SFNL Division 1 2017

WHO WILL WIN THE 2017 DIV 1 FLAG

Round 2 what are people's thoughts on this weeks games?
Can mordi back it up?
Will EM bounce back
How will the saints fair against the premiers on their home deck.
Can port continue their good start to div1??
My tips
Mordi v Colts. I'm tipping Mordi to win this by 12 goals after last weeks effort the team to beat.
Chelt v Bentleigh. Think Chelt can win this on their home deck.
St.pauls v OD. Think the districts will be to good in this one. Expecting them to be tops 3 this year.
Saints v dingoes while I think the dingoes will win it will be just. Saints will be better than round 1 though.
The final game on Sunday
Clayton v EM will see the boom side get their first win for the season by 100 plus.
Mordi by 18
Bentleigh by 8
St.Pauls by 40+
Dingley by 40+
EM by about 20 goals

Colts going down to mordialoc and st.kilda city beating dingley what's going on there? Went down to watch colts vs city in round city didn't look much chop. Troy kelm is a gun. Young Mitchell Clarke is a star also see he kicked another 5 yesterday out of 7 goals.

I watched this game. Was even until half time. Colts could of been easily in front at half time but waisted their possessions going forward.
Then in the 3rd quarter a quite a bit of niggle from mordi and colts fell in at one stage mordi got 2/3 goals before it went back to the centre. Over umpires in my opinion. Also as colts we're having a shot on goal a scuffle erupted near boundary and the umpire revered and mordi cleared. Was a good contest overall and score didn't reflect the evenness. Although colts did drop away late in the game.
Looking a very even season to be honest. Which is great for SFNL footy.

Great weekend of local footy. Good to see Div 1 strong. Oaks was the one i got wrong!

Looked very good St Kilda City. They have recruited a big bodied side that will see them finish in the top couple. How far they go will depend on injuries. They have no depth. Their Reserves are putrid. Our Ruckman was out and Kelm smashed us all over the ground. Easily the difference. One of the worst Umpiring displays I have seen in a while. Both side mind you but geez leave your ego's at home umps.

I agree herrbthe games I have witnessed this season the umps are below par. Trying to be part of the game and over umpire to be involved instead of just judging the game/contest on its merits.

What's the go with East Malvern, no disrespect to St Pauls who look to travelling o.k this year but I would have thought East would have expected to be in the top couple this year given their recruits. Results would suggest they have gone backwards. Do they have injuries or have they recruited Dad's Army. Their Ressies seem to be very strong which would suggest injuries aren't the problem. Mullet was supposed to tear this comp apart.

I find alot of the VAFA EFL NFL players that come across to SFL struggle with the toughness of our league.
Not being the cleanest footy going around you have to win your own footy which alot of the good players struggle to adapt to.

I find alot of the VAFA EFL NFL players that come across to SFL struggle with the toughness of our league.
Not being the cleanness footy going around you have to win your own footy which alot of the good players struggle to adapt to.
100% and Mullet being an outside player hasn't had a hardball get for years. Don't forget that they're used to a lot higher quality players from those leagues feeding it to them

Although there was no massive surprises from the weekends results, St.Pauls have been severely under rated, the youngsters they've brought up from 19's are all good players. Surprised by some of the margins though

100% and Mullet being an outside player hasn't had a hardball get for years. Don't forget that they're used to a lot higher quality players from those leagues feeding it to them

Completely disagree. The De La boys at Mordy have been outstanding. All were probably past their best in the VAFA but have not missed a beat in the SFL. Beyond that the St Bedes boys (Barnhoorn, Bastion etc) who came across a few years back have been rock solid also. More to do with age, attitude and ‘buy in’ to a club rather than what comp they have come from.

And to suggest that Ryan Mullet does not know how to win his own footy is ridiculous.

Completely disagree. The De La boys at Mordy have been outstanding. All were probably past their best in the VAFA but have not missed a beat in the SFL. Beyond that the St Bedes boys (Barnhoorn, Bastion etc) who came across a few years back have been rock solid also. More to do with age, attitude and ‘buy in’ to a club rather than what comp they have come from.

And to suggest that Ryan Mullet does not know how to win his own footy is ridiculous.

Some guys that come into the league are actually better suited to it. Toddy loves the hard stuff, where as the likes of Carey did struggle at times.
The De La boys said it them selves that it was an adjustment to come in, especially Kneebone who is all outside.
Playing on smaller grounds doesnt help their cause either.

Some guys that come into the league are actually better suited to it. Toddy loves the hard stuff, where as the likes of Carey did struggle at times.
The De La boys said it them selves that it was an adjustment to come in, especially Kneebone who is all outside.
Playing on smaller grounds doesnt help their cause either.

Well on the evidence so far, they have adjusted extremely well! Another from DLS (a big bodied utility) was clear BOG Saturday and seems to revel in the physical stuff. Steve Tolongs is another VAFA product from a lower division club but seems to have adjusted ok.

Naturally coming from a higher level will take some adjustment but my point is that it is foolish to put a label on a player based on the competition they came from. While true that many come to the SFL when they are past their best they can still be decent players. You might be surprised how many of the best players in this comp came from the VAFA.

And do reckon blokes coming from the NFL would struggle with the “toughness of our league”. Please …..

While I acknowledge it was not you who said it the comment that Mullet “hasn't had a hardball get for years “is just plain ignorant.

Well on the evidence so far, they have adjusted extremely well! Another from DLS (a big bodied utility) was clear BOG Saturday and seems to revel in the physical stuff. Steve Tolongs is another VAFA product from a lower division club but seems to have adjusted ok.

Naturally coming from a higher level will take some adjustment but my point is that it is foolish to put a label on a player based on the competition they came from. While true that many come to the SFL when they are past their best they can still be decent players. You might be surprised how many of the best players in this comp came from the VAFA.

And do reckon blokes coming from the NFL would struggle with the “toughness of our league”. Please …..

While I acknowledge it was not you who said it the comment that Mullet “hasn't had a hardball get for years “is just plain ignorant.

I dunno, I watched Mullet play first hand and didnt want to get anywhere near the contest.
I can only give an opinion on what I observed.

Although there was no massive surprises from the weekends results, St.Pauls have been severely under rated, the youngsters they've brought up from 19's are all good players. Surprised by some of the margins though

Our young fellas have stepped up and are doing a great job. Add to that a fit and firing Kreymborg who is well supported up forward by Steve Muller. Add to the mix that we have Ambrose to return next game after missing the last 2, I think we are well placed to play some good football this year and challenge the teams that were predicted to do well before the start of the season.

I dunno, I watched Mullet play first hand and didnt want to get anywhere near the contest.
I can only give an opinion on what I observed.

Fair enough but to label a player based on one game is fraught with danger. And still have no idea how Langers can claim that he has not won a hard ball for years.

More of a joke than anything of course I cant honestly say he cant win his own ball. I think adjustong to our league has been difficult for a few recruits at different clubs but knowing Mullet he'll come out and make me eat my words this week

Agreed

Competition is going well. Very even in my opinion.
Had a look and mordi v Dingley yesterday and I actually thought Dingley should have won that game. Missed a lot of set shots and clear chances late. Wasn't a great standard though an exciting finish.

A little surprised with other results in the districts knocking off city who have been playing great footy.
Also I know Bentleigh have some injuries though heard from a work mate port colts have had 12 missing and 3/4 of them are ACL's including young jet mitch Clarke. Terrible news.
Another big win for EM who are now starting to click.
Some cracking games coming after the bye.
It's great for SFNL div1 to be so even.
Good luck to all players representing SFNL this week.

Competition is going well. Very even in my opinion.
Had a look and mordi v Dingley yesterday and I actually thought Dingley should have won that game. Missed a lot of set shots and clear chances late. Wasn't a great standard though an exciting finish.

A little surprised with other results in the districts knocking off city who have been playing great footy.
Also I know Bentleigh have some injuries though heard from a work mate port colts have had 12 missing and 3/4 of them are ACL's including young jet mitch Clarke. Terrible news.
Another big win for EM who are now starting to click.
Some cracking games coming after the bye.
It's great for SFNL div1 to be so even.
Good luck to all players representing SFNL this week.

8 ACL's? That has to be some sort of record. What the hell is going on at Bentleigh?

Can anyone give the where, when, coach and team info re the inter league?
Ben Lockwood Coaching again. Team isn't finalized yet. Training numbers have been low. Won't be many missing out I hear. A lot have pulled out.

18301234_1009919185810701_4603536542600324411_n.jpg