Preview R2: Changes v Port

• Thread starter Thread starter Scorpus

Who is hawthorn's current chb?

I'll give you a clue - his last name is Gibson. ;)

He's named on their list at CHB, but he's not a key defender. This week the Hawks are playing with a single, solitary KPD, James Frawley.

And you're suggesting the solution is to purposefully play a weaker defense? How bad they're going isn't rekevant to us putting our best defensive structure on the deck.

Defense is something done by the whole team, and changing the structure of the back 6 because the midfield was too weak to work in the best structure indicates that our midfield is, in fact, too weak to win a premiership. Hartigan and Talia and Lever is one tall too many for the structures most recently successful, unless we want to concede here and now that Lever is not a KPD, and never will be one.

I cant come at that. I believe we are always in contention every year.

So you think every team is in contention every season?

Gibson gets monstered by the genuine KPF's as well though, just like Cheney. However, they can play on the 3rd tallest forward as they are smart at reading the play and using their body.
Gibson = lever

Cheney = neither!

He's named on their list at CHB, but he's not a key defender. This week the Hawks are playing with a single, solitary KPD, James Frawley.
Lol, Gibson has regularly played as a kpp defender... Tho agree hawks prefer him as the 3rd tall so he play more off his man.

You are in denial!

But you still do it every week!!!! And it's not even your opinion, "I support the selectors you guys are idiots" doesn't count

Every major issue the alleged Big Footy "mob" (is that word in the swear filter now?) has flagged the club has eventually seen the light on, albeit weeks, months, and sometimes years too late.

We warned them about Craig, we warned them about Trigg, we warned them about VB...

Ignore the mob at your peril.

Defense is something done by the whole team, and changing the structure of the back 6 because the midfield was too weak to work in the best structure indicates that our midfield is, in fact, too weak to win a premiership.

It might well be, but the defensive capability of our midfield has been poor for years. Still, we need to put our best defensive group on the park. Right now and last week as well, that means Hartigan playing.

Gibson = lever

Cheney = neither!

Josh Gibson is as much a KPD as Scott Welsh was a KPF - asked to stand the post on the magnet board for lack of anyone else, but a KP in name only.

Height is and always has been one of the defining features of being both a KPD and a KPF, and no matter how good they are at everything else, or how often they are forced to play up due to short handed teams, if a player isn't tall enough, then they aren't a KPP.

And you're suggesting the solution is to purposefully play a weaker defense? How bad they're going isn't rekevant to us putting our best defensive structure on the deck.

Oh, I think I get it, if the midfield was better we could afford to carry our favoured out of form plodders.
Wut. You take a lot out of that that isn't designed for what I was saying but more for something you want to get across. Ask me some more questions and let's manufacture something else for you to manipulate.

They should believe it and play as if they are.

I don't ever want to be Port 2008

Lol, Gibson has regularly played as a kpp defender... Tho agree hawks prefer him as the 3rd tall so he play more off his man.

You are in denial!

Just because the Hawks played him there out of lack of alternatives doesn't make him a KPD, it just makes him a third tall defender who is better at playing tall than any of the others.

He was always a third tall defender playing out of position, and the only time he wasn't is when the Hawks actually had enough real key defenders that they could play him in his own position. This year Lake is gone, and Ryan Schoenmakers remains a bad KPD playing as an ordinary KPF because Roughead is out, and they're already making Gunston play out of position, so Gibson is being forced to play out of position once more.

Wut. You take a lot out of that that isn't designed for what I was saying but more for something you want to get across. Ask me some more questions and let's manufacture something else for you to manipulate.

I took your comment to be in the context of agreeing with Rabbit that we should stick with last weeks flawed structure because the midfield is ordinary. If it was an isolated comment with no context then I apologise and agree. Although, I reckon we'll improve with Brouch getting up to speed and I'd like to see Lyons or CEY in to get Sloane more gut running up and down the ground.

Just because the Hawks played him there out of lack of alternatives doesn't make him a KPD, it just makes him a third tall defender who is better at playing tall than any of the others.

He was always a third tall defender playing out of position, and the only time he wasn't is when the Hawks actually had enough real key defenders that they could play him in his own position. This year Lake is gone, and Ryan Schoenmakers remains a bad KPD playing as an ordinary KPF because Roughead is out, and they're already making Gunston play out of position, so Gibson is being forced to play out of position once more.
You dont see Lever as more of a third tall then?

And I hope the idea of Eddie's experiment playing on the ball and high forward are a thing of the past...naming him in the forward pocket is permanent I hope, play him close to Tex and Jerka who can knock off the campaigners that try to rough him up...not too mention it's where he can do the most damage!!
It's definitely a match up thing

Last week was to drag S Thompson away from being able to intercept mark and cut off supply to Jenkins and Tex

This week isolate Eddie at times deep v Impey

Despite not kicking goals last week it wasn't a disaster playing him high given Jenkins ended up kicking 5 and isolating himself with spud- rito

Isolate the weakest link is the reward for having multi prong weapons up forward like we have

His entire argument is based on a structure and player's attributes that he manufactured in his head. He was wrong and he's perpetuating this by claiming we've panicked. Teague admitted they probably erred last week in not going in with the extra tall. They get it wrong, they're not perfect. But I see you think they got it right again this week. Batting 1000 Baccs, you're a superb judge mate.
I wouldn't have brought it Hartigan, but can understand the reasoning. Would have preferred Knight to replace VB and keep the same defensive structure as last week. He has a different opinion to you, as do I, doesn't make anyone right or wrong. I'll be interested to see how the structure works this week.

I took your comment to be in the context of agreeing with Rabbit that we should stick with last weeks flawed structure because the midfield is ordinary. If it was an isolated comment with no context then I apologise and agree. Although, I reckon we'll improve with Brouch getting up to speed and I'd like to see Lyons or CEY in to get Sloane more gut running up and down the ground.
We need more from our mids.

You dont see Lever as more of a third tall then?

I did, but the selection all year suggested that Pyke saw Lever as a Shooter McGovern type KPD rather than a third tall, so he was being selected for a KPD post after Talia and ahead of Hartigan. The way Teague worded that statement suggests that was their thinking, but now they've either changed their mind about Lever, or decided to revert to the old structure.

I wouldn't have brought it Hartigan, but can understand the reasoning. Would have preferred Knight to replace VB and keep the same defensive structure as last week. He has a different opinion to you, as do I, doesn't make anyone right or wrong. I'll be interested to see how the structure works this week.

After the SANFL game I would have suggested either Knight or Henderson for VB, and retaining the structure - a structure which worked well when the North midfield were still in preseason.

If anything, I think it was our forward structure that looked the wonkiest - as much as McLovin did some nice things in his first game and generally played well enough in isolation to stay in, I'm not sure him and Lynch playing together with Jenkins and Walker actually worked.

There's still no denying at the end of the day we have a major midfield problem.

That could be somewhat remedied if someone,a coach,a banished leader,whoever starts to coordinate our rotations better.
Someone, the clearance fairy, a stoppage nymph,anyone, teaches or installs some form of clearance strategy besides Just getting Sauce to stand under the ball,and if lucky enough to get a timed jump, Palm it down to his feet and hope our insiders can scrap it out.

Our midfield and clearance structures,strategy and rotations are flipping Div-2 ammo quality and completely one dimensional.Got away with it to an extent because Danger was a Freak and Thommo does what Thommo does, but shit it's been stale for the past 4 seasons. Who is in control of this crap, and can we find someone with a bit of football intellect to replace him/her/them please?