Steele will be something special

He has been good in the 4 games and Last Night was Fantastic.

He is great around Traffic and very Smarter user of the Ball. Loved his goal last night.

Still needs more Penetration on his Kicks but that is his only big thing he needs to work on

What a Steal
icon_wink.gif
at pick 11

Not the strongest or fastest player, but he compensates with fantastic footy smarts and instinct. His decision making is awesome, I'm really happy to see him become a permanent fixture in the side, he's been great.

give him a few more summers in the gym and he will be even better, needs to get bigger to withstand the strength of oppistion guns

I think Luke Balls inclusion is really allowing blokes like Rusty and Shaz to step up. Ball seems to block for other players better than anyone on our list and he deffinitley helps our mids get first hands on the ball. Once Rusty gets a little stronger, especially in marking contests he will be a very fine player.

Agree, Luke Ball's value is so much more than his disposal tally.

Steele is a gem I reckon, love his expressions, you can see the guy's brain ticking over...

...like in the Maxy/Hellier video set-up, where he was deciding whether do do a runner or not!!

Important first 18 player now, no doubt

Emma Quayle on Rusty:

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/added-class-making-a-difference-for-woods-20100417-slq1.html

Collingwood might not have won last night had Steele Sidebottom, four games into his second season, not picked the right places to run to, most notably deep in the forward line. Against Melbourne two weeks ago, the teenager lunged and spoiled in the goal square with a second left, saving his side the game. Last night, in the same square, he was in the right spot when a Ball shot dropped short.

He has anticipation and nous, he knows where to be and he's a first-round draft choice that looks like working out.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/added-class-making-a-difference-for-woods-20100417-slq1.html

I remember hoping he would fall to us at 11 and when he did I was very happy. I was also happy we got beams as well at 29. I think in a few years Steele will be known as one of the top 2 or 3 players from that draft, he seems to improve all the time and plays well in big games.

Clearly will be remembered as a gun draft with the likes of NicNat, Hill, Rich and others (let's hope Jack Watts can ignore the pressure of being picked higher than these guys and do well also). As such, who knows if Steele will be in the top 1 or 2 retrospectively but regardless, I certainly think we will be happy with what we did with our picks. Easy top ten value for 11 and 29.

At the moment 2008 draft if it was held today would probably be

1 Nicnat
2 Rich
3 Steele
4 Hurley

I honestly think Steele can be and will be better than Rich. Rich has less footy smarts and not as much upside.

Hurley as a key position as much as I hate to say it could be a gun

Considering we had pick 11 must be happy. Could have had a pick before 11 and picked Yarren (joke) or Watts (joke - feel sorry for the bloke with the pressure Nicnat is putting on him)

At the moment 2008 draft if it was held today would probably be

1 Nicnat
2 Rich
3 Steele
4 Hurley

I honestly think Steele can be and will be better than Rich. Rich has less footy smarts and not as much upside.

Hurley as a key position as much as I hate to say it could be a gun

Considering we had pick 11 must be happy. Could have had a pick before 11 and picked Yarren (joke) or Watts (joke - feel sorry for the bloke with the pressure Nicnat is putting on him)

Hill would be #2.

But we have done well with Steele.

Mate, all for pumping up Steele... but Rich is a freakin gun and has plenty of footy smarts. He's nearly got the body of a Scott Burns at 19/20 and can kick like a mule. If it came down to the wire I'd still pick Rich first.

On form you would have to pick SS this year, has had a much better season so far and I think he probably has more improvement left in him than Rich. In saying that Rich is a gun and will be a star, if you were to choose one to play their best game it would be Rich at the moment. I'm glad we got Steele though, I think he will be regarded as the better player in a few years.

Sidey, Beamsy, Wellers and Daisy have all taken the next step as midfielders this year.

I'd nearly go as far as to say that they have eclipsed our more highly rated midfielders in Swan, Pendles, Ball and Didak thus far.

We have built a formidable midfield with over 10 soild options rotating through which is the key ingredient for all successful sides over the past few decades.

Now if only we had a big target up forward the puzzle would be just about complete...

Sidey, Beamsy, Wellers and Daisy have all taken the next step as midfielders this year.

I'd nearly go as far as to say that they have eclipsed our more highly rated midfielders in Swan, Pendles, Ball and Didak thus far.

We have built a formidable midfield with over 10 soild options rotating through which is the key ingredient for all successful sides over the past few decades.

Now if only we had a big target up forward the puzzle would be just about complete...

Dawes, 2011.