QAFL 2021

• Thread starter Thread starter GC2015

With the cuts at AFL clubs especially around development, these comps become important as clubs will start to look for straight away types that they don’t need to spend 3-4 years developing in the reserves.

Yeah agree Box - which imo should have been a thought process many years ago.

The same kids who think they are all getting drafted and most get used as witches hats for the odd couple that will get drafted, then they think they are superstars but most struggle to get a kick at QAFL level then they seem to be the ones not playing by the age of 23.

Just because you wear a lions academy training singlet and shorts doesn’t make you a good footy player

Not sure what the solution is though - you need another 20 players to make a team so that the 2-4 kids who have legitimate claims can produce. IMO possibly instead of talking about getting drafted and aspirations at the highest level the conversations are more around "loving the game", focusing on a kids effort rather then the result, and cutting from the herd a bit earlier those who may have ability but just no effort. This might reduce the quality initially but I think it will ensure those who are there bc they love the game and not necessarily the kudos will come out the other side and more likely to stay in the game. Maybe blue sky thinking... :)

Good luck finding a 22 year old still playing footy from the lions academy 🤣🤣
Yeah think there are quite a few but possibly those who weren't as "high profile" as others. I know the names mentioned in an earlier post who are Southport players all went through the Suns academy

Not sure what the solution is though - you need another 20 players to make a team so that the 2-4 kids who have legitimate claims can produce. IMO possibly instead of talking about getting drafted and aspirations at the highest level the conversations are more around "loving the game", focusing on a kids effort rather then the result, and cutting from the herd a bit earlier those who may have ability but just no effort. This might reduce the quality initially but I think it will ensure those who are there bc they love the game and not necessarily the kudos will come out the other side and more likely to stay in the game. Maybe blue sky thinking... :)
No they should be honest and upfront with them.... say hey I reckon about 30+ in Vic are in front of you atm. If you do this, this and this to give yourself the best opportunity to play well in state games then you’ve given yourself every chance.

Don’t tell the kids we are looking at you....you’re on our radar and then leave them out to dry.

Lets hope Scott Pyle is better then the other peanut they had.

Mark Browning is surely not far from giving it away

Pretty simple solution.

You pick a QLD u18 side to play in the national carnival, kids in that side come from both Lions and GC zones and they spend the rest of their time playing for their clubs and trying to play senior footy, and if/when they don't get drafted they are embedded in a footy club with 20 mates and an ongoing love of the game.

Instead they leave their clubs at 17 for academy, get bounced all over the place, don't get drafted, hate footy and give it away.

Pretty simple solution.

You pick a QLD u18 side to play in the national carnival, kids in that side come from both Lions and GC zones and they spend the rest of their time playing for their clubs and trying to play senior footy, and if/when they don't get drafted they are embedded in a footy club with 20 mates and an ongoing love of the game.

Instead they leave their clubs at 17 for academy, get bounced all over the place, don't get drafted, hate footy and give it away.
Agree 100% only problem with this is it puts to many out of work. Every academy employee will tell you how good it is and how important the set up is. Look they do a great job getting kids drafted but you never hear about the ones that pull the pin at 20 and there is heaps of them and it effects the local club’s massively.

Pretty simple solution.

Just like the old teal cup, we won Div 2 titles playing for Qld, training once a week for 2 months then played in Melbourne for the week long carnival.
Then came back and busted our backside trying to play senior qafl footy.
No better numbers getting drafted now I wouldn’t have thought than back then

Pretty simple solution.

Yes that is very true Miller.

No they should be honest and upfront with them.... say hey I reckon about 30+ in Vic are in front of you atm. If you do this, this and this to give yourself the best opportunity to play well in state games then you’ve given yourself every chance.

Don’t tell the kids we are looking at you....you’re on our radar and then leave them out to dry.

Lets hope Scott Pyle is better then the other peanut they had.

Mark Browning is surely not far from giving it away

Are you talking about Penguin as he was the Bris nth regional manager till this year? Reckon he always did a pretty good job and think Mark has done a stellar job over the last 2 decades.

Just like the old teal cup, we won Div 2 titles playing for Qld, training once a week for 2 months then played in Melbourne for the week long carnival.
Then came back and busted our backside trying to play senior qafl footy.
No better numbers getting drafted now I wouldn’t have thought than back then

Yeah i think this obsession with needing to have the players for 3 nights/wk is a very quick drain. At least this year SC/WB boys don't go to Bris as often but it was an enormous ask previously. There is just no trust in club coaches I reckon yet the quality of these coaches at QAFL and even Div 1 level far exceeds Academy coaches as a rule.

Are you talking about Penguin as he was the Bris nth regional manager till this year? Reckon he always did a pretty good job and think Mark has done a stellar job over the last 2 decades.
Luke Curran.

only talks to kids that are getting drafted, or on the cusp

Luke Curran.

only talks to kids that are getting drafted, or on the cusp
Ok - pretty sure Scott isn't in Luke's job now. Think this is Paul Henriksen. In any case even this is a tough gig and loathe to be overly critical bc I think all these people do what they honestly believe is right. David Noble set up the structure for this summer.

do they really? Steve Wearne is just there to convince kids from all over Brisbane to go to the Panthers isn't he?
Morningside have lots of players being recruited for u14s and 16s which shouldn’t happen, and all these kids get told they will play colts footy but in the end they are just one more number to the already large list.

Parents and the allure of “pathways”.. good money spinner for the powers above bu

do they really? Steve Wearne is just there to convince kids from all over Brisbane to go to the Panthers isn't he?

If he does do this then he is letting the code down. In Bris where there is a riches of footy clubs to choose from, this is really poor advice. In fact the best thing anyone in talent would want to do is ensure the local junior comps are super competitive which only occurs when the talent is spread across clubs, not confined to 1.

Parents and the allure of “pathways”.. good money spinner for the powers above bu
If only that "pathway" was short and obstacle free. Has always been a major furphy which I wouldn't be surprised is spun at junior level all over Australia. I'm sure the private schools in Vic throw it out there these days.

Not sure it’s all Morningside problem. Think a lot of parents take there kids to the club thinking they are better than they are or better club for them.

I know of at least 6 kids left Coorparoo because they appointed a female U12’s Div 1 Coach and had a push back from parents.

I reckon with Lynny being appointed MtGravatt Senior Coach and being former Coorparoo Coaching Coordinator I reckon won’t be long until a few are leaving Coorparoo to MtGravatt for same sort of reasons.

Not sure it’s all Morningside problem. Think a lot of parents take there kids to the club thinking they are better than they are or better club for them.

I know of at least 6 kids left Coorparoo because they appointed a female U12’s Div 1 Coach and had a push back from parents.

I reckon with Lynny being appointed MtGravatt Senior Coach and being former Coorparoo Coaching Coordinator I reckon won’t be long until a few are leaving Coorparoo to MtGravatt for same sort of reasons.
Just making sure I understand this correctly.

Parents pulled their kids out of a club because a woman was appointed as coach of an U12 team.

Were the kids pulled out before or after training under her?

Was the previous coach well liked, but moved on or promoted by the club?

Personally I find that reflects very poorly on the parents if it’s solely about the gender of the coach.

don’t think it’ll be this year as they’re a real sniff under Baz O’Brien

Been doing it for years and the worst offenders by miles. Mt gravatt were runners up in Div 1 u12 and Div 1 u14 last year, this year they can't field a single u14 side because they have all left to play in an unbeatable superteam in u14s at Morningside. Thats not good for that competition, or the kids playing in the super team who won't be challenged. There are kids in the Panthers u14 side that drive from Ipswich to play there after being sold the dream.

I had a kid in a class I taught at school a few years back, made the state u12 side and his parents got over 25 text msgs from people involved at the panthers in the space of 2 weeks in October inviting him over from Jindalee to further his footy the following year. literally chasing a kid that was in year 7 at the time!

Agree with Still Me that after all, its the parents fault for falling for this rubbish and making decisions, but clubs also should just leave people alone.

Kids leaving over the gender of a coach is deplorable and they're better off without those families.

If he does do this then he is letting the code down. In Bris where there is a riches of footy clubs to choose from, this is really poor advice. In fact the best thing anyone in talent would want to do is ensure the local junior comps are super competitive which only occurs when the talent is spread across clubs, not confined to 1.

just have to go back to zones.

If a kid from Calamvale wants to go to Morningside instead of Mt Gravatt, they should have to get a clearance from both Calamvale AND Mt Gravatt - as thats their QAFL zone.

thats how it used to be

just have to go back to zones.

If a kid from Calamvale wants to go to Morningside instead of Mt Gravatt, they should have to get a clearance from both Calamvale AND Mt Gravatt - as thats their QAFL zone.

thats how it used to be
Yeah I agree - I was told SA use postcodes but same sort of principle.