the best opportunity to play well in state games then you’ve given yourself every chance.Not sure what the solution is though - you need another 20 players to make a team so that the 2-4 kids who have legitimate claims can produce. IMO possibly instead of talking about getting drafted and aspirations at the highest level the conversations are more around "loving the game", focusing on a kids effort rather then the result, and cutting from the herd a bit earlier those who may have ability but just no effort. This might reduce the quality initially but I think it will ensure those who are there bc they love the game and not necessarily the kudos will come out the other side and more likely to stay in the game. Maybe blue sky thinking...![]()
Not sure what the solution is though - you need another 20 players to make a team so that the 2-4 kids who have legitimate claims can produce. IMO possibly instead of talking about getting drafted and aspirations at the highest level the conversations are more around "loving the game", focusing on a kids effort rather then the result, and cutting from the herd a bit earlier those who may have ability but just no effort. This might reduce the quality initially but I think it will ensure those who are there bc they love the game and not necessarily the kudos will come out the other side and more likely to stay in the game. Maybe blue sky thinking...![]()
Agree 100% only problem with this is it puts to many out of work. Every academy employee will tell you how good it is and how important the set up is. Look they do a great job getting kids drafted but you never hear about the ones that pull the pin at 20 and there is heaps of them and it effects the local club’s massively.Pretty simple solution.
You pick a QLD u18 side to play in the national carnival, kids in that side come from both Lions and GC zones and they spend the rest of their time playing for their clubs and trying to play senior footy, and if/when they don't get drafted they are embedded in a footy club with 20 mates and an ongoing love of the game.
Instead they leave their clubs at 17 for academy, get bounced all over the place, don't get drafted, hate footy and give it away.
Pretty simple solution.
You pick a QLD u18 side to play in the national carnival, kids in that side come from both Lions and GC zones and they spend the rest of their time playing for their clubs and trying to play senior footy, and if/when they don't get drafted they are embedded in a footy club with 20 mates and an ongoing love of the game.
Instead they leave their clubs at 17 for academy, get bounced all over the place, don't get drafted, hate footy and give it away.
Pretty simple solution.
No they should be honest and upfront with them.... say hey I reckon about 30+ in Vic are in front of you atm. If you do this, this and this to give yourself the best opportunity to play well in state games then you’ve given yourself every chance.
Don’t tell the kids we are looking at you....you’re on our radar and then leave them out to dry.
Lets hope Scott Pyle is better then the other peanut they had.
Mark Browning is surely not far from giving it away
Just like the old teal cup, we won Div 2 titles playing for Qld, training once a week for 2 months then played in Melbourne for the week long carnival.
Then came back and busted our backside trying to play senior qafl footy.
No better numbers getting drafted now I wouldn’t have thought than back then
Luke Curran.Are you talking about Penguin as he was the Bris nth regional manager till this year? Reckon he always did a pretty good job and think Mark has done a stellar job over the last 2 decades.
Ok - pretty sure Scott isn't in Luke's job now. Think this is Paul Henriksen. In any case even this is a tough gig and loathe to be overly critical bc I think all these people do what they honestly believe is right. David Noble set up the structure for this summer.Luke Curran.
only talks to kids that are getting drafted, or on the cusp
Morningside have lots of players being recruited for u14s and 16s which shouldn’t happen, and all these kids get told they will play colts footy but in the end they are just one more number to the already large list.do they really? Steve Wearne is just there to convince kids from all over Brisbane to go to the Panthers isn't he?
Morningside have lots of players being recruited for u14s and 16s which shouldn’t happen, and all these kids get told they will play colts footy but in the end they are just one more number to the already large list.
do they really? Steve Wearne is just there to convince kids from all over Brisbane to go to the Panthers isn't he?
If only that "pathway" was short and obstacle free. Has always been a major furphy which I wouldn't be surprised is spun at junior level all over Australia. I'm sure the private schools in Vic throw it out there these days.Parents and the allure of “pathways”.. good money spinner for the powers above bu
Morningside have lots of players being recruited for u14s and 16s which shouldn’t happen, and all these kids get told they will play colts footy but in the end they are just one more number to the already large list.
Just making sure I understand this correctly.Not sure it’s all Morningside problem. Think a lot of parents take there kids to the club thinking they are better than they are or better club for them.
I know of at least 6 kids left Coorparoo because they appointed a female U12’s Div 1 Coach and had a push back from parents.
I reckon with Lynny being appointed MtGravatt Senior Coach and being former Coorparoo Coaching Coordinator I reckon won’t be long until a few are leaving Coorparoo to MtGravatt for same sort of reasons.
don’t think it’ll be this year as they’re a real sniff under Baz O’BrienNot sure it’s all Morningside problem. Think a lot of parents take there kids to the club thinking they are better than they are or better club for them.
I know of at least 6 kids left Coorparoo because they appointed a female U12’s Div 1 Coach and had a push back from parents.
I reckon with Lynny being appointed MtGravatt Senior Coach and being former Coorparoo Coaching Coordinator I reckon won’t be long until a few are leaving Coorparoo to MtGravatt for same sort of reasons.
If he does do this then he is letting the code down. In Bris where there is a riches of footy clubs to choose from, this is really poor advice. In fact the best thing anyone in talent would want to do is ensure the local junior comps are super competitive which only occurs when the talent is spread across clubs, not confined to 1.
Yeah I agree - I was told SA use postcodes but same sort of principle.just have to go back to zones.
If a kid from Calamvale wants to go to Morningside instead of Mt Gravatt, they should have to get a clearance from both Calamvale AND Mt Gravatt - as thats their QAFL zone.
thats how it used to be