Rizzo's Phantom Draft

• Thread starter Thread starter rizzo

If Vickery, Trengove and Hartlett are gone before 8 then I believe Richmond will bite the bullet and will take McKernan, he addresses a spot on the list that desperately needs to be looked at. I also believe that Richmond will look at taking at least 2 talls in this draft as it is one area we are really lacking in. So I wouldn't be surprised if they also went tall at 26 as well.

TOM Hill not tall enough or not good enough?

I have no real knowledge of the draftees, so instead of trying to learn about all of them I just look at the ones I feel will fill a need on Richmonds list. As such I have read much more about the likes of Vickery, Hartlett, Trengove and McKernan because I believe these are the ones Richmond would be most interested in. Whether thats right or wrong time will tell.

Suppose I should read up about this kid if he is a chance of getting picked up by us.

Hartlett
Cornelius
Redden
Blight
Beams
O'Hara

Would be a good result for Brisbane, I reckon Blight and Beams will go earlier in the real thing. There could be better choices at 7 and 25, but wouldn't be too distraught with Hartlett and Cornelius.

Thanks for an interesting read Rizzo.

I have a question regarding the placement of Roughead. I've been keeping my eye on most of the mocks on the board and he seems to go either to Melbourne at #17 or #19 or seems to fall to the mid to late 40's. Was your selection of Roughead at #17 based around Melbourne's perceived need for a ruckman, or that he is best available at that point?

I admire peoples efforts to have a crack at phantom draft.. likewise yourself, and most of it makes sense.
But IMO i can't believe you think shuey beams and klemke will last till 5 and 6th rounds

Thanks for an interesting read Rizzo.

I have a question regarding the placement of Roughead. I've been keeping my eye on most of the mocks on the board and he seems to go either to Melbourne at #17 or #19 or seems to fall to the mid to late 40's. Was your selection of Roughead at #17 based around Melbourne's perceived need for a ruckman, or that he is best available at that point?

Was based on Melbournes need for a ruck, with Roughead being the second best behind McKernan.

I admire peoples efforts to have a crack at phantom draft.. likewise yourself, and most of it makes sense.
But IMO i can't believe you think shuey beams and klemke will last till 5 and 6th rounds

I probably should have said it earlier, but this one is meant to be a bit different. I've tried to incorporate some different players into it. At the end of the day we won't know where those players will go, so ATM my prediction is just as accurate as everyone elses. Because on the day, anything can happen.

Was based on Melbournes need for a ruck, with Roughead being the second best behind McKernan.

Appreciate the response mate. If you don't mind answering another for me, where do you rate Roughead in terms of overall prospects? I agree with you that Melbourne will draft a ruckman at some stage, I just don't think it's a huge priority unless that player is deemed to be the best available. It seems to me that being picked at #17 is a bit of a reach for Roughead (based on my limited time having watched him and other mocks here) and while we're light on for talent in the ruck, we do have options with Johnson, Jamar, Meesen, Spencer (rookie developing very nicely) as rucks with Martin and Zomer (rookie) having rucked at some stage of their development.

Great read Rizzo- I don't agree with all your placements- but your write-ups and justifications are a fresh change from the "Watts is good" comments that accompany many phantoms.

Just on the Roos however (because that's what i'm most knowledgable about.) I was speaking to someone at the club- and we are apparently very impressed in Nahas from his PM games
Whilst I rate Post- I wouldn't think that he'd be gone by our pick 27 (although obviously I could be wrong- I was thinking that we'd be able to get Tarrent at 31 last year!) He's top age- and you'd expect him to dominate in the TAC.
In my eyes i'd think you'd have Hurley, Trengove (as a defender), Davis and Lisle ahead of Post as defenders- and although I think he's a better forward- some club may see Cornelius as a defender- as you've mentioned.

I'd probably also think Nahas is a bit too high although I agree that our forward line would be pretty awesome then!

Great job Rizzo- your picks- especially near the end look quite good!

ROUND 4

60. ADELAIDE
Jay Van Berlo
Nathan’s brother who has been playing some great footy back in WA. The crows would be silly not to take him if he is here at this pick. Especially with Goodwin, Edwards and McLeod not getting any older.

I'm pretty sure they are all getting older. :)

Rizzo's Mock Draft
10. ADELAIDE
Lewis Johnstone
Despite what ADELAIDE fans think, Johnstone looks like a player the crows would love. Tall athletic and a good forward. Has everything going for him.

28. ADELAIDE
Ryan Schoenmarkers
Another Key forward for the Crows. Burton ageing, Gill average, and Trent finding injuries. The Shoe would be a decent pick up for the crows.

44. ADELAIDE
Jamie Sheehan
Really stood out at the under 18 carnival. Electric player who can take the game by the scruff of the neck.
60. ADELAIDE
Jay Van Berlo
Nathan’s brother who has been playing some great footy back in WA. The crows would be silly not to take him if he is here at this pick. Especially with Goodwin, Edwards and McLeod not getting any older.

76. ADELAIDE
Scott Blessing
South Australian born running backman who I rate very highly. Should be drafted before this, but every draft has a few players that only just get taken.

92. ADELAIDE
PASS
Some very interesting selections here for the Crows.

Unlike many Crows fans, I can see Adelaide going for tall forwards with both of their first two selections. I would love it if Shoenmakers was still available at our second pick, but I suspect he will be gone by then. Not sure the Crows would take Johnston if McKernan was still available, but it is possible so I'm not going to criticise you for it.

Interesting that you have us selecting Jay Van Berlo with our 4th pick. Is this just because we already have Nathan on our list? I haven't seen Jay's name appear on any other phantom drafts (which actually counts in your favour because it's an indicator that you're not just another sheep). He's been mentioned a few times on the Adelaide board, but the general consensus seems to be that he's just not good enough to be worth drafting.

Other than VB2 all of our draftees appear to be South Australians. The Crows have proven in recent years that this is not a major factor when determining who they will draft (not one SA kid was drafted by the Crows in the 2007 ND). How much of an influence has this had on your thinking? Would you reconsider many of these selections if there was no "home town" factor?

Lastly, teams which have exhausted their selections do not PASS in later rounds, they simply don't get a selection. A PASS means that they were able to make a selection but chose not to, opting to retain that selection for the PSD. Hence, Adelaide will not choose to PASS with selection #92 - though passing with pick #72 (which you have at #76) is possible though unlikely.

I'd be very surprised (and disappointed) if Richmond ended up with any of the players that you have given us in this phantom draft.

Rizzo's Mock Draft

47. ST KILDA
Todd Banfield
His skills let him down, but his toughness at the ball and the man are top rate. In a saints team that lacks a lot of genuine pace, Banfield could answer their prayers.

~~~

50. HAWTHORN
Michael Walters
Highly rated at his club Swan districts. Could he last this long? If he does the hawks would be stoked to get him.

Dont rate Walters or Blight?

The very fact that you have Banfield going before Walters demonstrates your lack of knowledge, so the description in regards to Banfield ...

..God, I understand the temptation to post a mock and get your back slapped for doing a rad job, but for the love of god at least have some idea.

DRAFT RESULTS

41: Todd Banfield

53 - Michael Walters

Its easy to be a critic. Its a lot harder to lay it the line. Well done Rizzo for "having a bit of an idea"

Thanks boys. Was listening to the draft and thought of you were wrong when walters slipped :o

Predicting Warren Benjamin to the roos so late was also a highlight.