Mainly just his kicking tbfHe was....
Managed to get BOG from the coaches in the GWS game

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Mainly just his kicking tbfHe was....
Tex's value increasingly will be in his "value above replacement". A bit like Josh Jenkins, he has attributes that you just have to be able to match or he gets off the chain (I am not comparing JJ to Tex in any other way, just saying that as Tex gets older his value is in the quality of defender he must continue to attract). Now people didn't really think much of JJ as a footballer, but he was tall and incredibly mobile and always good for a few goals a game and even more if you didnt put an equally large mobile defender on him. Well, Tex may not be that fast but you still have to match him with somebody mobile enough, strong enough and with enough football IQ to stop him from kicking goals. And he is really, really good at kicking goals. If Tex wants to play on in 2026, I reckon we will give him another year.I doubt we will with Smith, it's hard to justify giving a 32 year old another contract when they've been out of the best 22 for 15 months at that point.
At this point, I would expect that Tex is still on our list in 2026, if he wanted to continue. Even if his form craters, it's having a key forward that you need to guard against to pair with Thilthorpe/Fogarty that holds value, and Tex is clever enough to be a goal-a-game third tall even if the body starts to fail, which you can carry if you've got two monsters as the headline.
To be fair, it was the first game in a month where he actually hit the targets he was aiming for with his kicking.Not bad for someone some posters here were saying is out of form last week.
Votes appear fairly accurate,
I doubt we will with Smith, it's hard to justify giving a 32 year old another contract when they've been out of the best 22 for 15 months at that point.
At this point, I would expect that Tex is still on our list in 2026, if he wanted to continue. Even if his form craters, it's having a key forward that you need to guard against to pair with Thilthorpe/Fogarty that holds value, and Tex is clever enough to be a goal-a-game third tall even if the body starts to fail, which you can carry if you've got two monsters as the headline.
Biggest hypocrite on the board by the length of Jordan Dawson's arms going for an overhead grabThanks and that’s exactly what happened.
It’s ironic and laughable that jenny61_99 who caused it is now liking the posts having a dig at me.
I reckon Smith goes, Laird hangs around and Tex is 50/50. As it stands he gets another year but Carlton game shows he will need a week off soonish.The list is in a good position where they can bring in Smith from the SANFL based on form.
Good clubs have good senior pros leading the youngsters and providing list depth.
Smith, Laird, Walker should go round again in 26, if they play SANFL, good, that means the kids have forced out AA quality players.
It's almost as if a player can be out of form and then.... regain formNot bad for someone some posters here were saying is out of form last week.
especially when Rash went in the middle he seemed to swap with Dawson, so gives him another target up forward to aim for.1 thing that Rachele does well that is hard to quantify is kicking to the advantage side of his forwards (particularly on deep kicks I50).
For years it's been a source or infuriation of me. Watching a kick go to a 1v1 battle in our forward line, only to see the defender have the ball placed on his outside hip and take the easy intercept. This game Josh had multiple deep I50s where he put the defender in an impossible position with his ball placement.
Agree on his disposal.To be fair, it was the first game in a month where he actually hit the targets he was aiming for with his kicking.
As Danger in Texas correctly pointed out, he was still getting his usual amount of disposals - for some reason he just went colourblind for a few weeks, and decided to kick the ball to the opposition instead of his own teammates.
The reason was he was constantly under pressure. Don't think we rested him forward like we did this week as much.To be fair, it was the first game in a month where he actually hit the targets he was aiming for with his kicking.
As Danger in Texas correctly pointed out, he was still getting his usual amount of disposals - for some reason he just went colourblind for a few weeks, and decided to kick the ball to the opposition instead of his own teammates.
Agree on his disposal.
On the good ship "Adelaide Crows", Nicks used him as the proverbial Chief, Cook and Bottlewasher. It's no wonder some aspects of his game have suffered. Teams know they have to stop him to defeat Adelaide. Rankine also have a low by his standards in that period.
Fair enough but Adelaide losing is not an unnatural occurrence under Nicks.Oddly there was a champion data stat which came up a week ago where Dawsons best performances typcially came when we lost. It was something ridiculous like Adelaide lost 65-70% of the time if Dawson was a top 5 player on the ground by CD rating.
Rankine on the other hand...
Fair enough but Adelaide losing is not an unnatural occurrence under Nicks.![]()
Are you mansplaining the game I’ve watched fior 50 years?It’s the same as taking out a mid when they are hot, only a silly point if you don’t understand the game
Do I have to?Are you mansplaining the game I’ve watched fior 50 years?
To be fair, Tex had two/three players on him at most contests. This is why other options became available.I disagree - its how you define their role as senior
Tex looked so wooden Saturday and Smith only got a contract due to triggers
I think we still have enough left over that we can move them on
So…I’m NOT the only one having a dig at you, but I’m the only one you pull up? Right…Thanks and that’s exactly what happened.
It’s ironic and laughable that jenny61_99 who caused it is now liking the posts having a dig at me.
No you ****ing don’t. Thanks very much. It’s a ten goal win… George - who HATES to see us win (apparently) will find some ****ing little point to harp home how shit we are.Do I have to?
Why the angry respons?No you ****ing don’t. Thanks very much. It’s a ten goal win… George - who HATES to see us win (apparently) will find some ****ing little point to harp home how shit we are.
Sexist comment - while you are telling me how I should see the game? Right. Apologies… angry response because I’m two drinks in on a lazy Monday holiday. I’m a two pot screamer it seems. But fair dinkum… there’s no reason to pick the set up we had on Saturday, it worked a frigging treat. I LOVED that we had such a dynamic role through of personnel - SO much better than the fairly typical Crouch set up where we seem to limit who attends CBAs.Why the angry respons?
Oh and you bought up the sexist comment so don’t start ranting at me
I took offence of the mansplaining, let me put it to you another way, would you move Rankine out of the forward line if he kicked3 goals in the first 12 minutesSexist comment - while you are telling me how I should see the game? Right. Apologies… angry response because I’m two drinks in on a lazy Monday holiday. I’m a two pot screamer it seems. But fair dinkum… there’s no reason to pick the set up we had on Saturday, it worked a frigging treat. I LOVED that we had such a dynamic role through of personnel - SO much better than the fairly typical Crouch set up where we seem to limit who attends CBAs.
that tap from ROB with about 1 minute to go to the Freo player who strolled out of the centre square and laced out his mate for a goal in, from memory the first qtr against Freemantle was definitely worthy of a broken remote!The good: we didnt conceed red time goals. i have already broken a foxtel remote this season so i was glad not to smash another one by giving up a goal in the last 1:20 of a quarter
You realise form relates to past performances?Not bad for someone some posters here were saying is out of form last week.
That doesn’t make it any better. We were rotating players through the middle… Rachele is a small forward that attends some centre bounces. By taking him out of the centre, in THIS instance, did not harm our CBAs. We made it impossible for them to anticipate what we were going to do. When he was slotting goals, they obviously felt his worth was stronger forward than in the middle BECAUSE we weren’t losing the CBAs. Had we been losing, then maybe they put him back. But we weren’t. And they didn’t. AND we won by 10 goals. End of story.I took offence of the mansplaining, let me put it to you another way, would you move Rankine out of the forward line if he kicked3 goals in the first 12 minutes
To be fair, it was the first game in a month where he actually hit the targets he was aiming for with his kicking.