Analysis Stadium deals - what, how, when - why we need a new one and the SA footy paradigm shift happening

That road closures cost was a joke.The clubs shouldn't have worn that.The AFL should have worn that one as it is their game.

The road closures cost alone is a fraud.I work in that industry and the costs involved in shutting a few roads is astronomically high, and talking to my bosses where I work here in Perth, no one can work out how it costs that much.The fact us and the Crows have to pay that is absurd let alone how much it costs.

The road closures should be paid for by the State Government or the Adelaide City Council who are deriving an enormous economic benefit from 50,000 extra people coming into the CBD and North Adelaide every week

Could not agree more.

actually what taxes are the state and Acc getting directly from all this extra economic activity? Most of it is compay tax, income and GST. If the SMA is a tax free body for payroll tax the the state government misses out there.

Businesses in and around the Adelaide Oval area would be benefiting massively on big event days. While that may not be money directly into Government or Council coffers, they could charge a bit more in rent or rates etc for that sort of thing. There is a lot of money being spent in the precinct that didn't exist before 2014, and not just at the Oval, which is why the government were falling over themselves to sign the deal to get footy to the city.

Thats bleeding obvious but I go back to my point what taxes are the SA government and ACC directly collecting?

All

They have a massive uplift in the emergency services levy, and I mean massive!

are you talking about AO? Business around AO got an increase irrespective of the oval.plus your massive is for principal places of residence - 250%~300% but businesses got on average 25%~30%.

Up from $41 thousand to $311 thousand is massive in my book.

Oh well the value of AO did increase by $400mil from just $120m western stand.

Well, I'm as disappointed as you all are. Clearly there are unanticipated intricacies to this that my source has underestimated. I'll just say that at least 1 significant party believed the deal was signed and sealed - so it may either be the case that simply the announcement is on hold, or that finer details remain unresolved. Sorry to be an Indian giving xmas grinch a-hole, but I wanted you to all hear the alleged good news here first. I reckon us diehard fans deserve that a bit more often.

My gob is now firmly shut until KT opens his. And hopefully 1 day I'm at liberty to explain some of the cryptic messages I have left these last couple of weeks.

Well, I'm as disappointed as you all are. Clearly there are unanticipated intricacies to this that my source has underestimated. I'll just say that at least 1 significant party believed the deal was signed and sealed - so it may either be the case that simply the announcement is on hold, or that finer details remain unresolved. Sorry to be an Indian giving xmas grinch a-hole, but I wanted you to all hear the alleged good news here first. I reckon us diehard fans deserve that a bit more often.

My gob is now firmly shut until KT opens his. And hopefully 1 day I'm at liberty to explain some of the cryptic messages I have left these last couple of weeks.
You could be right that it is signed but not announced yet . We know it happens with player signings all the time. Maybe next week, but it would have been a nice Christmas present. Anyway, Merry Christmas.

Look forward to your future posts. We are Port Adelaide.

You guys expecting Jay Weatherhill to take any prompt decisive action are kidding yourself.

Have a look at his handling of pedophiles and rapists in the department of Education when he was minister and now all the Families SA cases. There was a fobbing off, buck passing, didnt want to know, type exercise when he was minister and then when the allegations came out after he was appointed premier and then the Families SA cases, it was all to hard.

What did he say? You could spend all of the budget monies on Family SA and still not prevent it from happening. Typical defensive lawyer cover my arse type attitude. Why didn't he get on the front foot and say we have to protect our most vulnerable, that is our number 1 job as a government. We have to allocate more resources and restructure the whole department and reporting of these matters and not try and cover them up. I am appointing X to be in charge of all cases involving kids across all departments and he/she has to report every case to me - no exceptions, no excuses. If we have to go and borrow $200m-$300m and our credit rating drops from AAA to AA or A. then so be it, that's the price we have to be prepared to pay to protect our most vulnerable.

But no, there is no vision, no determination, no desire to get his hands a little bit dirty. Weatherill is a classic sausage eater not sausage maker. The process of going and collecting the cow and then having to kill it etc to make the sausage is all too "yucky-poos" for Jay. There will be the same drift from the government with this stadium deal. Say some nice sounding words, but wont act decisively to fix it.

Pretty sad turn of events for a so called Labor leader! What happened to our leaders who are meant to be for the people ? Yep, I know, way to many pages needed to debate that and wrong forum. Only thing that will get this guy of his arse is a panic he will be voted out, just like most of our so called leaders and associates.

I am not expecting to big a turn around. Should it happen, I want to see the fine print! Going to take at least another 5 to 10 years before we wrestle the power base away from the SANFL unless we get some serious assistance from major players is my guess.

Don't lose any sleep over it, mate. Your objective was honourable and you wouldn't have gone into print unless you, yourself, were firmly convinced.

Based purely on feel, I agree that something has been stitched up, but such significant contracts are not idly released. A future date will have been chosen that is acceptable and convenient to all parties involved. We on BF are, however, not such a party.

The EnergyAustralia deal was signed just before last Xmas, but the announcement delayed until 31 January 2014 - Lunar New Year's Day, by pure coincidence. There was a raft of hidden reasons for that - the delay, I mean.
We had quite a bit of fun keeping a lid on the news here, and TPFP broke it first. Then, as I recalled in an earlier post, the 'official' thread was finally opened on the strength of a prediction by some Essendon dude in Melbourne. It's about the only thing the Bombers have got right in some time, apart from letting go of Paddy Ryder.

Cheers! Bottoms Up! Yum Sing! etc, etc, etc.

They also have a massive shortfall in Federal Funding hence the massive lift in the ESL for some. The car park tax was going to raise some of the shortfall but when that fell over there were not too many alternatives other than cut backs. I think we should look at the SANFL to provide a better deal for the Clubs not the State Government. The way this is going you would think the SANFL provided the $500+ million to build the oval and not the State Government.

Thats bleeding obvious but I go back to my point what taxes are the SA government and ACC directly collecting?

All
Payroll tax for extra staff for one. Not tax per se, but increased jobs results in less people getting free/discounted health, public transport, etc. costs. That's extra revenue/reduced expenditure. And I bet licensed venues around the CBD and the casino do a lot extra through their pokie's etc. game days. Of which the government gets a good cut.

Anyone who has had extensive political and or business experience in SA over several decades, understand exactly what you are saying.

Just heard Mark Soderstrom on ch 7 news (as a lead in to tonight's sports news) say there's good news coming for the Power and cows but the 2 clubs will have to wait a few more days yet - adverts on now so tune into ch 7 ASAP people.

Edit:- I haven't read the most recent posts in this thread since this morning so apologies if someone else has already mentioned this.

Analysis Stadium deals - what, how, when - why we need a new one and the SA footy paradigm shift happening