Status of our list

Originally posted by cjwalkley
Hart and Ashcroft are already on the veterans list, and you can only have 2. I think 2003 is Lynch's 10th in Brisbane, so he would need to go around again in 2004 to quailify.

And if the AFL had it right, regarding the club stats, Lynch would already be eligible for the list (as his years/games with Fitzroy would be included as those in with the Brisbane Lions, as already happens with his years/game with the Bears).

Originally posted by Scott
I think the Port Adelaide Football Club will show some interest in Daniel Bradshaw, any idea on what you would like in exchange?
A bullet so I can shoot myself! I don't like the idea giving Bradshaw to our closest rivals and give them an awesome 3 pronged attack. If Lynch goes on it will be for one more year and by then Bradshaw will have the bulk and strength to replace him. I hope.

Must have at least 3 good ruckman in an establish 2 ruckman side. Injuries will happen. McDonald is my pick to go. Once big men start to fall apart it happens too often. Plenty of Clubs need good ruckman this year. Essendon need one and Blake Caracella would thrive great on the right forward flank. St Kilda too, Perhaps McDonald and 1 other for that blonde queenslander they somehow got hold of

The baits: Mcrae, Bolton, Mcgrath, McDonald

Next year will be even tougher and Headland (again), Cupido and Charman will be the ones we need to have good ones. Incedently I think Charman can evolve into a forward/ruckman akin to Corey McKernin.
If anyone will make it 3 Brownlows in a row for the Lions it will be Headland. As much as we all love Lappin the way he goes about his business does not attract votes.
As for Cupido, he promises so much and is our ace for 2003.

Originally posted by acuguy
I know it is early but here is my evaluation of the current status of our list

7.J.Gram- still developing
14.R.Hadley- shows ability, hard to get a start, but has the ability too. That is the important thing.
17.M.Martin-working his way back, showed in the local league he is getting over his injuries, watch him burn next year.
18.L.Hammond-shows promise, could be a trade option, silky skills, but not sure if he is anywhere near ready to crack our line up.
25.D.McLaren- possible trade, never going to make it as a ruckman, needs to be key backman, competing with morrison.
Rookies- Raines to be held, Maplestone to be delisted, Weller to be upgraded.

Originally posted by acuguy
As for wright. I haven't seen enough of him, i have heard mixed reports.
How can you not have seen enough of Wright, but enough of the others to pass comment on them? :eek:

You're still sadly lacking in credibility, Nino.

If Lynch retires (and I'd think seriously about it if I were he - how much more shiite can he take from the umps and not lose it?), how 'bout Crackers at FF? Alternatives are Voss (in a Ricciuto role) or Leppa (obviously need to plug in down back).

I got a feeling in my waters that Power and Notting are looking south (wouldn't it be interesting if either ended at Collingwood?? - with so many ex-Lions/Bears we could call em the "Magoos"!! After 2 flags - what else have these guys got to look forward to? Maybe playing out of footy mad Vic, or playing with the lil bro??

Time for McRae to be thanked profusely, then shown the door.
Big Beau ???? Doesn't take enough marks for my liking & would be great bait. Only trade if something very, very good on offer.
Bradshaw & Bolton - both have had plenty of chances. Reckon both still could make it, in the right possy's
Ashcroft - a must keep (I know he's already signed). 10 marks in a GF & a 300th around the corner
Headland - should only trade if forced into it
Fatty - should offlaod for best offer (anything over a warm 6-pack would be a bargain).

Cheers

Fatty

Originally posted by kimp
I'd love to get Caracella at the club. I'm willing to give some one up - maybe Notting.

How about a three way trade on this one?

You give us (Port Adelaide) Daniel Bradshaw, we will give Essendon Barnaby French and you can have Blake Caracella, sounds a fair deal don't you think?

Unless salary caps or a player desperately wanting to return to Victoria force us to, I believe we would be mad to trade any of our best 25 - 30. We have arguably the best list and are in a better position to grab another flag than we may be for the next 10 seasons. Why risk trading for a disgruntled player from another club (who may not fit in) or an early draft pick.

Apparently the person who was talking about it said it was a name you wouldn't want to hear. However this was before the Wednesday meeting where the players agreed to take paycuts to stay together.

Seems to me that we're just relying on the Dessy family situation to see if there's any major changes.

Wish we had crystal balls but I would lay my money on Crackers to Hawthorn, Lynch to play on, Notting and Bradshaw to be traded and much as I hate it I think Dessy will go too - too much smoke for there to be no fire.

The challange has been defined - 3 in a row for footy immortality. The squad should be kept together - we just haven't seen the best from them ( well, the final v Crows wasn't too shabby ) and I am desperate for them to go down as the greatest group ever to display all the skills of Aussie Rules. It is within their grasp.

History suggests that players don't often get this opportunity , so they should rally round for the BIG TILT.

I'm still strangely unsatisfied by the 2002 season - I just feel that we could play a whole lot better, esp. away from home. I was unsure of the squad's ability to go 'all the way' until the game V Hawks at the G, where we just destroyed them after a good arm wrestle. That's the sort of game we can play, where our skill, team commitment and self-belief grew during the contest until NOTHING could prevent a win.

So, in a nutshell, I don't want any of the squad to go. My hope is that what happened to Des this season will happen to Damien Cupido next season, and that he will become the new matchwinner. And maybe we can snag some more tall running defenders - those Lonie guys look OK - because our core group is pretty sensational.

I know we have been spoilt supporting such a fabulous group but we can go on to really claim a spot in footy's Valhalla. Let's go for it - we have the rest of our lives to pursue more mundane goals !

Mr Ripper, i think you will find that Wright had some injuries this year and along with Gram, i have not seen enough games where they were both playing, i have been fortunate enough to see a few games this year of the ressies, and a lot last season. Though i know many players in the local league and i know their opinions. Hey don't knock my judgement, i touted Reiwoldt and put it on the line with him and how good he would be when he was 15. Do you remember that. There are a few names to watch this year. Shelton, Merrett and Taberett.

What do you think ripper.

Well, Nino, I reckon Jarrad will be a great player for the club. Sure skills, smart around the sticks, great possession accumulator, good football brain. Btw, I believe he played every game this year. :confused:

Grammy, for your benefit, may need a little more time to develop as a player. Has all the physical attributes: quick, great leap, booming kick. Bit green atm, though.

See you at the ressies games in 2003, Nino. :)

yeah sure ripper... totally agree with you...

jarrad will be a star for the club... & i have his socks... WOOHOO!!!

yeah he plays alot like nige & the likes in the way that he just racks up the possessions wihtout being overly noticed....

yeah im pretty sure that he did play all games... i did miss the one against Southport away.....but i do remember talkign to him the week after the game .... & im sure he played them as well....

yeah grammy needs a home gym i reckon...LOL... he has all those great features & just needs to build up the body & will be a champ....

wouldnt it be great to have a bigger group at the ressies in 2003....

Status of our list