The Final Word

• Thread starter Thread starter TAITA

Imagine, if you can, that you have the final words to the lads before they go into battle tomorrow - what would you say to get them to climb the penultimate mountain?

I'd start off with "Gather round boys....."

"I've given you all a texta - I want you all to grab the arm on the non-preferred side of the bloke next to you - righto".

Now I want you to write "Y" on that blokes arm, and I want you to think about "Y" you play the game, and what you want out of footy, your expectations that footy will bring to you - don't think too long - it should be embedded in you - footy is finals and these chances don't come along every year - you blokes know that.

"O" is the next letter - "O" is "owe", and whether you've had the perfect 'Hawthorn schoolboy' upbringing or have crawled hands and knees out of the gutter - every single one of you owes something to someone - as footballers we owe it to our members and supporters as well as every one who puts there arse out to make this footy club so great - that debt will never be repaid - think about it.

But I want you to think about the debts you owe your team mates - the bloke who does the selfless thing time over, or the hard thing time over - the bloke who is so unscared of dying that he's only ever lived.

I need 22 of those fellas tonight.

"U" - the last letter I wan't "U" to think about "you" just for a second, and what individual greatness you can achieve and how shit it would be if we lose and you can't share it with your mates.

Write it on your mate's arm.

Now on your mate's other arm - yeah, I know Ozzie - too much ink on the Bud's arm - use his hand, I want you all to write "TEAM".

There is no "Y' (why), "O" (owe) or ****ing "Y" (you) in "TEAM" - why is that?

Because as ****ing individuals we can beat no one - but as a team we will kick their lily white arses back to Carringbush.

Only you and your 21 other mates can do this now.

You have to give EVERYTHING to make your mates job easier, you must stick to the plan and the structures and never drop your head - you need to play smart and you need to play with passion, and these ***** won't come within a bull's roar.

Now get out there and ****ing do it!!!!!

Play to your preferred side boys.

Nice TAITA.

I would have just gone with:

"Win this ****ing game or you'll all be at GWS with Sheedy next year"

Nice TAITA.

I would have just gone with:

"Win this ****ing game or you'll all be at GWS with Sheedy next year"

Perth has certainly not agreed with your avatar mate - how about a Prelim Bartos report?

Failing that, we can lock in the Grand Final.

Okay - I can see when I have pants pulled down as an 'ideas man', an 'inspiration' and 'orator' when I see these legends

[YOUTUBE]lhh6A2BWQ3s&feature=player_embedded[/YOUTUBE]

but take it on and have a crack - how would you get the boys going? - everyone would love to be coach for a day.

Take some inspiration and pass it on to the boys through you words.

It's all in fun.

Tough question that one. Motivating a group of people to work together is about reinforcing what they've been doing/training in an engaging way, not telling them. Getting under the radar in a meaningful way.

Clarko's shark speech was a ripper: a simple, yet unique metaphor to wrap up the game day plan, which was the culmination of the year's work. It did it beautifully.

Simple, direct, engaging. That's what I'd do. The story is new, the message isn't.

[YOUTUBE]d6wRkzCW5qI[/YOUTUBE]

All that aside, I had my hockey grand final last week. Found ourselves 2-1 down at half time and playing like balls. Nothing fancy needed to be said, just that we had 35m of the year left, leave nothing out of the field, and do your absolute best to make sure you will have no regrets.

I recall John Kennedy saying his "do something speech" wasn't rehearsed, it's just something that came out at the time. It takes me back to a basketball grand final I was coaching. I thought we had the better team, but we were way down at half time. I really didn't know what to say, and for some reason out came, "It's 106 miles to Chicago, we've got a full tank of gas, half a pack of cigarettes, it's dark... and we're wearing sunglasses". Then I said, "Let's show these guys we can play".

We won by 4 points, and players all said afterwards for some reason it just put them in a positive frame of mind. God only knows why I said it.

They are magpies, We are Hawks.... it's f**king nature. Don't **** with nature. Now go HUNT those pr**ks like your meant to and don't come back without a magpie scalp!

We need this dude:

[youtube]yX39J_YyKbs[/youtube]

Love the "Last of the Mohicans" theme playing in the background

I recall John Kennedy saying his "do something speech" wasn't rehearsed, it's just something that came out at the time. It takes me back to a basketball grand final I was coaching. I thought we had the better team, but we were way down at half time. I really didn't know what to say, and for some reason out came, "It's 106 miles to Chicago, we've got a full tank of gas, half a pack of cigarettes, it's dark... and we're wearing sunglasses". Then I said, "Let's show these guys we can play".

We won by 4 points, and players all said afterwards for some reason it just put them in a positive frame of mind. God only knows why I said it.

Lol. That's awesome.

Forgot to mention. We won 3-2 :)

We are Hawthorn.
This is September.
It's time to create your own place in our history.
Hit 'em hard, see ball, get ball....WIN

Nev- that was unbelievable. Don't know where you found it, but it brought tears to my eyes.

Taita- great thread dude. You know it.

If i had a chance to speak to the team before they ran out, this is what i would say:

Not a lot needs to be said about those who have fallen on the field, and those who have passed away- we keep them in our hearts. Honor them in your actions. Not in how you feel. Honor them by what you do. Not by what's in your head. Honor them by striving further, harder, and for longer than each and everyone of your opponents. Courage, mateship, endurance, sacrifice.

You make your own history. You're in charge. At every turn this year there has been a challenge that you've faced head on as a team and have overcome as a team. This is no different.

Give everything that you have to give in this world over the next two hours for the bloke sitting next to you. That's all you need to remember. Make the tackle, make the shephard, do not ever give up on the chase. Do everything for the bloke sitting next to you and play like a team that has no other choice but to win.

You have no choice but to win.

Excellent thread and imaginative and well thought out speech.

All the same, whatever happened to "go murder da bums"

I would say:

We didn't get here to this point of the season for nothng.

"You!" (points at Smith) "you play for all these blokes..."
"The rest of YOU! You play for this bloke" (points at Sewell)
"thats One for all, and all for ONE!!!!"

(takes breath)

"if you get knocked over, smashed, jumped on, you GET UP, SMILING!!!"
"thats called taking the bumps with a grin"

(remember to breath)

"So go out there, and play for the 50,000+ members, play for the supporters, play for each other, and if you find yourselves behind, DO SOMETHING! TRY HARDER"

"thats the come what may you'll find us striving"...

"If you want to play next week, get out there and play like I know you can, I have faith in you, have faith in each other"

"GO! Win!"

( thats enough, I need to sit down and take a bex)