QAFL 2021

• Thread starter Thread starter GC2015

Source/s?

I don't know of the others named, they wouldn't surprise me if true, but I do know that W.Fletcher and Greene have signed with the Lions, and I'm pretty sure Colenso has as well. If Reville goes undrafted, I suspect they will take him in the VFL too.

This shows that they are finally listening to us in club land (and probably their own players) that playing the experienced quality QAFL senior players that are ~22 and under is a better option that 16-18 year old academy kids who aren't established at senior QAFL level yet.

Fletcher is 21 and has won 2 x B&F's in a canter, Greene is 20, Colenso is 20. All of them are established senior players with mature bodies.

Fletcher as an example played NEAFL footy for the Lions 5 years ago regularly before he could crack the Sherwood senior side, in fact I think he played NEAFL senior footy before he ever even played Colts. He just wasn't ready, he was 16.

Now he is a star and I reckon he will kill it at that level.

I don't know of the others named, they wouldn't surprise me if true, but I do know that W.Fletcher and Greene have signed with the Lions, and I'm pretty sure Colenso has as well. If Reville goes undrafted, I suspect they will take him in the VFL too.

This shows that they are finally listening to us in club land (and probably their own players) that playing the experienced quality QAFL senior players that are ~22 and under is a better option that 16-18 year old academy kids who aren't established at senior QAFL level yet.

Fletcher is 21 and has won 2 x B&F's in a canter, Greene is 20, Colenso is 20. All of them are established senior players with mature bodies.

Fletcher as an example played NEAFL footy for the Lions 5 years ago regularly before he could crack the Sherwood senior side, in fact I think he played NEAFL senior footy before he ever even played Colts. He just wasn't ready, he was 16.

Now he is a star and I reckon he will kill it at that level.
Thanks for the information. I’m glad we’re going some senior bodies, who are still young enough to improve and have a crack at making an afl list.

I hope we manage to add Hammelmann and Connor Ballenden, as we will need some KPP depth, as we have sweet fa on the list at the moment.

Can someone who is more in the know than me explain why the Gold Coast teams dominate the QAFL these days? I know Southport used to dominate but that was really just one team whereas these days it seems like all four Gold Coast teams seem to play quite well. They've all won the premiership at least once in the last six years so that just back up the point. Conversely, why are the Brisbane teams seemingly performing worse these days when compared to decades gone by?

Thanks for the information. I’m glad we’re going some senior bodies, who are still young enough to improve and have a crack at making an afl list.

I hope we manage to add Hammelmann and Connor Ballenden, as we will need some KPP depth, as we have sweet fa on the list at the moment.

Ballenden is playing SANFL

Can someone who is more in the know than me explain why the Gold Coast teams dominate the QAFL these days? I know Southport used to dominate but that was really just one team whereas these days it seems like all four Gold Coast teams seem to play quite well. They've all won the premiership at least once in the last six years so that just back up the point. Conversely, why are the Brisbane teams seemingly performing worse these days when compared to decades gone by?

Three reasons I can think of.

1. Conservatively a $50-70k financial headstart due to better lease terms with Gold Coast City Council
2. Suns Academy brings talent from all over the state to GC and those that don't make it continue to play footy as they don't hate footy as a result of their academy experience. Meanwhile, over 80% of Lions academy kids (that get to u18 level) who don't get drafted give the game away before they are 20.
3. Until 2021, only one NEAFL team draining all the local talent compared to two in Brisbane. Also let's face it, Southport took cream of locals but didn't have the same % of locals at Redland & Aspley.

[/QUOT
Ballenden is playing SANFL

1. Conservatively a $50-70k financial headstart due to better lease terms with Gold Coast City Council
2. Suns Academy brings talent from all over the state to GC and those that don't make it continue to play footy as they don't hate footy as a result of their academy experience. Meanwhile, over 80% of Lions academy kids (that get to u18 level) who don't get drafted give the game away before they are 20.
3. Until 2021, only one NEAFL team draining all the local talent compared to two in Brisbane. Also let's face it, Southport took cream of locals but didn't have the same % of locals at Redland & Aspley.
Agree Thommo but gee as an ex Victorian who holidayrd with my parents on the Gold Coast that’s what you knew.As an 18 or 19 year old who has finished school ans wants an adventure the goldy is the place.Has always been a stronger footballing community level than brisy or the sunny coast.They can be beaten though as you know but they never sit on their hands recruiting wise and why should they! Seriously forget the academies certainly not helping the Suns tbh bloody hopeless.Not many good sporting teams come out of Vegas also but at our level the broadbeach,Palmy and Labrador are the ones to beat!Awesome challenge! And achievable look at what Maroochydore achieved this year with not one complaint!

No complaints here, you asked a question. Gave you an answer.

We beat both Labrador and Broady this year, our finals hopes were eradicated by lockdowns when we had bottom 3 on the ladder still to play.

No complaints here, you asked a question. Gave you an answer.

We beat both Labrador and Broady this year, our finals hopes were eradicated by lockdowns when we had bottom 3 on the ladder still to play.
Can't argue with the facts of the past 6 years as GC2015 states. The GC QAFL clubs have set the standard in recent years.
However things may be about to change with both Aspley and Redlands back and highly likely pressing late at the business end in 2022.

I doubt this is going to have much influence next year but I just read 203cm Suns academy prospect Lawsen Ford is heading down to Broady for the 2022 season. The kid apparently only picked up the game 18 months ago so there must be huge potential there but I imagine he'll end up mostly playing for the Broady colts/reserves next year.

Agree Thommo but gee as an ex Victorian who holidayrd with my parents on the Gold Coast that’s what you knew.As an 18 or 19 year old who has finished school ans wants an adventure the goldy is the place.Has always been a stronger footballing community level than brisy or the sunny coast.They can be beaten though as you know but they never sit on their hands recruiting wise and why should they! Seriously forget the academies certainly not helping the Suns tbh bloody hopeless.Not many good sporting teams come out of Vegas also but at our level the broadbeach,Palmy and Labrador are the ones to beat!Awesome challenge! And achievable look at what Maroochydore achieved this year with not one complaint!
Cheers for answering my question. I suppose the thing that surprises me the most about the situation is that a lot of former Suns/GC academy players are actually playing for Southport (Crossleys, Joyces, Scheer, Osborne, Dawson, Boston, Davis, Tape, Willis, Reeves, Nutting, Charlesworth, Boakye, Colenso, Gilmore) so I didn't think there was enough talent to go around for another four QAFL teams but I guess the results suggest otherwise. Southport also dominated in the VFL this year so clearly most of the best players with Gold Coast ties are running around for Southport at the moment and I guess it just means the standard of footballers playing locally on the Gold Coast at the moment goes pretty deep.

The QAFL is in a really interesting spot right now because more than 50% of the league is based outside of Brisbane so you would expect at least one Gold Coast/Sunshine Coast team to make the GF every year but history shows us that just one Brisbane-based team (Morningside, 2020) has made the QAFL Grand Final in the last six years. As has been pointed out already, it will be very interesting to see how Aspley goes next year now that they've stepped down from the VFL (where they were getting dominated anyway).

Broady ,,,, more re signs for 2022 .. the Hawk Chadwck , Winter and Pickering , and young guns Taylor , Harrington .

Be honest , do you get the Vasoline out every time a Premiership player re signs?

Are you going to inform us if the same trainers & water carriers are returning too?

Be honest , do you get the Vasoline out every time a Premiership player re signs?

Are you going to inform us if the same trainers & water carriers are returning too?

ABLETT, well done , yes the same trainers and water carriers as well with a queue of volanteers putting their hands up to participate in the success ....Also still have plenty of player announcements to make so stay tuned Champ !!!!

The method of my postings here is to show Premiers , Broadbeach , are releasing all the signings etc, upfront whilst you guys sit here and post which player is going to play where .. these numerous comments about where Payne will play .,, where will Hammleman play and so on .. gets boring guys

Been announcing players daily for a week. Bigfooty not our chosen media platform sorry, might get stuyd1 on board as our PR manager.

One thing I can confirm is that we will be super young even younger than 2021.

You should play and raise the average age to 28 on your own…

This sh*t is ridiculous.

Grange had 5 boys from the Sunshine Coast aged 17 -19 playing there in 2021.

Three of them have been at our joint for 3 years and played in the 2019 Colts premiership team as 16yo’s, Charlie Bowes came down fron Noosa last year as an 18yo, and all four had a connection with Brent Moloney from his time doing junior development coaching up the coast.

So, we had one SC boy, a 17yo, join this year who was a schoolmate of some of the others and played mainly Colts with a couple of senior games late in the season when our injury situation went from bad to worse.

Payments to this supergroup for 2021 would have totalled around $1k, primarily to cover petrol costs for young blokes who, not surprisingly, tend to travel to and from training together.

If anyone here reckons there’s “ more to it than that”, and actually knows more about the situation than me, go for your life.

My comment was around "kids coming from the sunny coast..." implying they can't get what they need up here.
Of course there is a relationship with these boys, not all around time at Noosa because a few of them are from Kawana / Caloundra. But there was a family relationship with one (Maskell) who convinced a mate to come down as well. That's fine. But it is the relationship that is the pull factor, not some wonder program being run at the Gorillas. Thats all I was saying - wouldn't have a clue about $$ on offer.

I would say though that any boy who is travelling between 200 - 300km round trip to train / play footy at QAFL level is being poorly advised when there is plenty of options on the coast itself, especially now that Noosa has made the jump up. Surely there are enough kids in Brisbane to coax to your club without suggesting to ones that are sitting a long way away to do so.

Agree and disagree.

I agree that at some stage results have to speak for themselves eventually and agree that the best development program needs several seasoned leaders to have win/loss success

I disagree that you need anything like a good development program to have an immediate & favourable win/loss result and I disagree that at the 1/3 of the way mark of Grange's "youth" strategy that you can give it a pass or fail mark. At end 2023 I reckon you probably can

Big assumption that alot of these blokes will stick around Lagging - not sure I've ever really seen a 3-5 year plan work at this level of footy.

Young blokes need a decent amount of 24-30 year old to progress their football I believe. I’m not sure if grange has had that demographic of players for a while now. Certainly not top end players

I don’t get why everyone has a crack at them on here though. Always been a well respected club with great volunteers. I personally hope they work their way up the ladder in the next couple of seasons but it’s very hard when the strong performing clubs keep getting stronger

They had a fair few more senior players when Trewella was coaching. I agree, always had a great volunteer base and good people around dating back as far as the PHC days. Good part of town for drawing players. Always surprised me that there hasn't been even reasonable success over the past decade or so.

Seems very quiet on the Mt Gravatt, Sherwood and Morningside front. Has anybody heard anything of interest?

Maroochy start preseason on Tuesday. Not sure who has been in the gun but I would predict they realise there needs to be a fair improvement on the list to get close to what they achieved this year. Especially with Aspley coming back and all these signings from Broady... :) (only kidding Stuyd.. )

The method of my postings here is to show Premiers , Broadbeach , are releasing all the signings etc, upfront whilst you guys sit here and post which player is going to play where .. these numerous comments about where Payne will play .,, where will Hammleman play and so on .. gets boring guys
they’re more interesting then
My comment was around "kids coming from the sunny coast..." implying they can't get what they need up here.
Of course there is a relationship with these boys, not all around time at Noosa because a few of them are from Kawana / Caloundra. But there was a family relationship with one (Maskell) who convinced a mate to come down as well. That's fine. But it is the relationship that is the pull factor, not some wonder program being run at the Gorillas. Thats all I was saying - wouldn't have a clue about $$ on offer.

I would say though that any boy who is travelling between 200 - 300km round trip to train / play footy at QAFL level is being poorly advised when there is plenty of options on the coast itself, especially now that Noosa has made the jump up. Surely there are enough kids in Brisbane to coax to your club without suggesting to ones that are sitting a long way away to do so.
It’s the choice of the player.