Southern Football League (Vic) Division 3 Seniors & Reserves 2015

2015 Premiership

Trade News?

Trade news? Watch Heatherton poach a majority of the talent from Div 3 with coin.

Guaranteed to happen. Why else would a team that was going to drop a division host finals that year? A couple of grand x 4 weeks is plenty of coin to conivince Div 3 talent to move to them.

s**t form from Canizzo and the SFL if this is the case. Making the strong clubs stronger and those that are left in Div 3 to dwindle.

Watch this space, but I know I'm spot on...

Trade news? Watch Heatherton poach a majority of the talent from Div 3 with coin.

Guaranteed to happen. Why else would a team that was going to drop a division host finals that year? A couple of grand x 4 weeks is plenty of coin to conivince Div 3 talent to move to them.

s**t form from Canizzo and the SFL if this is the case. Making the strong clubs stronger and those that are left in Div 3 to dwindle.

Watch this space, but I know I'm spot on...
Heatherton won the tender. It's pretty simple mate. I'm pretty sure Cannizzo didn't give them finals to raid Divvy 3 players. What club in Divvy 3 could host finals? Not one secure venue in this comp.

Quiet observer, you're spot on. I know for a fact that Heatherton have (after poaching Cameron Moon and Chris Tosin from Dandenong in 2013) poached Matthew Van Shik, Cameron Treloar and Shannon O'Conner (as a player/fitness coach) from Dandenong and look to have Brodie OLachlan from Danenong as well - that is not 100% though.

5 (potentially 6) from one club to another in 2 seasons for cash just says it all. No wonder clubs stay in Div 3, and if they get out into Div 2 they're usually back in Div 3 within 5 seasons. MK, BR, SY and LYN can all vouch for this.

Why clubs get rewarded with every final for a division is a joke. Why can't all clubs that apply to host finals get at least 1 week as they do in country leagues for example

Div 3 finals
Week 1 - Heatherton
Week 2 - Cheltenham
Week 3 - Clayton

If Heatherton is a better final venue than Dingley I'd be very surprised......

Quiet observer, you're spot on. I know for a fact that Heatherton have (after poaching Cameron Moon and Chris Tosin from Dandenong in 2013) poached Matthew Van Shik, Cameron Treloar and Shannon O'Conner (as a player/fitness coach) from Dandenong and look to have Brodie OLachlan from Danenong as well - that is not 100% though.

5 (potentially 6) from one club to another in 2 seasons for cash just says it all. No wonder clubs stay in Div 3, and if they get out into Div 2 they're usually back in Div 3 within 5 seasons. MK, BR, SY and LYN can all vouch for this.

Why clubs get rewarded with every final for a division is a joke. Why can't all clubs that apply to host finals get at least 1 week as they do in country leagues for example

Div 3 finals
Week 1 - Heatherton
Week 2 - Cheltenham
Week 3 - Clayton

If Heatherton is a better final venue than Dingley I'd be very surprised......

Because then you would need 9 clubs to apply for finals to cover all finals in all divisions. IIRC there was only 7 clubs who applied this year.

Much easier to find 3 clubs to host finals in a 1 tier comp in the country then it is to find 9 clubs with adequate fencing in the metro.

Unfortunatley for the great people at Heatherton they will not be hosting any finals again soon. Whilst infrastruture is good unfortunatley its postion and accessabilty in terms of getting there then IN/OUT is a not only difficult but dangerous as proven this year.

In fact the decision will not even be an SFL one as the emergency services and council will not allow that venue to host +1000 people there due to process of evacuation.

Unfortunatley for the great people at Heatherton they will not be hosting any finals again soon. Whilst infrastruture is good unfortunatley its postion and accessabilty in terms of getting there then IN/OUT is a not only difficult but dangerous as proven this year.

In fact the decision will not even be an SFL one as the emergency services and council will not allow that venue to host +1000 people there due to process of evacuation.

Bounceback are you really that thick? do you not think all that was taken into account when the tender was won this year. I heard nothing but good things from all spectators throughout the finals series, and it is not the first time finals have been there. Div 3 was also there for a couple of years in a row before all facilities were upgraded!!

Not as thick as you one thinks as its not about facilities its about the infrastructure around it. Crickey if thats the case then what hope has Moorabbin or Hampton got? Even the CEO trying to promote the fact it was a 10 minute bus ride from Cheltenham station was just a desperate attempt to hide the fact no one could get there other than by car. Accessibility IN/OUT, parking but more importantly when an incident occurs (lucky it wasn't a fire), people need to move out quickly. That day ended as quoted by the media "a police incident" with all spectators having to EVACUATE the ground. I can tell you for a fact it took 25 minutes to get out of the joint both ends with traffic jams and no release points at either end.

So you can criticise the messenger but I can tell you 100% it will not be back there. Not SFL call on this but council and emergency services will cull the idea.

Not as thick as you one thinks as its not about facilities its about the infrastructure around it. Crickey if thats the case then what hope has Moorabbin or Hampton got? Even the CEO trying to promote the fact it was a 10 minute bus ride from Cheltenham station was just a desperate attempt to hide the fact no one could get there other than by car. Accessibility IN/OUT, parking but more importantly when an incident occurs (lucky it wasn't a fire), people need to move out quickly. That day ended as quoted by the media "a police incident" with all spectators having to EVACUATE the ground. I can tell you for a fact it took 25 minutes to get out of the joint both ends with traffic jams and no release points at either end.

So you can criticise the messenger but I can tell you 100% it will not be back there. Not SFL call on this but council and emergency services will cull the idea.
If there was a fire??? Really. Don't you think people could gather in the middle of the ground. There is a road with two exit points, Chelt, Clayton, Springy all have the same. I personally don't know anyone who catches public transport to SFL Finals. 1% of the crowd maybe. Lack of Security was the problem and 5 or 6 drunken supporters, it's that simple. H'ton tendered for the finals and the only way they make money is by selling food and drink. The league gets the gate. Any other club hosting that final probably would have copped the same. Security don't escort teams through a guarded race at Springy or Chelt.

Only differences is those grounds have correct infrastructure with asphalt double lane roads not some backdated single dirt road leading IN/OUT of it. There is only one exit point. Imagine trying to get fire trucks or ambulances into the place and people out of it - doesn't work.

Cheltenham is not a good ground for finals. Ground in poor condition, no parking and a tiny canteen. It only has one exit point also
I think everyone will argue otherwise – even the SFL. The ground was immaculate on GF day. There is copious amounts of parking in all the side streets (free of charge) and the best run canteen in the comp.

Hilarious some of the sooking on here.

I think everyone will argue otherwise – even the SFL. The ground was immaculate on GF day. There is copious amounts of parking in all the side streets (free of charge) and the best run canteen in the comp.

Hilarious some of the sooking on here.
Centre square was a bog heap for the first two weeks of finals. Cheltenham weren't even playing on their ground late in the year yet the league awarded them finals? People with ground access car passes could not park in the venue as the carpark was full.

I played there 3 times this finals series and all three times the toilets in the change rooms were out of order.

Not whinging. Just facts.

I reckon they could find a better venue.

Obviously they put in the best tender though so good luck to them