Rudest/Nicest player you've met?

Nice guys

The Carr Brothers are two of the nicest guys i have met, very happy to have a bit of a chat.
Justin Longmuir is another that is a terrific bloke, very down to earth country boy.
Paul Hasleby same as above.
Tim Schmidt is a terrific bloke, is a good mate of mine and anyone that ran into him would have no trouble getting a laugh and a chat from him.
Not a player but Chris Connolly is a terrific bloke.
Jason Dunstall is a nice bloke aswell, had a few beers with he down at 'The Beach' and he is quite a decent bloke.
Adam Thomson
Ben Eckermann

Rude

Matthew Capuano on the same night i was talking to bunghole was a complete ********.
Luke Jericho is an arrogant ********, played footy with him as a kid and he is a first class knob.
Stuart Dew and Che Cockatoo Collins full of themself twats aswell.
Marty Mattner

Best players to have met are Tony Modra, Matthew Liptak, Gavin Wanganeen, Jason Torney and Mark Ricciuto. All of these guys were only too willing to take time to talk to my kids and treated them as they should be treated ie: with respect. Mark Ricciuto even replied later to my son's letter, which was a nice touch considering the amount of mail these guys must get (all handwritten too). In a professional sense both Graham Cornes and Dermott Brereton did MC duties for business events that I ran and both were excellent value, staying way longer than they had to and happily talking footy, life and anything in general.

Worst players to have met are Fraser Gehrig, Mark Naley, Corey McKernan and Josh Carr. All up themselves twats, who think they are A list Hollywood celebrities.

I grew up a mad Collingwood supporter with Geoff Raines as one of my favourite players. A couple of years ago his son Nick (deadset girl) came over to play for the Port Adelaide Magpies. After a game at Alberton, I was in the club having a beer(s) with a few former players and Geoff walked in. The others didn't seem too keen to socialise with him (perhaps they knew something?) so I took my chance and went over.

What followed was 2 1/2 hours of the most excruciating self promotion I have ever experienced. How great he was. How he rubbed Chocco's face into the mud when he played for Richmond. How he made Russell Ebert look silly. And how his son Nick was going to bring some toughness (!?) to the club.

Sometimes it just doesn't pay to meet your idols.

Used to go to school with Adam and Troy Selwood. They used to be fine by themselves but when they were together they became the biggest two jerks you could meet, always bagging out anyone that didnt have big boobs or didnt play footy.

They thought they were soooo good when there was all the talk of them going highly in the draft. Ugly bastards.

Thank god they got shipped off far far away from me.

thats the funniest shit ive heard all week. typical identical twins. friendly seperated but a menace when theyre together.

sitting with the Melbourne players on weekend-
Good blokes- Bruce, Bate, Rivers, Petterd, McLean. These 5 constantly joking around and taking it easy. Bruce and Rivers funniest baggin Bate bout his red hair, and Petterd sayin if he gets lippy watch himself on footy trip haha

Arrogance-Godfrey!

Best - Matty Richardson. Sat next to him at the Australian Open one day and he was a dead set legend. He had his 5 year old cousin or nephew with him for the day.

Worst - Tony Free. Possibly not just the worst footballer I have met, but the worst human being. Shocking person.

I worked at the Lyric night club in Geelong in about 98. The biggest w***er there was Ronnie Burns. Just got shitfaced and wanted to fight anyone who looked at him wrong. Ablett was Ok, Mansfield was a legend and John Barnes was a crack up. He didn't come out much as he lived in Melbourne, but he was fiends with my cousins from Cobram. Funny barstard.

Paul Medhurst was a great guy when I met him. Asked lots of questions and loitered for a while. Was really interested in what I had to say about Freo and other players.

Matty Pavlich is just a really happy nice guy. You feel the good vibe off of him when he walks in the room.

Clive Waterhouse came across as a bit arrogant. Was talking him up when he was coming back from his knee and he didn't seem to appreciate the support.

Anthony Grover was really welcoming. Very nice guy.

Gerard Neesham used to be a super guy. Would always be up for a footy chat.

Ben Cousins is a ****head. Was surfing down at Smiths beach (South West) a while ago and it was only me and Cousins that were out. He dropped in on me a few times and stole some sweet waves. Not long after a few friends came and we all started dropping in on him, not letting him get a thing. He left ten minutes later. Have to admit, we were quite rude to him that day, but his arrogance beckoned for such treatment.

Dean Cox is a complete lad. Gave me some good rucking tips and had the time to chat.

Best - Matty Richardson. Sat next to him at the Australian Open one day and he was a dead set legend. He had his 5 year old cousin or nephew with him for the day.

Worst - Tony Free. Possibly not just the worst footballer I have met, but the worst human being. Shocking person.

Talk to Tony Free at a juice bar he owns, always happy to chat, seems like a great bloke.:thumbsu:

Me and my mate spotted Luke Brennan wandering round Southland a year or two ago, my mate goes "LUKE BRENNAN!!!" and he spins around because noones probably ever recognised him before then my mate gives him the "Only took you four ****ing years to get a senior game!!!!!!!!!":D:D

No wonder players can get sick of the attention when they have to put up with this shit.

Funny thread this one, feel a little funny adding to it but here goes!!!

Mark Dragacevic is a top bloke just a champion all round.

Jonny Barker is a laugh and legend bloke to have a chat with as is Chance Bateman very similiur them 2.

Mills from Richmond is a complete legend but ive also found and some people will disagree but Kayne Pettifer is a realy good bloke.

Adrian Cox is a tossa and so is Cam Faulkner not a real fan of him!!!

Can't agree on Cam Faulkner, had a good chat with him one night, young and drunk but nothing to get upset about. Loves cricket, unlike me.

the nicest was michael Long I was on holiday in brisbane and their hotel was across form ours so I went to get some autographs and I said I'm actually a crows fan and He said it didn't matter and the fact that I enjoyed football was the most important thing!

The Rudest came as a suprise to me cos it was James Hird He was just so up himself and pretty pissed that I asked for an Autograph he was just sitting in the foyer of the hotel by himself reading the paper and i just got a bad vibe from him.

Lance Franklin is a dead set w***er.. Absolute w***er.

Seen him out in clubs a few time. My god he is one arrogant ********. Got kicked out of one club for tellin the owner he looked like harry potter. Even the chicks who knew who he was didnt want a piece of him.

Reading over this thread it seems #1 w***er is in fact lance franklin

Take a bow.

Man that guy is a toolbag. Heard so many terible stories about him, one that is so disgusting im not even going to bother to repeat it. Basically thinks he is gods gift. Needs a swift kick up the ass.

Nicest: Matthew Pavlich I met him from where I worked and always came in with a smile on his face

Rudest: Drew Banfield, does this guy even know how to string 2 words together? He comes in with a 'Im drew banfield and im better than u" attitude. Cant even say hello, he is that shocking.

Tredrea, Wangas and Brett Ebert were all brilliant. Came and had a chat with a sick family member and us after a training session. Tredders especially was very friendly (even if we had to agree to disagree on Premier League teams!!). Crows fans seem to enjoy trying to tarnish his reputation to make themselves feel better, and they would all know of course.

The Blues used to have a Xmas party at The Ivy every year with players in attendance. Nicest blokes I had a chat to were Matty Allan (by a mile), Ang Christou, Kouta & Dean Rice. At Stick's testimonial dinner, I was pretty *****ed & was sitting at the table near the mens room. As Diesel came out, I bailed him up & started chatting away. To my (& many others) amazement, he stayed and chatted with me for about 15 minutes. That photo takes pride of place in my bar.
Nicest bloke I've met from any other team is easily Dougie Hawkins. What you see is what you get. Not up himself at all & loves a beer and a laugh.

Rudest player quite easily was Justin Murphy (at The Ivy). My mates & I had bets running on what number Mick McGuane would wear when he came to Carlton. I know it's a stupid question and all, but he politely could've said 'got no idea mate' or something similar. He snapped back 'I dunno, f*ck'. Then turned his back on me.

Was pretty annoying, as he was one of my favourite players until that moment.:thumbsdown:

Ben Cousins is a ****head. Was surfing down at Smiths beach (South West) a while ago and it was only me and Cousins that were out. He dropped in on me a few times and stole some sweet waves. Not long after a few friends came and we all started dropping in on him, not letting him get a thing. He left ten minutes later. Have to admit, we were quite rude to him that day, but his arrogance beckoned for such treatment.
I get the feeling people who hate ben cousins are dying to post the slightest things about him. Some may even be making it up (not that i think this is made up at all)

But i have met ben and he was one of the nicest blokes and is good to have a chat with. Maybe he is a prick to people when he assumes they don't like him, i am the same, if i get the feeling somebody hates me i generally hate them back lol

It's interesting for example essendon fans say hird is great but fans of other clubs have called him a prick. I just think people take what happens on the field to heart and don't give people a proper chance, they see what they want to see.

Apart from Anthony Stevens, i would have to say Brad Ottens.

Never liked him prior and always assumed he would be an arrogant tosser, but he turned out to be a ripper of a bloke.

Rudest/Nicest player you've met?