Roast St Kilda in no mans land - Part 2

Which part?
That it was a shit swamp by the freeway?
No evidence about a dodgy deal but I have my suspicions.
I grew up around that area and know the area well and that was an absolutely shit parcel of land in an awful location..windy swamp near freeway and a pain in the ass to get to
It's no wonder the players didn't like it.
Very poor decision and very suss.
Archie Fraser or whatever his name is.

The whole thing was a shemozzle, no arguments there.

From memory I think we were backed into a corner with one Kingston Counciller (Flopsy Mopsy or something) refusing to allow redevelopment to be done at Moorabbin on pokies grounds.

Ross and Roo tell some classic stories about how bad it was.

Interested in the cash under the table angle though, from memory AFL and state government also put money in.

Maybe we should just move to Frankston and embrace our bogan links.

Players under 50 games on the weekend:

11: Richmond
10:
9: North Melbourne, St Kilda, West Coast
8: Fremantle, Gold Coast
7: Carlton, Essendon, GWS, Port Adelaide, Western Bulldogs
6: Geelong, Melbourne
5: Adelaide, Brisbane, Hawthorn, Sydney
4:
3: Collingwood
And we've got a few who are 21 or 22 but played over 50.

4th season means you're still a kid, in my book.

So we're playing more kids than anyone.

With that, almost inevitably, comes inconsistency. From tripling Freo's score to getting comfortably beaten by West Coast. And everything in between.

Huh?
The map i have says its in seaford.
The Gym which is now using the building has the address :
151 East Rd, Seaford VIC 3198

A 15 Minute walk from "Seaford Hotel".

Its not a swamp , the undeveloped land next to the oval is "Belvedere Bushland Reserve".

I believe the land was , and remains owned by the Frankston Council, so your "belief" is up there with the tooth fairy.

4.5 km from Seaford pier.

Must be a gigantic suburb I suppose.

And I seriously doubt Frankston Council are a paragon of integrity.

When I was younger, Saints fans were split on whether we should have stayed at the Junction Oval instead of moving to Moorabbin. We'd been at the Junction for 90 years. Imagine if we were there now (and not Cricket Victoria).

As a side-story, if anyone here doesn't know... when we were at the Junction, our team song was sung to the song "I do like to be beside the seaside" and included the lyric, "So let's hear three cheers for old St Kilda, for next year the Premiers they may be". Tells a lot about the club history, always hoping next year (not this year). But we moved to Moorabbin, and "Oh When the Saints" became the team song, and we won the flag in 66, so that whole location/song went by the wayside... or the seaside, as the case may be.

But that's the issue right?

Big gap in that core age group

Just saying "we have good kids coming up" isn't going to get you up to the top echelon.

Somehow you need to fill that middle age gap asap.
We already tried sacrificing the future by trading out draft picks for mature age guys. That failed miserably. We’re better off continuing to hit the draft and trying to grab free agents if possible.

Aren't free agents mature?
Like TDK is 26.
Where did I mention trading?

My point is drafting alone won't entirely bridge the gap. Unless the AFL gives you a whole heap of freebies but that ain't happening with Tassie coming in.
So yes FAs.

Aren't free agents mature?
Like TDK is 26.
Where did I mention trading?

My point is drafting alone won't entirely bridge the gap. Unless the AFL gives you a whole heap of freebies but that ain't happening with Tassie coming in.
So yes FAs.
Ok? You’re just repeating what I already said

But that's the issue right?

Big gap in that core age group

Just saying "we have good kids coming up" isn't going to get you up to the top echelon.

Somehow you need to fill that middle age gap asap.

It's definitely possible to stockpile kids for years on end and eventually compete - see it with Gold Coast right now. But everyone has to have the patience for that and most clubs don't.

Completely agree the Saints need to fill the middle age gap. That was my point, that's why we chase Callaghan or TDK or whoever.

4.5 km from Seaford pier.

Must be a gigantic suburb I suppose.

And I seriously doubt Frankston Council are a paragon of integrity.

The suburb is what the suburb is. It has boundaries and a postcode. And its 3km from the tip of the Pier to the centre square of the oval. You have to go further to get there because there's a freeway to cross. By comparison, its 6km from Moorabbin Airport to the Centre of the Saints Oval.

Frankson may not be a paragon of integrity, but it still doesn't fit your stupid conspiracy theory involving corruption by Saints Managment. How would that work, a special deal to keep the land owned by the Council owned by the council?

Can you lot even begin to imagine the inconceivable force that would be unleashed on the universe if we amalgamated the enigmas that are our 2 clubs ??!!

I believe it could be powerful enough to defy all laws of physics and even devour black holes .

( or just powerful enough to flush the toilet )

Can you lot even begin to imagine the unimaginable force that would be unleashed on the universe if we amalgamated the enigmas that are our 2 clubs ??!!

I believe it could be powerful enough to defy all laws of physics and even devour black holes .

( or just powerful enough to flush down the toilet )
The Fremantle Saints! Why not, I would only have to go 6 times a year in Victoria and Ross has already coached both teams. I can’t believe it hasn’t already happened?

The location isn’t feasible. Moorabbin is tucked away in between suburban side streets. There’s no way you could deal with the traffic pile up trying to get 35,000 people in. They’d have to build car parking. The local residents would veto it so fast.

This.

Even getting into a preseason game is a nightmare. People double parking, using driveways, parking in tow zones etc

Again, Casey Fields could be a viable option if the AFL are willing to chip in.

People will say it's too far out from the city but the aim should be to tap into the insane population growth of the area. Cranbourne West, Cranbourne East, Clyde North, Officer, Pakenham... The growth is insane.

If you can tap into the influx of immigrants, on top of the locals who might not want to make the trip into the city, then you could be filling a 15-20k boutique stadium pretty comfortably. Maybe not immediately but in a generation or two. Treat it like Western Sydney and you'd have a facility that could host pre-season and AFLW games as well as 2-3 'off Broadway' AFL games ala Ballarat.

Many on our board agree. Personally I think if a good player wants to come then you make it happen. Got to pay someone.

$1.7m goes a long way though.

Essendon are paying Ben McKay $1m a year or whatever it is to fill an actual area of need and they have gotten worse.

There is only a 4 year age difference between Marshall and TDK and Marshall is playing good footy.

Granted Sunday's game was a rare case where St Kilda's second "ruck" was Mitch Owens but I don't think fielding Marshall and TDK wins you that game. And that's against the team with arguably the worst first ruck, the worst second ruck and the worst midfield in the league currently.

If it was me looking to spend St Kilda's salary cap I would be targeting 22-26 year old mids and someone like Josh Battle.

A lot of chat about Zak Butters, Matt Rowell, Harley Reid etc. being linked to the usual suspects. Those are the sort of players you throw $1m at. If they aren't gettable then better off going to the draft and bringing in Jack Macraes ec.

$1.7m goes a long way though.

Essendon are paying Ben McKay $1m a year or whatever it is to fill an actual area of need and they have gotten worse.

There is only a 4 year age difference between Marshall and TDK and Marshall is playing good footy.

Granted Sunday's game was a rare case where St Kilda's second "ruck" was Mitch Owens but I don't think fielding Marshall and TDK wins you that game. And that's against the team with arguably the worst first ruck, the worst second ruck and the worst midfield in the league currently.

If it was me looking to spend St Kilda's salary cap I would be targeting 22-26 year old mids and someone like Josh Battle.

A lot of chat about Zak Butters, Matt Rowell, Harley Reid etc. being linked to the usual suspects. Those are the sort of players you throw $1m at. If they aren't gettable then better off going to the draft and bringing in Jack Macraes ec.
We have - Mcluggage, Merrett, LDU, Callaghan, Brayshaw, etc

Roast St Kilda in no mans land - Part 2