Chum, you saying that Narre still in relegation battle? What a comedian!Agi
Aging well what do you mean They are still 10 points of bottom placed

BigFooty AFLW Notice Img
AFLW 2025 - AFLW Trade and Draft - All the player moves
Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Chum, you saying that Narre still in relegation battle? What a comedian!Agi
Aging well what do you mean They are still 10 points of bottom placed
Definitely a hammy is what ive been told.Had a look down at Narre today,Narre pressure was the difference in the game,Reid hobbled off late in last,looked like a hammy but I was a fair way away
Do you think they give a shit that some anonymous random person doesn’t support themGood game at Dingley today. Got the chockies over Cheltenham who were better than I thought.
I live near Cheltenham but couldn't support that shit
Do you think they give a shit that some anonymous random person doesn’t support them
Season ending is what I was toldDefinitely a hammy is what ive been told.
Still 7 weeks till finals, if they make it!Season ending is what I was told
Good it be the fill in coach is less popular ? asking for a future candidateAlmost as good as Puppet prediction that Springy vs All Stars in the GF.
Talk me through the game. The All Stars have really fallen off the cliff!
Completely not true mate.Good it be the fill in coach is less popular ? asking for a future candidate
Rumours lolCompletely not true mate.
Enlighten me ?
I agree. It is a silly statement, rules are the same for all. For some that have moved from the VAFA it has been a huge success, for others not so. I think in reality you need a strong dedicated committee with a clear plan and commitment. There are ex-VAFA sides in all local competitions except possibly the EDFL. For Ivanhoe the biggest driver was simply to stay alive. They had a constant drain to local NFL sides who were offering cash and to Old Ivanhoe with school ties. At least being able to pay players and run a bar enables them to compete to an extent. The argument of travel as a factor however is getting less evident with the SFNL and EFNL expanding further and further east. Ormond is closer to Therry than they are to Berwick Springs"ridiculous archaic rules that only cripple district sides" - All clubs are subjected to the same rules.
The recent departure of northern clubs could be more attributed to geographical location than the rules placed on them by HQ. The decision made by the committees of both clubs (Parade and and Ivanhoe) were the right ones as it has secured the survival of the clubs in the foreseeable future.
Travel time to both , or K'sI agree. It is a silly statement, rules are the same for all. For some that have moved from the VAFA it has been a huge success, for others not so. I think in reality you need a strong dedicated committee with a clear plan and commitment. There are ex-VAFA sides in all local competitions except possibly the EDFL. For Ivanhoe the biggest driver was simply to stay alive. They had a constant drain to local NFL sides who were offering cash and to Old Ivanhoe with school ties. At least being able to pay players and run a bar enables them to compete to an extent. The argument of travel as a factor however is getting less evident with the SFNL and EFNL expanding further and further east. Ormond is closer to Therry than they are to Berwick Springs
Travel just on a rough estimate. Actually no- kilometres. Still times are not hugely different. My point however is that as the SFNL and EFNL swallow up the OEFNL, that travel is becoming more of a shared issueTravel time to both , or K's
I suppose Therry is just off the TullaTravel just on a rough estimate. Actually no- kilometres
Yeah nah that’s nonsense ol chap. The rules for the A grade elite are far different to what any district club below B grade are. How blind eyes are turned to free scholarships at these private schools and pretend jobs set up that are masking player payments are rife."ridiculous archaic rules that only cripple district sides" - All clubs are subjected to the same rules.
The recent departure of northern clubs could be more attributed to geographical location than the rules placed on them by HQ. The decision made by the committees of both clubs (Parade and and Ivanhoe) were the right ones as it has secured the survival of the clubs in the foreseeable future.

Didn’t affect them for 70-80 years , did Bentleigh and Bullen Templestowe who joined southern and eastern respectively also fall to geography? You started off totally wrong in your first paragraph. The amateurs elite clubs are given massive privilege.I agree. It is a silly statement, rules are the same for all. For some that have moved from the VAFA it has been a huge success, for others not so. I think in reality you need a strong dedicated committee with a clear plan and commitment. There are ex-VAFA sides in all local competitions except possibly the EDFL. For Ivanhoe the biggest driver was simply to stay alive. They had a constant drain to local NFL sides who were offering cash and to Old Ivanhoe with school ties. At least being able to pay players and run a bar enables them to compete to an extent. The argument of travel as a factor however is getting less evident with the SFNL and EFNL expanding further and further east. Ormond is closer to Therry than they are to Berwick Springs
Yeah nah that’s nonsense ol chap. The rules for the A grade elite are far different to what any district club below B grade are. How blind eyes are turned to free scholarships at these private schools and pretend jobs set up that are masking player payments are rife.
Geographical location for both the clubs you mentioned you sayDidn’t affect them for 70-80 years , did Bentleigh and Bullen Templestowe who joined southern and eastern respectively also fall to geography?
Explain how Fev was given a permit to play Ammos for a game despite taking payments at other clubs this year when Scott Selwoods was denied to continue playing for Ivanhoe on the basis of getting his flight paid to play a charity game in Tassie pre season!!!
Elitist completion I am delighted to be rid of.
I’m guessing you’d be a De La Salle or such fan correct ? Would figure.
Division 2 is the closest I've ever seen the competition. However whether it be East Malvern, Hampton Park or anyone who wins promotion, would need to significantly recruit as the standard in division 2 has fallen away a little from the last 2 seasons.One permit gets knocked back and all of a sudden it's an elitist competition, amazing point of view. Geography in recent times played a huge part in Parade and Ivanhoe leaving, as did the other points raised by Archangel17 - As I said it was the right decision to keep their clubs going.
I don't hide who I follow on these forums and I'm not sure how that has any bearing on the points I made. I've been associated with district clubs and have seen first hand the troubles that they endure, no different to all other clubs.
From a southern perspective I'm interested to see how East Malvern performs in the back half and if they can turn the tables on last year and win promotion to Div 1. If they do, they'd need to heavily recruit as the gap between Div 1 and 2 has widened significantly.
Yeah nah that’s nonsense ol chap. The rules for the A grade elite are far different to what any district club below B grade are. How blind eyes are turned to free scholarships at these private schools and pretend jobs set up that are masking player payments are rife.
Geographical location for both the clubs you mentioned you sayDidn’t affect them for 70-80 years , did Bentleigh and Bullen Templestowe who joined southern and eastern respectively also fall to geography?
Explain how Fev was given a permit to play Ammos for a game despite taking payments at other clubs this year when Scott Selwoods was denied to continue playing for Ivanhoe on the basis of getting his flight paid to play a charity game in Tassie pre season!!!
This is a Div1 Southern league forum so I will leave this topic with this post. I can see the two clearances being compared and to me the Scott Selwood one didn't make sense either. Fev playing at Masala in the lowest level of clubbies is hardly A grade elite however and my club/s have also over the years had player transfers denied due to amateur status and one of those you would probably group as a grade elite. I also think committee is probably the largest factor in the success of a move whether it be between different paying comps or between the amateurs and another comp. Good luck to any club that makes a moveYou started off totally wrong in your first paragraph. The amateurs elite clubs are given massive privilege.
The reason Ivanhoe couldn’t stay in amateurs apart from the few valid points you raised was continual denial of player registrations due to ‘amateur status’ that ex AFL players with no affiliation to colleges they were coming to play for had any such issues.
District clubs are almost extinct in that competition in the last 20 years for a reason.
It’s not poor committees or geographical reasons either
Is there an argument to be had for promotion from D2 to D1 not to be automatic? Should a club need to show sustained success, financial stability etc.? Similarly, if a successful D1 club has a solid on-field history and is financial stable, but has a bad one-off year for whatever reason, could it be argued that they perhaps don't automatically go down if there's no team suitable to be promoted?Division 2 is the closest I've ever seen the competition. However whether it be East Malvern, Hampton Park or anyone who wins promotion, would need to significantly recruit as the standard in division 2 has fallen away a little from the last 2 seasons.
We saw East Brighton & Murrumbeena in the last 2 years only drop 1 game in the home & away season with East Brighton only knocking on the door for finals & Beena just keeping their head above water this year, albeit competitive in most games.
If Cranbourne were to get relegated this year (odds on) & keep their list next season, it will be an annihilation in Division 2 in 2026
One would have to check the current by-laws to see if this is an optionIs there an argument to be had for promotion from D2 to D1 not to be automatic? Should a club need to show sustained success, financial stability etc.? Similarly, if a successful D1 club has a solid on-field history and is financial stable, but has a bad one-off year for whatever reason, could it be argued that they perhaps don't automatically go down if there's no team suitable to be promoted?
If going to reference an old boys club as a comparison maybe choose an APS affiliate. De La have not won an A grade flag for 35 years (and extremely unlikely to do so ever again) or a senior flag at any level for 25 years. Currently winless this season with a % around 40. A very small and low fee paying (by comparison) school to APS and AGSV schools. Clubs like De La, Mazenod, St Bedes are are very, very different entities to Xavs, SKOB etc. Don’t have anywhere near the resources or networks of the ‘elite ‘schools’ and operate very much like a suburban club. I know as I have played at both. We get pillaged every year by the paying comps but that’s life. Our facilities are average at best and like most clubs finding the necessary dollars to put teams on the park is a weekly a struggle. Who knows maybe one day we will move comps. Personally, I’d welcome it, although I would be somewhat torn as my two previous club might face off against each other. The ability to pay might also save us losing players but would also come with the burden of raising funds and the usual bidding wars for over paid mercenaries.Yeah nah that’s nonsense ol chap. The rules for the A grade elite are far different to what any district club below B grade are. How blind eyes are turned to free scholarships at these private schools and pretend jobs set up that are masking player payments are rife.
This is what the league used to enforce the 2 clubs down from DIV 1 last yearOne would have to check the current by-laws to see if this is an option