Preview R9: Changes vs. Richmond

• Thread starter Thread starter jamesclean

Will we rest anyone?

I think in most games Berry has played exactly the same this year as previous years. Especially looking at how he performed not just against Brisbane, but other quality teams

However he's played more games than Taylor so he'd definitely be above him in the B&F
wow thats harsh imo.

disposals up almost 50% (14->21), tackles ditto (4.1 to 6.4). best players 3 times inc 2 top 3s (inc BOG last night). wheelo ratings up 30-40%

1777691586235.webp

not sure what hard data you are using to say he hasnt improved here?

Hinge has the skill set that we desperately need.

Yes his form last year wasnt great, but Hinge at his best is still valuable. Keays at his best im not so sure.

The question is whether their best comes out throughout September against the best opponents and coaching groups. Hinge was puss. D Jarman was too in his first couple of cracks at it with Hawrhorn, so it’s not carved in granite. But he’s batting 0 so far.

wow thats harsh imo.

disposals up almost 50% (14->21), tackles ditto (4.1 to 6.4). best players 3 times inc 2 top 3s (inc BOG last night). wheelo ratings up 30-40%

View attachment 2599597

not sure what hard data you are using to say he hasnt improved here?

Looks unchanged against the top sides to me

Berry can't even win the ball. Look at his recent record against good teams

Brisbane - 18 disposals
Fremantle - 21
Geelong - 22
Western Bulldogs - 22
Hawthorn - 12
Collingwood (2025) - 12
Collingwood - 14
Hawthorn - 13
Gold Coast - 15
Hawthorn - 15
Brisbane - 17
Sydney (2024) - 22
Port Adelaide - 21
Western Bulldogs - 14
Geelong - 18
Hawthorn - 17
Brisbane - 19
GWS - 21

18 full games since start of 2024 against finalist quality teams and not once has he gotten more than 22 disposals. As a pure inside midfielder on the ball

It's a terrible record. He's played 83 games now, he just isn't good enough. Not even if he's surrounded with other players

I mean if you want to go off stuff like Player Ratings

Brisbane - 9.6
Fremantle - 10.4
Geelong - 6.6
Western Bulldogs - 12.0
Collingwood - 6.0
(Last Year)
Hawthorn - 2.3
Collingwood - 13.3
Collingwood - 6.0
Hawthorn - 4.3
Gold Coast - 9.9
Western Bulldogs - 6.8
Hawthorn - 9.2
Brisbane - 12.0

8.9 this year against the good sides
8.0 last year

When I see all the signs that got him in trouble last year (fumbling, turnovers, getting caught) against the poor sides like Port, I'm not enthused to see all of that again in a final

Crows “we need to improve our midfield, whose available”
Rachelle “give me a go” and then delivers
Nicks “that’s enough from you Rach”
Crows “we need to improve our midfield, whose available”

Godden’s tape review would have highlighted how 90% of Rach’s possessions were from him being in the wrong place at the wrong time. When I looked at Cook’s positioning in the last 30 seconds compared to his opponents and the shape I’d prefer him to maintain, there’s a lot of work ons there. Look, it turned out ok, but where he was, I don’t want to see that again.

The question is whether their best comes out throughout September against the best opponents and coaching groups. Hinge was puss. D Jarman was too in his first couple of cracks at it with Hawrhorn, so it’s not carved in granite. But he’s batting 0 so far.
Its a tricky one, im not sure on the answer but IF he can get going its a massive plus for us.

Could be a spot for Ah Chee on return too

If you cant see what Taylor brings to the side, ahead of someone like say... Keays, then thats fine, but its wrong.

If Sam Berry had the ball handling of Taylor we'd be talking about a topline midfielder.
i can see the quality when he gets it but he only gets it 10 times per game and averages less than half a gaol per game

time will tell but imo when ah chee comes back zac goes out first - well before peds (or keays/anb)

i can see the quality when he gets it but he only gets it 10 times per game and averages less than half a gaol per game

time will tell but imo when ah chee comes back zac goes out first - well before peds (or keays/anb)
See i reckon Pedlar is in a similar boat. Seems to struggle when we win, plays his best when we get torched.

For a first round pick he isnt doing nearly enough and when the game needed winning in that last quarter he disappeared

Hes a rolled gold ticket holder

Out - we wont make all of these

Walker - the poorest of poor management. Either doesnt travel to Brisbane to play a game we were never winning, or rests last night. Just dumb.

Butts - The body is a clear worry moving forward. Just cannot stay fit.

ANB - Probably wanted to play to give some leadership and credit to him for digging in under duress. Give him a spell.

Bond - Not upto it im afraid.

Cumming - You either give him a spell in the 2s or push him back for Bond. Didnt make any glaring errors but didnt do enough.

Taylor survives, hes too clever to leave out and I reckon he could have a big game in him next week.

IN

Dawson - Assuming hes good to go, id play him back

Murray - Should never have been dropped, straight back in

Draper - Get him out of the SANFL and play him. I get the form isnt there but it was only 2 weeks ago he exploded from stoppages and did all the things we want from him

Ludo/Marsh - neither are ready but give one a taste of it against VFL standard oppo.

Edwards - Should never have been dropped

Do you genuinely praise leadership types for putting their hand up when they shouldn’t? It’s the epitome of self before team. Performance matters, leadership whilst being a liability doesn’t.

See i reckon Pedlar is in a similar boat. Seems to struggle when we win, plays his best when we get torched.

For a first round pick he isnt doing nearly enough and when the game needed winning in that last quarter he disappeared

Hes a rolled gold ticket holder
if you had to drop one player this week out of peds or taylor who would it be?

clearly you know my answer

Hinge has the skill set that we desperately need.

Yes his form last year wasnt great, but Hinge at his best is still valuable. Keays at his best im not so sure.
hinge in that one half the other week shows he is a real weapon. compare that to bond (another one i dont rate) and/or laird and hinge shits all over them re his ceiling.

and yes agree he was underwhelming last year which i mentioned multiple times

Hopefully when Ah Chee is back Keays is the one out.

Hopefully....

It’ll absolutely be Taylor or Pedlar, Keays playing SANFL with these two in the 1s isn’t even a consideration. And won’t be for at least 2 months after his goals against Carlton. Just won’t happen.

I think we need to get Draper and Edwards in the side, as well as giving midfield time to Rachele and Curtin (as he improves his match fitness).

I couldn't care less who makes way. We're not winning the flag this year anyway, so might as well use this year to try to get better.

Taylor must stay, done so much hard work in the graveyard. Let’s see what he can do vs Richmond.

I’d like to see Taylor given a more important role to see where he can get to. But seriously, who gives a crap what players do against a basket case? What ‘learnings’ do you reckon are reliable? Judgements should only be made when the heat is on, and that’s not 2026 Richmond in round 8.

Depending on further injury news, it could be as simple as:
Out Butts (inj) In Nick Murray.
Out Walker (inj) In J Dawson.
ah chee is also due back isnt he? replacing taylor or bond imo, our 2 weakest links

perhaps he gets a week in the sanfl though

Ignoring form, I feel we’ve seen the best of Pedlar. But I’m not so sure with Taylor. He and Rankine turned the tide in the second half when we were struggling against Eagles last year. There’s a lot to like about Pedlar’s attributes, but I reckon he’s been provided full opportunity, whereas I don’t reckon Taylor has.

Time to manage players & try some different things...

N Murray for injures Butts a no brainer.
Let's see Cumming off a HBF as still don’t think we can have both Bond & Laird.
Rest McAndrew for a week, but give T Murray half the ruck time.
Try different players through the middle, including Curtin, Pedlar & Taylor.
if Dawson returns, use him.on the outside &/or up forward, particularly if Fogarty not ready.

Ins - Fogarty (or Maley), N Murray, Edwards, Nankervis, Dawson (or Peatling stays), O'Brien, Draper
Outs - Walker, Butts, ANB, Bond, Peatling, McAndrew, Taylor

McAndrew, Peatling & ANB if fit all back in the following week.

B: Michaelanny, N Murray, Borlase
HB: Milera, Worrell, Cumming
C: Cook, Curtin, Dawson?
HF: Draper, Thilthorpe, Keays
F: Pedlar, Fogarty?, Rachele
R: T Murray, Edwards, Rankine
I: Laird, Nankervis, Berry, Soligo, O'Brien

Dawson and Fog will come in.

Walker and Butts will go out.

They may just leave it at that?

Who else is available?

Tbh the worst performed on the team was probably Curtin, but you'd excuse that for first game back.

Ignoring form, I feel we’ve seen the best of Pedlar. But I’m not so sure with Taylor. He and Rankine turned the tide in the second half when we were struggling against Eagles last year. There’s a lot to like about Pedlar’s attributes, but I reckon he’s been provided full opportunity, whereas I don’t reckon Taylor has.
fair enough mate, and as always time will tell. both have played less than 50 games. i just feel peds has many potential elite attributes relative to zac - hard at the man and footy (one of the players in the league to put genuine fear into an oppo player when tackled at full intensity), burst speed, thumping kick (see last nights 50+ roost), more than double the goal average and has performed in a big final.

peds has seemingly had some maturity / professionalism issues (as reported by posters here) AND been cruelled by injuries. but a top 10ish pick compared to a mid 40s pick normally indicates higher quality in the modern era of drafting.

if i was a betting man, and all things being equal re injuries etc over coming years, i feel:

Peds>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Taylor

but lets wait and see. i will bookmark for a couple of years and we can look back.

and i am not saying zac isnt good with the footy and he has has good skills, footy IQ and execution its just he is slow and doesnt get anywhere near enough of the ball playing as a half forward. but i admire how he has built up his endurance in recent years which is highly commendable

just sometimes people rate players differently to others. for me i have always perhaps rated tex higher than yourself (in recent years at least) and milera but dont rate nank, taylor and bond who have many fans. its all just opinion