Competition Season 31 Rookie Gun of the Year - What are the chances?

From only 2 games?
ezgif.com-gif-maker (1).gif
ROUND 2 CANDIDATES

Defender of the Week - Zoops (ESH) - ADT 110.20

The East Side Hawks had a near 5-goal win over the Furies which took players having big DT scores in the Midfield to pull off. The Hawk with the biggest numbers outside that midfield, however, was Zoops on the Half-Back Flank. Zoops had such a great start to the match, the Furies had to swap his opponent out before it got ugly. Did it work? Well, the sim thought so, but then again Zoops wouldn't be the best Rookie down the back this week if their opponent did their job. With 9 marks, 9 kicks and a couple of tackles, Zoops must be happy with the way they contributed to the team on Sunday.

Midfielder of the Week - Aristotle Pickett (ROY) - ADT 84.22
If there's something in the SFA that regulars would consider an oxymoron, it would be the phrase "Roys Rookie". But Artistotle Pickett shows that there is a spring in their step when they pull on the maroon, especially as one of two rooks that started in the midfield. They certainly aren't making up numbers here though, despite the loss during the week, Aristotle did their best with 5 tackles and 5 Free Kicks alongside 8 kicks, 10 handballs and 2 goals. It takes a lot of guts to take on the opposing captain and that what Aristotle has, doing well enough for the sim to notice.

Forward of the Week - Heardy_101 (MBD) - ADT 134.81
It's just that Aristotle lost by nearly 7 goals, which brings us to the curious case of Heardy_101. Heardy got the most ADT of any non-nominated rookie this week, thanks to being played in the Forward Pocket (the position that gives you the biggest multiplier). Heardy was also looking like they were going to go through that match with donuts, having not gotten a stat before getting subbed late in the 1st. When they came back on the field, Heardy was put on the Half-Back Flank, and that's when they got started. While their stats might look diminishing; Heardy had an alright game for a HBF, which is impressive for someone who got put in the worst position as well as benched, doing his bit towards ending Mount Buller's winning drought.

WildCard for the Week - GREENESHOOTS (FUR) - ADT 128.55
Which brings us to the game mentioned earlier. Zoops was formidable in defence, but what happened to the Hawks other HBF? They got put on GREENESHOOTS. From start to finish, GREENESHOOTS did all he could to keep the Furies in the thick of it, but when you're on, you are on and that's true for stand out players on the losing side as well. We all can't be winners but we can certainly make the task harder for them with GREENESHOOTS amassing 7 kicks, 9 marks, a whopping 16 handballs and other assorted stats listed here:
1613376029927.png

2 games, 4 candidates, 1 nom. Will it be GREENESHOOTS with a dominant display up forward? Will Heardy or Zoops get the nom from down back? Or will Aristotle show he isn't just there for show and notch it from under everyone's noses?
WHO DO YOU THINK IS GOING TO BE THIS WEEK'S "GUN"?

Round 1 of the season has arrived and the winners have been decided. The rookies had their stand-outs that went into 2 categories; they were either from the Warriors or they started on the Bench. Torch winner DockerDen5215 topped the stats board for the rookies with a 20 disposal-3 goal game while Rad Roo ‘s 1 post made him more eligible for candidacy over the Bears kazzfkh. The top scoring players when adjusted for position however where 2 players that didn’t even start the game on the field, and while BringBackTheAnchor wasn’t that far off from getting candidacy himself, he fell short of the person who has gotten the Round 1 Gun nomination.

FishingRick04 had to wait until late in the 1st quarter to join in the action, and had an immediate effect on the game.

View attachment 1056956

Off the bench and straight into the play, FishingRick saw the ball rebound towards him and went straight to kicking towards the goal becoming part of the group of players that scored a goal off their first kick.

Though he wasn’t even finished there when early in the 2nd…

Whether or not his second goal was better than his first, you be the judge, but this guy was racking up quite the highlight reel and he had only been on the field for 7 minutes!

Other highlights include;​

Now this would be where I interview the captain and rookie in some sort of late night talk show host spin-off, but with current restrictions, the only time we were able to be in the one spot was for a spot of fishing.

So there we were in the car driving to FishingRick’s spot when my phone starting pinging, it was GremioPower wanting to know why the Gun nom post hadn’t come out yet. Before I could answer, FishingRick parked near the local bait shop to get “some gear”. While he was inside, I took this opportunity to talk to philreich.

FG: Hey phil, congrats on the opening round win in the sloppy mud and to have one of you recruits be the first nominated for the Gun of the Week. How does it feel?

phil: It makes me a very proud skipper. Rick has already been great for us, and I'm expecting big things from him for the rest of the season.

FG: Congrats on getting FishingRick over to the Swampies. Where did you find him, and how is he settling in?

phil: Not gonna lie (which makes a refreshing change) - we had outside help. Dingster helped several teams with their recruits in the off season, and we were one of those teams. The man deserves to be in the SFA Hall of Fame, purely on the back of his ability to recruit new people to the league.

FG: He’s a loveable character that Dingster, though you had Rick starting on the bench. Will that change soon or will he the team's Bench specialist? Basically, what are your on-field aspirations for Rick?

phil: We're only heading into round 2 of a very long season, so who knows what will change between now and the end of the season? But if he keeps kicking 2 goals every week, coming off the bench, we can't ask anything more from him.

FG: It certainly was a great performance. I know there's other rookies at Sin City this year, how have they been going themselves?

phil: Opposition teams can already testify to the fact that Catsnlakers and powerrrrrrrrrrrr have assumed the role of serial pests, which is fine by me – if the opponent is unsettled by it, that’s what you want, right?

FG: Right, every team needs them. And now that we're into the season and we've seen what rookies every other team has, are there any other rookies that you wish you had gotten your hands on that go alright at qooty?

phil: Zevon was one that every team was chasing, but like a Wonders midfielder, we weren't quick enough.

Before I could reply, something green flashed inside the bait shop before FishingRick came rushing out of the store with bits and bobs I didn’t recognise (I don’t go fishing) and quickly starting the car up and booking it out of there. On the way to the spot, an unusual amount of cop cars went racing past but we thought nothing of it.

We finally got there, set everything up and went out on the jetty, all the while my phone was going berserk from all the pings GremioPower was sending me. FishingRick threatened to chuck my phone in the water so I set on silent. After a while of just sitting there, I decided it was time to talk to the rookie.

FG: Hey FishingRick! Congratulations on being the first Gun of the Week nomination of Season 31. You must be pleased with how you went in the game, especially in such conditions. What path did you take to get to the SFA, and where did you first hear about it?

FR: A long time bigfooty follower I kept an eye on Fantasy footy from afar. With my random posting on the Port board after 14 years I guess I finally got noticed by the recruiters. They asked if I’d join their team and I said yes.

Coming up against a big long time over hyped rival I just wanted to perform. The coach started me on the bench after my poor goal in the Kicking trial so I knew I had to raise the bar

FG: And raise the bar you did! What are your first impressions of the Underground? Is phil, Gremio and the rest of the Swamprats looking after you?

FR: My teammates are amazing. At first the towel flick in the showers was a bit odd, but then I learnt how to bend properly it gelled together.

FG: …okay, how do you prepare for a qooty match? Did you think you were going to be a chance of getting the nomination this week after seeing your starting position?

FR: Coming off the bench I knew I had to hit the game hard. I usually have my finger stretching exercises to warm up and glasses cleaned and ready. With my talent there’s always a chance to win.

FG: You certainly help with the win. What would you like to achieve on the field during your SFA career?

FR: I wanted to be the greatest player ever. I know I am but it’s time to show it!

FG: Have there been any other teams that have stood out for you on the field, or players that you model your qooty on?

FR: No, the other teams are a rabble and a disgrace. When I’m the best I don’t need to compare.

FG: Who else do you think will win the Gun of the Year, and the overall Rising Star? Reckon you’re a shot?

FR: Close the book I’ve already won. There is no one else.

At this point my phone started vibrating. It was GremioPower calling. At this point, Fishing Rick pulled out some sort of gun, shot out what turned out to be a green portal and shoved me through it. When I picked myself up, the portal was gone and I was at the feet of GremioPower, who said “You know, you could’ve said you were with FishingRick instead of ignoring my texts. Now hurry up with the Round 1 Gun nom announcement.”

Well, first I had to book a flight from Brazil to get back home, but hopefully this pleases him.

DockerDen5215 didn't win this?

We need to have a bit of a chat FootyGuy13

View attachment 1058392
ROUND 2 CANDIDATES

Defender of the Week - Zoops (ESH) - ADT 110.20

The East Side Hawks had a near 5-goal win over the Furies which took players having big DT scores in the Midfield to pull off. The Hawk with the biggest numbers outside that midfield, however, was Zoops on the Half-Back Flank. Zoops had such a great start to the match, the Furies had to swap his opponent out before it got ugly. Did it work? Well, the sim thought so, but then again Zoops wouldn't be the best Rookie down the back this week if their opponent did their job. With 9 marks, 9 kicks and a couple of tackles, Zoops must be happy with the way they contributed to the team on Sunday.

Midfielder of the Week - Aristotle Pickett (ROY) - ADT 84.22
If there's something in the SFA that regulars would consider an oxymoron, it would be the phrase "Roys Rookie". But Artistotle Pickett shows that there is a spring in their step when they pull on the maroon, especially as one of two rooks that started in the midfield. They certainly aren't making up numbers here though, despite the loss during the week, Aristotle did their best with 5 tackles and 5 Free Kicks alongside 8 kicks, 10 handballs and 2 goals. It takes a lot of guts to take on the opposing captain and that what Aristotle has, doing well enough for the sim to notice.

Forward of the Week - Heardy_101 (MBD) - ADT 134.81
It's just that Aristotle lost by nearly 7 goals, which brings us to the curious case of Heardy_101. Heardy got the most ADT of any non-nominated rookie this week, thanks to being played in the Forward Pocket (the position that gives you the biggest multiplier). Heardy was also looking like they were going to go through that match with donuts, having not gotten a stat before getting subbed late in the 1st. When they came back on the field, Heardy was put on the Half-Back Flank, and that's when they got started. While their stats might look diminishing; Heardy had an alright game for a HBF, which is impressive for someone who got put in the worst position as well as benched, doing his bit towards ending Mount Buller's winning drought.

WildCard for the Week - GREENESHOOTS (FUR) - ADT 128.55
Which brings us to the game mentioned earlier. Zoops was formidable in defence, but what happened to the Hawks other HBF? They got put on GREENESHOOTS. From start to finish, GREENESHOOTS did all he could to keep the Furies in the thick of it, but when you're on, you are on and that's true for stand out players on the losing side as well. We all can't be winners but we can certainly make the task harder for them with GREENESHOOTS amassing 7 kicks, 9 marks, a whopping 16 handballs and other assorted stats listed here:
View attachment 1058432

2 games, 4 candidates, 1 nom. Will it be GREENESHOOTS with a dominant display up forward? Will Heardy or Zoops get the nom from down back? Or will Aristotle show he isn't just there for show and notch it from under everyone's noses?
WHO DO YOU THINK IS GOING TO BE THIS WEEK'S "GUN"?
Why would I be disappointed? FishingRick04 cannot win again. So, I will need to wait for powerrrrrrrrrrrr and Catsnlakers to step up their games. It’s a long season. There’s time for that.

This week, I’m focused on the Torch. Here, I have hopped on the Forward-Pocket Philosopher‘s bandwagon!

If I don't win this, I'm going to start asking questions about voter fraud 🤣🤣
Nothing to do with votes mate.

giphy.gif

If I don't win this, I'm going to start asking questions about voter fraud 🤣🤣

You'll need to speak with the S30 Election Official tony about any queries.

The last rookie that queried tony didn't get the answer he wanted.
giphy.gif
It was his fault he was trying to bribe me with monolopy money.

You won’t get bribes off me Tony, I have full confidence my performances will warrant your attention. 💪
I like your confidence but I like bribes better.