Go South

South Adelaide
Great start to the season...

For me the only 2 highlights was Kristie's cameo/frantic demented waving to the camera, and Dogga's couple of goals.

Pathetic effort.

Go South - well done to find a word to describe it!!

FULL MARKS TO THE ROOS! cant fault em they were brilliant.

All of the worst parts of the Crows game were on show today after quarter time.

Every bit of dumb footy we have played under Gaz was on show today in full force.

The playing out wide, crap delivery to the forwards, lack of some height and strength in defence _ THE COVERSION IN FRONT OF GOALS!!

4 .11 !! How much longer will this crap go on for??

The real concern was the lack of guts and intensity in the middle and defence.

Ben Hart was a rabble today.

There was no leadership or run from defence and nothing at ground level. the coaches box had no ideas and took ages to make changes - too little, too late.

A very dark, sick day for the AFC. I just cant believe we could be that insipid, timid and uninspired across the ground.

The amount of passengers we had in our side - and in the coaching box - was unreal. There is so much work to do its not funny!!

OUT Bode, Shirley - please stay out of the AFC side. Neither one of you are up to it atm.

Biglands (suspend) and maybe Bass (but I hope not)

IN: Schuback, Burns, Hudson and maybe Scott Stevens

Originally posted by ok.crows
What odds am I offered that Ayres will persist with this crap approach for at least another six weeks.

0-6 @ 35% here we come.
Geez, you are either 1 extreme or another. Damn unlikely we will have a 0-6 start. More like a 5% possibility than 35%. This is just crazy talk.

I meant 35% would be our percentage.

Or perhaps our conversion rate, hey !
I'm confident that the Crows will not be 0-6, have a percentage of 35% or lower, or a conversion rate of 35% & lower.

Originally posted by RaDaR ReiLLy
And Go South- was Kristie waving when McKernan was going for goal? Thought it was her

I think it was then, yeah... she turned to look at herself on the screen, saw that she was on TV, then started waving with both hands like a maniac... it was very funny!!

(and she's going to kill me for posting that... *ducks*)

It was about 33% today.
No joke!

We have hardly been thumped for years, yet you reckon we will be for 6 consecutive games! Not bloody likely!!!

Is it full moon or something... :eek: :confused:

OUT : Bode, Shirley Biglands (suspended) and maybe Basset

IN: Schuback, Burns, Hudson and Gallagher

It was pretty awful and no excuses can be made.

Positives: Poor umpiring, The bounce of the ball went thier way, and Goodwins form

Stiffy - yeah I forgot about Torney. Read he had a good game with Souths, wouldnt mind him back in there.

As for Ladhams, dont think he is in favour atm and has some work to do.

Brent Reilly should be left in the side. Should not be on the bench. If he cannot start on the wing, play him in a forward pocket or flank. He can get the ball and he kicks a nice goal.

As nice as it was that Dogga kicked a couple - he did some soft stuff and he is not a genuine forward.

No crumbers today, no one to feed off Carey when it hit the ground, which meant he couldnt bring anyone into the game.

Bring in Burns, Schuback and maybe send Reilly up forward and tell them where Carey goes you go. Put a crumber around him all the time and feed off him.

Originally posted by Go South
I think it was then, yeah... she turned to look at herself on the screen, saw that she was on TV, then started waving with both hands like a maniac... it was very funny!!

(and she's going to kill me for posting that... *ducks*)

no mate, in the mood I am in now - I'm going to first!

I noticed I was no TV and I did promise to wave if I was, so I was following through on my promise! I know I looked like a ******** but then that is me usually anyway.

I have had a ing awfull day. We played like absolute ****ers and that frustrated the **** out of me. However that is not the worst of it.

I left my beloved scarfe at the MCG. I am absolutely devestated by this fact. It was my pride and joy. It was the first Crows thing I ever bought some 14 or so years ago. It has been everytwhere with me. It had all my badges. My Stevo ones. He is going to retire and I am going to have nothing. :( :( :(

goodbye people, goodbye!

k
xx

Originally posted by Jerome
Stiffy - yeah I forgot about Torney. Read he had a good game with Souths, wouldnt mind him back in there.

As for Ladhams, dont think he is in favour atm and has some work to do.

Brent Reilly should be left in the side. Should not be on the bench. If he cannot start on the wing, play him in a forward pocket or flank. He can get the ball and he kicks a nice goal.

As nice as it was that Dogga kicked a couple - he did some soft stuff and he is not a genuine forward.

No crumbers today, no one to feed off Carey when it hit the ground, which meant he couldnt bring anyone into the game.

Bring in Burns, Schuback and maybe send Reilly up forward and tell them where Carey goes you go. Put a crumber around him all the time and feed off him.
Apparently Torney played an excellent game for the Panthers and kicked a couple of goals in the process.

Ladhams might be out of favour for some reason but boy do we need his crumbing ability. One of the most disappointing things from todays game is that we had no crumber. Carey made a contest but there was not a crumber in sight. Bloddy pathetic if you ask me.

Both Reilly and Hentschel must be kept in the side but for crying out lound play them in the right positions. What was Reilly doing in a back pocket?????? What was Hentschel doing up forward. Play Reilly on the wing and Hentschel in defence.

I don't want to bring in Burns, I want us to bring in youth not an inconsistent 31 year old. We really need to make some serious structural changes.

It has become obvious that we will struggle to kick goals. Play Welsh, Carey and Burton at the FF line. Play Perrie at CHF and surround him with crumbers. Play Reilly on one wing and maybe doughty or Johncock on the other.

I wouldn't be surprised if Burns in brought in for the Brisbane games. Lions have shown in the past that they find it hard to cover nippy small forwards. I would expect us to play a lot of quick players in our forward ine against Lions. The likes of Johncock, Schuey, Burns, McLeod and Ladhams spring to mind.

A LOT of work ahead of us. We need a marking firward to step up or Watts will be getting games much earlier than we expected.

Gotta reward form. Burns kicked 4 for the PMs and got in their best. I dont thinks Lads was anywhere near that productive.

I'm all for Watts getting a run sooner rather than later.

Originally posted by Jerome
Gotta reward form. Burns kicked 4 for the PMs and got in their best. I dont thinks Lads was anywhere near that productive.

I'm all for Watts getting a run sooner rather than later.
I guess so but Burns is hopelesly one dimensional where as Ladhams has a bit more versatility. I would play Schey before either of those 2 but I bet that Ayres plays Burns.

THe way things are looking we might not see Watts at all this year. Apparently he has OP.

Can I just ask...why the hell was Welshy playing so far up the ground. He was getting his hands on the ball and competing with plenty of heart like usual and suddenly he's up around the defensive fifty. Then at the next centre bounce he's standing in the bloody centre square?! :confused:

Originally posted by acg_204*
Can I just ask...why the hell was Welshy playing so far up the ground. He was getting his hands on the ball and competing with plenty of heart like usual and suddenly he's up around the defensive fifty. Then at the next centre bounce he's standing in the bloody centre square?! :confused:
Beats me mate.

If we want to kick the winning score then we must play Welsh, Carey and Burton closer to goal. Carey was at CHF, Welsh anywhere but inside 50 and Burton was as useless at **** on the bull on his wing before getting benched and then thrown down back.

Some structure and smart placings of players wouldn't go astray.

Originally posted by MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
I left my beloved scarfe at the MCG. I am absolutely devestated by this fact. It was my pride and joy. It was the first Crows thing I ever bought some 14 or so years ago. It has been everytwhere with me. It had all my badges. My Stevo ones. He is going to retire and I am going to have nothing. :( :( :(xx

You should try calling someone at the MCC and see if one of the cleaners has found it. If it has any identifiable things on it they might be able to identify it.

If they wont send it up to you just let me know and I will go get it and mail it to you if they have found it.

Only saw the second half as that's all that got televised here. (Foxtel are useless.)

On what I saw the only players who were half-way alright Bode, Goodwin, Massie and Doughty. Throw in Welsh too, he wasn't great but he didn't stop trying.

Some thoughts:

Clarke won a lot of taps but we lost a lot of clearances. Not for the first time either.

North Melbourne had no problem moving the ball from one end of the ground to the other. Their kicking looked superb. From our point of view that smells like a lack of accountability. Where's the manning up? Where's the chasing?

Conversely our passing was appalling.

North were often first to the loose ball. And even when we were first to it, there were way too many fumbles.

Carey was as useful as **** on a bull. (edit: whoops, that cliche's already been used in this thread... but i can't think of a better way to put it)

This is the second time in two meetings against North Melbourne we've been thrashed in general play. Fortunately for them, this time the scoreboard reflected that.

Originally posted by DaveW

North Melbourne had no problem moving the ball from one end of the ground to the other. Their kicking looked superb. From our point of view that smells like a lack of accountability. Where's the manning up? Where's the chasing?

This was the massive problem.

Truth is, we are not a side with good foot skills as a rule. The fact that it looked great today was a direct result of blokes having oodles of time whenever they had it. Your blokes just would not push to fill gaps or create pressure on the kicker.

McLeod was not just kept quite, he flat out refused to go with Rawlings when we had the footy.

Just got back from Melbourne and I felt like throwing up today ( and thought it might have also happened on the flight back as well). That was how, should one put it - absolute crap!!!! We played a side today who had more heart and desperation than our lot. Still I do look forward to the next three weeks against Brisbane, Fremantle and St Kilda. I only hope that this was an abheration and we don't have another start like 2000, but Jesus fellas - 75 points. AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!