Draft Watcher Smythe's 2021 Draft Thread - Full Phantom with pick swaps post #295

Just some general list need observations.

It’s pretty clear Gold Coast’s two most pressing needs are KPD and KPF, followed by speed off half back.

GWS look like they need KPD.

As the Freo posters have mentioned KPF is their main need. Obviously if Cerra goes, another inside mid. Also outside speed is discussed a lot on their board.

West Coast, I believe midfield is their most pressing area of need.

Sydney probably inside mid and ruck or ruck forward.

Richmond need inside mids, followed by KPF I would think.
Richmonds greatest need is clearly KPF. There is only 33yo Riewoldt and Lynch who turns 30 next season.

I think if Ward, Callaghan, and Erasmus are all gone by pick 9 then we will probably target Jye Amiss. Personally i like the idea of Eramus or Ward a hell of a lot so im hoping with all our picks we look to trade up.

PHANTOM DRAFT
PHANTOM DRAFT # 1

1 - Jason Horne-Francis - NTH
2 - Sam Darcy - WB - BID MATCHED
3 - Mac Andrew - GWS
4 - Nick Daicos - COLL - BID MATCHED
5 - Finn Callaghan - GC
6 - Josh Rachelle - ADEL
7 - Josh Ward - HAW
8 - Jye Amiss - FREO
9 - Ben Hobbs - RICH
10 - Neil Erasmus - FREO
11 - Josh Gibcus - STK
12 - Matt Johnson - WCE
13 - Josh Goater - ESS
14 - Nasaiah Wanganeen-Milera - PORT
15 - Josh Sinn - GWS
16 - Tom Brown - BRIS
17 - Campbell Chesser - RICH
18 - Sammy Butler - SYD
19 - Mitchito Owens - MELB
20 - Jacob Van Rooyen - BRIS

21 - Angus Sheldrick - FREO
22 - Arlo Draper - NTH
23 - Rhett Bazzo - HAW
24 - Darcy Wilmot - GEEL
25 - Tyler Sonsie - HAW
26 - Jesse Motlop - CARL
27 - Judson Clarke - RICH
28 - Ned Long - RICH
29 - Brady Hough - WCE
30 - Mitch Knevitt - GEEL
31 - Matt Roberts - SYD
32 - Blake Howes - GEEL
33 - Hugh Jackson - ADEL
34 - Kai Lohmann - GEEL
35 - Jack Williams - WCE
36 - Josh Fahey - GWS - BID MATCHED
37 - Miller Bergman - MELB
38 - Zac Taylor - RICH
39 - Corey Warner - SYD

40 - Jai Serong - RICH
41 - Morgan Ferres - BRIS
42 - Jamieson Ballantyne - NTH
43 - Marcus Windhager - STK - BID MATCHED
44 - Jase Burgoyne - PORT - BID MATCHED
45 - Connor MacDonald - NTH
46 - Karl Worner - MELB
47 - Toby Conway - GEEL
48 - Kade Dittmar - ESS
49 - BRIS - PASS
50 - Leek Alleer - COLL
51 - James Willis - COLL
52 - Lachlan Paton - ESS
53 - Charlie Dean - MELB
54 - Paul Curtis - COLL

55 - Isaac Birt - HAW
56 - Charlie Molan - FREO
57 - Luca Whitelum - WB
58 - Max Walton - CARL
59 - Mitch Cox - HAW
60 - Will Spain - STK
61 - Ronald Fejo Jnr - WCE
62 - Eric Benning - FREO
64 - Lewis Rayson - STK
65 - Lachlan Rankin - SYD
66 - Blayne O’Loughlin - ADEL - BID MATCHED
67 - Isaiah Dudley - NTH

68 - Lucas Cooke - PORT
69 - Alistair Lord - ADEL
70 - Anthony Caminiti - CARL
71 - James Tunstill - WB
72 - Sam Banks - GC
73 - Andy Moniz-Wakefield - MELB - BID MATCHED
74 - Bryce Watson - GC

If any calculations are wrong I will fix them by next phantom 🧐
ferrisb

PHANTOM DRAFT

3 - Mac Andrew - GWS
5 - Finn Callaghan - GC
6 - Josh Rachelle - ADEL
7 - Josh Ward - HAW
8 - Jye Amiss - FREO
9 - Ben Hobbs - RICH
10 - Neil Erasmus - FREO
11 - Josh Gibcus - STK
12 - Matt Johnson - WCE
13 - Josh Goater - ESS
15 - Josh Sinn - GWS
16 - Tom Brown - BRIS
18 - Sammy Butler - SYD

22 - Arlo Draper - NTH
23 - Rhett Bazzo - HAW
24 - Darcy Wilmot - GEEL
25 - Tyler Sonsie - HAW
26 - Jesse Motlop - CARL
28 - Ned Long - RICH
29 - Brady Hough - WCE
31 - Matt Roberts - SYD
32 - Blake Howes - GEEL
33 - Hugh Jackson - ADEL
34 - Kai Lohmann - GEEL
35 - Jack Williams - WCE
38 - Zac Taylor - RICH
39 - Corey Warner - SYD

ferrisb
Just noticed that every pick if Fremantle and WC are WA boys. That would be a first.

Just noticed that too. Freo's first two i think would be no brainers for them, WCE in need of a mid, Johnson and Goater fit that bill but i think they like Johnson. Then with freo having the fwd line holes taken care of another mid is the need and Sheldrick is the best of the rest with a possibility they go for a taller mid (Knevitt).
I think Hough suits a need for wce with their next pick and he was available. With Williams, i thought he would be gone by their next pick and Brander possibly leaving through DFA or next year another tall would suit and Williams was still available and once again, best of the rest of talls, then it opens up.
With freo's pick 19 i expect on the night it wont be theirs. Geel, Rich are the best of the possibilities to swap for it, others will come for it too and freo will maximise the pick. I just did it as it stands.

Thoughts on Brown he seems a bit early for a first round pick has been rated as a second round 25 to 30 pick on most rankings I’ve seen
I really like the way he plays, spreads well, is an effective user of the ball, reads the play well and can intercept mark, but good above his head anyway, clean below knees and has a good footy brain. He went here in my draft as i believe he would be a good fit at the lions, is better than the other wingman/def left in the draft, and i personally don't think he will be available for much longer in the draft even if he doesn't fall where i have predicted. I too have him just in the second round in my rankings, doesn't mean he will go there. At the end of the first, start of the second round, teams will draft the best available that will fit for a need. I dont think the Lions need anymore mids, but another def/wingman who goes hard and uses it well and/or another fwd and i think i covered those needs with best available in the positions from my board.
It's only my opinion though. Others differ.

I really like the way he plays, spreads well, is an effective user of the ball, reads the play well and can intercept mark, but good above his head anyway, clean below knees and has a good footy brain. He went here in my draft as i believe he would be a good fit at the lions, is better than the other wingman/def left in the draft, and i personally don't think he will be available for much longer in the draft even if he doesn't fall where i have predicted. I too have him just in the second round in my rankings, doesn't mean he will go there. At the end of the first, start of the second round, teams will draft the best available that will fit for a need. I dont think the Lions need anymore mids, but another def/wingman who goes hard and uses it well and/or another fwd and i think i covered those needs with best available in the positions from my board.
It's only my opinion though. Others differ.
I don't know much about Brown, but his dad was one of my favourite Geelong players through those horrid grand final loses of the early/mid 90's. Started off as a high-leaping third tall type up forward, and finished as a dependable defender.

PHANTOM DRAFT # 1

3 - Mac Andrew - GWS
5 - Finn Callaghan - GC
6 - Josh Rachelle - ADEL
7 - Josh Ward - HAW
8 - Jye Amiss - FREO
9 - Ben Hobbs - RICH
10 - Neil Erasmus - FREO
11 - Josh Gibcus - STK
12 - Matt Johnson - WCE
13 - Josh Goater - ESS
15 - Josh Sinn - GWS
16 - Tom Brown - BRIS
18 - Sammy Butler - SYD

22 - Arlo Draper - NTH
23 - Rhett Bazzo - HAW
24 - Darcy Wilmot - GEEL
25 - Tyler Sonsie - HAW
26 - Jesse Motlop - CARL
28 - Ned Long - RICH
29 - Brady Hough - WCE
31 - Matt Roberts - SYD
32 - Blake Howes - GEEL
33 - Hugh Jackson - ADEL
34 - Kai Lohmann - GEEL
35 - Jack Williams - WCE
38 - Zac Taylor - RICH
39 - Corey Warner - SYD

40 - Jai Serong - RICH
46 - Karl Worner - MELB
47 - Toby Conway - GEEL
48 - Kade Dittmar - ESS
49 - BRIS - PASS
50 - Leek Alleer - COLL
51 - James Willis - COLL
52 - Lachlan Paton - ESS
53 - Charlie Dean - MELB
54 - Paul Curtis - COLL

55 - Isaac Birt - HAW
57 - Luca Whitelum - WB
58 - Max Walton - CARL
59 - Mitch Cox - HAW
60 - Will Spain - STK
62 - Eric Benning - FREO
64 - Lewis Rayson - STK
67 - Isaiah Dudley - NTH

68 - Lucas Cooke - PORT
71 - James Tunstill - WB
72 - Sam Banks - GC
74 - Bryce Watson - GC

If any calculations are wrong I will fix them by next phantom
ferrisb
Will freo take another small inside midfielder in sheldrik? As erasmus may move into midfield in future and sturt not sure to make it they may go for a medium forward? Like Draper,Houhj,Howes kai lohnan etc?

On SM-A205YN using BigFooty.com mobile app

Will freo take another small inside midfielder in sheldrik? As erasmus may move into midfield in future and sturt not sure to make it they may go for a medium forward? Like Draper,Houhj,Howes kai lohnan etc?

On SM-A205YN using BigFooty.com mobile app
in all honesty, i think they trade that pick

Wow no place for Josh Browne.

From a WA perspective I think he is very draftable, he had a very consistent and productive Colts season for East Fremantle.

Wow no place for Josh Browne.

From a WA perspective I think he is very draftable, he had a very consistent and productive Colts season for East Fremantle.
He is one that is very up in the air as his play, to me, is very vanilla. There are others that have standout traits and to me Josh doesn’t, he is good at many things but has no ‘standout’ trait. Many others are in front of him because of this and yes he is draftable but at what point and to whom I’m not sure. I can’t see a spot for him in the first 2 rounds then after that teams will pick for needs base before others get snatched up so he may fall further. IMO rookie spot

PHANTOM DRAFT # 1

3 - Mac Andrew - GWS
5 - Finn Callaghan - GC
6 - Josh Rachelle - ADEL
7 - Josh Ward - HAW
8 - Jye Amiss - FREO
9 - Ben Hobbs - RICH
10 - Neil Erasmus - FREO
11 - Josh Gibcus - STK
12 - Matt Johnson - WCE
13 - Josh Goater - ESS
15 - Josh Sinn - GWS
16 - Tom Brown - BRIS
18 - Sammy Butler - SYD

22 - Arlo Draper - NTH
23 - Rhett Bazzo - HAW
24 - Darcy Wilmot - GEEL
25 - Tyler Sonsie - HAW
26 - Jesse Motlop - CARL
28 - Ned Long - RICH
29 - Brady Hough - WCE
31 - Matt Roberts - SYD
32 - Blake Howes - GEEL
33 - Hugh Jackson - ADEL
34 - Kai Lohmann - GEEL
35 - Jack Williams - WCE
38 - Zac Taylor - RICH
39 - Corey Warner - SYD

40 - Jai Serong - RICH
46 - Karl Worner - MELB
47 - Toby Conway - GEEL
48 - Kade Dittmar - ESS
49 - BRIS - PASS
50 - Leek Alleer - COLL
51 - James Willis - COLL
52 - Lachlan Paton - ESS
53 - Charlie Dean - MELB
54 - Paul Curtis - COLL

55 - Isaac Birt - HAW
57 - Luca Whitelum - WB
58 - Max Walton - CARL
59 - Mitch Cox - HAW
60 - Will Spain - STK
62 - Eric Benning - FREO
64 - Lewis Rayson - STK
67 - Isaiah Dudley - NTH

68 - Lucas Cooke - PORT
71 - James Tunstill - WB
72 - Sam Banks - GC
74 - Bryce Watson - GC

ferrisb
Enjoyed the read thanks mate. Pretty sure the crows are unable to match any bids on our nga boys - blayne and isaiah. We chose not to nominate them.

Also, surprised to see cooper Murley not get on your list. Has been somewhat forgotten because of injury this year - but he's a talent and certainly has his fans on thr crows board.

Enjoyed the read thanks mate. Pretty sure the crows are unable to match any bids on our nga boys - blayne and isaiah. We chose not to nominate them.

Also, surprised to see cooper Murley not get on your list. Has been somewhat forgotten because of injury this year - but he's a talent and certainly has his fans on thr crows board.
i didnt know they were not nominated, and in the case of Murley i did have him there at that crows pick, and since you pointed out that they are not nominated i will put him back in the next phantom i do. :thumbsu: im generally over those things and dont know how i havent seen that info.

All good mate. Lots to keep track of and you do a top job.

PHANTOM DRAFT # 1

3 - Mac Andrew - GWS
5 - Finn Callaghan - GC
6 - Josh Rachelle - ADEL
7 - Josh Ward - HAW
8 - Jye Amiss - FREO
9 - Ben Hobbs - RICH
10 - Neil Erasmus - FREO
11 - Josh Gibcus - STK
12 - Matt Johnson - WCE
13 - Josh Goater - ESS
15 - Josh Sinn - GWS
16 - Tom Brown - BRIS
18 - Sammy Butler - SYD

22 - Arlo Draper - NTH
23 - Rhett Bazzo - HAW
24 - Darcy Wilmot - GEEL
25 - Tyler Sonsie - HAW
26 - Jesse Motlop - CARL
28 - Ned Long - RICH
29 - Brady Hough - WCE
31 - Matt Roberts - SYD
32 - Blake Howes - GEEL
33 - Hugh Jackson - ADEL
34 - Kai Lohmann - GEEL
35 - Jack Williams - WCE
38 - Zac Taylor - RICH
39 - Corey Warner - SYD

40 - Jai Serong - RICH
46 - Karl Worner - MELB
47 - Toby Conway - GEEL
48 - Kade Dittmar - ESS
49 - BRIS - PASS
50 - Leek Alleer - COLL
51 - James Willis - COLL
52 - Lachlan Paton - ESS
53 - Charlie Dean - MELB
54 - Paul Curtis - COLL

55 - Isaac Birt - HAW
57 - Luca Whitelum - WB
58 - Max Walton - CARL
59 - Mitch Cox - HAW
60 - Will Spain - STK
62 - Eric Benning - FREO
64 - Lewis Rayson - STK
67 - Isaiah Dudley - NTH

68 - Lucas Cooke - PORT
71 - James Tunstill - WB
72 - Sam Banks - GC
74 - Bryce Watson - GC

ferrisb
Given Richmonds KPP depth is now Riewoldt Tarrant Lynch Balta & Miller following the delisting of Garthwatie and Nyoun (to be rookied) would Richmond be better suited to go after the likes of Gibcus(9) JVR(17) & say Williams(27) to better balance the list moving into 2022 rather than loading up on more midfield/flanker types.

i like more of the kpp next year, rather than this year.
If JVR is available at 17 then he would be a good prospect at that range and has excellent scope but after that there are hardly any (if any) that would be worthy of a pick where richmond have picks. Next year is the year for KPP's, its a very strong tall draft in 2022.
Don't forget the dfa, preseason and mid year chances either

Im not sure for us that is the way to go. It maybe a stronger pool of kpps next year but that does not mean the few who are there this year are no good.
Every single year i hear some sort of reason about the tall pool not being good enough.

We have at this stage picks 9 17 29 30 39 41? 83.
9 Erasmus, Goater, i would be real happy with one of them. But fair dinkum Jye Amiss has constantly been rated in the top 10, that is rated good enough to push some highly rated mids down the order.
As i have stated before we only have 33 yr old Riewoldt who is likely entering his last season and 29 year old Lynch on the list. Our key forward stocks are pretty dire when looked at from a number and a succession scenario. A promising key forward is our greatest need bar none.
If Riewoldt retires then we should be looking at another next year as well.

Why would we not be looking at Maybe Amiss with our current pick #9 and if it is a mid we take at 9 then JVR certainly comes into the picture at 17.

With Astbury retired Garthwaite and Nyuon delisted with only the 32 year old Tarrant coming in for what will likely be just the two years then why on earth would we not be looking at a very good promising intercept defender like Bazzo with pick 29, 30.

Two good mids one kpf one kpd in our first 4 picks would be ideal imo. It seems there is a real chance that at our picks worthy talls and mids will be available.
We just cannot keep on not useing good picks on talls.

Look at our better talls and where we got em and where they come from in the draft.

Riewoldt 13 , Lynch f/a but pick 11 in his draft year, Rance the best defender we have had in a long time pick 18, even our most promising tall Balta at pick 25.
Generally you reap what you sew.

Im not sure for us that is the way to go. It maybe a stronger pool of kpps next year but that does not mean the few who are there this year are no good.
Every single year i hear some sort of reason about the tall pool not being good enough.

We have at this stage picks 9 17 29 30 39 41? 83.
9 Erasmus, Goater, i would be real happy with one of them. But fair dinkum Jye Amiss has constantly been rated in the top 10, that is rated good enough to push some highly rated mids down the order.
As i have stated before we only have 33 yr old Riewoldt who is likely entering his last season and 29 year old Lynch on the list. Our key forward stocks are pretty dire when looked at from a number and a succession scenario. A promising key forward is our greatest need bar none.
If Riewoldt retires then we should be looking at another next year as well.

Why would we not be looking at Maybe Amiss with our current pick #9 and if it is a mid we take at 9 then JVR certainly comes into the picture at 17.

With Astbury retired Garthwaite and Nyuon delisted with only the 32 year old Tarrant coming in for what will likely be just the two years then why on earth would we not be looking at a very good promising intercept defender like Bazzo with pick 29, 30.

Two good mids one kpf one kpd in our first 4 picks would be ideal imo. It seems there is a real chance that at our picks worthy talls and mids will be available.
We just cannot keep on not useing good picks on talls.

Look at our better talls and where we got em and where they come from in the draft.

Riewoldt 13 , Lynch f/a but pick 11 in his draft year, Rance the best defender we have had in a long time pick 18, even our most promising tall Balta at pick 25.
Generally you reap what you sew.
Im not really sure if you have actually looked at the 'Phantom draft' properly, none of those players were available for the richmond picks.....and of those that were it was way too high a price to pay for those players and i wasn't bringing in predictive pick swapping.

I agree with you somewhat, Amiss if available with our first is a must for KPF development, but he wasn't available.
With our second though it is way to high to pick someone like Bazzo, but JVR would be a nice get (in a real draft if available) but in this draft i went with best available at that stage and i rate chesser way higher than JVR. If they like JVR and they feel (if available that they could get him a few spots later then they may trade back) as i see pick 17 as a wait and see pick.
When it comes to Bazzo, i like him but he wasnt available with our next picks and and a small crumbing elusive, tackling fwd is a must as well taking Ned Long as Richmond like him. I personally am unsure of his speed.
Having said all that, you do realise that this is a phantom draft version 1.
When it comes to the KPP argument, next year there are more and they are much better than this year.
This year its (in no particular order) Darcy, JVR, Amiss, Andrew, Gibcus, then down a rung to Bazzo then another rung to Williams, nothing after that worth noting except for the athleticism and hands of Alleer, but his skills need a lot of work. Bazzo and Williams (most likely just them) will be the only ones available at pick 17 and that is way to high for either of them, so if one was wanted it becomes pick trade time. I would only go for Bazzo (personally) if he was available at that pick 27/28 range and i would not pick swap for him.

i like more of the kpp next year, rather than this year.
If JVR is available at 17 then he would be a good prospect at that range and has excellent scope but after that there are hardly any (if any) that would be worthy of a pick where richmond have picks. Next year is the year for KPP's, its a very strong tall draft in 2022.
Don't forget the dfa, preseason and mid year chances either
Appreciate the reply.

In your phantom you have Gibcus and Van Rooyen taken just after Hobbs & Chesser (2 players I'd be extremely excited to land). How much of a difference is there in their ratings?

Secondly, how much of a difference is there in how you rate the likes of Hobbs & Chesser against the likes of RCD Dow & Martyn who are unproven midfielders we've taken the last few years who are seemingly ready to step in?

Appreciate the reply.

In your phantom you have Gibcus and Van Rooyen taken just after Hobbs & Chesser (2 players I'd be extremely excited to land). How much of a difference is there in their ratings?

Secondly, how much of a difference is there in how you rate the likes of Hobbs & Chesser against the likes of RCD Dow & Martyn who are unproven midfielders we've taken the last few years who are seemingly ready to step in?
RCD has the best centre clearance of the afl rising stars this year, so that is a good start. Hes is right up there in a lot of those stats so, he, as a future midfielder is a good start. His burst from a pack with the ball and spread from the pack without it is fantastic and quick.
Dow is more of your at pace get through traffic style of midfielder who does lots right but needs bulk and more game time.
Martyn can get a lot of the ball and the future could be good for him once he learns to tackle more and had a really good vfl season this year.
NONE of them are inside grunt ball winners, they are the team that gets around that guy to take the ball forward or tackle hard if we dont win the contest, RCD is the closest and will get a lot more inside ball sooner rather than later.
Jack Graham is your inside leader and gut running tackle machine.
Jack Ross is a solid footballer who will never get to great heights as he is not athletically gifted as the others but he too, is learning the role of the aforementioned Jack Graham except he will be the gut running tackle machine solid half backline player that will go into the middle whilst others rest.
Chesser although not much football played over two years has speed and athletic traits that Ross and Graham dont. He can go on the inside with grunt and dispose with finesse. Has mostly been a def/wing and has poise and control when with the ball, a thumping boot and is a productive player and good two way runner.
Hobbs is an inside beast. Not the quickest but one of the smartest inside mids with his positioning and attack on the ball after reading the play but also has Joel Selwood kamikaze style attacks too which is not a bad thing for a ball/clearance winning mid to have.
Van Rooyen has, as a forward, a Nick Reiwoldt style of play to him, running way up to the wing sometimes on a lead or to help win the ball then turn and he will beat his opponents back to the fwd line. Has also played down back and shown he can read the play well and intercept but his 1 v 1 work is a fair way off from AFL level. He is a good kick and good below his knees.
Gibcus is a good defender and very good interceptor at the under age level but with not much footy in 2 years and no champs against some of the best of his age i dont see why i would take such a risk with a high pick, if he was available at 17 i understand. Remember Fischer McAsey??
I would take neither at Richmonds first pick, but if Gibcus was there at 17 then yes, that is value, but he wont be available as he has his fanciers. I think it will be a close call as to whether JVR is there at 17 and if he is maybe he is a chance.
ALSO remember with all these kids, the club recruiters are the only ones who know about the kids who will have homesickness or will be no good attitude and maturity wise if they leave home for a team far away. Some of them are just messed in the head as well (anyone remember Tom Lamb) and we (stuck at home for most part of 2 years) wouldnt know. So some kids will go higher than other and some will drop a lot and we here on this sight all get surprised by it. but it happens every year, so it will, again happen this year.