Review R20: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly vs. Port: Like taking candy from a baby

our defence hasn’t improved by “go slow” which has been Nicks one wood to improve our defence.

When we went slow we almost lost to Port and Brisbane.

As Worrell said, Davis had brought levers when we had a one wood. But yes lets pat Nicks on the back for our defence.

Nicks can get us up I’ll give him credit for that. But gameplan, nah. Our talented defence, nah.

Attack is the best form of defence.
Since Nicks and the coaches tinkered with our game plan after the loss to Geelong and you and your lads ( that are slowly dropping off ) started sooking about it we’ve gone from 7th to 1st

You’re just looking like a stubborn fool at the minute

I don’t reckon he will. If he wants to come home why delay it to keep playing with a rabble?

He knows if he plays for us he’s playing in front of big crowds and with a team that has gone through their rebuild and will be premiership contenders for years to come.

It’s a no brainer if he wants to try and win a flag.
Nicksy might be able to get him over the line

He’s been pretty convincing with some of our trade targets

Tuning in to 5AA for a lol but they've got ANB providing the most inspired description of team contested work i've ever heard, this guy is a cut above
It was equally the best player response on radio I've ever heard. In fact I can't recall any better, ever. So measured, mature knowledgable and focused. What a get he was!!

No real negatives, but one point of interest remains the last 4 spots in the best 23, currently occupied by Taylor, Pedlar, Cook and Jones. All fairly quiet tonight, as they are pretty much every week. The first 19 are locks now I think, including Berry who has secured that spot.

One spot obviously goes to Cumming and another to Rachele when he is back, and I think Taylor has the third spot at the moment. But there’s still one up for grabs, plus Rachele is a little ways off.

Would like to see one of those guys have a big game and lock down the spot before finals. I’m also wondering if part of the motivation for recalling Jones was to have him be the specialist sub for the rest of the year, given his pace and versatility. If so that could mean Pedlar and Cook are the ones who miss out, unless they can take the opportunity to push Taylor out.
I'd like to see us try Edwards, Michalanney may have opened a temporary spot for him. Not convinced on any of Taylor, Pedlar or Cook. Jones is depth only now.

How did people TT winning the Showdown Medal look on TV? Everyone around me at the game thought Soligo was absolutely stiff to miss out.
I watched on TV; not a great broadcast eg people raved about the O'Brien checkside goal but 7MATE here missed it because they crossed to an ad after Keays "goaled" on the giveaway :mad:.

Anyway ...
Thilthorpe was very good for sure, but my take was Soligo for the Medal.

He was super-impressive, seemed to be everywhere, really influential and his goal in the last was elite.

Maybe Thilthorpe got it because of his rucking, follow-up at ground level and forward craft/work ...?

I watched on TV; not a great broadcast eg people raved about the O'Brien checkside goal but 7MATE here missed it because they crossed to an ad after Keays "goaled" on the giveaway :mad:.

Anyway ...

He was super-impressive, seemed to be everywhere, really influential and his goal in the last was elite.

Maybe Thilthorpe got it because of his rucking, follow-up at ground level and forward craft/work ...?
Wow that's worth the investment in Kayo alone, what a rubbish broadcast!

But yeah we agreed regarding Soligo. He was elite!

Since Nicks and the coaches tinkered with our game plan after the loss to Geelong and you and your lads ( that are slowly dropping off ) started sooking about it we’ve gone from 7th to 1st

You’re just looking like a stubborn fool at the minute
We’ve tinkered more than once, after the Geelong loss we took less risks, just go watch the Pies game. Didn’t switch or take the game on as much, our scoring dropped. You blamed the weather, see the rain last night?

We also went defensive too early against Port and Brisbane.

But over the last month or so we’ve ramped up our attacking play whilst still defending well, Curtin has helped. We are also attacking more late. Surely you’ve observed the change?

Anyway ...

Yeah at the game, I thought Soligo was probably going to win it, but RTT was just as immense. I have no problem with the decision. Heck, a dozen of our players could have won it and would have deserved it!

Tuning in to 5AA for a lol but they've got ANB providing the most inspired description of team contested work i've ever heard, this guy is a cut above
Yep, love listening to him talk footy, no wonder he’s so highly rated for his leadership qualities.
Seems like a coach in waiting

Is it me or does Milera look a completely different player now.

A number of these things have fallen into place to make this a pretty good defensive system.

I wouldn't say completely different player. He's playing at the level they would have hoped for when they backed him in.

Review R20: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly vs. Port: Like taking candy from a baby